Customer Reviews


129 Reviews
5 star:
 (105)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This game Rocks!
I'm in the Air Force and am stationed in Japan. When I played this in the arcade, I couldn't believe my eyes! The backgrounds are simply the BEST I've ever seen. Not only that, but the character animation couldn't be smoother. Mechanicly, the game rocks as well. You get to pick 3, yes 3, people for your battle royal. As usual you have the tag team option, but the twist...
Published on April 8, 2000

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A massive effort turned a bit shallow
Chances are you've played any of the VS. series titles, including Xmen vs. Streetfighter, Marvel vs. Streetfighter, etc.
Well Capcom decided one day to mash in every single fighter from those games (literally) add a bunch to the mix, and make it a 3 on 3 affair. All in all, there are a whopping 56 characters, probably the biggest roster in fighting game history. With...
Published on October 8, 2002 by Jared


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This game Rocks!, April 8, 2000
By A Customer
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Marvel Vs. Capcom 2 (Video Game)
I'm in the Air Force and am stationed in Japan. When I played this in the arcade, I couldn't believe my eyes! The backgrounds are simply the BEST I've ever seen. Not only that, but the character animation couldn't be smoother. Mechanicly, the game rocks as well. You get to pick 3, yes 3, people for your battle royal. As usual you have the tag team option, but the twist is the two tag team buttons on your controller. The two fierce attack buttons have been moved to the medium's previous spot, and the fierces have been replaced with your team buttons. Tapping either will call in one of your team-mates for a move. Only catch is, if they get hit while they're out, they'll take damage too. This really adds a whole new angle on the game, and you wouldn't believe triple team combos! Oh yeah, and the super combo backgrounds kick! Character wise, this game has it all! Everyone from Akuma and Cable, to Marrow and Bulleta (Baby Bonnie Hood), this game has a serious amount of characters. I haven't even seen them all yet. When I played this, there were 30+ selectable, and there were still more ? boxes on the character select screen! If you were a fan of the first, this one definately has an edge, and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CAP**cantstop**.COM, May 26, 2000
By A Customer
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Marvel Vs. Capcom 2 (Video Game)
I was kind of tired of Capcom after all the Street Fighter 2 upgrades. Then came the Versus series featuring Marvel comics heroes and old Cap' favorites. With competitor Mortal Kombat now all but extinct, the fighting game king came back with some truly distinct franchises. Now with titles like MVSC2, its ok to be psyched about Capcom again. Incredible arcade perfect action. How does 3-on-3 fighting sound for starts? How about a total of 56 YESSSSS! 56 total unlockable fighters? You get Capcoms finest characters from all its most popular series. You get X-Men heroes spanning decades of Marvel history. One would think a 2D fighter with 3D backgrounds would sound odd, but the result is stunning. The soundtracks are the best ever from the "don't feel bad" at the continue screen to the laid back jazz number during the ending,a welcome trip after all the button smashing. The action is furious and eye-gratifying. You can have your teammates join you for psychedelic- hundred-hit-combos,(even Bruce Lee would have a hard time not flinching). The control system is familiar yet easier than past Vs. games. The infinite line-ups you can create will give you loads of replay time,along with the other options such as the character building options and limited internet challenges. This is by far the best from the Cap-"[...] and triples for the VS. series what Street Fighter Alpha 3 did for the Alpha series. Oh, not into fighters? "Rookie"-woolfie. Not into Capcom? "You must be out your mind,Ryu's the greatest fighter who never lived. That'll be $8."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much fun, you'll cry tears of joy, August 1, 2000
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Marvel Vs. Capcom 2 (Video Game)
"We are VENOM! " I just got my copy of Marvel vs. Capcom 2 last night, and I'm still reeling from the sensory overload that is Capcom's latest entry in its Vs. series.
The game's main selling point is the sheer amount of fighters you can select for your 3-person (or monster) team. Once you unlock them all, you can choose from 56 different fighters, each with his or her crazy hyper combos.
In addition, you can unlock new stages and colors, which also add to the longevity of the game.
Graphically and sound-wise, this game is a perfect port of the arcade. If you haven't seen the arcade, imagine the animated sprites from the previous Vs. games, and slap them on beautifully rendered 3-D backgrounds. The result is quite stunning. In addition, several of the special effects (fireball hits, super jumps) are rendered using 3-D effects, which adds to the coolness factor.
In the sound department, you'll hear crisp, clear speech and punches. Most of the new characters have all-new speech, including Jill "I'm a member of S.T.A.R.S!" Valentine. The music, however struck me as just plain strange. It's not bad, but it's laughingly out of place in this game. It can only be described as 'jazzy.'
Control isn't too shabby, either. Instead of the six-button layout we've all come to expect, only four buttons are used for attacks. The other buttons are used to call your partners in for brief "assists" during the fight. These buttons also figure into your double or triple super combos.
All in all, if you're a fighting game fan of any type, run out and buy this game. Or order it from Amazon, like I did. Just remember to eat and bathe while you're trying to unlock every last character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2D Fighting Heaven, October 18, 2000
This review is from: Marvel Vs. Capcom 2 (Video Game)
The fourth in the Vs. series, MVC2 is nothing but pure adrenaline. Even for the non advid Street Fighter or Marvel fans, there is enough gameplay texture to keep anyone playing for hours on end. With a handful of characters available at the game's begining, MVC2 never ceases to amaze the player with the variety of special moves and fighting styles. Apply this variety to the game's total of 56 characters, most of which are unlocked using a simple point system, the gameplay has almost unlimited possibilities. Second to note is the advancement of graphics over the smash hit Marvel Vs. Capcom. While some characters still retain their original sprite animations (and even fewer do look poor), the most notable advancement is the use of 3D backgounds. The overall effect of the 2D sprites and breathtaking backgrounds is mindblowing to the Capcom fighting enthusiest. Also quite notable, is super moves now do not cause chaos on the screen and are easier to control as an effect. Most importantly to note is the revised gameplay. The medium strength puch and kick buttons have been removed from the control scheme. This change is hardly noticable since medium strength attacks are chained automatically from the weak attacks. This change also makes it possible to pull off more complex combos. Another important aspect is the new 3 on 3 tag team fighting engine. There are no words to explain the sheer fun and skill involved in using the three characters to their full effect; simply put it is brilliant. Throw in the intense Snap Back, Variable Counter, Air Combo, Variable Assist, Hyper Combo, Variable Hyper Combo, and 3-level Delayed Hyper Combo moves and you have one of the deepest fighting games to grace any home console.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dream Crossover That Takes Fantasy to the Next Level!, June 5, 2002
This review is from: Marvel Vs. Capcom 2 (Video Game)
Marvel vs. Capcom 2 is the most incredible, red-blooded and fast-paced fantasy fighter ever conceived in the gaming world, even beyond the 3-D fighters like Tekken or Soul Caliber. And that's quite a startling feat considering MvC2 is laid out in 2-D graphics sporting zip realism. The controls are the game's strongest point. Instead of the typical 3-Kick and 3-Punch system as in previous fighers, MvC2 contains a 2-Kick, 2-Punch system in which the remaining two buttons can call forth the resting two fighters as assists. What a convenience! Plus,a memorable rock/jazz score, brilliant originality, a 5-Level Hyper Combo gauge and Triple Team Maneuvers all are included in the package that shows us why Capcom is simply Marvelous!
Favorite characters used:
1. Cable- The coolest new Marvel hero in the Capcom arena, Cable is the long range fighter of the 50+ characters playable. He uses guns, lightning spears, electrical punches and freeze grenades in his arsenal. His finisher, "Hyper Viper Beam", lags on the ground. But on air, it's the deadliest hyper combo made. Connect your opponent with a few combos or wait until the opponent's assists arrive, and then use the finisher! Cable's Psimitar, among the most complex looking of uppercuts, can send a foe into the air for a long time, so it's a good distance maker. The Regular Viper Beams come in two forms; fast and weak, or slow and strong. The first beam is recommended against opponents with great speed; other speeds, you know what to do. Easily, Cable can ward away the worst of foes without leaving himself wide open, so he may be the easiest character to control.
2. Tron Bonne- Mega Man's scientist friend looks goofy riding on her weapon-packed android, but she can get the combos done! Tron Bonne can trap opponents with a slow gun (the least useful attack), shoot out Servbots (her waiter creations) or zoom her robot full speed to drill the foe. The zoom does great damage and scores several hits, so connect a foe with a simple combo beforehand. Tron Bonne, like Cable, has a good range.
3. Hayato- This sword-wielding kid from "Star Gladiator" is armed with the sleekest plasma sword in the business. His dashes score great damage and can confuse foes. Hayato's greatest weakness lies in the lag time of his attacks, as well as his lagging defense. Hayato's Siden, however, is a great assist maneuver.
4. Captain Commando- Captain Commando (based from Capcom. Get it? CAP-tain COM-mando?) has range and moves that can come close to rivalling Cable. Commando has a flamethrower on one hand and an electrical glove on the other, releasing his two most dangerous attacks, Captain Fire and especially Captain Corridor, the most unpredictable anti-air explosion in the series. Commando has a better advantage here than in his first experience, because now that the areana is higher, he can utilize captain Corridor to send the opponent up, and then thrust the bizarre Captain Sword to send the opponent down! Another great finisher of his, the Captain Storm, is among the best-looking finishers of them all. Here, he uppercuts the foe several times into the air, and then his running buddies dash onto the foe, before Captain Commando slams a powerful Captain Corridor to finish the opponent off!
5. Gambit- Marvel's favorite Cajun may have several moves that are difficult to pull off, but the easy moves can do the job just as well. Gambit can thrust Kinetic Cards (or, when in diagonal directions, Trick Cards) that stab onto the foe before exploding. The best asset of these cards is that there's little clue how to jump over them; the cards move too fast! Gambit has two extremely good finishers. One is the Cajun Explosion, a move where he leaps into the air and throws cards that can explode across the screen, making this move exceedingly difficult to avoid. Cajun Explosion is best recommended when your opponent is having lag time on the ground. The other, better finisher is the Royal Flush. Here, Gambit thrusts his staff into the air and lobs thousands of cards to stab the opponent. Royal Flush does great damage and is also very fast. If you want a Triple Team Hyper Combo that scores lots, Gambit's Royal Flush can do the trick.
6. Ken- Mr. Masters, he of the legendary Street Fighter series, has become highly improved for this version. The wider arena means that Ken has better chances at linking his combos with furious fiery punches. Ken's best move is the Fiery Shoryuken, which scores multiple hits and is useful for keeping away troubling foes. Another great move is the Flying Hurricane Kick, in which Ken flies diagonally upward with feet flying fast and furious. Trap your opponent in a combo before doing this. Ken also has 3 finishers, the Shoryu Reppa (dashing chain of Shoryukens), the incredible Shinryuken (a vertical fireball uppercut) and the stylish Hyper Hurricane Kick (starts like a kicking version of Shoryu Reppa, ends like a Fiery Flying Hurricane Kick). Use all of Ken's moves when you get the chance; all are versatile.
MvC2 rules..Nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Word: TIZZZIGHT, May 3, 2000
By A Customer
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Marvel Vs. Capcom 2 (Video Game)
This game is absolutley AWESOME! I first played it when i went to great america. The features in this game is quite amazing. The grahpics, espescially the new 3-d backgrounds which gives it a new taste.i had to admit though, the characarters themselves looked a little choppy. But still that does'nt leave out the fun. This definetlety tops the vs. series especcially the new 3v3! Combos are a sinch to execute and can go up 300+ hits! over 50+ characters to choose from! The only regret i have about playing this game is that it's gonna be awhile until it hits u.s shores. I DEFITNETELY reccomend this game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hands-down the best 2-D fighter, July 22, 2000
By A Customer
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Marvel Vs. Capcom 2 (Video Game)
I'll cut to the chase--Marvel vs. Capcom 2 is by far the best 2-D fighter ever made. What a great decision to release this latest installment on Sega's Naomi arcade board, making an absolutely perfect port on the Dreamcast possible. The animation is fast, furious, and beautiful, without a trace of slowdown or flicker. The 3-D backgrounds are so good they almost don't look polygonal. The number of characters (56!) far surpasses anything before it. And the sheer intensity of the game is mind-blowing. Try laying into your opponent with a partner assistance and a special move leading into 3 consecutive super combos and you'll know what I'm talking about. It's hard to keep track of what's going on sometimes. Combine all these things with Capcom's dead-on control (especially with the Dreamcast arcade stick), and you have a title that won't be surpassed for a while to come. The Dreamcast is now home to the greatest 3-D (Soul Calibur) and 2-D (Marvel vs. Capcom 2) fighters ever made. If you haven't played these games, you're truly missing out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best VS and best Capcom game I have played, July 16, 2000
By A Customer
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Marvel Vs. Capcom 2 (Video Game)
I glanced at the game in the arcade and liked the graphics and attacks.
I had heard that the game had been adapted better for the home conversion and even after having been disappointed with Marvel VS Capcom (the original version) I knew I would pick this one up.
WHAT A GREAT FIGHTING GAME!
Right from the beginning you find there seem to be a lot of your old favorite characters missing but there are plenty of new one's to try so you jump right in and start fighting. The combos and attacks are over the top and most excellent to watch and great to pull off.
The game uses a point system where after fighting you get more and more points which you can use in the Secret Factor mode to "purchase" more characters. This is where you will be able to get some of your old favorites back and find some all new characters to play with.
I must say that I had my own favorite characters going into the game but I got to the end of the game (with some unbelievable final enemy guy) and couldn't beat it with those characters.
After trying some new characters I fought my way back to the end and finally won while playing again the next day.
This is a game that keeps you coming back, not just fighting with your friends and getting better at the game but you have to get more points in order to buy more characters, costumes and fighting areas.
This is the best fighting game I have played in a very long time and will definitely be playing this for weeks to come.
If you enjoy a good fighter then this is the game for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best game on the planet, January 19, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Marvel Vs. Capcom 2 (Video Game)
I was a huge fan of Marvel VS Capcom, which is why I was so happy when Capcom announced a sequel. The first tag team fighter was wild, but I mean, this sequel is one of those rare exceptions which is superior to the original. The original had 21 characters (most were alternate colors of some characters), this game boasts 56 characters in total, and there is one double: Wolverine. One has the Marvel Capcom moves, the other, XMen VS Street Fighter. Anyway, the game is a 3 on 3 tag team fighting, and can get very intense. The backgrounds have this spectacular 3-D look to them, and there is a new 4 button control scheme, making the game more bearable with the Dreamcast controller, unlike the first game. But what makes this game so good is that it is very easy to pick up and play, and boasts a TON of replay value. You have to earn points to unlock new stages, new costume colors, and, new characters (you start off with 24). You unlock it by earning points, by playing through the games various modes. If there is any downsides to this game at all, it's that some characters are missing moves from the original, and the music is all jazz. I actually think the music is decent, but if you don't like jazz, you'll dread the music. This is the ultimate 2-D fighting game. If you own a Dreamcast, liked any of the VS series or fighting games in general, this is a must have for your library. There is no depth to the game, it's very easy to learn and master, but packs quite a punch with replay value and fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Legend In Fighting Games!!, September 18, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Marvel Vs. Capcom 2 (Video Game)
This is the best fighting game I have ever played. Its 56 characters will keep you busy fighting with each one trying to perfect their combos and moves. Its various levels have an awesome look to them. The 2D characters on 3D backgrounds was great becasue it makes the fights look so much better. And the Team system which is where you choose 3 characters instead of one is excellent. They certainly took advantage of the Dreamcasts 128 bits. The point earning system is where you play the game in Practice, Arcade, or Versus and you get points which you use to buy new characters, new colors, and new levels, this will keep you coming back till you have everything. There is only one thing about this game that I dont like. That is that there is no story, but it is a versus game and the Marvel characters have nothing to do with Capcom Characters so I can see why they didn't make a story. And this game is a great multiplayer game, you can beat your friends into the ground with whom ever you choose. Well what it all comes down to is that if you own a Dreamcast you should have this game in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Marvel Vs. Capcom 2
Marvel Vs. Capcom 2 by Capcom (Sega Dreamcast)
$159.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.