Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars X-Men Anime?!
Been waiting for this to come out. Normally I prefer anime in Japanese however when it comes to an American comic/cartoon, it just wasn't the same hearing their names with a Japanese accent. The animation was very clean, all the characters were portrayed how they should be. Very well done. No problem with seller. Would buy from again for sure.
Published 12 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
40 of 48 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For any X-Men fan, its worth a look.
I am an X-Men fan.

I've been once ever since the Animated Series premiered during the 90's.

Since then, I've collected comics, movies, games and any other items related to the Marvel Heroes.
When I learned an Anime was being made based off the comic, I wasn't sure of what to expect.
I felt, if it was done correctly, it could end up being...
Published on March 25, 2012 by Jay-Jay3


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 48 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For any X-Men fan, its worth a look., March 25, 2012
This review is from: Marvel: X-Men 2 Disc Set- Animated Series (DVD)
I am an X-Men fan.

I've been once ever since the Animated Series premiered during the 90's.

Since then, I've collected comics, movies, games and any other items related to the Marvel Heroes.
When I learned an Anime was being made based off the comic, I wasn't sure of what to expect.
I felt, if it was done correctly, it could end up being just as good as the old 90's series was.

After watching all the episodes, I can say that while I was rather disappointed, I don't think it
was bad at all. The voice acting ranging from Steven Jay Blum to Jennifer Hale is well done,
and the designs look fairly interesting and awesome. This is clearly the best sounding and
best looking X-Men series yet.

The only downside, and the biggest one, is the story.

Without spoiling much, the X-Men are summoned to Japan to investigate the mysterious kidnappings
of mutants there. The story, like a lot of Anime, is slower paced, and takes awhile to really start getting to the point. Lines are repeated like a broken record, and characters beat you over the head with ideas and thoughts you just heard previously, just in case you weren't paying attention. The main villain was a big surprise, but he's not as mainstream as say, Magneto, so the average viewer may not even grab interest from him. And the newly introduced X-Man, Hisako (Armor), ranges from tolerable to unbearably loud and annoying. I get that she's supposed to be the rookie member with a cocky attitude (Similar to how she is in the comics) but even Jubilee knew when the time came to get
serious and stop screwing around. Geez.

So, despite the good looking and acting show, your still left with a short, somewhat shallow story that feels as
if it could have been done in 30 or 60 minutes rather than stretched into a full 12 episode Anime.

And yet? Maybe its the fan in me, but I loved ever second of this Anime. The X-Men are, after so long, portrayed
like X-Men. The stakes are high, and the sheer atmosphere pulls you in. Again, it doesn't reach the heights of the
90's series, but I think its unfair to call this series a failure. If your an X-Men fan, or even if your somewhat curious,
check it out yourself. You may not be disappointed. :)

-Jay-Jay3

And SPOILER:

Besides...any show that features Deadpool as a member of the X-Men can't be bad. XD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars X-Men Anime?!, January 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marvel: X-Men 2 Disc Set- Animated Series (DVD)
Been waiting for this to come out. Normally I prefer anime in Japanese however when it comes to an American comic/cartoon, it just wasn't the same hearing their names with a Japanese accent. The animation was very clean, all the characters were portrayed how they should be. Very well done. No problem with seller. Would buy from again for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very..., January 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marvel: X-Men 2 Disc Set- Animated Series (DVD)
At first I didn't think I would like it... However, I was completely wrong. This is a great show and had to buy it. I was disappointed that they didn't do a new season, but this one... It started slow, but came full circle. This isn't your run of the mill X-men either, but a new kind of X-men. The lead is still Cyclops with Professor X as the teacher... Storm, Wolverine, Beast, Emma Frost, and Armor (junior X). I wish there were more, but I do believe you will enjoy it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good anime !, October 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marvel: X-Men 2 Disc Set- Animated Series (DVD)
This is a well done anime using the Marvel characters in a traditional story. i felt it works and is fun. The series all of which I have do a good job and are entertaining. I like the differencess in the anime take on the characters and it gives you a new perspective on the characters. The show is fun and I hope they do more in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The X-men anime brings the animation, the action and the characters to a new level.", June 26, 2013
By 
Gregory Athanasius (Singapore, Singapore Singapore) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marvel: X-Men 2 Disc Set- Animated Series (DVD)
The Japanese animation brings the character of the X-men alive, the story will question the viewers - and lives behind puzzles of what had happen in Japan, the story will slowly reveal in time in the second DVD. If you are an anime fans, you will need to watch every series and moment to fully understand the story behind and it will reveal the 'why and how' in time. Based on the review - " the action hinges largely around the capture of Hisako Ichiki ( a young Jap girl ) just how is she related? There is new enemies called the "U-Men" as part of their plan to create a mutant super-army. Further on, the story goes deeper, with Emma Frost.

Spolier: Take note - in the first movie clip; Jean Grey has perished, and Cyclops last seen Emma Frost in the battle. How does Emma Frost come into the picture? Follow by the Inner Circle's Club and the rise of a mysterious condition affecting mutants across Japan. the X-Men encounter the fanatical anti-mutant group, the U-Men, and discover what was important enough for Xavier to bring them back together. The answer is something that could potentially bridge the gap between mutants and humans, or tear the two species apart forever.

Take note - the Xmen Series will stretched into a full 12 episode Anime, and after watching the last episode, the second season of X-Men would introduce our favourite old arch enemy 'magnetism' but it remains unreleased at this time. Stay tune.

My summary The action and the characters animation & voice over are very well rendered. I will watch the Wolverine & IronMan in time as well. To all X-men fan, try to watch a glimpse of the clip, it is different from the 90's animated X-men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the time... even for fans., June 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marvel: X-Men 2 Disc Set- Animated Series (DVD)
I really wanted to like this series, but just couldn't. The art is excellent. The voice over is very well done. The action, when there is action, is fast and brutal without being violent; meaning it reaches a middle ground that will be suitable but satisfying for a wide audience. What is wrong then? The problems are in the pacing and story. The series really should have been about half the time, as there was a lot of material that could have been cut without hurting the story at all. There are some sections that just seem to drag and other sections, such as Cyclops mourning, that are repeated far too often. It does not help that the story is predictable and unoriginal. There may be some new elements, but any fan of the X-Men will have already seen most of this content in some shape or form. Overall, there are just too many better ways to spend your time and money to recommend this to anyone but the most diehard of fans (and they will be most familiar with this material).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Hubby= Satisfied Wife, March 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marvel: X-Men 2 Disc Set- Animated Series (DVD)
Bought this for the hubby since he's a HUGE X-Men fan. Nice add to his collection. Right for the price and loved the animation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another interpretation of the X-Men, October 17, 2012
This review is from: Marvel: X-Men 2 Disc Set- Animated Series (DVD)
While a lot of these reviews are very critical, you have to remember this is another interpretation of the characters. I did think the action and the characters were very well rendered for animation. I'd rather watch this than a lot of the material that passes for anime. With the familiar characters of the X Men; I at least have an idea of who and what they are. Warren Ellis has crafted some good work for this version. There's even a new character that follows the traditions of Japanese Anime. Like it's American version of the 90's animated X-Men, you can watch this more than once and get something from each viewing. This set has adult themes and would be more appropriate for older fans. It's more PG than G rated for intensity.

I appreciate this series because it's more experimental than most. It doesn't succeed each time, however it tries to challenge the viewer. It would be interesting to see an anime version of The Avengers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Anime, August 25, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marvel: X-Men 2 Disc Set- Animated Series (DVD)
Personally, I am a huge Marvel fan and thought that they did the X-Men proud. Granted they could have done better with the whole more action and less talking bit but it's a still a great addition to the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anime Craze.., August 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marvel: X-Men 2 Disc Set- Animated Series (DVD)
I Love Anime... Since I saw this on Tv i wanted to own the DVD... Now I own it & cant stop watching it... Excellent Anime & full of amazing Action...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Marvel: X-Men 2 Disc Set- Animated Series
Marvel: X-Men 2 Disc Set- Animated Series by Steven Blum (DVD - 2012)
$14.99 $8.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.