Customer Reviews


139 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good game that could have been great!
I would like to start of by saying this is a good game. The graphic are stand out,the sound is terrific especially if you have a home theater, and the game play is awesome. That said lets look at the few problems this game has.

1. The arcade mode is standard fair, nothing new but a good way to practice for online play. No build up of the story so if you like...
Published on March 23, 2011 by Heavy Primer

versus
21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great game but...
Marvel VS. Capcom 3 is a great game, but for once, can Capcom NOT pull a fast one on their customers? I'm tired of buying a new Capcom fighting game when it comes out, and then watching as an UPGRADED version comes out no more than 4 months later and for a discounted price! Why should I fork over 60 bucks for Street Fighter 4 if SUPER street fighter 4 comes out in 3...
Published on August 4, 2011 by Daniel Melville


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good game that could have been great!, March 23, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Marvel vs. Capcom 3: Fate of Two Worlds - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I would like to start of by saying this is a good game. The graphic are stand out,the sound is terrific especially if you have a home theater, and the game play is awesome. That said lets look at the few problems this game has.

1. The arcade mode is standard fair, nothing new but a good way to practice for online play. No build up of the story so if you like some content with your game play then this is not you game.

2. The mission mode is basically a training mode that sort of rewards you for playing. I personally think it is waste of time and has no place being called a mission mode. It is not very fun either, but you can hone you skills a little more if you really wish to play the mission mode.

3. Online play is very intimidating. If you are not a fighting game god them expect to loose a lot. Although an option to fight other players that are of similar ranking exist, it almost never pairs you with someone you can fight and have some chance of winning so the online option will not keep this game alive like you would expect in other online game.

This game really shine when you have friends who are of similar playing levels who get together to battle it out for bragging rights. I love playing this game with my 12 yr. old and his buddies. My friends enjoy the comradeship this game develops and does bring some great characters from Capcom and Marvel universes into what is the next best thing in my eyes to a full length motion picture or action game that most of these characters will never.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great game but..., August 4, 2011
By 
Daniel Melville (Sacramento, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Marvel vs. Capcom 3: Fate of Two Worlds - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Marvel VS. Capcom 3 is a great game, but for once, can Capcom NOT pull a fast one on their customers? I'm tired of buying a new Capcom fighting game when it comes out, and then watching as an UPGRADED version comes out no more than 4 months later and for a discounted price! Why should I fork over 60 bucks for Street Fighter 4 if SUPER street fighter 4 comes out in 3 months and cost me 40??? Same with Marvel vs Capcom. You COULD buy the game when its released at $60, but then Capcom basically laughs in your face a few months later with an ULTIMATE version adding a full 12 characters to the roster and dropping the price by $20. Honestly it's a slap in the face for those fans who buy the original game. And while the games are always fun, I always end up with buyers remorse when Capcom flashes new product in my face a few months after I've lined their pockets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, but only with friends, March 14, 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marvel vs. Capcom 3: Fate of Two Worlds - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I haven't bought a fighting game in my life but I got a great deal on this after the Dead Rising 2 avatar fiasco. The single player is mediocre as there isn't much of a story, the computer is unrelenting and the payoff is substandard. The online mode seems to pair me up with people that have made it their mission in life to be the gods of this game, so that was out after a short while, but playing with friends is a ton of fun.

Having a few people over to play a tournament or just goof around is what this game is all about. It reminds me of when I was teenager, going to the Jersey Shore with friends and wasting all our money in the arcade playing each other at whatever game seemed coolest. Those days are (unfortunately) long gone but this game is a good reminder of that.

If it didn't have that aspect I would have rated the game lower since it's literally just a straight fighting game that plays on people's nostalgia and love of brands. The battles are fast paced but I just sort of mash the buttons and hope for the best, which has been my go-to strategy for fighting games for the whole life. Easy in the arcade, not so easy with all of the xbox buttons.

Even so, the graphics detail is amazing, the characters have a very unique look to them, like moving comic book characters. If you love fighting games, you'll love this. If you don't, find some friends and have some fun.

Pros:
Beautiful graphics
Fast paced
Lots of characters

Cons:
I suck at fighting games (especially online!)
What story?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better Than Street Fighter IV!, September 13, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marvel vs. Capcom 3: Fate of Two Worlds - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
When I first bought Street Fighter 4, it disappointed me so much. I found myself so frustrated with that game. I was expecting Marvel vs. Capcom to disappoint me as well but it has been a great game and have provided plenty of fun for me! Even though performing combos is a bit tricky, I like the fact that the moves are relatively easy to crank out. The graphics are incredible and I love the constant banter from the characters, especially when Iron Man yells out "Protoooooooooon Canon!!!!!" This game rocks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cool maaaaaaan!, February 16, 2011
By 
Ruben "tha Man" (Cedar Hill, Texas) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Marvel vs. Capcom 3: Fate of Two Worlds - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
i got this game from gamestop without the stickers that came with preordering it,
and i was excited! i brought it home and read the manual then put in the disk, the opening credits showing the characters go at it in the opening scene then a evil boss towards the end pops out and you realised which one is going to be the cheap character in the game. Anyway starts you off with 32 characters, or so and you unlock Akuma,Sentinel, hsien ko, and task master. You can choose 3 characters and press the RB or LB to change them, the controls are easy to use: x-light atk. y-med atk. B-heavy atk. and A-special move- but mostly its a uppercut to send them into the air, they work great but you can just easily just button mash to woop someone, I wanted to get the fight stick and i have heard that it would be a good investment to get it but 120 for it is not even a great offer. and thats just the peripheral!!! Played the game for a while and realised it would be better with online. which is half the reason of getting the game, you can even make a gamer card which has your name, character selection and achievement status for the game and game/fighting stats, people can review them online and as you play the game you get points every match you play. All the characters are great except a few fillers like viewtiful joe, She Hulk, and some chick in a robot called Tron,(oh and x-23, but its good seeing new faces.) which i do not like using them personally but whatever. As for the storyline there is just a small hint of, as the subtitle goes "fate of two worlds" when you fight 5 different matches then go on to fighting the boss dr. doom and wesker, and then Galactus, which is going to about to destroy the planet. and man is he cheap, whichever you beat the boss with you get the unique picture and ending story sentence. but other than that i have yet to see another cut scene than the intro. i wish they would have added more cutscenes to make it feel more imersive and give you a better drive for fighting. I think its worth more like 40 dollars rather than slapping a 60 dollar price tag on it, cause its more like an updated graphics and characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Could be the best one in the series...Just needs a patch or two., February 20, 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Marvel vs. Capcom 3: Fate of Two Worlds - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
So, I finally got a few days of gameplay with MvC3, and I don't really have too many complaints...not many that can't be fixed with a patch or two anyway. First, let's start with the game itself. Everyone will be comparing this one to Marvel vs. Capcom 2, so let's get right to it.

This game launched with 36 characters, while MvC2 had a total of 56. Yes, if you haven't heard, the sequel has 20 characters less. Is this a bad thing? Depends on who you ask. The majority of the online MVC community is extremely upset that this game launched with less characters...however the biggest difference is you don't have "clones" in this game. In MvC2, you had several characters with nearly identical clones. Iron Man had War Machine...There were 2 Wolverines, Mega Man and Roll...did they play 100% identical. No, not at all, however you had a few characters that played extremely similar in MvC2...in MvC3 though, everyone is a completely different playstyle. The closest you get is Ryu and Akuma in terms of 2 characters playing similar. With that being said, 2 characters are being launched as DLC within the month (Jill and Shuma-Gorath), which will cut the deficit to 18 characters. I do expect capcom to sell DLC over the next year+, and I wouldn't doubt that by this time next year MvC3 will have tied or have surpassed the character count in MVC2.

Now with the discussion of character DLC, people are arguing and complaining about how capcom is "going to rip the consumer off on DLC that should've been included at launch" etc. Remember that you're buying this game as-is, and that the DLC is something extra, and usually not-neccesary to continue playing the game online or offline. As is, we got 36 characters for a fighting games, 18 from Marvel and 18 from Capcom. I will welcome DLC, especially if it's for a character I would enjoy such as Carnage, Megaman, Ghost Rider, Daredevil etc. Just remember, you're buying the game and it comes with 36 extremely diverse characters.

People who were experts at MvC2, expecting to automatically pick up a controller and make people rage quit online have something coming to them. It's as if this is a brand new game, with ideas from the first 4 games but not the same button config. One light attack, one medium attack, one Heavy attack and one "special" attack. There are two buttons for your assists. And if you hold either of those buttons, you can switch your character out for another. So basically, everyone starts off fresh, and it's a simple game to get a hold of. Think of the button controls as a 75% Street Fighter and 25% Tekken. Button mashers can do well, but obviously those who are willing to take the time to learn the controls will do a lot better.

Mission mode is one of the new additions to the game. Each character has 10 missions for a total of 360 missions. These missions range from very easy (One simple Hadoken) to a complicated, very precisely timed long sequence of button presses. You can learn a lot as a player from doing these missions, and while these missions aren't exactly as hard as Street Fighter/Super Street Fighter IV's Trials, these missions are not to be taken lightly.

Graphics are amazing, sound is amazing. No problems in that area. My only real real real gripe with this game is the lack of two options. First, in player lobbies, something was given to us in street fighter 4 and Marvel vs. Capcom 2 that may have spoiled most of us; Spectator Mode. Now, if I want to practice with friends, I have to wait and do absolutly nothing while my other friends play. Meaning, if I'm in a lobby with 7 other people, and I just lost my game, I now need to wait for 5 more games to complete, while i sit and do nothing. No Minigames, no training mode, and no spectator mode. Seriously? At least something to warm up with, like in Super Smash Bros. for the Wii...but no, instead I can watch the life bars deplete. Seriously bad move. While there are rumors that this may appear in the future in a patch, it's not there at launch. Another small feature that's also absent is setting infinite time in Player lobbies. Another feature that's ridiculously absent.

Overall a great game, and with several patches, this could be the best in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars M vs C, February 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marvel vs. Capcom 3: Fate of Two Worlds - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Perfect. No skips plays great. Originally I was weary of buying used but would used games again. This version might be outdated with ultimate version out though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MVC returns in style, January 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marvel vs. Capcom 3: Fate of Two Worlds - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Fans have been clamoring for a new Vs. release since the capcom released the gem mvc2. This game has balance that game, added a new colorful comic style, and provided new combat mechanics that work well! This game only struggles because it has few modes to engage the player. While a solid game, I would not recommended it b/c you could purchase ultimate marvel Vs. Capcom 3 which is a solid update!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Son enjoys it!, December 29, 2012
By 
A. Ruhf (Ridley Park, PA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marvel vs. Capcom 3: Fate of Two Worlds - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Just got the XBOX 360 from Santa and so far the kids love it and are enjoying all of their games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Game, December 2, 2011
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marvel vs. Capcom 3: Fate of Two Worlds - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This game is pretty good, but not as good as Street Fighter 4. The control is the main complain that I have for this game. It is not accurate or sensitive compare to Street Fighter 4, but it does help when you just do certain move several time to make sure it register. I beat this game with all the characters in the game. Strong characters are those with "blast" move as their super. Since they are releasing another game called Ultimate MvC 3, it certainly makes you feel like getting a ripoff when buying a "full" game like this similar to Street Fighter 4 when I first bought it and then they keep releasing a few more characters and call it a "new" game (super street fighter 4, super street fighter 4 arcade) and selling this new games at bargain price at about $20 when fan of the series pay $40 to $50 for the game original "few" characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Marvel vs. Capcom 3: Fate of Two Worlds - Xbox 360
$37.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.