Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a wonderful homage to mary blair's whimsical children's art!
having loved mary blair and her inimitable art for many, many years, i was delighted to find out this book was being released!

it used to be fairly difficult to find some of the books in this volume, and to have them all in one place, and in such a large format, is a treasure, indeed!

the books in this volume are as follows:

baby's...
Published on August 15, 2012 by Mindful Consumer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book
Great book but arrived with beat up edges & broken binding. Immediately donated it. No way it was gift quality. Be careful where you purchase any book, I guess. Anyway, the book has wonderful drawings ... by the same woman who did "It's a Small World" for Disney. Five stars for the contents of the book but one star for the seller's poor quality sent. Most...
Published 7 months ago by smm


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a wonderful homage to mary blair's whimsical children's art!, August 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Mary Blair Treasury of Golden Books (Hardcover)
having loved mary blair and her inimitable art for many, many years, i was delighted to find out this book was being released!

it used to be fairly difficult to find some of the books in this volume, and to have them all in one place, and in such a large format, is a treasure, indeed!

the books in this volume are as follows:

baby's house
i can fly (the only book i previously owned out of this collection)
the golden book of little verses
the up and down book (a book i had never heard of before and an art style of hers i had never seen)
selections from the new golden song book:
nursery songs
singing games
hymns and carols
cradle songs
folk songs
rounds
patriotic songs

the foreward is a great bit of information on a truly remarkable lady who was talented beyond measure. her exceptional use of color and shape are present throughout, especially in the following instances:

p.39 has a cheeky goat that is VERY reminiscent of 'it's a small world.'
p.56/57 shows her great use of whimsy and angles.
p.80/81 has a VERY mary blair almost overwhelming exploding art in your face-ness. i love it. there is so much to see.
p.99 shows several beautiful bubbles similar to her concept art for the 'sing sweet nightengale' sequence from 'cinderella.'
p.114 shows a work that represents some of her best art: bright colors on a dark background. the shading is beautiful.
p. 128 is a great representation of her monochromatic art. blues and silvers never looked so lovely.

there has never been an artist even close to mary blair. the way she used colors, the way she painted children and creatures, the way she created whimsy with ease. this book is an inexpensive way to experience her art and expose the younger audience to it as well. i found the binding and the smooth pages to be of good construct and the images are even suitable to framing if one so desired.

and the book smells really good, too. :)

if you are a fan of mary blair, art, or children's books, you simply can not go wrong with this volume!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great piece of Mary Blair history, August 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Mary Blair Treasury of Golden Books (Hardcover)
I was super excited to see this was coming out and even more excited when it came in the mail! I imagined this as a Little Golden Book size however it is much larger. This allows for the art to be larger. Colors are bright. This will be more of a coffee table book rather than a storybook! If you are a Disney or Mary Blair fan you must add this to your collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Boon to Art and Design Lovers, December 7, 2012
By 
Lance Falk (Northridge, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Mary Blair Treasury of Golden Books (Hardcover)
What a treat this was. All of Mary's brilliant (and expensively hard to find) Golden Books collected in a nice hardback.

John Canemaker's forward provides his usual insight and knowledge. He authored the now out-of-print 'The Art and Flair of Mary Blair', so this is every bit as much a supplement to that definitive book. If you have a copy of that, you're very lucky.

What needs to be said about the work itself? It's perfect. Mary was a genius of illustration, color, and design. There's a reason she was one of Walt Disney's favorite artists and still massively influential. Great to have this sublime and glorious body of work all in one place for a steal of a price. It was long overdue.

Highest recommendation for art students or just fans of fine illustration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, November 15, 2013
By 
Jade (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Mary Blair Treasury of Golden Books (Hardcover)
This is a very nice, large sized book with big and colorful pictures by the very talented artist, Mary Blair; she designed the Disney "It's a Small World" ride. Both collectors and children should love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The wonderful mind behind It's a Small World, July 22, 2013
By 
Doug Ferguson (Ft. Worth, TX United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Mary Blair has often been overlooked - but she gave the world the innocence of childhood from an adult perspective. Here in this children's title are all the elements that gave Small World (and the Grand Canyon Concourse at the Contemporary resort) their visual power. It's charm more then awe that lives there, and any lover of these attractions will find this book to their liking. Take a trip back to your childhood with Mary!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have book in your collection., June 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Mary Blair Treasury of Golden Books (Hardcover)
This book is beautifully illustrated. Mary Blair has been one of my favorites since our first was born. Four boys later these stories are read often at bedtime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Treasure, March 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Mary Blair Treasury of Golden Books (Hardcover)
I cannot say enough good things about this treasury of Mary Blair's Golden Book work. The volume itself is sturdy, well produced, and shows off her art in the very best light. It's a quality tome that would be at home in a private library, on a coffee table, or in your children's book collection.

Let me preface this review with a little bit from my background. I'm an art lover with a Fine Arts Drawing degree and years of experience in the graphic design field. This book is truly a treasury in the finest sense of the word. Mary Blair had a unique style that set much of Disney's early work apart. Some of the art is deceptively child-like while portraying imaginary worlds that only Mary could convey. Years later, her work was imitated and mimicked to great effect. One of her most ardent admirers is Genndy Tartakovsky of Clone Wars fame. The creator of such cartoon staples as Dexter's Lab, The Powerpuff Girls, and Samurai Jack exhibits an unabashed appreciation of the simplicity and artistry of Mary Blair's style. Modern illustration mirroring past influences. Many modern cartoonists and illustrators also borrow from the Mary Blair handbook. In this tome you can find much of what inspired them. And added plus is that my two kids love reading the stories and enjoy the pictures.

Fans of great illustration and classic Disney rejoice. This Mary Blair Treasure will satiate even the most jaded reader, ...and the kids love it!

~ Kort
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Treasure!, November 5, 2012
By 
Psyche (Charleston, SC) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Mary Blair Treasury of Golden Books (Hardcover)
I bought this book because I remember owning as a child a Golden Book collection that featured Mary Blair's "I Can Fly". All the stories in that book were very good, but I remember Blair's work the most of all. In the "Mary Blair Treasury of Golden Books", the illustrations are bigger, and, therefore, even better. I think parts of the Golden Book of Little Verses were also in my childhood book, because I remember some of the illustrations, but none of the text. Two of the stories in this collection are completely new to me.

Anyone who has been to Disney World or Land has seen Mary Blair's work. Yup, it's a small world. Really -- "It's a Small World"; which explains why the animatrons are so charming even if the song is so annoying. Also, her work heavily influenced Disney's "Alice in Wonderland", which probably explains why it is my favorite Disney animated film. And "Ichabod Crane", another film with intriguing illustration.

It wasn't until I flipped to the songs in the back of the book that I realized that I already owned something quite spectacular: The New Golden Song Book, illustrated by Mary Blair, from 1955. My copy was loved and used quite a bit before I inherited it, but still...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fans of Mary Blair discover treasure trove of fun, February 7, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Mary Blair Treasury of Golden Books (Hardcover)
We are big fans of Mary Blair's Disney art in our home. We've loved the I CAN FLY Golden Book for years without realizing it was an abbreviated version. The full version IS reason enough to get this. As a bonus our children (3 and 6) love every section of this book. The stories, the poems, the songs. There's so much that's great here I wish we'd had it for the past 6 years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing better than Mary Blair, July 5, 2014
By 
M. Gabriel (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Mary Blair Treasury of Golden Books (Hardcover)
Nothing better than Mary Blair books compiled with this much care and visual fidelity to the original work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Mary Blair Treasury of Golden Books
A Mary Blair Treasury of Golden Books by Mary Blair (Hardcover - August 7, 2012)
$19.99 $15.46
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.