Customer Reviews


143 Reviews
5 star:
 (105)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


95 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great comic satire of soap operas
When this show first premiered in January 1976 it gave Saturday Night Live a run for its money in being one of the most daring and inventive shows that had been aired. Louise Lasser's deadpan delivery as the often put-upon, under-appreciated Mary was delightful, and the show had a very talented supporting cast. Besides doing a great job of satirizing the problems of life...
Published on February 10, 2007 by calvinnme

versus
24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars teaser box set
I am leaving one star. After 3 years it is becoming apparent that Sony is never going to release more volumes of MH2.

This set has 25 episodes, and they are fantastic. Another brilliant series produced by Norman Lear.

Unfortunately this series was a nightly and resulted in 325 episodes over 18 months (with Louise Lasser). I want them all, not a 25...
Published on August 7, 2010 by Flash Fyre


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

95 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great comic satire of soap operas, February 10, 2007
This review is from: Mary Hartman, Mary Hartman - Volume 1 (DVD)
When this show first premiered in January 1976 it gave Saturday Night Live a run for its money in being one of the most daring and inventive shows that had been aired. Louise Lasser's deadpan delivery as the often put-upon, under-appreciated Mary was delightful, and the show had a very talented supporting cast. Besides doing a great job of satirizing the problems of life in the 70's, it was a deft parody of soap operas in general, such as when Martin Mull returned as Barth Gimble, the twin brother of Garth Gimble, who had just died. Dabney Coleman was also great as the mayor, a true cynic who was much more interested in staying mayor than actually accomplishing anything. This show also gave birth to that great satire of the talk shows, Fernwood Tonight. Life probably wasn't too far from art in this case, since the first season ended with Mary in a mental institution, and I think putting out a new episode every night, just like an actual soap opera, took its toll on the whole cast, and Louise Lasser in particular. If you happen to remember the episode of Saturday Night Live that Louise Lasser hosted during that time, you know what I mean - the stress really showed. People looked forward to each new episode - just like a real soap opera - and there were 130 episodes in the first season alone. Thus, although I am grateful that we have the first 25 episodes, that doesn't even get us through the first one-fifth of the first season, so I hope more releases of this show are pending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We all waited ! ! !, April 5, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mary Hartman, Mary Hartman - Volume 1 (DVD)
First, I never realized the enormous influence MH2 had on the Simpsons... I realized the trademark Normal Lear mix of social/pop culture satire and great writing, but there are even charactors from MH2 that seem to have made their way to that show as well....!

Anyway, I know I'm not the only person who's been waiting for Mary Hartman, Mary Hartman to either make its way back to TV reruns or DVD... and the only who was ANGRY how long overdue it was, but now, finally its HERE... though I remembered it as one of the greatest TV shows of all time, to be honest, I didn't remember just HOW great it was, otherwise the wait would have been harder...

Starting with the first episodes (complete with the overhead mic slipping into the frame) the show is on a heavy roll... There's no laugh track, and no time killing... Jam packed with great script delivered by a crack ensemble. In fact, the writing is SO brilliant you get broadsided by the humor sometimes and find yourself gigling without even realizing why... then if you go back a half a minute and watch it again you're like... "oh my god ! ! !" (am I the only person who reacts like this?) The strange, soap opera spoof, non-sequitor double entendre lines, TV commercial derived dialogue and strange scenerios all delivered in the dry quirky uniquely MH2 style makes this a must have/must see/must repeatedly see view... and Mary Hartman's unforgetable young, unhappy, valium dazed housewife is so great... (and actually reminds me of my mother's friends and neighbors... back then going to shrinks and getting your tranqs to deal with the stresses of middle class American life was really in!)

Anyway, as you watch you marvel at the ensemble, but can see them doing their best to hold back from cracking up over their own lines and delivery... the show also strikes an edgy nerve... almost like Vonnegut on Valium. - - Though Louise Lasser may best be remember as one of Woody Allen's ex's, you can actually feel the Allenesque "zeitgeist" quirk via her brilliant acting. (Of course, the acting allegedly backfired when people actually believed that her nervous breakdown on the show was real!)

Watch Mary Hartman... the ultimate spoof of the American soap opera... and dysfunctional family life ! Over 9 hours packed onto 3 DVDs in a nifty slimline box set. Meanwhile... when's FERNWOOD TONIGHT gonna hit DVD ???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars for Mary Hartman, February 17, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mary Hartman, Mary Hartman - Volume 1 (DVD)
2/17/07 Amazon does it again. While listing the "stars" of this show, it fails to mention Louise Lasser (who Made the character of Mary Hartman), Dody Goodman (Mary's "long-suffering" mother), and Mary Kay Place (lovable neighbor Loretta Haggers). Sheesh! What's up with that? Hopefully Amazon will correct this major oversight soon. Certainly this isn't the first time that Amazon has listed television shows without the main star included - looks like the help need to pay a visit to Google.

Mary Hartman, for many, was a great guilty pleasure. People who scoffed at soap operas in the 1970s sat down and watched each night while Mary, early on, dealt with such issues as the waxy yellow buildup on her kitchen floor or her grandfather being arrested for exposing himself. Neighbor Loretta's funniest moments included her day stint appearance on The Dinah Shore Show cooking her sweet potato pie and making a crack that almost ended her career (Loretta's, not Mary's) , which included Dinah playing herself. Then there was the rivalry between Mary and her sister Cathy for the attentions of the police officer Dennis Foley. The show was also played "straight" and not for laughs, which added to the campiness and watchability of the show. Season One (probably the most famous season) ended with Mary melting down on the David Susskind Show. Season One also helped to spawn, briefly, the singing career of Mary Kay Place both as Loretta and under her own name.

I sincerely hope that the powers-that-be can arrange for the 1976 hilarious spoof of Mary Hartman from The Carol Burnett Show to be put on as a future extra. It was called "Mary Mary Quite Contrary, Mary Mary Quite Contrary" and had Carol as Mary, Vicki Lawrence as Loretta, Jim Nabors as Charlie, and Tim Conway as grandfather who liked to play peek-a-boo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incomplete Yes, But Damage is Contained, March 27, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mary Hartman, Mary Hartman - Volume 1 (DVD)
TVDVDJunkie is correct--Episodes #22 and #24 are not the originals. I have compared the DVD episodes to my videotapes, both from the 1980 CBS late night run and the 2002 TVLand run, and there are two 3 minute sequences missing involving the Haggars' run-in with the hillbillies. There were three sequences in total: (1) the initial hillbilly encounter at gunpoint at the end of Episode 22 which has been deleted, (2) the primary scene where the hillbillies suggest a song to Loretta in Episode 23, which survives intact, and (3) the lead-out scene in Episode 24 where Charlie and Loretta are alone in the car discussing what almost happened with the hillbillies, just before their car accident with the nuns, which discussion scene has been deleted. Both deleted sequences run about 3 minutes. I checked every episode on the third disc... Episodes 19 through 25 and this is the extent of the damage....just six minutes. Everything else survived.

How could this have happened? I think it was carelessness, rather than deliberate. This is my theory. Many of you are too young to remember that during the summer hiatus of 1976 (July 5, 1976 to October 1, 1976), the stations participating in the MH syndication aired "The Best of" Mary Hartman. These were 65 compressed, edited versions of the original first 130 episodes that aired January 5, 1976 to July 2, 1976. Rather than choosing the best 65 episodes, the producers actually reedited all of the episodes in order to maintain a story flow and allow new viewers of the reruns to understand the show. About 50 percent of the scenes had to be deleted to fit 130 episodes of material into 65 rerun episodes, so they eliminated extraneous tangents to stories, as well as some "B" stories, to just highlight the central plots of the show. That is why I believe the entire hillbilly sequence was deleted, because it was not critical to the Haggars story, which focused on the car accident that put Loretta in a wheelchair. I believe original Episodes 22, 23, and 24 were compressed into two episodes for summer rerun purposes. The editors in the summer of 1976 deleted all 3 hillbilly-related sequences from Episodes 22, 23, and 24, but kept the Haggars' car accident with the nuns. They also deleted previews of upcoming episodes, as well as the segments from Episode 23 that featured Coach Fedders at home, and Grandpa Larkin appearing in court. This permitted 3 original episodes to be compressed into 2 rerun episodes for the 1976 summer season. Episode 23's scene with Tom coming home from lunch to be confronted by Mary as she was waxing the floor, was cut into the end of Episode 22 to replace the first hillbilly encounter scene. Episode 23's scene with Mary visiting Dennis at the police station to retrieve her shoe was edited into the beginning of Episode 24, replacing the scene where Loretta and Charlie are in the car discussing what almost happened with the hillbillies. The rest of Episode 23 was not used in the 1976 summer reruns.

Here is what I think Sony accidentally did. They successfully preserved the entire Episode 23 that has the Coach Fedders scene and the Grandpa Larkin scene that was unused in the 1976 summer reruns. But they incorrectly used the marginally recut versions of Episodes 22 and 24 that were specially prepared for the 1976 summer reruns for this DVD collection! This is why one scene from DVD Episode 23 is duplicated at the end of DVD Episode 22 and another scene from DVD Episode 23 is duplicated at the beginning of Episode 24. Yes, this is very frustrating and careless but at least the total damage is no more than 6 minutes. The original episodes run 22 minutes, so we need not worry that every episode has something removed from it. They don't. Episodes 19, 20, 21, and 23 are EXACT duplicates of my videotaped episodes, with nothing missing.

One more point for us purists. I also don't believe Episode 25 is the original one either. HOWEVER, the only thing that is missing is some 3 minutes of previews at the end of the episode. Every other original scene is intact word for word. For the DVD release, Sony deleted the 3 minutes of previews that were at the end of original Episode 25 and replaced it with the first scene in Episode 26, when Tom comes home to Mary after finding out that Mae may have given him VD. Sony may have believed that scene provided a more logical cliffhanger to the end of Volume 1...or perhaps, this also is an altered Episode 25 prepared for the 1976 summer rerun season.

I hope my research clears up what actually happened. Sony would need to confirm my suspicions. I honestly believe the damage is contained and I hope someone from Sony reads this and realizes their mistake so that it won't be repeated. Otherwise, I agree with those reviewers who have praised the picture quality and urge fans to still buy Volume 1. Otherwise, we will have no hope of seeing the later Volumes that have become so rare. I have only seen Episodes #106-325 once, and have no videotapes whatsover of those shows. They deserve to be seen. Sony just needs to be a little more careful about who they send "down to the vault" and tell them to retrieve the ORIGINAL masters of the show, not the recut masters used for the 1976 summer reruns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last, at last: Please keep the sets coming!, January 17, 2007
By 
Jason (Marietta, OH, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mary Hartman, Mary Hartman - Volume 1 (DVD)
One of the exciting things about Mary Hartman, Mary Hartman getting released on DVD is the possibility that a new generation of viewers can discover this beautifully strange satire for themselves! I first caught a couple rerun episodes when I was in high school in 1990, and from that moment on I was hooked: by the great blend of surreal comedy and heartbreaking humanity, by the excellent performances of Louise Lasser, Dody Goodman, and the entire cast, by the fact that there has been nothing like it on television before or since. I'm convinced the group who fell for it in 1976 will revisit it with glee, and the group of young adults who never had a chance to see it because it got buried and forgotten in the 80s and 90s are in for a major cult comedy treat. FINALLY indeed. May Sony release all 325 episodes in 13 volume sets. Us MHMH fans will rejoice with every new addition. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Understandable but Unqualified Outrage, April 1, 2007
By 
tashcrash (South Shore, MA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mary Hartman, Mary Hartman - Volume 1 (DVD)
I almost universally tend to side with the devoted in refusing to purchase egregiously compromised product, but I must say that this is different. For one thing, the cuts are agreeably unfortunate but nowhere near as severe as many other instances of corporate indifference. More importantly, though, is the fact that MARY HARTMAN, MARY HARTMAN IS ON DVD!!! Personally, I would watch these shows under ANY compromised circumstances and, all things considered, this is a fantastic set and well worth the reasonable price.

I would encourage anyone interested in the set to buy it without thinking twice or getting hung up on relatively petty consumerist principles. After the purchase is made, THEN let Sony know, in no uncertain terms, that you made the purchase in good faith, were disappointed in the missing episode footage, that you would appreciate a replacement disc (which actually works sometimes), and that you plan on buying any and all future volumes as a result.

As unfair as it may seem (and it can be VERY disheartenting when you are getting less than 100% for no discernable reason), the refusal to purchase on such grounds will only lead to the unavailability of future episodes. Choose you battles carefully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The waxy yellow build up has been lifted!!!!, January 15, 2007
By 
Sam F. (Dallas, Tx) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mary Hartman, Mary Hartman - Volume 1 (DVD)
Thank you Sony for giving us our Mary on glorious DVD!!!! Now everything's gonna be all right and we can all go to the House of Pancakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hasn't aged a bit., April 1, 2007
This review is from: Mary Hartman, Mary Hartman - Volume 1 (DVD)
I was really surprised. I hadn't seen this show since it first aired in the mid 70s, so I was expecting it to be a bit dated and of it's time. With the first joke about Mary obsessing over the waxy yellow build-up on her kitchen floor, I realized that nothing has changed except that we've become even MORE obsessed and insecure 30 years later! Mary would have just replaced her floor wax insecurity with an obsession about botox injections. Loretta would be dreaming about appearing as a lame contestant on American Idol. Grandpa would be on Larry King defending himself against the "unjust" charges of flashing he'd been "exposed" to, while the rest of the people on the show would be waiting for their spots on Dr. Phil or Jerry Springer. Mass murderers who kill whole families along with their chickens and goats seem quaint these days, lol! The more things change, the more they stay the same. I'm still laughing out loud at this show 30 years later, and it doesn't have to prod me with a laugh track. Timeless comedy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THANK YOU SONY!!!!!, January 15, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mary Hartman, Mary Hartman - Volume 1 (DVD)
I just can't believe it. SONY is actually releasing this monumental show on DVD. I can't say thank you enough to SONY. For those of you who are unfamiliar with Mary Hartman, Mary Hartman, it was originally broadcast from 1976-1978 and ran for 325 episodes. The show was the brain-child of Norman Lear and was a late-night spoof of soap-operas. It paved the way for other shows such as Soap, That 70's Show and Desperate Housewives. But Mary Hartman was ground breaking for its time. It dealt with an assortment of taboo subjects and was therefore turned down by every major network. So Norman Lear sold the show into syndication accross the nation. Most of the time slots were late-night, but there were a few during the day. The show became an instant phenomenon which competed with most of the late-night news shows. In fact, Mary Hartman is the one show that truly defines the look and feel of the 1970's. The star of the show was the comic genius, Louise Lasser. Her comic style is unique only to herself. Many may remember her from one of the most famous and talked about episodes of Saturday Night Live (which can be seen on the Season 1 set), her guest appearances on Taxi (she played Alex's ex-wife) and from several of Woody Allen's early films, including Bananas and Everything You Always Wanted to Know About Sex, But Were Afraid to Ask. What she brings to Mary Hartman is pure genius. It might take a few episodes to understand her humor, but once you do, you'll never regret it. The show also launched the careers of several other major stars including Dabney Coleman and Mary Kay Place and revitalized the careers of others, most notably Dody Goodman (from the Jack Paar Show). Countless guest stars appeared on the show - Dr. Joyce Brothers, Dinah Shore, Gore Vidal and David Suskind among others. But the premise of the show is that it's a soap-opera spoof and a legitimate soap opera at the same time. It's complete with passion, scandal and corny organ music. And it also contains some of the most famous scenes from 1970's television. Watch a man drown in chicken soup, see Mary Kay Place become a country-western singing star, beware of station wagons full of nuns and you can't miss the star of the show have a nervous breakdown on national television. This show is for the ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glad to have it, April 1, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mary Hartman, Mary Hartman - Volume 1 (DVD)
This was one of those rare occasions where I actually "pre-ordered" a DVD set from Amazon, wanting to make sure I secured myself a copy. I am very pleased with the quality of these episodes, especially the pilot shot in 1974. Since "Soap" from 1977 was also recorded on videotape and not film, I was somewhat worried that "Mary Hartman, Mary Hartman" would have some of the deterioration seen on there. But nope. The picture quality of MHMH is still intact and excellent.

I think I appreciate the show more than I ever have, being re-introduced to some fine character actors such as Dody Goodman, Graham Jarvis, and the wonderful Debralee Scott, may she rest in peace. But I cannot help but think that Carol Burnett, Jim Nabors and Vicki Lawrence are about to bust through that kitchen door as well.

I don't care what I have to do to save the money up for the rest of the 300 or so episodes to follow but, Sony, keep 'em coming. I want them ALL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mary Hartman, Mary Hartman - Volume 1
Mary Hartman, Mary Hartman - Volume 1 by Jim Drake (II) (DVD - 2007)
$19.99 $12.76
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.