Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three Silly Chicks Review
Some kids like cuddly bears. Some like fuzzy blankies. Some like the comfort of a binky. But Mary isn't like other kids. Instead of a bear, a blankie or a binkie, she carts around a lamp.

Mary had a little lamp--
The bendy, gooseneck kind.
And everywhere that Mary went
She dragged the lamp behind.

We love this fresh take on the classic...
Published on November 15, 2008 by Three Silly Chicks

versus
0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unsafe and inappropriate!!!!!
OMG, I couldn't believe the inappropriateness of this book!!! Yes, the story does teach open-mindedness, by showing that it is totally fine for each person to be attached to whatever they choose is right for them, which is awesome & that it's okay to let go of our comfort items when we no longer feel we need them....but of all the unconventional things that the author...
Published 16 months ago by Elizabeth Thompson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three Silly Chicks Review, November 15, 2008
This review is from: Mary Had a Little Lamp (Hardcover)
Some kids like cuddly bears. Some like fuzzy blankies. Some like the comfort of a binky. But Mary isn't like other kids. Instead of a bear, a blankie or a binkie, she carts around a lamp.

Mary had a little lamp--
The bendy, gooseneck kind.
And everywhere that Mary went
She dragged the lamp behind.

We love this fresh take on the classic nursery rhyme. What's especially fun about this zippy, silly book is Mary's attitude. This perky little individualist doesn't give a flying fig what others think of her appliance. Her teacher scolds her, the kids tease her and her parents worry. None of this matters to Mary. She simply likes her lamp, and that's that!

When Mary's parents, sure that she has some strange affliction, take her to the doctor, Lechner delivers one of our all time favorite lines:

Their doctor said, "I've never seen
so puzzling a condition.
But lamps are not my specialty
You need an electrician."

Staake's brightly colored illustrations use simple shapes and lines to create a lively, graphic style. Sure to be a favorite at storytimes everywhere--this book will light up your libraries!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Approved by 20 kindergartners!!, April 25, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mary Had a Little Lamp (Hardcover)
I took this book to my child's Kindergarten class as a guest reader. Every one of the 20 kids was laughing out loud by the end.

I can't give a better review than that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best new kids book!, May 7, 2008
By 
R. Pomerance (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mary Had a Little Lamp (Hardcover)
Mary Had a Little Lamp is just the right blend of funny, silly and clever. My boys love this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adorable!, May 14, 2008
By 
R. Shukert (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mary Had a Little Lamp (Hardcover)
This book is absolutely adorable, and overall a perfect children's book. Catchy and simple enough for children to read over and over again, and sophisticated and clever enough that you won't mind reading it. The illustrations compliment the zany, yet touching text wonderfully--my favorite touch is the lamp tucked into its own lamp bed, and the rhymes are really remarkable...and stay in your head. Overall, a great book that should be a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rhyming children's picturebook that subverts the popular nursery rhyme "Mary had a little lamb", June 15, 2008
This review is from: Mary Had a Little Lamp (Hardcover)
Mary Had a Little Lamp is a rhyming children's picturebook that subverts the popular nursery rhyme "Mary had a little lamb." Instead of being about a girl and her beloved lamb, Mary Had a Little Lamp is about a girl and her beloved... lamp. Everywhere that Mary goes, the lamp goes too; she is attached to it despite her parents' fussing, and is never embarrassed about it. Then one summer, things change: "She spent the summer swimming / and canoeing, and she found / That she could have a lot of fun / Without the lamp around." Mary learns to leave the lamp at home, and gains a new attachment - to her toaster! The exuberant bordering on silly illustrations add the right tone of exaggerated humor to this playful picturebook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FABULOUS!!, January 28, 2009
This review is from: Mary Had a Little Lamp (Hardcover)
Our four and a half year old son has been infatuated with cords of all kinds and electrical appliances for over two years now. When we saw this book in his Scholastic book flyer from school, we had to have it. It is funny and sweet and clever. Our son LOVES it. He "helps" us read it by saying the last couple of words of many of the parts. He also has now found a new love....a bendy gooseneck lamp that we had on a desk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and clever!, September 8, 2013
By 
Carol Jones (Basking Ridge, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mary Had a Little Lamp (Hardcover)
This book is so clever! I thought it was just plain fun. The reviewer who called it Unsafe and inappropriate!!!!! should just lighten up. Any kid can see that Lechner has created something so silly that no one would really go dragging a lamp around. Please visit [...] to read more of my reviews of children's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable for adults and kids, February 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mary Had a Little Lamp (Hardcover)
Our 2.5 year old loves this book. She laughs at the end every time. The best thing about this book as that we (mom & dad) enjoy reading it too. The words are great and the rhythm works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's hard not to like this story, January 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mary Had a Little Lamp (Hardcover)
A must for every little girl's book shelf. It hands down beats the classic Mary had a little lamb. I don't know if little boys would like it. I'll have to wait for grandsons to find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love, love, love this story!, December 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mary Had a Little Lamp (Hardcover)
Bought it to read to my new granddaughter. Can't wait!It is a fun, quirky twist to a familiar story and even makes the adults laugh:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mary Had a Little Lamp
Mary Had a Little Lamp by Jack Lechner (Hardcover - April 1, 2008)
Used & New from: $12.18
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.