Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars modern prophet's complement to Scripture
This book can inspire many people. I appreciated the humility and honesty of Catherine Emmerich. She admitted that the memory of her visions was flawed, but at the same time, she was able to see true treasures of our spiritual history.
I recommend using this book together with the scriptures and making comparisons. But I do believe that while reading, it is prudent...
Published on February 1, 2010 by Patrick L. Uzzell

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mary Magdalen
This small book on Mary Magdalen is a composite of material found in Anne Catherine Emmerich's much more vulominous volume concerning the old testament and the life of Jesus Christ, which is much better.
Published 15 months ago by Alex R. Hernandez


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars modern prophet's complement to Scripture, February 1, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mary Magdalen in the Visions of Anne Catherine Emmerich (Paperback)
This book can inspire many people. I appreciated the humility and honesty of Catherine Emmerich. She admitted that the memory of her visions was flawed, but at the same time, she was able to see true treasures of our spiritual history.
I recommend using this book together with the scriptures and making comparisons. But I do believe that while reading, it is prudent to keep in the back of our minds that Emmerich was very ill. I love this book, but it needs to be cross-referenced with biblical and other sources. I believe that Emmerich herself would be the first to agree with this point.

In this account, Catherine Emmerich stretches her clairvoyant capacities and informs us of all the details she can remember, while at the same time,warning us to beware that some of the information may contain inaccuracies. It complements the traditional Scriptures which give more summary renditions of events. I personality felt that the detailed descriptions of events and personaities of the gospels gave me a more intimate connection with the lives and customs of these people.

It also made me feel a need to compare my own life with those of divinely inspired individuals who felt the responsibility to make all aspects of their lives holy.I especially found it interesting to see how Jesus guided Mary Magdelene.

After repenting,Mary Magdalene was seized for the rest of her life with gripping remorse and endless love and devotion for Christ. However, it appeared that Jesus believed that she would not ever be able to live her life without attaching herself to others for guidance and direction, a role fulfilled by the Virgin Mary and later Martha until finally she isolated herself to live out the rest of her life in a cave.

I also felt that I gained insight into an important mystery of Christianity and the crucifixion. Following the death of Jesus, Mary Magdalene suffered much more than the other followers of Jesus because she felt that her sinful life made her personally responsible for the death of Jesus. Emmerich compared this reaction to the sadness of other disciples who nevertheless did not feel burdened with guilt to the same degree as Mary Magdalene.

Thus, Mary Magdalene is an example and inspiration for repentance unlike any other person in the bible.

If this book is used together with the scriptures, it is my opinion that we can get a fuller account of the events of biblical times.

I sincerely hope that people will also recognize prophets of our own times and that this book will circulate more widely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Most reliable, September 17, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mary Magdalen in the Visions of Anne Catherine Emmerich (Paperback)
This is the only book I would recommend on Mary Magdalen so far, after reviewing many offered on today's market. It would appear that other authors take great pleasure in expounding the role of Magdalen's life to suit their own agenda's. This book gives an insight to the spiritual path of Magdalen, the depth of her various levels of conversion after receiving God's mercy continuously, and her tireless pursuit of union with Christ, that is not of the physical world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mary Magdalen, February 6, 2007
By 
Michael McEvoy (Buffalo Grove, IL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mary Magdalen in the Visions of Anne Catherine Emmerich (Paperback)
Gives some good insights. Raises some questions, however. It describes Mary the mother of Jesus as having an older sister.

Per the Protoevangelium Jacobi, Anna and Joacim were childless before the birth of Mary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book. Wish it was longer, November 4, 2012
By 
Karen (California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mary Magdalen in the Visions of Anne Catherine Emmerich (Paperback)
I love this book. I read it after reading the 2 volume set entitled, "The Life and Revelations of Anne Catherine Emmerich." After reading about ACE's extremely inspiring and amazing life, I am convinced that whatever she saw was authentic and true. This woman/nun is very pure and very holy and incapable of making things up. (You would agree if you read the 2 volume set I just mentioned.) She lived solely on the Eucharist and blessed water for many, many years. She was forced to enter a hospital for several weeks to be observed to prove she was not eating or drinking anything else. She also had many spiritual gifts. One of them was that, since the time she was a child, she would go into exctasy and see visions of the life of Christ. I found the information on Mary Magdalen to be fascinating. I could not put this book down. It also goes along with much I already read about her. For instance, Mary of Agreda was shown the life of Christ. She writes about His life in the books entitled, The Mystical City of God. The information in this book lined up with the that book also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT!!! Leave the Mary Magdalen legend as it's been for centuries!!!, April 15, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mary Magdalen in the Visions of Anne Catherine Emmerich (Paperback)
Just finished it. GREAT BOOK!!! I think that penitent Mary Magdalen should stay the same, instead of everyone trying to say she has been misidentified as the "sinner". Now I agree it should be acknowledged that there is no proof that Mary Magdalen was a woman of "ill repute", but it makes sense: Who did Jesus love? The "sinners". So, it makes sense that the legend of Mary Magdalen is true, and she was a converted sinner. I think it's the holier then thou attitude that makes people suddenly want to look into it and change things. Also, in reading the book Mary of Bethaney and Mary Magdalen have similar qualities that easily could mean they are one in the same.
Chantell Snyder
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mary Magdalen: In the Visions of Anne Catherine Emmerich, January 9, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mary Magdalen in the Visions of Anne Catherine Emmerich (Paperback)
This book gave me an incredible look at Jesus' life and a different was of looking at repentance. Faith inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding book!!!, May 8, 2009
By 
Citypol86 "Citypol86" (Hudson Valley, New York) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mary Magdalen in the Visions of Anne Catherine Emmerich (Paperback)
This is a book that needs to be read, especially in these days of rewriting the past, for exposing the truth and keeping hope alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Perspective from Channel/Visionary, March 11, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mary Magdalen in the Visions of Anne Catherine Emmerich (Paperback)
Anne Catherine Emmerich is perhaps one of the two most imporant channels of Mary, Jesus and other Biblical characters. The other being Maria Valtorta. When I say one of the most important what I mean is that she has withstood the test of time. There are and have been many other channels, but eventually their work is blown by the wind. Edgar Cayce is another one who has withstood the test of time, but his focus was more on medical treatments. Much has been written about Mary Magdalen, but Emmerich is as reputable a source as you are going to find. Nice book!

Alex Gutierrez
Author of Mother Mary's Resurrection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enlightening, March 25, 2010
This review is from: Mary Magdalen in the Visions of Anne Catherine Emmerich (Paperback)
Wonderful to see the inside of such a different life. Enlightened! It will open your heart understanding the women who followed Christ!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Read!, April 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mary Magdalen in the Visions of Anne Catherine Emmerich (Paperback)
While this book is based on private revelation, it helps to fill-in the blanks. Not the need to know facts, but the background information many commentaries or Bible scholars typically provide. But and a big BUT, supposedly from the Blessed Mother herself! A must read to understand more about Mary Magdelen and who she really was and not what we are normally lead to believe. For example, did you know that there are actually three (3) Mary's mentioned in the Bible. Some scholars say they are all one woman, others say two of the three are one person and still others say that they are three distinct women. Read this book and decide for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mary Magdalen in the Visions of Anne Catherine Emmerich
Mary Magdalen in the Visions of Anne Catherine Emmerich by Emmerich (Paperback - May 1, 2005)
$14.95 $12.46
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.