Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Than Just Pictures
This book, like its subject, is not just a "pretty face". It has substance. It is a beautifully designed book with 235 phenomenal photographs. The problem with this is (and I am guilty of this, too) that often when a book is this beautiful the reader tends to zero in the pictures and skim over the text. DON'T! The writing is informative, entertaining, and eloquent.
Published on December 14, 2012 by Corgi Mama

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Mixed Bag But So Pretty
A beautiful book containing a mixed bag of essays concerning Mary Pickford, America's Little Sweetheart. While I loved the collection of photographs and am going to see a Pickford film this week for the first time because of this book, I found the essays pretty shallow and repetitive. Um, kind of what you'd expect for a glossy coffee table book?
Published 20 months ago by M. Fenn


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Than Just Pictures, December 14, 2012
This review is from: Mary Pickford: Queen of the Movies (Hardcover)
This book, like its subject, is not just a "pretty face". It has substance. It is a beautifully designed book with 235 phenomenal photographs. The problem with this is (and I am guilty of this, too) that often when a book is this beautiful the reader tends to zero in the pictures and skim over the text. DON'T! The writing is informative, entertaining, and eloquent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous book, December 4, 2012
By 
James B. Mccann "Film Scholar" (REDFORD, MICHIGAN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mary Pickford: Queen of the Movies (Hardcover)
Great tribute to the the great star of the silent era. This book is very well done and goes beyond what you might expect. I have a few books by or about Mary and none hold a candle to this.This goes well with the Milestone DVD release. Only problem with all of this is it just leaves you wanting more. How could it be otherwise. Well worth the money!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Presented and Documented View of One of the First Film Icons, January 14, 2013
This review is from: Mary Pickford: Queen of the Movies (Hardcover)
Having read several books about Mary Pickford, this book tops the list of the Pickford books. Written for today's audience, it does a marvelous job of documenting and critically evaluating her volume of work while presenting information relating to her personal life. It also manages to define her appeal to a contemporary audience which isn't always easy to understand.
While the text off this book is enough to keep its readers attention, it can be easily overlooked based purely on the basis of this book's stunning visuals. It is populated with marvelous photos of Pickford that are done in black and white and a myriad of shades of grey and also includes reproductions of her colorful movie posters and other film ephemera.
This book hones in on Mary Pickford(nee Gladys Smith) who became one of America's favorite imports from Canada and profiles a life that started in poverty and ended in isolated opulence. Her story, not always as magical as one might imagine, still remains a realistic fairy tale and properly places her within the burgeoning new industry that gave Hollywood its reputation. Given her natural talent and work ethic, it is hard to imagine how Pickford could have imagined her work as anything less than stellar and really quite entertaining and charming, Once one half of the first film super couple, Mary and Doug (Douglas Fairbanks) captured the country's and the world's attention.
This book was so well done that it makes it impossible to give it anything less than 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars M. Pickford -Queen of the Movies: An EXCELLENT new book!!!, January 29, 2013
This review is from: Mary Pickford: Queen of the Movies (Hardcover)
WOW - LOVE it! Three cheers for Christel Schmidt!!! What a truly spectacular book! From the design of the book with it's excellent graphic layout and rare photos, to the insightful and culturally relevant articles "Mary Pickford: Queen of the Movies" delivers -big time! Each chapter is a rare treat, illuminating the profound cultural impact of Mary's life and career. Christel should be highly praised for her scholarly dedication to this subject matter. This is clearly one of the BEST books ever written and compiled about "America's Sweetheart." The importance of this book as an archival resource for film lovers and cultural critics alike cannot be stressed enough. I think Mary would have been very proud of this beautiful compendium of her life's work. If you haven't already bought a copy - do so - it's well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Mixed Bag But So Pretty, June 14, 2013
This review is from: Mary Pickford: Queen of the Movies (Hardcover)
A beautiful book containing a mixed bag of essays concerning Mary Pickford, America's Little Sweetheart. While I loved the collection of photographs and am going to see a Pickford film this week for the first time because of this book, I found the essays pretty shallow and repetitive. Um, kind of what you'd expect for a glossy coffee table book?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Book on Pickford We'll Ever Get!, January 4, 2013
By 
Greg Hatfield (Cincinnati, Ohio) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mary Pickford: Queen of the Movies (Hardcover)
I want to formally recommend Mary Pickford: Queen of the Movies by Cristal Schmidt. Filled with wonderful photos and other archive material from the Library of Congress and the Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Academy, it also has great essays by Kevin Brownlow and Edward Wagenknecht, along with Cristal's own perspective. It's a great book on Pickford, complimenting Brownlow's own Mary Pickford Rediscovered. I can't stop reading it and looking at the photos. Just a terrific tribute to Pickford, the finest we'll ever get. Cristal is also traveling the US, presenting Pickford films and discussing her impact on motion pictures. She has a FB page, Mary Pickford Queen of the Movies, where her schedule is published. Everyone on this page should have this book in their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm hopelessly in love with a deceased actress., January 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mary Pickford: Queen of the Movies (Hardcover)
You know your life is in a downward spiral when the only possible way of
meeting the girl of your dreams is by holding a seance!
With Christel Schmidt's wonderful new book, it's easy to understand why
Mary Pickford was known as 'America's Sweetheart'. You'll find a great
collection of photos here-both of Mary and her co-stars; Color photos
of lobby cards and posters from Mary's films, and a chapter featuring
the magnificent costumes she wore in several films (also in color).
Even if you're not a silent film fan like me, you'll love this definitive
work about America's first 'Superstar'; an actress who should never be
forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The story of a genius, February 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mary Pickford: Queen of the Movies (Hardcover)
I rated this transaction as excellent since I received the package very quickly and in good condition.
I have long been a fan of silent movies, although I had never read extensively about Mary Pickford's early life.
I was pleased with the behind the scenes photographs that were presented as well.
Would recommend this book highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mary Pickford - Queen of the Movies, January 1, 2013
This review is from: Mary Pickford: Queen of the Movies (Hardcover)
Love the book - very well done and the photos outstanding with new material regarding her wardrobe (never seen that before)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queen of the Movies, June 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mary Pickford: Queen of the Movies (Hardcover)
This book is visually stunning, with a wealth of beautiful photos, and text to go along with them. A must have for Mary Pickford fans. I know my family and I will treasure this lovely book forever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mary Pickford: Queen of the Movies
Mary Pickford: Queen of the Movies by Christel Schmidt (Hardcover - November 12, 2012)
$45.00 $29.75
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.