Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon The Suffers Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now SnS

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars40
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 20, 2012
This is my first book purchase of Michael Stokes' photography, however, I was familiar with his work from last year's wall calendar. Let me just say that everything about the presentation is perfection. From the selection of the model's/scenario's/photo's, to the binding, dustjacket and thickness of the paper it was printed on....absolutely stunning. A definite must-have for the coffee table - beautifully captured. Very impressed and have already purchased his 2013 calendar, also titled Masculinity.
0Comment14 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2012
Robert Stokes's "Masculinity" is an erotically charged photo essay of beautiful men. Partially dressed, nude, in the studio with fantastic backgrounds or on location, you may recognize some of the singer/DJ/actor/models from dance music album covers, high-fashion websites or You Tube videos. Photographed mostly in full color with some in black and white, the men are captured as athletes, policemen, soldiers or lovers waiting for you to come over and spend some time with them. Stokes, as many of his contemporaries, does not shy away from photographing his models with full-erections, hence the accurate title of the book. The men are presented without shame and therefore the photographs are sexual but not pornographic. Grown-ups will not be offended, however some may be envious. Masculinity will be a splendid addition to your collection of art and photography books.
0Comment12 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
But Michael Stokes photographed man and the images he is able to offer in this impressive book are stunning indeed. Stokes' work has been seen and lauded in his previous books Turnon: Sports and Turnon: Muscles, but it is here, in this large and richly colorful collection, that he changes his stance a bit and decides to forego the paraphernalia of sports and just adore the human body.

It has been said that MASCULINTY (the book) sums up everything that makes Stokes' work special: strength, sex appeal and the perfection of the male body--staged in brilliant pictures that focus on the essential without denying the artist's eye for details. Stokes' models/men are powerful and seem to be ready for any encounter of any kind, be that hostile or amorous. He knows that fine line between raw sex appeal and innocent reserve and that is one reason this cluster of men are so appealing to everyone. Yes, there is complete frontal nudity here - just like on the Greek and Roman statues! Only with Stokes the men are a bit more `stoked' than with other artists. No disappointments here - just magnificent men out to strut and share their inordinately perfect physiques...etc. Grady Harp, December 12
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2012
Once again Michael Stokes has proven his skill at capturing the male form in its most rugged, graceful, sexy and awe-inspiring form. His images are tastefully erotic, seductive and inspirational all at once. In today's society masculinity can be interpreted or manifested in many ways yet Michael proves that his lens captures the epitome of what man can be. Masculinity will make a fantastic addition to your collection!
0Comment7 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2012
Michael you have completely outdone yourself! I absolutely love this book. Not just for the men, well mostly, but for the dynamic work of art and heart that both you and your models have displayed!! Absolutely love it!!!
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2014
I became a fan of Michael's photography from his generously sharing it on social media sites. I find his work to be compelling, beautiful and far more than just erotic images ( though even in that realm they are exquisite). Through his lens he captures the strength, innate sexyness and in some cases a hint of vulnerability of his models. Every photo tells its own story and is captivating to the eye as well as the soul. I would be hard pressed to select just one as my favorite as each one talks to me. This book is filled with images that will tantalize, tempt, touch and leave you wanting more. I look forward to more of his work with baited breath!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2012
"Masculinity" is just a stunning collection of Michael's amazing work! He has "perfection" for models including the wonderful Benjamin Godfre in it! Fabulous work Michael!
0Comment7 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2013
It appears that the photographer spent lots of effort in creating these images. My guess is that many are composite images and the reason is not that there are seams between the subjec and the background: the reason is because I cannot imagine how a nude model could have been in those places.

Having said that, I was (and am) stunned by the quality of this work. Even the very erotic (solo) images are quite well done.

I do have one complaint and that complaint I have with many photo books and that is that many images span two pages. I would rather spend more money and get my images in "one piece". [Publishers please take note of my complaint.]
0Comment6 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2012
I bought this coffee table sized pictoral for my husband's birthday. Could not have been more pleased with the quality of the photography, model selection right down to the paper stock. Michael Stokes succeeds in capturing the essence of these guys masculinity from their physique right down to their
vulnerability in their eye expression.
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2012
The photos are top notch; the men are handsome, athletic and masculine; the book is quite solid and well bound.

Strangely enough, it felt as though there weren't as many pictures as the size of the book would otherwise suggest.

I have a few other books with similar themes but still disappoint. Stokes really sets himself apart from his colleagues, demonstrated here by his skill behind the camera.

It is also good to see that the men featured aren't afraid to 'bare all' and show the bodies in full view.

No matter though
0Comment5 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$65.45
$58.90
$89.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.