Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Every bit as entertaining as you remember -- and you do!
If you loved the sudsy world of 1980s prime-time TV, February 1984 will forever stand out in your mind. With "Dallas," "Dynasty," "Falcon Crest" and "Knots Landing" all in the weekly Top 10, for three consecutive weeks viewers were also treated to epic, melodramatic mini-series. First was NBC's "Celebrity," followed by "Master of the Game" on CBS and then ABC's "Lace."...
Published on April 11, 2009 by Mark Allen

versus
26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rushing to the finish line!
I was so looking forward to see this miniseries after having seen the VHS shortened version many years ago.
I really did enjoy watching the opening episode with the fantastic Ian Charleson and brilliant Donald Pleasance.
Unfortunately the rest of the series seems terribly rushed with characters aging at a ludicrous speed (Dyan Cannon),i totally lost interest in...
Published on March 16, 2010 by Mr. Bernie Tinirau


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Every bit as entertaining as you remember -- and you do!, April 11, 2009
By 
Mark Allen (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Master of the Game (DVD)
If you loved the sudsy world of 1980s prime-time TV, February 1984 will forever stand out in your mind. With "Dallas," "Dynasty," "Falcon Crest" and "Knots Landing" all in the weekly Top 10, for three consecutive weeks viewers were also treated to epic, melodramatic mini-series. First was NBC's "Celebrity," followed by "Master of the Game" on CBS and then ABC's "Lace." Each posted bigger ratings than the previous.

"Master of the Game" was a nine-hour, three-night smash. Based on Sidney Sheldon's compulsively-readable novel, the saga told the 100-year story of the Blackwell family. At the center, Dyan Cannon wore innumerable preposterous gowns (don't get me started on the hats!), and guided her family's business empire to ever more dizzying heights. The plot moves at light speed, the diverse cast (everyone from Jean Marsh and Leslie Caron to Harry Hamlin and David Birney) was typical of the genre, and the sets were sumptuous.

Without providing any spoliers (not that they are needed for fans), this book-turned-mini advances the devilishly-addictive plot at breakneck speed. For newer fans of the book, this dramatization is well worth watching.

The collection would have earned five stars were it not for the *horrible* transfer. Produced at a then jaw-dropping cost of $3-million per hour, the series had a lush, gorgeous look. Unfortunately, the picture is often horribly grainy and the colors are inconsistent. But who cares? It's the story that makes "Master of the Game" the winner that it is.

Sit back and savor the sudsy goodness!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Master of 1980s mini-series, January 14, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Master of the Game (DVD)
After watching this mini-series for the 20th time last week, I have to say that Master of the Game is a good example of how some great television miniseries were produced in the 1980s.

The production values in this series are excellent, with a great musical score and fantastic scenery shots. The costumes were well designed and suitable to the various eras. Where the script/book demanded that the scenes be set in Africa or Paris, the producers took this series to those locations (although I believe that the South African scenes were shot in Kenya, and the New York mansion is the interior of an English manor home). The script was very well written, and the casting/acting was spot on (where has Liane Langland gone??).

Although some television miniseries produced in the 1980s have dated (eg, Rage Of Angels and If Tomorrow Comes), Master of the Game stands the test of time, and should be mentioned alongside Lonesome Dove, Shaka Zulu and North and South. I have to agree with a previous review of this item that CBS has not done this series the treatment it deserves with the poor transfer to DVD. As an anniversary edition, surely CBS could have given us the entire, unedited series that originally aired in 1984.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rushing to the finish line!, March 16, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Master of the Game (DVD)
I was so looking forward to see this miniseries after having seen the VHS shortened version many years ago.
I really did enjoy watching the opening episode with the fantastic Ian Charleson and brilliant Donald Pleasance.
Unfortunately the rest of the series seems terribly rushed with characters aging at a ludicrous speed (Dyan Cannon),i totally lost interest in the characters because of the frenetic pace of the storylines.I couldn't even bring myself to watch it all...
To be honest it felt like part 2 to 4 were badly edited/condensed while part 1 was left virtually intact.Also the quality of the picture was atrocious which is odd as i'm sure it was photographed on film.
A better transfer of a miniseries is "Centennial" which is spread out on 6 discs with wonderful picture quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sidney Sheldon's "Master ( of the Game ) Piece!", November 5, 2009
This review is from: Master of the Game (DVD)
I had first seen "Master Of The Game" upon its February 1984 premiere. As an avid fan of everything Sidney Sheldon has written from "I Dream Of Jeannie" to "Rage Of Angels", "Windmills Of The Gods" and "The Other Side Of Midnight", I had actually taped this on betamax (remember those!) to watch on that Saturday in winter 1984. I was a Sophomore dental school student at the time, which leaves you no time to watch anything during the week. Thank God I had taped this. I slept late ( until the afternoon ) that Saturday, transcribed two different school lectures from my little tape recorder ( didn't those days seem so simple compared to today? ), ran out for some dinner with my best friend from school, and he came over to watch this with me - all nine hours straight through. We had hot coffee and a great night of television. This was Sheldon's masterpiece, sprawling decades and world geography from South Africa and Maine, to New York, Paris and Vermont. I totally agree with the previous reviewer's comments about Dyan Cannon's hats! But that was the time, and money was nothing to these people. Dyan is dynamic as the matriarch inheritor of a diamond empire named Kruger-Brent ( named for two vicious dogs who almost finish her father off in South Africa, as he is about to discover diamonds in the sand on the beach, becoming one of the richest men in the world. Fortunately, the dogs do not win! But Harry Hamlin is worth his weight in gold as Kate Blackwell's ( Dyan Cannon's ) son, who is naturally gifted to become one of the greatest artists in the world, only to upset his mother to the point of trying to control every aspect of his destiny to the max. You'll find out what this could cause him to do to his mother ( I won't ruin it for those who haven't seen it ). One of my favorite scenes, if not my favorite in the miniseries, though, schmaltzy as it may seem ( I am a New York City native ), is the scene where Hamlin is flying to New York to meet the woman he "truly" loves, with the Statue of Liberty's head shown, lit at night, with an absolutely beautiful musical backdrop, as he is arriving in an older taxicab to a Park Avenue apartment building. Sidney Sheldon always knew how to make you feel rich, successful, and in love - even if you weren't! Truth be told, this is my fourth favorite miniseries of all time, with the first three being ( favorite first ): 1) Harold Robbin's 79 Park Avenue, 2) Irwin Shaw's "Rich Man Poor Man", and 3) Colleen McCullough's "The Thorn Birds". Don't get me wrong, "Master Of The Game" is five-star all the way. The other three were simply more favoritive to me. But if you haven't seen "Master" yet, get ready! Plan to spend a rainy day or night at home because you won't want to stop watching it. Trust me on that! And enjoy Sidney Sheldon at his miniseries best! One other add - if you haven't seen "Rage of Angels" and "Rage of Angels: The Story Continues" ( both Sidney Sheldon as well - the first was the novel both were based on ), see them as well. They will definitely warm some cold winter nights ahead. I'm a pathetic romantic, in case you haven't figured that out yet!

Dr. Paul A. Racioppi, Jr. Brooklyn, New York.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twin Win, April 30, 2009
By 
C. Tietze (Pacific Northwest) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Master of the Game (DVD)
Master of the Game is a win on all fronts. Intrigue, suspense, sensuality, power and greed at every twist and turn.

The highlight for me is Liane Langland as the polar opposite twins, Alexandra and Eve Blackwell. Beautiful, intelligent and excellently acted, Langland brings the wicked Eve to light in a humane, interesting and truthful way. While also playing the innocent opposite in Alexandra.

Worth the watch, just for the last 3 hours alone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Mini-Series!, December 4, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Master of the Game (DVD)
As you follow the story of this family dynasty, you will be on pins and needles waiting to see what will unfold next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I was looking forward to see the whole series but..., June 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Master of the Game (DVD)
I was so happy to finally getting to see this series again, but I was very disappointed to see that after the brilliant part 1 of it, part 2, 3, and 4 was just a condensed version of the series. The edit is so bad, you just see little pieces after little pieces of the action. I was watching it with a friend that never watched this series before and after the initial interest of part 1, she gives up...bad editing, bad product. Shame on the producer of this DVD, you destroyed a fine series, I feel robbed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Master of the Game, April 25, 2009
This review is from: Master of the Game (DVD)
One of my favorite movies of all time! Very true to the book, as well. Again, taking the viewer from the beginning of a family's life, all the way through to several generations later. Excellent movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mini-Series (Sidney Sheldon), May 11, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Master of the Game (DVD)
I had already seen the made for t.v. movie so I knew what to expect. I enjoyed the story and delivery of the product was wonderful. That is why I deal with Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Master of the Game DVD, part 1, April 3, 2009
This review is from: Master of the Game (DVD)
I've finished the first disc of this movie. I loved the book, and the movie is pretty good.

::SPOILERS FOR THOSE WHO HAVEN'T READ IT/SEEN IT::

So the first part is pretty good and pretty similar to the book. But when they get to Kate's childhood...there's some seriously atrocious editing. I was too young to see the movie when it originally aired, so maybe that's how it was, but I hope not.

It's like they edited out a whole bunch of the movie for time.

I seriously thought it was a commercial they had included that was just highlighting what was to come.("Next time on Master of the Game"...)

Nope. It goes from Maggie announcing she's pregnant, to Kate being about 8 years old, to Kate meeting Banda, to Kate growing up and marrying David in literally three minutes. It even seemed like some of the dialogue got chopped out mid-sentence. ::shrugs::

The rest of it played out ok, a little rushed, but not as bad as that three minute skim-over-a-hundred-pages.

::END SPOILERS::

I finished watching the second disc, and it was put together a lot better than the first.

As a whole, I liked it. They changed a few things here and there, but I can understand why. I'm sure that in 1982 they couldn't have had a tv movie showing George Mellis'...uh, fetishes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Master of the Game
Master of the Game by Fernando Allende (DVD - 2009)
$29.99 $18.23
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.