Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Qty:1
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Master of the Game has been added to your Cart
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Eligible for *FREE* super saver shipping. Amazon customer service with delivery tracking. A book that has been read but is in good condition. Very minimal damage to the cover including scuff marks, or very small tears. Binding has minimal wear, and some pages show signs of use. Occasionally these may be former library books. CD may NOT be included!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Master of the Game Mass Market Paperback – July 2, 1988

4.6 out of 5 stars 379 customer reviews

See all 32 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
$8.00
$2.98 $0.01
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"
$1.50

Top 20 lists in Books
Top 20 lists in Books
View the top 20 best sellers of all time, the most reviewed books of all time and some of our editors' favorite picks. Learn more
$8.00 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. In Stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

  • Master of the Game
  • +
  • If Tomorrow Comes
  • +
  • Rage of Angels
Total price: $24.00
Buy the selected items together


Editorial Reviews

Review

"Compulsively readable...Any writer who can get his audience to ask breathlessly, 'What next?' needs no help from this or any other envious reviewer".

-- New York Times Book Review

From the Back Cover

WHO IS KATE BLACKWELL?

She is the symbol of success, the beautiful woman who parlayed her inheritance into an international conglomerate. Winner of a unique position among the wealthy and world-renowned. And she's a survivor, indomitable as her father, the man who returned from the edge of death to wrench a fortune in diamonds from the bleak South African earth. Now, celebrating her ninetieth birthday, Kate surveys the family she has manipulated, dominated, and loved: the fair and the grotesque, the mad and the mild, the good and the evil -- her winnings in life. Is she the...

MASTER OF THE GAME?

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE


Product Details

  • Mass Market Paperback: 496 pages
  • Publisher: Grand Central Publishing (July 2, 1988)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0446355453
  • ISBN-13: 978-0446355452
  • Product Dimensions: 4.2 x 1.2 x 6.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 8.5 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (379 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #26,659 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Best known today for his exciting blockbuster novels, Sidney Sheldon is the author of The Best Laid Plans, Nothing Lasts Forever, The Stars Shine Down, The Doomsday Conspiracy, Memories of Midnight, The Sands of Time, Windmills of the Gods, If Tomorrow Comes, Master of the Game, Rage of Angels, Bloodline, A Stranger in the Mirror, and The Other Side of Midnight. Almost all have been number-one international bestsellers. His first book, The Naked Face, was acclaimed by the New York Times as "the best first mystery of the year" and received an Edgar Award. Most of his novels have become major feature films or TV miniseries, and there are more than 275 million copies of his books in print throughout the world.

Before he became a novelist, Sidney Sheldon had already won a Tony Award for Broadway's Redhead and an Academy Award for The Bachelor and the Bobby Soxer. He has written the screenplays for twenty-three motion pictures, including Easter Parade (with Judy Garland) and Annie Get Your Gun. In addition, he penned six other Broadway hits and created three long-running television series, including Hart to Hart and I Dream of Jeannie, which he also produced. A writer who has delighted millions with his award-winning plays, movies, novels, and television shows, Sidney Sheldon reigns as one of the most popular storytellers of all time.

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Mass Market Paperback
Sidney Sheldon's story of big business, lust, greed, and revenge spans four generations, starting with Jamie McGregor, who leaves Scotland in 1850 to strike it rich in the diamond fields of South Africa. He overcomes many hardships, becomes a millionaire, and starts the Kruger-Brent company. His daughter, Kate, pushes the company until it becomes a world-wide conglomerate, and moves her headquarters to America. To her chagrin, her son Tony wants to be a painter, not a businessman. His twin daughters, Alexandra and Eve, are as different as can be. One of them may be a killer...

The book is absolutely riveting, with Jamie's adventures putting him in a new danger on every page. Kate, the so-called Master of the Game, spends most of her ninety years buying and manipulating everyone in her path, in her relentless search for a worthy corporate successor. As in all of Sheldon's books, there is action, suspense, romance, and memorable characters that his fans are sure to enjoy.

Kona
2 Comments 56 of 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
This is the first Sydney Sheldon novel I've read. You don't often find stories this enticing. I was hooked from the first page, a vivid scene of the 90-year old heroine surveying her life, her family, and ghosts of old mistakes come back to haunt her. Despite its hefty length, this book kept me coming back for more, daydreaming at work about what would happen next, and staying up late at night to get to the next chapter. I read it in just a few days even though with my schedule it usually takes me at least a week to finish a book.
However, despite the story's addictive sway, Sheldon's writing style did not meet my expectations. After reading all the glowing reviews at Amazon.com, I expected this to be a terrific epic that would leave me awed and inspired, something in the vein of Gone With the Wind or Lonesome Dove. Instead, "Master of the Game" is more akin to John Jake's "North and South" -- yes, it is a multigenerational saga full of adventure, betrayal, and suspense, but it resembles a television screenplay more than a novel. The author moves from scene to scene, from tragedies to triumphs and back again, at a breakneck pace with only the barest attention paid to character development and plausibility. While I enjoyed the twists and turns of the story, it started to seem a bit melodramatic and predictable. You didn't have to be a brain surgeon to realize that [spoiler alert!] Salomon van der Mewre was going to cheat Jamie McGregor out of the money. Or that Tony would fall in love with Marianne rather than Lucy - and that it was Kate's plan all along. [end spoiler].
This book is pure brain candy, all fun with no substance. Similar to a night-time TV soap like Dallas -- you can predict what is going to happen, you know it is wildly improbable, but yet it has just the right mixture of intelligence, ruthlessness, and intrigue to keep you coming back.
2 Comments 30 of 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Sheldon was at the top of his game when he wrote Master of the Game. It is a classic Family Saga/Epic that spans decades. Many writers tried to duplicate Sheldon's success with the same formula but so many fell short because Sheldon was one of, if not the best when came to writing family drama. This is an excellent read, one I can guarantee will not only hold your attention anc capture your imagination, it will not allow you to put it down, until you're finished.
Comment 21 of 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
This was the first Sidney Sheldon book I have read & what an entertainer! I was utterly surprised at how hooked I was! I'm one of those readers that like to read books one or two chapters a day. With 'Master of the Game', that was an impossible habit to keep.
Overall, this book was excellent! The intensity at which Sheldon has the reader addicted compares to the likes of CRACK! (I'm assuming of course, hehe). Sheldon has a wicked ability to create suspense & hits it with incredible timing throughout. It was difficult to put down this book.
The greatest section is the beginning. The character of Jamie McGregor is forever etched in my memory. What this man endured in order to improve his standard of living a million folds is simply unbelievable! This is one of the best intro's from a novel EVER! 'Sensational' doesn't even describe it.
However, there were a few things throughout the book that Sheldon could have easily improved upon with a few strokes of a pencil. **For those who have NOT read this book, you may want to read the remainder of this review at a later time.**
The way Eve Blackwell 'wacked' George Mellis on the boat did not match the way one expected from her character. After what George did to her, I can't imagine that all she did was stab him! When Eve was 5 years old, she set her sister on FIRE for God's sake, & George the murderer/rapist only gets a stab? That was weak.
Also the last few chapters were a little disappointing... The proper ending would have finished off this incredible book with a 'BANG!', rather than a 'blah.'
This book was recommended to me from Indian film actress Kareena Kapoor after I read a profile about her. 'Master of the Game' happens to be one of her all-time favourites, so I thought I'd see what the hype was about.
Read more ›
Comment 14 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
This is undoubtedly the best book of Sidney Sheldon's, and probably one of the best novels I have read. The story itself begins in such an enticing manner, with all-time heroine Kate Blackwell, head of Kruger-Brent Ltd. reminisces about the ghosts of her past.The book covers the 100 year-long saga of the Blackwell family. It has incredible twists and turns,(although they seem a bit abrupt at times) and I finished it in one whole sitting.(despite its hefty length) The characters are well-developed and thoroughly enticing. Its not often you can find such a detailed and marvelous book as Master of the Game.
1 Comment 24 of 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Master of the Game
This item: Master of the Game
Price: $8.00
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Want to discover more products? Check out these pages to see more: safe deposit box, lovely weeks