Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Buy Used
$4.47
FREE Shipping on orders over $25.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Solid used copy with visible wear.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Master of the Game Hardcover – August, 1982

4.6 out of 5 stars 397 customer reviews

See all 30 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$26.40 $0.01
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"
$1.50
--This text refers to the Paperback edition.

click to open popover

Editorial Reviews

Review

'A master storyteller at the top of his game.' USA Today 'Compulsively readable.' New York Times Book Review --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

From the Back Cover

WHO IS KATE BLACKWELL?

She is the symbol of success, the beautiful woman who parlayed her inheritance into an international conglomerate. Winner of a unique position among the wealthy and world-renowned. And she's a survivor, indomitable as her father, the man who returned from the edge of death to wrench a fortune in diamonds from the bleak South African earth. Now, celebrating her ninetieth birthday, Kate surveys the family she has manipulated, dominated, and loved: the fair and the grotesque, the mad and the mild, the good and the evil -- her winnings in life. Is she the...

MASTER OF THE GAME? --This text refers to the Mass Market Paperback edition.

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE


Product Details

  • Hardcover: 403 pages
  • Publisher: William Morrow & Co; 1st edition (August 1982)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0688013651
  • ISBN-13: 978-0688013653
  • Product Dimensions: 8.6 x 5.7 x 1.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.1 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (397 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #283,314 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

By Kona VINE VOICE on November 19, 2004
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Sidney Sheldon's story of big business, lust, greed, and revenge spans four generations, starting with Jamie McGregor, who leaves Scotland in 1850 to strike it rich in the diamond fields of South Africa. He overcomes many hardships, becomes a millionaire, and starts the Kruger-Brent company. His daughter, Kate, pushes the company until it becomes a world-wide conglomerate, and moves her headquarters to America. To her chagrin, her son Tony wants to be a painter, not a businessman. His twin daughters, Alexandra and Eve, are as different as can be. One of them may be a killer...

The book is absolutely riveting, with Jamie's adventures putting him in a new danger on every page. Kate, the so-called Master of the Game, spends most of her ninety years buying and manipulating everyone in her path, in her relentless search for a worthy corporate successor. As in all of Sheldon's books, there is action, suspense, romance, and memorable characters that his fans are sure to enjoy.

Kona
2 Comments 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
This is the first Sydney Sheldon novel I've read. You don't often find stories this enticing. I was hooked from the first page, a vivid scene of the 90-year old heroine surveying her life, her family, and ghosts of old mistakes come back to haunt her. Despite its hefty length, this book kept me coming back for more, daydreaming at work about what would happen next, and staying up late at night to get to the next chapter. I read it in just a few days even though with my schedule it usually takes me at least a week to finish a book.
However, despite the story's addictive sway, Sheldon's writing style did not meet my expectations. After reading all the glowing reviews at Amazon.com, I expected this to be a terrific epic that would leave me awed and inspired, something in the vein of Gone With the Wind or Lonesome Dove. Instead, "Master of the Game" is more akin to John Jake's "North and South" -- yes, it is a multigenerational saga full of adventure, betrayal, and suspense, but it resembles a television screenplay more than a novel. The author moves from scene to scene, from tragedies to triumphs and back again, at a breakneck pace with only the barest attention paid to character development and plausibility. While I enjoyed the twists and turns of the story, it started to seem a bit melodramatic and predictable. You didn't have to be a brain surgeon to realize that [spoiler alert!] Salomon van der Mewre was going to cheat Jamie McGregor out of the money. Or that Tony would fall in love with Marianne rather than Lucy - and that it was Kate's plan all along. [end spoiler].
This book is pure brain candy, all fun with no substance. Similar to a night-time TV soap like Dallas -- you can predict what is going to happen, you know it is wildly improbable, but yet it has just the right mixture of intelligence, ruthlessness, and intrigue to keep you coming back.
2 Comments 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Sheldon was at the top of his game when he wrote Master of the Game. It is a classic Family Saga/Epic that spans decades. Many writers tried to duplicate Sheldon's success with the same formula but so many fell short because Sheldon was one of, if not the best when came to writing family drama. This is an excellent read, one I can guarantee will not only hold your attention anc capture your imagination, it will not allow you to put it down, until you're finished.
Comment 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
This was the first Sidney Sheldon book I have read & what an entertainer! I was utterly surprised at how hooked I was! I'm one of those readers that like to read books one or two chapters a day. With 'Master of the Game', that was an impossible habit to keep.
Overall, this book was excellent! The intensity at which Sheldon has the reader addicted compares to the likes of CRACK! (I'm assuming of course, hehe). Sheldon has a wicked ability to create suspense & hits it with incredible timing throughout. It was difficult to put down this book.
The greatest section is the beginning. The character of Jamie McGregor is forever etched in my memory. What this man endured in order to improve his standard of living a million folds is simply unbelievable! This is one of the best intro's from a novel EVER! 'Sensational' doesn't even describe it.
However, there were a few things throughout the book that Sheldon could have easily improved upon with a few strokes of a pencil. **For those who have NOT read this book, you may want to read the remainder of this review at a later time.**
The way Eve Blackwell 'wacked' George Mellis on the boat did not match the way one expected from her character. After what George did to her, I can't imagine that all she did was stab him! When Eve was 5 years old, she set her sister on FIRE for God's sake, & George the murderer/rapist only gets a stab? That was weak.
Also the last few chapters were a little disappointing... The proper ending would have finished off this incredible book with a 'BANG!', rather than a 'blah.'
This book was recommended to me from Indian film actress Kareena Kapoor after I read a profile about her. 'Master of the Game' happens to be one of her all-time favourites, so I thought I'd see what the hype was about.
Read more ›
Comment 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
This is undoubtedly the best book of Sidney Sheldon's, and probably one of the best novels I have read. The story itself begins in such an enticing manner, with all-time heroine Kate Blackwell, head of Kruger-Brent Ltd. reminisces about the ghosts of her past.The book covers the 100 year-long saga of the Blackwell family. It has incredible twists and turns,(although they seem a bit abrupt at times) and I finished it in one whole sitting.(despite its hefty length) The characters are well-developed and thoroughly enticing. Its not often you can find such a detailed and marvelous book as Master of the Game.
1 Comment 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Pages with Related Products. See and discover other items: suspense thrillers