Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece of Modern Islamic Mysticism
This story has everything one could want. It in no way conflicts with Sufism and its spirit and beliefs, it is well written, moderatly fast paced, and thrilling and adventurous - something you don't expect from Sufi writings. One walks away from reading this book transformed.

Mr. Karchmar is a genius of Sufi fiction. His work is among the newly forming stages...
Published on February 7, 2005 by Dawoud Kringle

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a "Sufi" novel
While this book is liberally sprinkled with quotes from true Sufi masters, and while the author clearly understands many aspects of Sufi tradition, I wish the book had been titled and marketed for what it is: A metaphysical fantasy that interweaves colorful allusions to Sufism without embracing what I, at least, understand to be at the real heart of the tradition. The...
Published on July 27, 2012 by Michael B. McDonald


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece of Modern Islamic Mysticism, February 7, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Master of the Jinn (Paperback)
This story has everything one could want. It in no way conflicts with Sufism and its spirit and beliefs, it is well written, moderatly fast paced, and thrilling and adventurous - something you don't expect from Sufi writings. One walks away from reading this book transformed.

Mr. Karchmar is a genius of Sufi fiction. His work is among the newly forming stages of a tradition of Sufism / Islam in the West.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MORE REAL THAN LIFE!, November 11, 2005
This review is from: Master of the Jinn (Paperback)
I do not know why the book "Master of the Jinn" is called a Novel. It is definitely more that. It is a tale on the Infinite Mercy of God and I cried towards towards the end of the story! And yes like the characters in the story, my sleep was perturbed and I had strange dreams!

If the book is to be deemed a novel, then since reading Charles Dickens, I have not been kept so captivated and hooked on any other novel. It has definitely a great story line and wonderful real-life characters!

I will not be surprised if one day, the book is adapted to the big screen and emerge as an Hollywood blockbuster exceeding any episode of the Indiana Jones saga! The author has blended real events with fiction in a very original and incisive style at times reminiscent of Khalil Gibran!

Mystic sayings and pearls of wisdom abound and peppers the tale throughout the adventure!

On a personal note, the book answered one of my lingering doubts and I seize the occasion to thank the author for such inspired thoughts that permeate throughout the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awe Inspiring Mystical Adventure, November 11, 2004
By 
This review is from: Master of the Jinn (Paperback)
I loved this book - it's a real tale in the classic sense, and an adventure story - yet the real journey is the spiritual one you take without even knowing you are taking it! A world of truths, a fascinating read, beautifully written, and the desert! What else could one ask for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A journey on the path of the Heart!, November 7, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Master of the Jinn (Paperback)
I rarely read fiction, and have never been this excited about a novel
before. If anyone is up to a beautiful and wonderful tale of Magick,
mystics and evocation my friend Irving has written such a masterpiece
"Master of the Jinn!" (Jinn is the root of the word Genie.) It is a
modern Sufi novel that will take you on a journey through the mystical
lands of the Arabian Nights.

Follow the pilgrims of the Soul on a spiritual quest of the path of
the heart, initiated by their master to find The True Temple of
Solomon, and unlock the greatest treasure ever known, (or unknown.)
This book has everything, mystery, visions, Magick, strange dreams, a lost city, bandits, Jinn, memories of the heart, other worldy storms, and so much more.

The insights are incredible! The universal message of Sufi speaks to
all people of all religions of all places in all times. Sufi way is to
Islam as Kabbalah is to Judaism, the esoteric insight of the deeper
truth belonging to no religion. The Pagan* way of the middle east, with
universal teachings and insights that reach across the worlds showing
the One and Only who is not defined by doctrine, dogma or man, but
revealed only in the heart of the seeker.

(* NB- I use "Pagan" in the Pythagorean sense, according to M. P. Hall, "Pythagoras was pagan because he was initiated into 14 of the worlds great mystery traditions, he refused to allow dogma or doctrine define what the divine may or may not be.")

I could not put this down!

Salaam and Shalom! Blessings and peace too all beings, especially those who are suffering and in need of mercy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thousand doors of wisdom unlocked, June 8, 2007
By 
Tavis J. Hampton (Indianapolis, Indiana United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Master of the Jinn (Paperback)
Master of the Jinn is a life-giving tale of self-reflection, awakening, and ultimately, realization of Truth. Despite such spiritually lofty accomplishments, it is surprisingly approachable for the non-initiated and easily digested in a few sittings. Sufism, being a path that cannot be adequately explained through doctrines or discourses is here delivered in the most traditional form: through stories.

In doing so, Irving Karchmar extends the undying legacy of sufi storytelling that has guided humanity (and jinn) through darkness and into light since the dawn of civilization. After reading it, I feel as though a thousand doors of wisdom have opened, each leading to a thousand more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a "Sufi" novel, July 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Master of the Jinn (Paperback)
While this book is liberally sprinkled with quotes from true Sufi masters, and while the author clearly understands many aspects of Sufi tradition, I wish the book had been titled and marketed for what it is: A metaphysical fantasy that interweaves colorful allusions to Sufism without embracing what I, at least, understand to be at the real heart of the tradition. The Master of the book is basically Gandalf in Sufi drag. I have nothing against Gandalf, but Sufism, quite notably, does not rely on concepts of the supernatural for its mysticism. Rumi and Hafiz, for instance, were clearly not supernaturalists, but rather much more akin to Advaita non-dualists, or even Buddhists, interested in paring away everything that keeps us from perceiving the presence of the Friend (or Buddha nature)in our very midst. I far prefer Gandalf to the Master in this book, because considering and enjoying Gandalf does not require or lead me to ask questions like "In a world where Islam (and thus Sufism) is widely misunderstood, why is this author casting yet more obfuscation on these great traditions?" The Master is within, but you would never suspect that from this book (again, the hierarchical metaphysics of Tolkien are much more straightforward: Frodo may become a great hero, but he can never be a wizard, much less Gandalf). This book is indeed entertaining, so I was reluctant to give it less than 3 stars, but I wish it had been marketed for what it is, a kind of quasi-Muslim version of Da Vinci Code, distorting Muslim tradition to about the same degree that Brown's book distorts Christianity. Basically, the book achieves its effects by mixing Sufi ideas (ideas that become increasingly banal, taken out of their historic and cultural contexts) with motifs from 1,001 nights (especially the motif of Jinns sealed into vessels through the agency of Solomon's seal). Starting the book, I thought it had great promise, but I came to hate it by the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A spirited and spiritual read, February 5, 2011
By 
Debora McNichol (Ocean Pines, Maryland, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Master of the Jinn (Paperback)
I enjoyed reading Master of the Jinn in spite of myself. I am an impatient and busy person, and don't usually have a chance to pick up a book until 1/2 hour past bedtime. So color me pleasantly surprised when I found myself staying up to the wee hours to finish this book over a couple nights. The story moves quickly, yet stimulates the imagination. This might be a good book choice for adolescent boys, who don't have many *clean* and interesting choices. MotJ is an action packed adventure, yet spiritual, too. Karchmar's respect for the human condition is apparent in the nobility and dignity of his characters. I recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sufi story to sooth the soul, November 25, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Master of the Jinn (Paperback)
This book was not a real page turner for me, and it's hard for me to pinpoint why. I enjoyed the story, the Sufi mysticism, the fanstasy, and the King Solomen mythology. Perhaps it was the characters, which I didn't always identify with. The darvishes in the book tend to do a lot of crying, but the tears, and the causes of the tears did not always move me.

The spiritual messages of the book are good old fashioned stuff, like God is merciful, God is loving, and man should not presume to know the will of God. Beautiful and powerful messages which get repeated maybe a tad too often through the story.

Although I had no problem putting this book down to go do something else, I was always drawn back to it after a short time. Maybe it's not a book to be devoured, but one to be pondered.

Entertainment: 4 stars

Enlightenment: 4 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Fabulous, May 28, 2011
This review is from: Master of the Jinn (Paperback)
Master of The Jinn is a wonderful Sufi tale of love and tolerance. Regardless of your faith or beliefs, Master of The Jinn will transport you to a fantastical world of adventure with a deeper message that will open your heart. Do not start this book late at night unless you are ready to read in to the wee hours of the morning! I can only hope for a sequel....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three Mysticisms, One God, August 2, 2010
This review is from: Master of the Jinn (Paperback)
First: Visuals. Your visual beauty of the cover and the textual pen and ink drawings call at once to the spirit to partake.

Second: Phrase. It reads like the best of your Tradition as I have experienced it. Of course Arabian Nights come to mind. It is graced with poetic and philosophic quotes which are so rich, one wishes to linger. Magically, or just bc. your own spirit is enflamed, they completely connect with the story somehow.

Third: Religious thought. I like the synopsis: "self realization woven delicately throuh the intricate strands of relgion."

Fourth: Relevance.
It took a Sufi to give me something for which I sought--the interconnections of 3 Mysticisms. I find it part of the Divine comedy that He sees fit to transfer a dose of that wondersome mythology and a good shot of faith-elixir from Arabic eloquence.

Shalom, Pax Christi
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Master of the Jinn: A Sufi Novel
$4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.