Customer Reviews


662 Reviews
5 star:
 (361)
4 star:
 (115)
3 star:
 (62)
2 star:
 (44)
1 star:
 (80)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


167 of 176 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Lock
This is the best lock out there in my experience. We had 2 bags that were checked in at the Johannesburg airport. Someone tried to get into both bags. They easily broke one of our brand new locks which was a different model. We found that other lock inside its ravaged suitcase (and many items were stolen from that bag). By contrast, this particular Master Lock had...
Published on September 17, 2010 by Ann

versus
181 of 203 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Insecure - Opens in seconds without a tool
This lock can be opened in seconds by anyone without a tool. Find some good light and take a look in the crack above the numbers. Spin the dial until you see a notch on the silver bar in the crack. Line each one up with the dots and there you go. I don't expect a lock like this to be extremely good, but this is just ridiculous. Unfortunately I leave on a very long trip...
Published on November 8, 2011 by Marcus


‹ Previous | 1 267 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

167 of 176 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Lock, September 17, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Master Lock 4688D TSA Accepted Cable Luggage Lock in Assorted Colors, 1-Pack (Tools & Home Improvement)
This is the best lock out there in my experience. We had 2 bags that were checked in at the Johannesburg airport. Someone tried to get into both bags. They easily broke one of our brand new locks which was a different model. We found that other lock inside its ravaged suitcase (and many items were stolen from that bag). By contrast, this particular Master Lock had numerous cut marks on it, but it held up well and did not break. This model of Master Lock combines a metal shell and heavily twisted wires in a way that makes it withstand assaults very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS A BASIC TRAVELERS LOCK, September 15, 2012
By 
Nick Fav (Philadelphia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Master Lock 4688D TSA Accepted Cable Luggage Lock in Assorted Colors, 1-Pack (Tools & Home Improvement)
I traveled to China with this lock on my luggage and it worked exactly how I expected it to. If you are like me, you want to lock you luggage to know that it was not tampered with when you leave it with the flight crew, or leave it all day in a hotel when the cleaners come in. This lock is perfect for those reasons, and it opens and closes quickly and easily.

No one expects to buy a luggage lock that cannot be broken, right? Anyone who wants to get into your luggage will just as easily brake the zipper before breaking the lock. I really want a simple way of knowing if someone went into my luggage without permission. That way I can hold the airport or the hotel accountable if it occurred while in their possession. And this lock is perfect for those needs. Plus it was very easy to lock and unlock with no need for holding onto a key. Very good lock.

Also it is TSA certified which if you do not know what that means I suggest visiting their site by googling tsa locks; and it is the link that says - TSA: AIR TRAVEL

Please let me know if this was a helpful review for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


181 of 203 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Insecure - Opens in seconds without a tool, November 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Master Lock 4688D TSA Accepted Cable Luggage Lock in Assorted Colors, 1-Pack (Tools & Home Improvement)
This lock can be opened in seconds by anyone without a tool. Find some good light and take a look in the crack above the numbers. Spin the dial until you see a notch on the silver bar in the crack. Line each one up with the dots and there you go. I don't expect a lock like this to be extremely good, but this is just ridiculous. Unfortunately I leave on a very long trip tomorrow and don't have time to find something different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice small TSA compatible luggage lock, August 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Master Lock 4688D TSA Accepted Cable Luggage Lock in Assorted Colors, 1-Pack (Tools & Home Improvement)
This lock would never deter a determined thief as the thin cable would not hold up to a heavy duty wire cutter, but it works good to stop nosy opportunists on luggage while traveling.

The number wheels turn with a fluid and positive motion so it's easy to set the combination.

There are a couple of white dots between the wheels to help you make positive identification when setting the combination to open it.

It is TSA compatible and the cable is enclosed in plastic so will not be abrasive to your luggage.

Being a cable rather than a metal bar it gives you additional flexibility in what you can attach it to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A simple lock that does its job. It deters casual thiefs so they move on to another no lock luggage., April 19, 2010
By 
BAH (Long Island, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Master Lock 4688D TSA Accepted Cable Luggage Lock in Assorted Colors, 1-Pack (Tools & Home Improvement)
Lets be real here. If a pro-thief wanted to break into luggage locks, he can easily do so and nip the shackle or the flimsy zipper with simple tools. All these luggage locks do is just deter the casual thief to snoop towards a more unsafe luggage without lock. While the coated cable isn't as strong as the steel shackle, I do like how the cable is more flexible, LARGER and less likely to do damage or bend the zipper. Another thing that I like about this lock is that it has a combination and it is so easy to set your combination. No way did I want to carry another key around especially if I were to lose a tiny key. Another good thing is that it's TSA certified so they shouldn't be cutting your locks at the airport. As for no TSA signal indicator where it tells you when a TSA agent opens it... Not a big deal. I hope that I can trust TSA agent not stealing anything. Negative thing that kinda bothers me is that it is only 3 number combination lock. I think 4 numbers may have been better because of more possible combinations but I doubt many thiefs would go the guessing combination route.

And to the people who use luggage locks for gym lockers... Don't use measly luggage locks because they are far weaker than the thicker shackle locks. It's called luggage lock for a reason. Don't use the regular dial combination locks either because they can be picked with piece of aluminum. Get the masterlock speed dial combination lock! It is great and stronger than the other locks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too long, December 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Master Lock 4688D TSA Accepted Cable Luggage Lock in Assorted Colors, 1-Pack (Tools & Home Improvement)
A good lock for some purposes, however be aware if using this with any small or medium sized pelican hard cases: the cable on this lock is long enough to allow the case to be unlatched and opened about an inch. A case containing a handgun and magazines is not secure with this lock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great price and worked on a trip to Italy thru several TSA checkpoints, September 6, 2008
By 
D. Elliott (Dallas, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Master Lock 4688D TSA Accepted Cable Luggage Lock in Assorted Colors, 1-Pack (Tools & Home Improvement)
Great price thru Amazon. We used a few of these on a recent trip. I don't know if the TSA guys used their master key to unlock them but they came thru trouble free. It's an attractive lock and the flexibility of the little cable makes it great for gym bag locks where you have to snake thru a variety of locker setups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Master Cable Lock, May 5, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Master Lock 4688D TSA Accepted Cable Luggage Lock in Assorted Colors, 1-Pack (Tools & Home Improvement)
I have an application for an airline travel lock where a standard long shank padlock is not practical to use, but this cable lock works fine. I actually have two of these locks and have used both of them twice for air travel and thus far they have worked as advertised. My only suggestion would be that I would like the cable be just a bit heavier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT travel lock, March 3, 2012
By 
Jeff (California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Master Lock 4688D TSA Accepted Cable Luggage Lock in Assorted Colors, 1-Pack (Tools & Home Improvement)
I don't understand why anyone would complain about this lock. Its a TRAVEL lock designed for giving you a peace of mind when you leave town. It does what its suppose to do, secures your luggage. This lock will not secure your exotic cars or yacht. Use it for what its intended for and you wont be disappointed. I bought 4 of these and used one as a tester. I have tried pulling it apart, hitting it with a hammer, and cutting the wire with REGULAR wire cutters and have failed each time. If anyone is going to put in that much work to get into your suitcase, they should save time and just steal the entire bag... Just sayin...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not very secure, February 21, 2011
This review is from: Master Lock 4688D TSA Accepted Cable Luggage Lock in Assorted Colors, 1-Pack (Tools & Home Improvement)
I purchased two of these. I set one of them up on a duel against my leatherman tool. It took 3 bites and the cable was cut. Not exactly what I'd call impenetrable, or even secure.
I suggest rather going for a lock with a thicker cable, or a lock with a solid arch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 267 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.