Customer Reviews


222 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (65)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Problems
We had no problem with the locks that we purchased. The TSA never had to check the contents, but the locks worked well. It was especially convenient that they were all keyed the same way.
Published on July 26, 2008 by W. Petitt

versus
83 of 84 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Garbage
I was excited when these arrived. Small, but look much more solid than other luggage type locks. The first lock I opened was somewhat aggravating. When you try to lock it again, the key must be turned to the unlock position otherwise it will not seat all the way in to lock. The second lock I opened came apart literally in my hands. The key pulled the entire internal lock...
Published on June 18, 2009 by Steve


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 84 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Garbage, June 18, 2009
By 
Steve (Boston, MA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Master Lock 4689Q TSA Accepted Padlocks with Keys 4-Pack (Colors May Vary) (Tools & Home Improvement)
I was excited when these arrived. Small, but look much more solid than other luggage type locks. The first lock I opened was somewhat aggravating. When you try to lock it again, the key must be turned to the unlock position otherwise it will not seat all the way in to lock. The second lock I opened came apart literally in my hands. The key pulled the entire internal lock mechanism out. With it, all of the key pins fell all over the floor. Absolute garbage. Would not recommend for even the slightest bit of security.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A WASTE OF MONEY, August 13, 2009
By 
JF "JAFD" (New York, USA) - See all my reviews
I just got these locks today, and as soon as I took them out of the package they literally fell apart. I tried to unlock them ('cause they came locked), and a lot of small pieces started falling off. I gave it a one star rating, because I had to in order to write the review, but these locks are not even disposable, they're garbage! I wouldn't recommend them to anybody!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly designed, April 24, 2009
This review is from: Master Lock 4689Q TSA Accepted Padlocks with Keys 4-Pack (Colors May Vary) (Tools & Home Improvement)
The Master Lock 4689Q TSA Accepted Padlocks extremely difficult to lock and very small. The locking mechanism in one of them actually came apart when I tried locking it. I had to scramble to pick up tiny metal balls and spring that flew out before my dog would eat them. Master is a well known and respected brand and I am disappointed these locks are not made from the strength and quality we have come to expect from Master.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy because of the nice look..., September 29, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Master Lock 4689Q TSA Accepted Padlocks with Keys 4-Pack (Colors May Vary) (Tools & Home Improvement)
Please don't buy this product. I bought it and each lock fell apart into pieces without any force. The key inserting part came out with the key. Go for the regular good old brass locks. I gave 1 star because I cannot review without stars. no stars for this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Worth the time or money, June 2, 2009
This review is from: Master Lock 4689Q TSA Accepted Padlocks with Keys 4-Pack (Colors May Vary) (Tools & Home Improvement)
My 14 year old daughter broke the one I gave her to show her how to unlock and lock them. If they break that easily, then why even bother putting them on luggage. The locks are cheaply made and virtually worthless. I'm replacing them with Samsonite locks that have a five star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst piece of junk I ever bought, August 20, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Master Lock 4689Q TSA Accepted Padlocks with Keys 4-Pack (Colors May Vary) (Tools & Home Improvement)
Out of 4, one gone out of order right out of the box. Put the key in, rotate and try to pull it out. It might bring out the keyhole as well. Even the toy locks are better than this. Another one doesn't get locked. Don't buy this junk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Problems, July 26, 2008
This review is from: Master Lock 4689Q TSA Accepted Padlocks with Keys 4-Pack (Colors May Vary) (Tools & Home Improvement)
We had no problem with the locks that we purchased. The TSA never had to check the contents, but the locks worked well. It was especially convenient that they were all keyed the same way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value, April 15, 2008
By 
VeraP (Cleveland, OH) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Master Lock 4689Q TSA Accepted Padlocks with Keys 4-Pack (Colors May Vary) (Tools & Home Improvement)
I'm very glad I bought these locks. They are a good value and made me feel much more secure about my luggage. The only reason for the 4 stars was that they were a bit too small.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid, October 1, 2008
By 
SAM (Indianapolis, IN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Master Lock 4689Q TSA Accepted Padlocks with Keys 4-Pack (Colors May Vary) (Tools & Home Improvement)
Excellent price for decent little locks. No, they're not going to keep out anyone who is truly determined to get in your bags. However, they should be enough deterrent to keep casual burglars away. I know that I felt much better on a recent trip with these on my bags.

Of course, as with any "random color shipped" purchase, you're going to get the color you don't want. For me, that meant I got the pink ones. Fortunately, the color is somewhat muted so they don't stand out too much or look overly silly on my manliest-of-men luggage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One key opens all, April 6, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Master Lock 4689Q TSA Accepted Padlocks with Keys 4-Pack (Colors May Vary) (Tools & Home Improvement)
It's great if you have more than two luggage. Just bring one key and you can use it on every lock. The other three can be used as spare keys. Put one in you carry-on, one in your pocket, and one at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.