Customer Reviews


1,434 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,240)
4 star:
 (78)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (75)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


200 of 220 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "DANCE PUPPETS! DANCE! "
THIS is one of the finest albums every produced, not just in the genre of thrash metal. Metallica rocked with their first two albums, but this is the album that I listen to most out of all of them. There is not a single dull moment on this masterpiece of puppetry. All the songs are played with lightning fast precision, and glorious heavy metal power. And yet, 1) The...
Published on April 24, 2000 by Ilker Yucel

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Save your money and get MOP original vinyl or CD
I have compared the re-maser vinyl of MOP to an original, and was pretty shocked by what i found. The MOP vinyl remaster does not have that nice warm sound the original MOP vinyl does. Also the drums are barely audible at times in the songs. The symbols are also further back in the mix. If you are on a budget or want the best sound for your money. Go with getting the MOP...
Published on March 25, 2009 by Jmetal86


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Master of Puppets, Vermithrax's Definitive Review, November 15, 2003
By 
This review is from: Master of Puppets (Audio CD)
Master of Puppets, the best point in Metallica history, period. Everythinng was at the best for this innovative metal band; The guitars were the best, James Hetfield's Vocals, Cliff Burton's bass, the songwriting (And Justice for all comes close) were the best Metallica has ever done, most people who don't know metallica too well say the black album is the best, most people who do say this is the best...
Battery:(A-) Very good openin song, not as good as Figh fire on RTL, but still good. Drags on a bit on the end.
Master of Puppets:(A+) Probably the best Metallica in existence, excellent riffs, great lyrics,..what can I say that hasn't been said already? Even at 8 minutes, doesn't seem too long, not long enough anyway.
The Thing That Should Not Be:(A) Great melondic (spelling?) song by metallica based on a H.P. Lovecraft story, therfore the 'unique' lyrics. Great song, extremly catchy (at least for me)
Welcome Home (Sanitarium):(A-) Metallica second Ballad, based on One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest (Excellent Movie!). Comparing this song to Fade to lack, it easy to se where the real genious was, but this is still a good effort and great song. I don't know, I like Fade to BLack better...
Disposable Heroes:(A+) Second best song on this album, second only to Master of Puppets. Awesome, very heavy song, with some great lyrics great gutar. In my opinion a vastly underrated Metallica song. If you first get the album you'll probobly think Master Of Puppets is better, but I'm becoming to like this even more. Great Haunting lyrics (listen to them), very fast.
Leper Messiah:(B+) Intristing little song here, definitly not the best, but preatty good. Very catchy, and the transition from this to Orion is awesome. Speaking of Orion...
Orion:(A-) I'm a sucker for instrumentals (my favorite being Woodpecker form Mars by Faith No More) and this is no exception. Call of Ktulu is the best Metallica instrumental, but this does well by having a VERY catchy riff.
Damage Inc.:(B) A thrash metal anthem;Heaviest song on here. Not really sure hat it's about, except destruction, which always good for thrash. Not at all my favorite, but not a low point by any means.
And there you have it...my review. So I'f you want Metallica album that is their old stuff, and you don't have this yet..GO OUT AND BUY THIS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metallica's Best Album gets the "Golden Treatment", September 2, 2000
This review is from: Master Of Puppets (Audio CD)
Master of Puppets is considered by many critics as well as many fans as Metallica's magnum opus. The intricate guitar interplay on this album especially noted on Master of Puppets and Orion deserves the remastering techniques of DCC. I live for recordings like these that can push my system to the absolute limits. The clarity of Hammet's guitar and the clear fat bass of Ulrich's kickdrum can bring tears to your eyes played through an audiophile-grade system. The only flaw on this album is the noise floor. Because the album was recorded in analog, this defect is inescapable; however, the overall quality of the disc warrants this purchase. Even non-audiophiles should appreciate this disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is where my love for metal began!, September 4, 2005
This review is from: Master of Puppets (Audio CD)
This album is one of the best metal albums of all time. Many people might be turned off by the long song structures, but I have always enjoyed long songs. I think the lyrics are intelligent and the vocals, guitars and drums all have power. It is a shame Metallica will never reach this level of greatness ever again, but this album will spin in CD players for a long time coming. Don't think because this album is 19 years old that it is completely outdated. This is when music was the first priority. Today's music is nothing more than selling a superficial image and making selfish and acceptance-craving teens feel important. There is no meaning or quality in today's music. This album has withstood the test of time and will still be listened to religiously long after all your fake heroes are long forgotten... and they WILL be forgotten, because many of today's teenagers do not have a long enough attention span to continue listening to what is cool now. When I continue listening to this album, many of you will be hopelessly and mindlessly devoted to the next big thing.

I do not expect everyone to like this album as much as I do. If others do not like it, that is fine, BUT, the negative reviews I keep seeing really crack me up because first of all, most of them cannot even give an intelligent or coherent reason as to why they do not like it. Secondly, most of the people bashing this album are nothing more than trendies who only hate it because all the preppies at school do not like it. Since you idiots with no minds of your own want to be "cool" you have to listen to the same music they do. You have to wear the same baggy clothes they do. All of you trendy little "follow the leader" mindless drones first need to grow up and then if it is not too much trouble, get a mind of your own. If you are all going to share a brain why don't you get one that works?

One reviewer who calls the album crap calls himself a genius but yet isn't smart enough to be able to spell simple 3-letter words? You are not a genius. You are a moron! Another reviewer refers to the negative reviewers as intelligent but yet he himself cannot spell intelligent right! Where do you people come from? Another reviewer accuses Metallica fans of being a cult. That is very hypocritical considering the MTV and TRL fans stick together tighter than a virgin on her wedding night! Another review claims that Metallica sucks and Dave Mustaine rules. If that is true, then explain to me why after all these years Dave Mustaine still regrets being thrown out of Metallica? Another reviewer claims that only Nu-metal is awesome. Do you want to know the real reason Nu-metal was created? It was created for little boys who want to make people think they are tough and macho by listening to music that is heavier than pop rock, but these sissies cannot handle heavy metal. Hence, Nu-metal was born. Linkin Park is NOT metal. They are New Kids on the Block with musical instruments. Their songs about love prove that. Another reviewer calls Metallica's lyrics girlish. Songs about drug addiction, mental disease, war, false salvation, etc. are girlish? Give me a break! Grunge is dead. It died the day Cobain the coward killed himself. Master of Puppets is boring newbie metal? Metallica has been around for 24 years. Where does the newbie part come in?

I also read the reviews of another negative reviewer who calls himself MTV Rocks. He calls himself an individual, but yet in the same breath will only listen to music on MTV or TRL. Only a loser kid who will do anything to fit in with the cool crowd is brainwashed and narrow-minded to think that the only quality music is only on MTV and TRL. The musicians on these stations do not care about the quality of their music. They are superficial shallow people without originality or musical talent. They want you to identify with their looks and image because if you really took the time to analyze the music, you would realize it is self-indulgent music will no worthy message. MTV Rocks, just because they have not heard of something does not mean it must suck. For all the bands that are considered pioneers and yet you have never heard of them, the only way that you could have possibly never heard of them is because you must not be any older than 10 years old. That means you have never lived in the real world and you do not know anything, hence your opinion means nothing. Once you grow up and learn to think for yourself, maybe the rest of us will begin to take your friends' opinions.... I mean your opinions seriously!

Another reviewer claims Master of Puppets is a homosexual's dream. Why do insecure little macho men think that it is the ultimate insult to call other men gay? You should know by now that people who are homophobic are really closeted homosexuals who are too ashamed to admit they are gay. Another reviewer claimed that Load, Reload and St. Anger are their best albums and the first 5 are crap. Yeah whatever! Of course, he cannot back it up. Metallica is suicide music? The kids at Columbine killed because of this kind of music? First of all, not all killers listen to heavy metal. When Cain killed his brother Able I am sure he did not listen to Slayer before he did it. Secondly, heavy metal does not create killers. Otherwise, MILLIONS of metalheads would have tortured and killed all you winy little boys 20 years ago! Besides, regardless of what kind of music you listen to, if you are willing to kill someone for whatever reason, you were screwed in the head in the first place! Blaming music for murder, rape and suicide is just a cop-out excuse so these pathetic excuses for human beings can avoid being responsible for their immoral actions. Take responsibility and accept the consequences of your actions. That is what it's like to be an adult!

I am also sick and tired of people bashing Metallica just because they went against Napster claiming "they are just greedy and do not want to part with their 7 digit salary!" That is pretty stupid and hypocritical considering you are downloading songs for free and too tight to part with 2 digits! That is right! You will not part with $12-15 for a CD but Metallica are greedy because they do not want to part with millions of dollars?! You won't buy a single CD but you will dump hundreds of dollars a week on smoking dope so you can kill the 3 remaining brain cells in your head! Being high is extremely limited. Listening to a CD you thoroughly enjoy lasts for years to come. It's a much better rush! Besides, you smoke dope the same reason you listen to trendy music, to fit in with the cool crowd. Blink 182 and Sum41 are NOT PUNK! They are pop rock marketed as punk. True punk has always been about rebelling against society and the system. Being MTV's little crack whores goes against EVERYTHING true punk stands for. Korn is not real metal. Why do you think they are called Nu-metal? Nu-metal is a generic and second-rate form of metal. Metallica was around long before Korn was and will still be around long after Korn is dead and gone. That goes for all this Nu-metal substandard music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest album of all time, period., May 17, 2003
By 
Alex (San Diego) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Master of Puppets (Audio CD)
People often underestimate Metallica...Another thing I don't get is the unintelligent image that people often associate with Metallica, a bunch of mindless heagbangers with tedious lyrics and no music ability.
This critics obviously have never listened to Master of Puppets, the greatest piece of rock ever established. Every one of these songs is a masterpiece, crafted brillantly with the talented bunch of musicians that form Metallica, James Hetfield, Lars Ulrich, Kirk Hammett, and the late Cliff Burton.
What I love is how the music in this album flows so well. Solos are all orchestrated to fit the mood of each song, especially in songs such as Master of Puppets and Disposable Heroes.
Battery: Great speed metal song that opens with spanish guitars, I actually prefer the S&M version. 10/10.
Master of Puppets: One of the most brillant Metallica songs, metaphorically referring to the evils of drug addiction. Really showcases Metallica's musical ability. 10/10
The thing that should not be: Great song that sounds like it came from a horror movie. Once again, I prefer the S&M version.
10/10
Sanitarium (welcome home): A lot lighter than the other songs on this cd, but still brings us to a great conclusion, making this song complete. 10/10
Disposable Heroes: Along with Leper Messiah, my favorite song on this cd. Very anti-war, suggests that war destroys a person's life. Speed metal never sounded so good. 10/10
Leper Messiah: Refers to corrupted people in religion (such as the 700 club) who use religion just to get people's money. I think they got this idea from the indulgences that were sold in the ancient church. Still, angst filled, brillant emotional lyrics, great musicmanship. 10/10
Orion: Instrumental, highlights the abilities of Cliff Burton, who we will all miss. 10/10
Damage Inc.: Why not a little speed metal to end this masterpiece? Refers to senseless violence, another track that hooks you. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Epitome of Great Heavy Metal, July 26, 2000
By 
Dave Stalker (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Master of Puppets (Audio CD)
Well, here it is folks - the greatest heavy metal album of all time. You may not agree with me completely on that one, but I'm willing to bet that anyone who considers themselves a metal fan would at least include this album in their top 5 favorites of all time. Any how could they not? Master of Puppets is one of those rare gems that grips you tightly from the opening of the first track and holds on relentlessly until all 8 of the masterpieces are finished.
Everything that defines the genre is here: crunchy guitars, breakneck tempos, furious drum beats and burning guitar solos. What sets this recording apart from the others however (particularly from those of the 80's when this was released), is the undeniable quality of the writing, Hetfield's characteristically angry but melodic and never-cheesy-sounding vocals, and the wide range of dynamic levels covered; everything from roaring and explosive, to soft and melancholy.
The truth is that I can't possibly say too many great things about this recording... So the bottom line? Master of Puppets is an absolute masterpiece and represents Metallica at their most ferocious and creative best. If you consider yourself even the tiniest of heavy rock music fans, and particularly if you are familiar with Metallica's more recent works but not their earlier stuff, you need to do yourself the favor of picking this classic album up right now. I promise that you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Master of Puppets, July 7, 2004
By 
Matt Daigle "Pantera\m/" (Auburn, ME United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Master of Puppets (Audio CD)
I have all of the Metallica CDs but Kill Em' All and St. Anger. But, I think even if I got them, they wouldn't be able to live up to the powerful Master of Puppets. Master of Puppets is my favorite Metallica album (with Load and Ride the Lightning as a close second). Every song on this album is perfect. Starting off with Battery, its slow, acoustic beginning, slowly getting faster and louder until Kirk is strumming out the riffs and James is yelling his angry lyrics. Next is my favorite song, Master of Puppets. Now, it's not my favorite Metallica song (One and Fade to Black are), but it is definatly one of my favorites. The riffs and the guitar solo in it are amazing. Sanitarium is also another one of my favorites. The song is a slow and sad, yet simply amazing ballad that builds up its energy during the chorus and the solos. The rest of the songs on this album are great too, including the instrumental, Orion (I personally think that The Call of Ktula is better). If you are a metal fan or a Metallica fan, make this one you must have's (that is, unless you haven't already gotten it!!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, July 30, 2000
This review is from: Master Of Puppets (Audio CD)
When I put my money down for this CD, I was a bit uneasy about it because I wasn't sure how much better it would be than the original "Master of Puppets" CD, which I already own. The first thing I did was to listen to "Disposable Heroes" on the original album, and then I listened to the same song on the gold disc, and I must admit I was amazed at the superior quality. As I listened to the song I was impressed by how clear on crisp the song sounded and how glad I was I decided to get the CD. For those of you who love the album and want to hear it in the outstanding quality it was meant to be heard in, add this one to your shopping cart immediately, you will not regret it. If you are the type of person who does not appreciate good sound you may not be able to tell the difference, but a finely tuned Metallica ear will easily be able to tell this CD is worth the buck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Save your money and get MOP original vinyl or CD, March 25, 2009
By 
Jmetal86 "josh" (Grand Prairie,Texas) - See all my reviews
I have compared the re-maser vinyl of MOP to an original, and was pretty shocked by what i found. The MOP vinyl remaster does not have that nice warm sound the original MOP vinyl does. Also the drums are barely audible at times in the songs. The symbols are also further back in the mix. If you are on a budget or want the best sound for your money. Go with getting the MOP 2000 remaster on CD, or an original MOP vinyl. Even the Music For Nations MOP Vinyls sound way better than this new vinyl remaster from Warner. Don't get me wrong I am a hardcore Metallica fan since 1995. Just steer clear of these remasters of Metallica albums on vinyl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indeed the best of thrash metal... despite all hype, January 8, 2007
By 
skyfoxx (Boston, MA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Master of Puppets (Audio CD)
What can I say... I am not a big fan of thrash metal... no not at all. Actually when I first heard Master Of Puppets... that was around 1987, I think... I was absolutely disgusted and my ears couldn't take it. No really. For some strange reason this is no longer true now, almost twenty years later. Perhaps I became half-deaf from all the other music but around mid 1990s I began to appreciate Metallica more, right around the time they issued S&M. Anyway, back to the review. Ride The Lightning was the breakthrough but the guys didn't perfect the art yet. On this album, only "Leper Messiah" is a throwaway, IMHO. The title track is a masterpiece, "The Thing That Shouldn't Be" is another favorite, and the ending track (which made my ears bleed in 1987) grew on me as well. The album is a very unified and consistent effort. Also, what is very important to me, you can actually listen to it - I mean both melody and lyrics. On a lot of thrash records by likes of Megadeth, Bathory etc. you cannot hear either - the metal guitar riffs are basically killing everything else (as it is probably intended for some but I am not that kinda guy).

And melody/lyrics here are pretty good... not just "for a metal album" but simply good. Title track and "Welcome Home" are the lyrical standouts of the record although the main idea is more or less the same on all the tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't get much better than this, January 27, 2007
This review is from: Master of Puppets (Audio CD)
If you want to get into heavy metal, this is a very good starting point. All the songs are good, but I particularly like Leper Messiah, and The Thing That Should Not Be. There's nothing trendy or wussy here, just fierce, powerful, monster metal. Not for a sensitive metrosexual liberal thinking of moving to France.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Master of Puppets
Master of Puppets by Metallica (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.