Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Master of Shadows (Berkley Sensation)
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Recess Monkey Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars24
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 3, 2011
Master of Shadows by Angela Knight
Paranormal Romance - Aug. 2nd, 2011
4 ½ stars

Werewolves and Magekind battle in this powerful new installment of the Mageverse series. This story was straightforward and can be easily read by itself.

La Belle is known as the official court seducer. She awakens men to their magical heritage by sleeping with them which releases their potential. However, her job is dangerous because if the men cannot handle the influx of power, they go insane at which point she must kill them swiftly. When one of her new recruits named Davon is accused of murdering an innocent werewolf, she knows that Davon cannot be guilty because she would have sensed madness in him. She finds herself investigating with the handsome if very stuck up and famous knight, Tristan. They soon discover that Davon was spelled into killing the poor young werewolf by an evil werewolf named Warlock. But will they be able prove that Davon is innocent before the revenged minded werewolves start a war?

To add to their troubles, Belle and Tristan have never gotten along well together. Tristan understands the need for Belle's position at court, but he disapproves and secretly wants her for himself. As they race to prove Davon's innocence, they also find themselves trying to defend themselves against a Warlock who is building his own evil army while trying to rescue a powerful werewolf witch named Miranda who happens to be Warlock's daughter. Can they defeat Warlock and save Davon and Marianda in time?

This was a quick and sensual read. I really liked Belle. She is independent and doesn't let Tristan push her around! I also liked how comfortable Belle is with her sensuality! In contrast, Tristan seems aloof but he hides his deep passion. When the two main characters finally `get together' it is scorching. I liked how the author explores Davon's point of view. Davon is a doctor and a healer but not a destroyer. He is tortured by the knowledge that he has killed an innocent even if he was manipulated magically. I also liked reading about Miranda. She is on the run. A good person/werewolf, that happens to have an evil and blood thirsty father but fights against being a victim. This book also explores how Belle and Tristan each have their own backgrounds and how each of their friends try to warn or prevent their relationship from progressing because they fear the other person will hurt them. Both characters have issues and are lonely souls that actually have a lot in common. I enjoyed their developing relationship. The storyline is very involving and easy to read. As the characters grow and familiar ones return, the depth of the Mageverse keeps expanding. I also liked that this book wraps up tightly and I hope to read more about Davon and the intriguing witch Miranda!

Magical and seductive this is already one of my favorites in the Mageverse series.

Reviewed by Steph from the Bookaholics Romance Book Club
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2011
For centuries La Belle Coeur understands her role is to help new vampire magekind to convert to their new lives by seducing them. Knight of the Round Table Tristan distrusts all females ever since his wife Isolde betrayed him (and his peers) ages ago.

A newly transformed vampire Davon Fredericks kills seventeen year old Jimmy Sheridan a Direkind werewolf, which ignites tension between the paranormal species to a point where a war seems likely. Davon claims King Arthur assigned him the sacred duty of executing the teen. Belle and Tristan team up on an investigation; as each suspects the sworn enemy of Arthur the evil werewolf wizard Warlock caused the lethal incident to provoke bloody combat that also would expose the magekind to humanity. While fighting their attraction to one another, Belle and Tristan try to prevent a war like none ever before.

The latest Mageverse romantic fantasy (see Master of Smoke and Master of Fire) is a terrific entry as Angela Knight provides a strong tale of a world on the brink. Warlock is at his diabolical best heating the growing rage of the Dire wolves who have had twelve dead at last count while Ms. Knight's knights struggle to prevent the combat by seeking evidence to prove they are not the serial killers of werewolves. With a touching romance between a misanthrope and a whore, fans will relish Master of Shadows while also looking forward to what the warlock conjures next.

Harriet Klausner
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2011
This book picks up where the last one ended, but if you've never read a Mageverse novel before you can still easily follow along and not feel lost. Several astounding twists follow in rapid order and make this book outstanding all on it's own. Belle and Tristan's romance is full of obtacles and twists and turns but all of the usual sexual exploits are there and as sensational as any Angela Knight story. Well worth reading weither or not you've ever read a Mageverse novel.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2011
I have always really loved the Mageverse series by Angela Knight. Her story telling and world building make a subject matter that would normally be hard to picture very real and obtainable.

We start the book with court seducer La Belle Coure, who is having a party for her newest vampires. The story progress quickly from there, bringing in an angry uber masculine knight of the round table, Tristan.

This book has it all, we learn more about Warlock, a werewolf who can use magic. More about his master plan involving Arthur (yes, King Arthur, just don't call him that to his face!) and Warlock's daughter. I truly believe that you should read these books in order. You could technically read this as a stand alone, but you would miss out on an amazing cast of characters. Also, the author does a great job on setting up for the next book in the series, Master of Darkness, publication date TBA.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2011
Oooh a big yummy for Tristan and Belle! I loved this latest in the Knights of the roundtable, Magaverse series. I still feel, hands down, this is a great story line. The knights are Vampires and their ladies are witches. Together they keep humanity safe. Merlin's gift...So neat.

Tristan and Belle are so absolutely perfect for each other. Their banter is extremely amusing. It's their foreplay. AS always Angela packs her stories full of arousing sex scenes. Can't wait for the next!

Well done.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2012
La Belle is a court seducer and her job involves sleeping with potential recruits who have been investigated by the council before being sent to her. Once Belle sleeps with these candidates and they don't go insane, then they are capable of handling the Gift. However, if they go insane then they are said to be "blood-mad" and Belle must immediately kill them or be killed.

Belle and her new partner are called in to investigate the murder of a young werewolf, Direkind. Belle does not want to believe that the potential suspect is one of the newest recruits that she had recently helped to turn. She feels there is more going on than meets the eye.

Tristan, a Knight of the Round Table, seems to trust Belle's instincts in the new vampire not being responsible for the murder. They work out another theory for the culprit: Warlock is trying to start a war between the Direkind and the Magekind by setting them up to believe one of their own is killing the young of the others. Can Tristan and Belle prove their theory while fighting this attraction that has developed between them?

Master of Shadows is an excellent stand-alone story because Angela Knight fills in the answers seamlessly. I'm sure Master of Shadows would be even better if the entire Mageverse Series was read in order, but it's always nice to be able to jump in in the middle and not get lost.

Belle and Tristan were very likeable, strong characters who tried to fight their burgeoning feelings for one another, but once they came together, it was explosive. I thoroughly enjoyed the banter between the characters and the humor found in other situations as well. It was nice to chuckle at some of their actions.

Master of Shadows explored both protagonists' desire to not get involved because of beliefs that they each held and similarities that they had to work past. While Tristan doesn't seem to care much for Belle's job, he knows it's just a job and that she apparently is good at it. He could have taken "potshots" at her in previous books, but in this one he is seen as defending her. I liked how Ms. Knight had the vampires and the witches depending on each other for survival as well.

I also enjoyed the final battle scene in Master of Shadows as it was full of action and I couldn't wait to see the defeat of the bad guy! One of my first forays in to Angela Knight's world was the story called Mercenaries and that book was erotically hot! I don't think Master of Shadows was as hot, but it did get steamy and the characters and plot were more fully developed.

Vanessa
For Joyfully Reviewed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2014
The whole Mega Verse series is a great series. Every book in the series has it's own story and worth the time to read. Master of Darkness the conclusions of this series. All answers are answered. AK continues to report back to the other previous books. I was sooooo disappointed this was the last book.. I have to give Justice himself a five star. For one of the bitten, he adjusted very well and became a true hero. Our heroine Miranda is a very strong and is a real match for Justice. Our bad guy WARLOCK IS AS SHOULD BE PERFECTLY EVIL.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2012
I have been following Angela Knight since Jane's Warlord and I have to say that I have read all of her titles.

This one, with Tristan and Belle was like the others, hot, hot, hot but it was just okay for me. I do not feel the need to rant and rav about it.
I would recommend it but I would still point any new readers of Angela Knight toward her earlier works, they are the best!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2011
Angela Knight delivers another wonderful story about the masters i read this one in one sitting it was soo good could not put it down, storyline continued from the previous book, can not wait for the new one to come out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2014
If you enjoy reading something that is magical, adventurous, mythical, mysterious and romantic just to say a few, then you will love this book. I read this in four days getting back to it as soon as I could. The entire series is wonderful. Would recommend it to anyone who has want for romance and adventure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.