Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ground Truth
Before becoming a professional trader, I had success both on an academic, professional, and entrepreneurial level. The most important thing I learned was to find successful people who were doing what I wanted to do and then learn everything I possibly could from them. This may sound simple, but research shows successful ventures often fail right after some of their most...
Published on March 24, 2007 by Amazon Customer

versus
32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 13 diverse essays with even more diverse value/quality
If you compare this book directly with Market Wizards I & II, you will definitely be very disappointed. However, if the presence of one or two very bright ideas in one single book can already satisfy you well, you may still give it a try. IMHO, the chapter by David Miller (Keys to Biotech Investing) is outstanding, whilst the rest are just so so or even substandard. Sorry...
Published on September 2, 2007 by ServantofGod


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 13 diverse essays with even more diverse value/quality, September 2, 2007
This review is from: Master Traders: Strategies for Superior Returns from Todays Top Traders (Hardcover)
If you compare this book directly with Market Wizards I & II, you will definitely be very disappointed. However, if the presence of one or two very bright ideas in one single book can already satisfy you well, you may still give it a try. IMHO, the chapter by David Miller (Keys to Biotech Investing) is outstanding, whilst the rest are just so so or even substandard. Sorry to say that there are many better alternatives in the market of the "various authors" genre, like the aforesaid ones and "Inside the House of Money" by Steven Drobny. In short, not recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ground Truth, March 24, 2007
By 
Amazon Customer (Chattanooga, Tennessee) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Master Traders: Strategies for Superior Returns from Todays Top Traders (Hardcover)
Before becoming a professional trader, I had success both on an academic, professional, and entrepreneurial level. The most important thing I learned was to find successful people who were doing what I wanted to do and then learn everything I possibly could from them. This may sound simple, but research shows successful ventures often fail right after some of their most successful years. The same thing occurs in financial trading. Someone has initial success, but then fails to adapt, grow, and change. Consequently, the market crushes them. This is usually due to being too rigid in their views or a lack of rigorous discipline that enables them to continually stay ahead of the curve. The best way to avoid these pitfalls is to study the "best" and learn how they achieved and maintain their success. In the military, there is a term called "ground truth." This information is considered the most valuable. It is distinguished from the theoretical and refers to what has actually happened on the field of battle. In his well researched book, Fari Hamzei has brought together some of most relevant voices today in investing and trading financial securities. It truly is packed with some of the most valuable "ground truth" in the field of trading. Whether it is Kevin Tuttle's insights into technical analysis, quantitative screening, and divergence theory or Tim Ord's methods in identifying buy and sell signals through evaluating volume and price, Fari Hamzei gives a rare behind the scenes look at some of the best financials professionals in the field. In addition, Hamzei's pioneering work on dollar weighted put/call ratios is an extremely valuable market sentiment indicator. I have not even mentioned Alex Jacobson, Phil Erlanger, etc... Simply put, this book is guaranteed to change the way you see the market and trade it. I whole-heartedly recommend you read and reread "Master Traders."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gets Inside the Traders' Heads, November 16, 2006
By 
Justin Hibbard (Daly City, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Master Traders: Strategies for Superior Returns from Todays Top Traders (Hardcover)
Lots of books like this one feature Q&A interviews with traders, which can be good reading but short on detail. By contrast, Hamzei got these market masters to put fingers to keyboards and describe their strategies specifically and concretely in writing, providing a rare glimpse into how they think. In each chapter, a different trader focuses on a particular specialty--e.g. volatility, sentiment, etc.--and the sum total is a thorough survey of trading by a master in each sub-discipline. Technical analysis, which often gets short shrift in these types of books, is covered in depth right at the beginning, setting a chartist-friendly tone. Options trading, another frequently overlooked subject, gets its due as well. The ideas are up-to-date and reflect the latest changes in the markets. This is not an introductory-level book, but experienced traders should find it rewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, June 11, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Master Traders: Strategies for Superior Returns from Todays Top Traders (Hardcover)
All in all I'm glad I read the book. There's a couple of chapters on options that I learned one thing that more than paid for the price of the book and my time to read it. I was a little disappointed with the book however. Most the technical analysis chapters are simply inpractical for the average home based investored to use. They would require a lot of manual number crunching, or a subscription to a website.

But still, there were some gems in the book, and I've changed the way I would enter some options trades after reading it, so it still gets 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Distinguished Market Masters of Today, January 4, 2007
By 
Dagney (San Pedro, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Master Traders: Strategies for Superior Returns from Todays Top Traders (Hardcover)
I had time to read this very well compiled book over the holidays. The book is a worthwhile read for anyone interested in improving their own trading techniques as well as gaining insight to different methodologies used for successful trading. The Chapter written by well-known Investment Strategist, Jeff DeGraft was very good in pointing out the contrasting strategies used by Technicians versus Fundamentalists. Frank Barbera writes an excellent Chapter on Sector Analysis. I thought his explanation of how his methodology of using particular market tools has evolved over time was very insightful. Additionally, he explains the changes that have occured in measuring market sentiment over the years. The Traders interviewed are successful and each have a deep passion for their work. They each have their own unique methodology which has translated to trading successfully in the financial markets. The book was especially enjoyable because of the passion conveyed from each Trader regarding their work. I recommend this book if you are a student of the markets.
K. Hetzer CMT,CIMA,CFP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Must Read!, October 26, 2006
By 
This review is from: Master Traders: Strategies for Superior Returns from Todays Top Traders (Hardcover)
"The concept behind Master Traders is simply brilliant: compiling tested strategies, techniques, applicable theories from today's top traders. Alex Jacobson's chapter on volatility is a must read for every option trader who must thoroughly understand how volatility effects the options markets. If all investors and traders applied Jeffrey Spotts' and Jeff deGraaf's fundamental and technical analysis techniques there would be far more successful traders. I am extremely interested in David Miller's "second-tier" approach to finding biotech trades and how this market is going to be a hot sector to trade. Master Traders is a must read for all traders and investors from all levels of expertise".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Resource for Intermediate or Advanced Trader, June 24, 2009
By 
D. Hoffman (NYC, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Master Traders: Strategies for Superior Returns from Todays Top Traders (Hardcover)
Master trader Fari Hamzei uses inductive reasoning like current back-to-back World Chess Champion Viswanathan Anand. Fari has won numerous "Market Timer" awards (which means his skills are legit) and he is a highly respected member of the quantitative ("quant") trading community. He is the founder of Hamzei Analytics.

I recently read Fari's excellent book Master Traders: Strategies for Superior Returns from Today's Top Traders. This book is full of great lessons for the intermediate or advanced trader. The book is a collection of educational chapters by masters of their specific trading niche.

The first part of the book focuses on Technical Analysis. In each chapter, the author shares a few secrets about their proprietary trading methods. In Chapter One, Jeff deGraaf discusses how traders can profit when fear or arrogance manifests in the market. deGraaf also offers pithy nuggest of wisdom such as: "In the market, arrogance without fear will eventually break you. Fear without arrogance will leave you paralyzed at the most inopportune time. The delicate balance of fear and arrogance fosters appropriate aggressiveness without the recklessness."

My favorite chapter in section one is Chapter Two: Sector Analysis. Given the incredible explosion in sector ETFs, I think this chapter greatly benefits investors/traders who want to better understand some technical tools analyzing sector rotation and trends. I have already taken a few ideas onto the trading battle field.

The second section of Fari's book looks at Fundamental Analysis. I found Chapter 6, Investigative Investing, to be one of the top overviews regarding best-of-breed fundamental analysis. If you are interested in taking your Warren Buffett, Peter Lynch, or YahooFinance skills to the next level, chapter author Kai-teh Tao makes this book worth the price of admission.

The final three sections cover Sentiment, Derivatives, and Trading Size. These sections will make the quants salivate. Honestly, quantitative models and high level options strategies are not my style of trading. But I did read through all the material and it's excellent. In fact, I was left with a feeling of jealousy that in this lifetime I probably won't have time to create such cool models and platforms. Now, if I could only find a quant or two who would like to crank out my wildest strategies ...

In conclusion, Fari did a great job assembling a professional team of traders to share their wealth of knowledge. If you are looking for a new edge and want to get fresh ideas from true masters of their domain, I highly recommend Fari's book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nahhh...., April 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Master Traders: Strategies for Superior Returns from Todays Top Traders (Hardcover)
The strategies in this book are from the past. We are in a different time and era. This book was of no value to me. I gave it to the library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A preponderance of information, June 1, 2010
This review is from: Master Traders: Strategies for Superior Returns from Todays Top Traders (Hardcover)
In his work "Master Traders: Strategies for Superior Returns from Today's Top Traders," Fari Hamzei brings together a diverse group of traders to supplement any trader's understanding of the market. This collection of strategies, analysis and experience provide a wealth of knowledge to increase understanding of both simple and complex aspects of trading, from the basics of balancing feelings of greed and fear to options, inter-market analysis and beyond. The information contained in this book do a great deal to help traders find the preponderance of evidence necessary to have absolute confidence in the decisions made in entry and exit of various types of position.
The insight collected by Fari in editing this book gives a great deal of confidence to the reader because of Fari's knowledge and reputation, and the vast collection of traders contributing to the work. Included in the book are Fari's thoughts on how to read the ebb and flow of the markets, the market sentiment. Master Traders integrates Jeff deGraaf's thoughts on balancing emotion; David Miller enlightens fundamental traders on the ins and outs of the biotech industry; Jon Najarian shares his years of experience trading options, and much more from other top traders - including Tim Ord of "The Ord Oracle," Alex Jacobsen from the International Securities Exchange (ISE), Frank Barbera a master in the precious metals, and many others.
The organization of the book assists in the flow of information, constantly building and adding after building a solid foundation. It is easy to follow as articles are organized into sections that get progressively deeper and more involved in trading, beginning with Jeff deGraaf's and others providing a solid foundation in technical analysis, moving on to fundamental analysis, market sentiment, on to derivatives and finishing with a section on trading size and some closing thoughts from Fari himself. The knowledge contained in this book has done a great deal to take my own trading to another level. Gaining a better understanding of the ebb and flow of the market has done a great deal to increase my own confidence in my trading decisions, measured by the improved consistency of my own performance.
There is something in Master Traders for all levels of traders. The novice can learn some of the most basic aspects of strategy building, analysis and benefits of trading various classes of assets (stocks, options, futures, etc.). They can also gain a wealth of understanding about oscillators and other indicators, how they can improve trading and the importance of mastering the preferred indicators. In the world of trading, there are no minor leagues to prepare for trading with the big boys; from day one, a novice is playing in the same arena as the Kobe Bryants and Lebron Jameses of the trading world. Fari's book begins at square one, helping the trader find confidence as they nervously enter the world of trading. For experienced traders there is an immense amount of information to help improve one's skills in both technical and fundamental analysis of stocks and the markets themselves. Fari is able to help an advanced trader understand ways to refine their skills to improve profitability, understanding of the market, the effect of external influences and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars terrible book, not even worth the paper its printed on, November 25, 2011
This review is from: Master Traders: Strategies for Superior Returns from Todays Top Traders (Hardcover)
there are many other trading books out there worth your money. you wont learn a single thing on here that common sense wont give you. the book is basically a collection of summaries of articles existing on the internet.

-terribly written
-looks like most of the reviews on here are from people who know the author personally or are subscribed to his website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Master Traders: Strategies for Superior Returns from Todays Top Traders
Master Traders: Strategies for Superior Returns from Todays Top Traders by Fari Hamzei (Hardcover - September 29, 2006)
Used & New from: $2.62
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.