Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Currently the best book on Dojo
One line conclusion: Recommended for serious developers using Dojo.

Comparing this book with the other two Dojo books (one published by O'Reilly and one by Addison-Wesley Professional), I feel the title of this book is justified. The contents of the other two are greatly overlapped with the free online documentation of Dojo [...]. If all you wanted is a Dojo...
Published on August 23, 2008 by Bin Hu

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not enough advanced topics covered
I find that the book contains mostly beginner and intermediate information. Not enough advanced topics or talking about creation the programmatic way. The layout of the book is a bit odd (Drag and Drop is only talked about for a few pages within the context of working with the Tree widget). For more advanced developers looking for more of a reference book, consider...
Published on April 30, 2009 by J. McGroarty


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Currently the best book on Dojo, August 23, 2008
This review is from: Mastering Dojo: JavaScript and Ajax Tools for Great Web Experiences (Pragmatic Programmers) (Paperback)
One line conclusion: Recommended for serious developers using Dojo.

Comparing this book with the other two Dojo books (one published by O'Reilly and one by Addison-Wesley Professional), I feel the title of this book is justified. The contents of the other two are greatly overlapped with the free online documentation of Dojo [...]. If all you wanted is a Dojo book that resembles a print copy of the free on line book, then you can buy the other two. If you are asking for something more, like how Dojo actually works and how to customize Dojo build (a pivotal step to speed up your product) then this is the one you need. You will not find such detailed documentation from either the Dojo documentation or the other two books.

I take one star out because the contents of the book does not fully cover the functionality of Dojo, which is somewhat understandable as Dojo itself keeps evolving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good coverage of programmatically implementing Dojo functionality, October 13, 2010
By 
S. Deutch (dallas, tx United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mastering Dojo: JavaScript and Ajax Tools for Great Web Experiences (Pragmatic Programmers) (Paperback)
I used the book to help me get over the learning curve of using Dojo to implement a user interface with tabs and layout.

I needed to be able to create tabs programatically and remove them the same way.

This book helped me to do that. It also does a good job of helping make sense of the Library.

I found it useful.

It is the only Dojo book I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not enough advanced topics covered, April 30, 2009
This review is from: Mastering Dojo: JavaScript and Ajax Tools for Great Web Experiences (Pragmatic Programmers) (Paperback)
I find that the book contains mostly beginner and intermediate information. Not enough advanced topics or talking about creation the programmatic way. The layout of the book is a bit odd (Drag and Drop is only talked about for a few pages within the context of working with the Tree widget). For more advanced developers looking for more of a reference book, consider looking elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for any aspiring javascript ninja!, August 1, 2011
This review is from: Mastering Dojo: JavaScript and Ajax Tools for Great Web Experiences (Pragmatic Programmers) (Paperback)
Mastering Dojo contains everything you need to know about the Dojo Toolkit. Not only will you learn the Dojo way, but you'll understand the underlying mechanisms that make it all work. Dojo gracefully takes care of the heavy-lifting when you create a rich user interface; Mastering Dojo takes care of showing you the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good advanced Dojo book, September 2, 2008
By 
This review is from: Mastering Dojo: JavaScript and Ajax Tools for Great Web Experiences (Pragmatic Programmers) (Paperback)
To fully utilize this book, I suggest you read the Book of Dojo first. Then, for some few topics you still don't get, you need to read the blog of the authors. Compared to Using the Dojo JavaScript Library, I think this is more advanced. Of the 3 currently available Dojo books, this is the only book that discussed the Grid, devoting entirely one chapter in Chapter 14. It is also the only book that has an example of handling XML (handleAs: "xml").
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding, detailed account filled with real-world examples, October 12, 2008
This review is from: Mastering Dojo: JavaScript and Ajax Tools for Great Web Experiences (Pragmatic Programmers) (Paperback)
MASTERING DOJO: JAVASCRIPT AND AJAX TOOLS FOR GREAT WEB EXPERIENCES is an essential key to modern web programming problems resolvable by Dojo. From basic usage of Dojo to advanced tutorials, MASTERING DOJO takes the form of a class in the program with chapters building a foundation of knowledge and discussing scripting, searches, and Dojo systems alike. It's an outstanding, detailed account filled with real-world examples and perfect for students and programmers applying Dojo to web problems.

Diane C. Donovan
California Bookwatch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Good for Dojo v1.5 and earlier, August 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mastering Dojo: JavaScript and Ajax Tools for Great Web Experiences (Pragmatic Programmers) (Paperback)
Great material for Dojo v1.5 and earlier. Unfortunately, I had to use Dojo v1.8.1, and the book was useless, since the entire syntax for Dojo commands changed for v1.8... I had to go online to get the new syntax for v1.8.1, and there is no book available for this version...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's the best book about dojo, but why is the one that is not for kindle??, March 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mastering Dojo: JavaScript and Ajax Tools for Great Web Experiences (Pragmatic Programmers) (Paperback)
really this book is awesome, deep, clear, direct, clean, amazing. I'd like to have this book for kindle, but sadly I found the rest of books (not so goods) but this. I don't understand it, It'll be worth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book on Dojo, December 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mastering Dojo: JavaScript and Ajax Tools for Great Web Experiences (Pragmatic Programmers) (Paperback)
I've went through a lot of books looking for a good solid book on Dojo. This book by far is the best I've seen so far. It contains very thorough references and is a easy read. Some books I've seen gives you either convoluted text or kills you with a zillion screen shots. This book is the real deal and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Skip the "Book Of Dojo" and go straight to this, September 16, 2008
By 
This review is from: Mastering Dojo: JavaScript and Ajax Tools for Great Web Experiences (Pragmatic Programmers) (Paperback)
I haven't read the other Dojo books so I can't compare them. They may be very good too. This book is well orgainsed and well written. My advise to anyone starting from scratch is not to bother with the free online documentation, "The Book of Dojo", which is a spotty and unsystematic and start with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mastering Dojo: JavaScript and Ajax Tools for Great Web Experiences (Pragmatic Programmers)
$38.95 $28.64
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.