Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful book writing
Most of us who hang out on the Internet find ourselves suckered by those offers of books or "just $97" or "just $27." We forget the truth: we can just go to the library and get a head start on a good marketing education.

I'm recommending this book to folks who are clueless about getting started on the Internet. It's an excellent overview -- clear and...
Published on April 13, 2008 by Dr. Cathy Goodwin

versus
29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This book serves as a great introduction to the basics
This book is great for anyone who is thinking about starting an online business, or about promoting an offline business on the internet. It really covers ALL the bases and is clearly organized and for this alone the book is a great investment. After all, online marketing can be very disorienting and this book does a fantastic job of laying out the playing field...
Published on March 7, 2008 by Danilo Vargas


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This book serves as a great introduction to the basics, March 7, 2008
This review is from: Mastering Online Marketing: 12 World Class Strategies That Cut Through the Hype and Make Real Money on the Internet (Paperback)
This book is great for anyone who is thinking about starting an online business, or about promoting an offline business on the internet. It really covers ALL the bases and is clearly organized and for this alone the book is a great investment. After all, online marketing can be very disorienting and this book does a fantastic job of laying out the playing field.

However, while it serves as a very useful overview, it is somewhat lacking in great detail which is my only gripe with the book, since it is called "mastering online marketing" and NOT "getting started with online marketing." I know the author is extremely knowledgeable but I wish he had given more specific details about the logistics and mechanics of the strategies presented.

And to be quite frank, I also find the book a little too self-promotional, since it talks at length about the author and his site and related projects. I don't mind a plug here or there, but at times the book reads more like a promotional tool than a self-contained how-to book.

Again, I'm not knocking this book, in fact, I have my sights set on reading Meyerson's previous work, "Success Secrets of the Online Marketing Superstars" -- so I think this author is giving us some valuable information, that I'm more than happy to absorb, and would not hesitate to recommend to others.

No doubt, Mastering Online Marketing is filled with useful information that beginners absolutely need to understand. However, for those of us with a little more experience, people seeking to "master" online marketing as the book's title suggests, this work falls a bit short of the mark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful book writing, April 13, 2008
This review is from: Mastering Online Marketing: 12 World Class Strategies That Cut Through the Hype and Make Real Money on the Internet (Paperback)
Most of us who hang out on the Internet find ourselves suckered by those offers of books or "just $97" or "just $27." We forget the truth: we can just go to the library and get a head start on a good marketing education.

I'm recommending this book to folks who are clueless about getting started on the Internet. It's an excellent overview -- clear and well-written in step by step format.

As a web site copywriter myself, I wish Meyerson had emphasized the importance of copy. There's a nice quote from copywriting guru Lorrie Morgan-Ferrero (p. 86), but it's in the design section.

Just about every Internet marketing guru says copywriting is the single most important skill for Internet marketers, so this chapter could have been much longer. I would also encourage newbies to start with copy and strategy rather than calling the designer first (which is what most people do).

And I wish we had a section on features vs benefits with examples of bullet points.

Still, this book is one of the best (if not *the* best) I've seen for broad overviews of Internet marketing. You can always dig deeper once you've got a sense of the basics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Consider doing what you love and use the Internet to help you do it while creating streams of income for yourself., December 18, 2007
This review is from: Mastering Online Marketing: 12 World Class Strategies That Cut Through the Hype and Make Real Money on the Internet (Paperback)
I loved this book. The author wrote it after noticing an emerging group of coaches, counselors, and trainers starting to build virtual businesses (ones being conducted over the phone and Internet). He was a professional with his established practice in cold and dreary Illinois. And he wanted to escape from that climate and location, but didn't see how since his meal ticket was in Illinois. He researched how to build a virtual office for himself. Then took the plunge to do so. And now, by writing this book, he is selling what he learned in the process.

This book is very well outlined and written. Not a word is wasted. It has 12 chapters:

1. The entrepreneurial shift: The key to creating an integrated business mindset
2. Strategic marketing: The key to sustainable online success
3. Products and services: The key to smart selling
4. Design and navigation: Making your Web site dynamic and visitor-friendly
5. Dynamic Web copy: The key to getting people to respond
6. Traffic conversion: The key to increased sales and list building
7. Automation: The key to increasing e-commerce profits
8. Multimedia: Increasing your impact using audio, video, and conferencing
9. Traffic strategies: The key to getting more visitors to your site
10. People power: The key to successful affiliate programs and partnership
11. Web 2.0: The key to using social media effectively
12. Momentum: The key to systemmatizing your business and building your virtual team

I'm in the process of building my own virtual business. And although I didn't learn anything new by reading this book, I highly recommend it to others who are considering creating a virtual business of their own. Those people are typically coaches, counselors, and trainers of one sort or another.

I liked almost all of the chapters with the exception of Chapter 10. I'm not much of a believer in affiliate programs. I realize they work well for some businesses, like porn, but most others don't benefit from them. The part of Chapter 10 regarding partnership is right on, though. 5 stars!

PS. A great book to read along with this one is "Four Steps to Building a Profitable Coaching Practice" (ISBN: 0595296602). Read my book review for it that I posted on Amazon. And you might also like "Web Business Success" (ISBN: 0974924504), and "Make a Fortune Promoting Other People's Stuff Online" (ISBN: 0071478132)? I have written book reviews for both, too. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Highest Level of Mastery, April 6, 2008
This review is from: Mastering Online Marketing: 12 World Class Strategies That Cut Through the Hype and Make Real Money on the Internet (Paperback)
Mitch Meyerson and Mary Scarborough have written a very fine book; Mitch is playing the game at the highest possible level, I am very impressed by his level of mastery. Once I started reading "Mastering Online Marketing", I was unable to stop! This book is an absolute must for anyone wanting to build and sustain a thriving e-commerce business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good overview for beginners, April 19, 2008
This review is from: Mastering Online Marketing: 12 World Class Strategies That Cut Through the Hype and Make Real Money on the Internet (Paperback)
For the newbie to creating an online business, this book covers all the basics from creating or finding a product of service to sell, tips on copywriting (to get people to buy), setting up automated systems and more. Information is presented in a step-by-step manner and includes written activities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's useful, but don't stop here..., June 6, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mastering Online Marketing: 12 World Class Strategies That Cut Through the Hype and Make Real Money on the Internet (Paperback)
This book is primarily for those wanting to develop and promote an ecommerce store and also has good information for those wanting to promote an informative web site. This would not be a good book for those wanting to learn about developing their own web site.

It discusses a wide range of information including strategic marketing, developing a viable business, web design and navigating, optimizing your web site for sales, using new media to promote, driving traffic to your site, and affiliate programs. This book is a valuable reference tool and is good to hang on to and refer back to while you are in the continuing efforts of running an ecommerce site.

This book was easy to read and kept me interested, for the most part, while reading. It has really useful information about optimizing web site for converting visitors to customers. It also had good information about writing sales copy and valuable suggestions about making use of web site and other technical automation systems.

The sections about driving more traffic to your site and web design and navigation (only 20 pages) were not given enough importance. As a graphic designer, I would recommend a different book for web design and navigation.

This book would probably be a useful addition to your library if you can take with a grain of salt. The introduction sounded like an infomercial as the author drags on about his success story. It is gimmicky and makes me feel like I am going to have to join the reigns of those who regurgitate information and repackage it into conferences, books and courses. Although it doesn't detract from the quality of information, the tone of the book is laced with ego throughout. In addition, several of the case examples look more like ads.

Regardless of its negative features, Mastering Online Marketing is still loaded with some good information and is a good value for the money. This is a good preparatory book from which you can decide what area of marketing to investigate further.

Samantha Marroquin
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If your online doing anything - this book will save you a ton of time!, December 26, 2007
This review is from: Mastering Online Marketing: 12 World Class Strategies That Cut Through the Hype and Make Real Money on the Internet (Paperback)
I just finished going through Mitch Meyerson's Mastering Online Marketing book. If your doing anything online this book will save you a boat load of time. He covers the basics well - like designing a web site, writing good copy, getting traffic to the site and how to totally automate the process. But he also covers the strategic side as well. I really liked the section about the 9 most critical marketing attitudes and action steps.

The book is laid out nicely so its a good read but you can also jump right into a section if it's something your currently working on. There is also a lot of good coaching in the book which comes from the fact that Mitch created the Guerrilla Marketing Coaching Program.

I enjoyed the book and give it 5 stars. I would recommend it for anyone online.

Blaine@BounceBackProfits.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mitch really nails this one, April 18, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mastering Online Marketing: 12 World Class Strategies That Cut Through the Hype and Make Real Money on the Internet (Paperback)
The big part of mastering marketing is mastering your own mindset. Mitch is a psychologist as well an an entrepreneur and a brilliant marketer.

The online world is so cluttered that you either need a huge budget or a very clear focus to succeed in the - both help!

Read this book and Mitch helps you get your mindset right so you can clear your blocks and get on with the job you need to do. He also clearly sets out the information needed for online and internet marketing, blogging, social media, web analytics etc. To me, the big thing is the clear mindset.

Thank you Mitch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book absolutely ROCKS!, March 4, 2008
By 
Travis Greenlee (Steamboat Spring, Co) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mastering Online Marketing: 12 World Class Strategies That Cut Through the Hype and Make Real Money on the Internet (Paperback)
Wow, all I can say is that if you are into online marketing, you simply must purchase this book.

It's simple, straight forward, has lots of pictures and diagrams to easily grasp the material.

I've now read my copy several times and have given it to all my staff.

Bottom line, buy this book and get rockin'

Travis Greenlee
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is "all meat", March 8, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mastering Online Marketing: 12 World Class Strategies That Cut Through the Hype and Make Real Money on the Internet (Paperback)
I have no connection whatsoever with Mitch Meyerson (even though I was once a fellow Entrepreneur Press author), but as a writer, author, and seminar leader, this is the book I have long been waiting for!

Most books on entrepreneurship and on-line marketing are long on philosophy, and very short on telling you how to actually drive people to your site and turn them into long term customer relationships. This book gets into gory detail on how to estimate potential traffic, get people to find you on-line, and engage them once they respond - complete with web links, resources, and tools.

Mitch is a former psychotherapist, and it shows - he and his co-author Mary do a great job of unwinding the psychology of how people become attracted to you and ultimately buy from you. They do a great job of getting into *your* head as well, in terms of teaching you the mindset and practicalities of being an on-line entrepreneur. And bravo to the author for tastefully presenting his own services primarily as examples, not relentless upselling (he practices his own "dating" approach to getting new clients). This book is well written, easy to read, and extremely high-content.

Having people find me on the Internet was a key to turning my passion for writing and teaching communications skills into a full-time living - now, after reading this book, I am hungry to develop resources, products, and marketing strategies to take what I am doing to the next level. Trust me, this will be the best $14.93 you can spend on your business. -Rich Gallagher, Point of Contact Group, author of Great Customer Connections (AMACOM, 2006) and the forthcoming How to Tell Anyone Anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.