Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cohen Entertainment
The characterization of some oddball serial killers and terrific dialouge are the saving grace of this MOH episode.

As is typical of Cohen, this is a bit tongue and cheek with some good kill scenes, some genuine suspense and hilarious characters. As seems to be the problem with many of the MOH tales, one hour was not quite enough to really flesh out the plot,...
Published on December 6, 2008 by S. Sommerville

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect Example of How Serial Killers Don't Operate
According to this flick 1 out of every 2 people are serial killers.
Serial Killers who are by no means methodical,
and kill simply when the chance presents itself.
Serial Killers who don't take their victims to a secluded area,
and are in no way sexually driven.

This is the tale of two spontaneous killers preying on the same group of...
Published on March 7, 2007 by Captain Insanity


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect Example of How Serial Killers Don't Operate, March 7, 2007
This review is from: Masters of Horror: Pick Me Up (DVD)
According to this flick 1 out of every 2 people are serial killers.
Serial Killers who are by no means methodical,
and kill simply when the chance presents itself.
Serial Killers who don't take their victims to a secluded area,
and are in no way sexually driven.

This is the tale of two spontaneous killers preying on the same group of unfortunate travelers, whose bus broke down in the middle of Murderville, USA. One is disguised as a trucker in shining armor, and the other as a hitch-hiker in desperate need of a ride. (Appropriatly named, "Wheeler" and "Rider"). Both killers eventually set their sights on the last of the passengers, Ms. Faruza Balk. What should have ensued was a wild game of cat(s) and mouse. What happened instead can only be described as ... well a tame game of mouse and mouse trap.

To say the least,
this installment of "Masters of Horror" is flawed at best.
At worst it seems kind of rushed.
Now I'm not going to point out all the mistakes,
'cause it would take a while,
and quite honestly, it's better to make a game out of it.
See how many flaws you can catch before the credits.
Trust me you'll find a bunch.

You should definitely rent before buying.
Soley based on the fact that this is a love/hate sort of movie.
And you won't know whether or not you love or hate it 'til you see it.
Regardless of all its mistakes, it was a fun ride, so I didn't mind purchasing the DVD.
But would I recommend it?
- Only for someone looking for a fun movie.
- But definitely not for someone whose a stickler for details.

MORAL OF THE STORY: Don't take rides and Don't give 'em.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cohen Entertainment, December 6, 2008
This review is from: Masters of Horror: Pick Me Up (DVD)
The characterization of some oddball serial killers and terrific dialouge are the saving grace of this MOH episode.

As is typical of Cohen, this is a bit tongue and cheek with some good kill scenes, some genuine suspense and hilarious characters. As seems to be the problem with many of the MOH tales, one hour was not quite enough to really flesh out the plot, which really was good given the time restraints.

If you like other Larry Cohen films, you should enjoy this one as it really hits the spot from an entertainment perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great premise; wrong movie, October 10, 2007
This review is from: Masters of Horror: Pick Me Up (DVD)
Pick Me Up offers a great premise: What if a motorist who kills hitchhikers picks up a hitchhiker who kills motorists? Imagine the taut, suspenseful, claustrophobic film that would develop as these two psychopaths try to kill one another. I would love to see that movie! But that's not this movie. Instead, Pick Me Up is a slighter, kind of hammy horror movie, which is expected since Larry Cohen (of Q fame) is the helmer. I think that the movie wastes time with the broken-down bus scenario. Characters are introduced that we don't need to know. I would have preferred that the two killers encounter each other right away. I do not mind the addition of a third character in jeopardy (we need someone to root for) but Fairuza Balk, a good actress, is mostly wasted. The guy playing the hitcher is forgettable, although Michael Moriarty is quirky and funny as the truck driver. The twist is amusing, although nowadays having a twist seems like a cliche.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Larry Cohen sneaks in a gem, December 22, 2006
This review is from: Masters of Horror: Pick Me Up (DVD)
At first I was a bit disappointed to learn that Larry Cohen did not write his own episode of MOH; Cohen is a fantastic writer, and a tv veteran, so he could easily have come up with something wonderful. Then I read that David J. Schow was scripting from his own short story; interesting, but Schow's writing seems a bit more primal and more in line with a Tobe Hooper-like director. Well, I couldn't have been more wrong: the episode is a little gem, and definitely one of the best of the rather lukewarm series.

Michael Moriarty is hilarious, conjuring the spirit of Archie Bunker, as a whacked-out truck driver. I don't want to spoil anything for potential viewers, suffice to say that this is a suspenseful, and refreshingly literate little movie. It offers humor, horror, and suprises that keep it from being run of the mill tv fodder. Kudos to everyone involved. My only complaint is the ending: I know that it was meant to be a bizarre punchline, but for me it was just silly and pulled me right out of the story. What comes before that is alot of fun. Here's hoping Larry Cohen directs another movie, and soon. You can sample David J. Schow's writing in one of his many books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars sucks, June 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Masters of Horror: Pick Me Up (DVD)
waste of money sounded good, but horrible don't waste your money or time horrible total waste of time to me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love MOH? You should pick this one up, April 3, 2013
This review is from: Masters of Horror: Pick Me Up (DVD)
Well, this one is a pretty surprising episode in the series to say the least. First, it had a lot of ingredients to get me into the thrill such as: 2 serial killers instead of one only (Michael Moriarty and Warren Khole.) and the tuff chick (Fairuza Balk, no less.)

But where the episode turns out to be pretty interesting and somewhat different is the fact that there was no paranormal or any occult phenomenon or mutant in this one. The killers aren't making ten days plan before hitting. They take the road, find victims and act. Because this is basically what killers do. In this one, one is a hitchhicker and the other one is an old truck driver. Misses originalty? When was the last time we had an original person or killer in a movie or on T.V? And with only 10 days to shoot an hour movie, legendary director Larry Cohen manages to outsmart similar works pretty easily such as: Vacancy or The Strangers. Not saying it puts them to shame, but it is surely better than many suspense scares i saw during that time. Maybe worth saying that along with the great cast and director, Pick Me Up was written by David Schow, a man perceived as the master of the Splatterpunk style that appeared in the early eighties to compete against softer horror stories. Pick Me Up isn't a splatterpunk fest, does it still exists today anyway? But sure has enough nudity and gore to be called a gruesome flick, with staying anchored to the roots of the cat and mouse type of scare and it does all that pretty well. Never disgusts the viewer in a way that will make him turn his head or close his eyes.

A really cool gem in the T.V Horror genre, a pretty fun one hour flick. And it stands amongst the best of MOH's season 1 along with Cigarette Burns, Jenifer, Heickel's Tale and Dance of the Dead in my opinion.

8.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Road Killers..., November 13, 2010
This review is from: Masters of Horror: Pick Me Up (DVD)
A truck-driving serial killer (Michael Moriarty) meets a deadly drifter in this MASTERS OF HORROR segment. Fairuza Balk plays a young woman caught between these two maniacs as they battle for murderous supremacy! PICK ME UP is one of the better MOH offerings, w/ a nice mix of terror and humour. There's also a ghoulish twist at the end! Director Larry Cohen (IT'S ALIVE 1-3, Q: THE WINGED SERPENT, GOD TOLD ME TO, etc.) does the best work he's done in years! Well worth adding to any horror collection...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Thriller Has Good Performances and Not Much Else., November 12, 2009
By 
E. Valero "Eterno" (Woodbridge, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Masters of Horror: Pick Me Up (DVD)
A young woman (Fairuza Balk) stranded on a lone highway after the bus she was travelling in breaks down, becomes the centre of a tug of war between 2 obnoxious killers. One killer, played by Michael Moriarty named Wheeler, is a truck driver who kills any hitchhiker who is unfortunate enough to hitch a ride with him and the other, a slick Brad Pitt clone named Walker (Warren Kole), loves to murder anyone who is friendly enough and unfortunate enough to pick him up.

"Pick Me Up", directed by Larry Cohen ("It's Alive", "God Told Me To", "Q - The Winged Serpent"), is in my opinion one of the least memorable episodes of the series. Despite a good cast; Michael Moriarty, Fairuza Balk and great location shots, it still manages to induce boredom. The pace is agonizingly slow. The film is hardly an hour but by the time it is done, it feels like you've committed 2+ hours watching it and you get nothing in return. Even Fairuza Balk, who has a face made for the genre, is unable to salvage this. It's not her fault since she didn't write the material and the overall execution must be blamed on the director. The story is routine but in the right hands, could have been a satisfying shocker, the characters are all ridiculous caricatures that you won't mind seeing cut up in to little pieces just so they'd shut up and the suspense... wait, there is none.

Many installments of the "Masters of Horror" series have provided little chills but have made up for it one way or another. For instance, the highly entertaining Deer Woman had great performances (especially from Brian Benben), wit, imagination and some gruesome autopsy scenes. It was not scary in the least but the gore & mystical tale of vengeance kept it interesting right up to the climax. Sick Girl had quirky but likable characters and a story so ridiculous it kept you involved not to mention the bug FX and mutation scenes and an always entertaining lesbian love scene. Haeckel's Tale provided a generous amount of zombies, a bit of outlandish gore and soft-core porn scenes that was wrong on so many levels and Dario Argento's Jenifer? Well let's just say there was an even balance of laughs and disgusting highlights all rolled up into one Argento filled hour. "Pick Me Up" has nothing new to offer. It has the typical MOH nudity and a generous amount of blood, but not to the degree that will have you cowering in disgust. What is left are annoying characters, a lame plot and a climax that will leave you speechless and not in a good way. The lead actors all do a fine job and it is a shame the film is not worthy of their talents. Cohen, Moriarty and Balk have all done better than this. Recommended for die-hard fans of Cohen, or the 2 actors mentioned. Others may want to skip this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An okay movie with a lame ending., September 3, 2009
By 
Aaron Merkel (Pennsylvania, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Masters of Horror: Pick Me Up (DVD)
Not a terrible horror film. It held my interest until the end, as I was interested in seeing how the girl escaped these two killers. I was disappointed that this horror film took the easy way out and again the main character does not make it in the end. Too cliche. Horror films do this way too much. Many times evil is defeated, only to pop up on the screen at the end of the movie, or we hear an evil laugh in the distance. It's bullcrap. Why couldn't the main character be [...] and kill the killers. They build her up to be all tough and self reliant, only to fail in the end. lame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The Disasters of Horror strike again, July 19, 2009
By 
David Bonesteel (Fresno, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Masters of Horror: Pick Me Up (DVD)
Boy, what a stinker. This tale of multiple serial killers strains credulity well beyond the breaking point and has not one ounce of genuine creativity in it. Director Larry Cohen (who has done some very good work in the past) and screenwriters Mick Garris and David J. Schow struggle mightily to give us quirky murderers who dispatch their victims to the accompaniment of snappy kiss-off lines; it's a pretty low bar to set, but it can still be entertaining if done well. When it is done this poorly, it makes everyone involved look like a cretin who wants to laugh at murder but lacks a sense of humor.

I really don't understand why the success rate for this series is so low, especially with the involvement of so many "masters."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Masters of Horror: Pick Me Up
Masters of Horror: Pick Me Up by Larry Cohen (DVD - 2006)
$14.98 $9.37
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.