Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars A good showing
Spoilers
Spoilers
Spoilers

A horrific entity plaques a family for generations, causing the town they live in to all turn crazy, killing themselves and others in terrible gruesome ways. Very good special effects especially early on in the beginning when the father dies, and his chest is ripped open and he is disemboweled. This scene may make some...
Published on February 7, 2011 by Johnny Williams

versus
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has it's moments
Tobe Hooper has had one of the strangest careers in the horror genre; his Iconic reputation stems from his 1974 classic The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, but since that his career has been very uneven. While he has directed a couple of popular movies the general conception is Chainsaw is why he is so well remembered and will be.

When you look at the era Tobe Hooper...
Published on October 23, 2007 by Dave. K


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has it's moments, October 23, 2007
By 
Dave. K (Staten Island, NY,) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Masters of Horror: The Damned Thing (DVD)
Tobe Hooper has had one of the strangest careers in the horror genre; his Iconic reputation stems from his 1974 classic The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, but since that his career has been very uneven. While he has directed a couple of popular movies the general conception is Chainsaw is why he is so well remembered and will be.

When you look at the era Tobe Hooper came to came a lot of filmmakers were changing the horror world as we know it and I suppose some of these guys are gonna get left in the dust. I'm not quite sure if it was the screenplays or Hooper's directing, but he never quite lived up to what many thought he would go on and become. With that said I very much do think he deserves to be a part of the Masters of Horror even if only for The Texas Chainsaw Massacre.

The Damned Thing is a very mixed bad, but after all was said and done I felt as if this movie could have been so much more than what it was. The Damned Thing had the makings of a great horror flick, but somewhere along the course of it there are parts that just don't work well.

First up the casting here is excellent; I am a huge fan of Sean Patrick Flanery. He has this coolness he brings to every role. Even a bad movie Sean always makes the best of it and even if I dislike the movie I always walk away happy with Sean Patrick Flanery's performance. The rest of the cast all play their respected roles quite well. Ted Raimi is great even if the part is brief. Marisa Coughlan does a solid job in her role and so far all is good here.

The screenplay by Richard Christian Matheson was quite well done. I found his script for the most part well-written. The characters are interesting and have depth. While there might be some moments that drag a little bit, but overall the script was quite good.

But there was still just something a little off here; Director Tobe Hooper is able to craft some solid scenes, but the tension just seems to be lacking here overall. The opening scene was quite well done and had some solid tension, but after that Hooper is mostly unable to keep it going through out the course. Like I said his scenes are well crafted and work well in general, but the suspense and tension just lacks at times.

When everything finally starts to go crazy in the final act, the tension and urgency of the situation just wasn't there. The lack of suspense and tension is one of the downfalls here. I don't think Tobe Hooper did a bad job, but it just didn't work well at times.

What does help elevate The Damned Thing are the gore F/X, which were excellent. Not the goriest of the series, but it has to be up there. Those scenes greatly help the movie and the hammer scene was quite brutal.

My biggest complaint is the final couple of minutes; Tobe Hooper came from the old school. If anyone knows that sometimes less is more Tobe Hooper is clearly one of them. To make up for his low budget on The Texas Chainsaw Massacre he had to be creative. Sometimes showing the audience is great, but again sometimes less is more. The final minutes we get to see The Damned Thing and I can't help, but feel it was a total mistake. Not knowing who or what this thing is really added to the movie, but when we finally see it well it sort of takes away from the movie.

In closing, The Damned Thing gets a lot of heat from the viewers, but personally I thought it was pretty good time despite the flaws. Not the best of the Masters of Horror, but a decent time killer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good showing, February 7, 2011
This review is from: Masters of Horror: The Damned Thing (DVD)
Spoilers
Spoilers
Spoilers

A horrific entity plaques a family for generations, causing the town they live in to all turn crazy, killing themselves and others in terrible gruesome ways. Very good special effects especially early on in the beginning when the father dies, and his chest is ripped open and he is disemboweled. This scene may make some queasy, as my wife had a hard time watching that scene.

Casting was excellent, Raimi fulfilled his role really well as the town priest and all the actors played their characters well and nothing was ever questioned in their ability. I also thoroughly enjoyed the premise of the movie and was disappointing that it did not last longer, i feel that this particular story would have lend itself well to a full fledged horror film rather than a 60 minute episode of Moh.

This movie is a definite buy for any horror enthusiast and collector. I really enjoyed the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sludge With A Grudge..., March 14, 2014
This review is from: Masters of Horror: The Damned Thing (DVD)
THE DAMNED THING sort of reminded me of THE CRAZIES, w/ its small-town-goes-homicidally-insane premise. The difference, of course, is the reason behind the madness. In this story, the town sheriff (Sean Patrick Flanery) is haunted by childhood memories that are directly connected to a current rash of unexplained murders and suicides. Something is re-occurring that, it appears, will not stop until everyone is dead. Director Tobe Hooper (THE TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE, 'SALEM'S LOT, POLTERGEIST, THE TOOLBOX MURDERS) has fashioned a creepy, gory tale w/ plenty of ghoulish atmosphere. The oily finale isn't bad, since the less we see of the monster the better...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing, May 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Masters of Horror: The Damned Thing (DVD)
This movie was okay but I was a little disappointed in the way it ended. We all want there to be a hero at the end a person
that beats out the evil, but in this movie that didn't happen. At the end when you think the Damned thing has been beaten
by the father, the unthinkable happens. It has great computer graphics and special effects. It's an okay movie, but I personally was disappointed. I would recommend this movie, because some people would probably enjoy it more than I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Another disappointing Masters of Horror episode from Tobe Hooper, March 1, 2008
This review is from: Masters of Horror: The Damned Thing (DVD)
Tobe Hooper, the legendary director behind the original Texas Chainsaw Massacre, Poltergeist, and Salem's Lot, amde his Masters of Horror debut in the previous season with the very disappointing Dance of the Dead. Hooper returns to Masters of Horror with the first episode of the horror anthology's second season, The Damned Thing. Based on the short story by Ambrose Pierce and scripted by Hooper's Dance of the Dead screenwriter Richard Christian Matheson, The Damned Thing stars Sean Patrick Flanery (Powder, Boondock Saints) as a small town sheriff tracking down a deadly force that causes people to violently kill each other, just as it did years before when it devestated his own family. While the premise is great and the talent involved is promising, The Damned Thing ends up being another disappointing installment in the Masters of Horror series from Tobe Hooper. Hooper just seems to be asleep at the wheel (and director's chair), particularly in the final third of the episode where much of the promise that has been set up gets quickly wasted. It isn't all bad though, as once again Masters of Horror offers up some very good effects work, and Flanery is good as well in the lead (he's always been underrated and under-utilized), and even Ted Raimi is here to boot as a priest. All in all, The Damned Thing is sadly another disappointing excursion from Tobe Hooper under the Masters of Horror banner, and while it does offer some good moments, there just aren't enough of them to make this episode any more memorable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, December 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Masters of Horror: The Damned Thing (DVD)
THIS WAS GREAT AND FAST SHIPPING. WILL BUY AGAIN! THANK YOU VERY MUCH!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Damned thing is right., August 21, 2007
This review is from: Masters of Horror: The Damned Thing (DVD)
This installment of the MOH series, I did not like at all. The story was interesting - I'll give it that (father ruins land for oil... then dies pretty gruesomely which is cool) and then his son is haunted by the memory of that night for 28 years... until the thing that killed his father comes back and ruins the town. I swear I've seen this before... or something like it.

So... throughout the ENTIRE movie... you are waiting to see a picture, a glimse of the damned thing (I love saying that!)... and you get too... at the VERY end for 3 seconds and its bad, really, really bad!

So my advice to you is... skip this one, if you are a fan of Hooper and want to take a chance, go ahead... just dont say that you were not warned.

Oh yeah... Ted Raimi is in this one too... so, so performance. Liked him better as the comedic relief in spider-man... or as "Henrietta - the evil cellar witch" in Evil Dead II
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A High Price To Be Paid For Oil, October 4, 2007
This review is from: Masters of Horror: The Damned Thing (DVD)
After reading 2 of the 3 reviews I wondered why I was going to bother watching The Damned Thing by the very dissapointing MOH series, but was pleasantly suprised. It wasn't great, but trying to find a great MOH story is like stumbling upon gold. As far as they go it was decent. It was a unique idea that had some good acting but failed to provide a solid ending. You only get to see the creature at the end very briefly then it seems to end before you could really understand what happend. But thats here nor there. It turned out to be pretty enjoyable but is nothing to go crazy for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Edgy, different and ineresting., March 24, 2008
By 
This review is from: Masters of Horror: The Damned Thing (DVD)
This is a cool movie that you will want to watch twice maybe to fully "get". We enjoyed it alot....but not a favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must watch!, December 21, 2007
This review is from: Masters of Horror: The Damned Thing (DVD)
Good story line with a different ending than some of the usual Master of Horrors.A must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Masters of Horror: The Damned Thing
Masters of Horror: The Damned Thing by Tobe Hooper (DVD - 2007)
$14.98 $3.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.