Industrial-Sized Deals Best Books of the Month Shop Women's Handbags Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Beach House Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Shop Popular Services tmnt tmnt tmnt  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage GNO Shop Back to School with Amazon Back to School with Amazon Outdoor Recreation Deal of the Day
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).
& FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by
Gift-wrap available.
Masterworks for Organ &am... has been added to your Cart
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Zoverstocks
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Masterworks for Organ & Orchestra
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Masterworks for Organ & Orchestra

1 customer review

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, January 17, 2005
"Please retry"
$18.61 $11.99
$22.61 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details Only 1 left in stock. Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.

1. Allegro for organ & orchestra, Op. 81
2. Fantaisie Sur Deux Mélodies Anglaises
3. Fantaisie dialoguée, for organ & orchestra, Op.35
4. Meditation on the Stabat Mater, for organ & orchestra, Op. 63
5. Symphonic Fantasia for organ & orchestra: Allegro non troppo
6. Symphonic Fantasia for organ & orchestra: Andante con variazioni
7. Symphonic Fantasia for organ & orchestra: La chasse. Allegro
8. Final for organ & orchestra 'alla Schumannn sur un Noël Languedocien,' Op. 83
9. Sonata (Symphony) for organ No. 1 in D minor, Op. 42: Introduction et Allegro
10. Sonata (Symphony) for organ No. 1 in D minor, Op. 42: Pastorale
11. Sonata (Symphony) for organ No. 1 in D minor, Op. 42: Allegro assai

Product Details

  • Performer: Franz Hauk
  • Conductor: Olaf Koch
  • Composer: Alexandre Guilmant, Leon Boellmann, Francois-Joseph Fetis
  • Audio CD (January 17, 2005)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Guild
  • ASIN: B00005B661
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #444,403 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful By R. J. Stove on January 8, 2005
Format: Audio CD
Berlioz famously observed, "The orchestra is emperor, the organ is pope": his implication being that a true partnership between them would be doomed. Saint-Saëns' ORGAN SYMPHONY testifies to the undue pessimism of Berlioz's verdict, and so does the much less familiar - a euphemism, in this case, for "completely unknown save to a handful of specialists" - repertoire collected here. Flawed though the sound quality of this disc might be (detail is pretty vivid, but the orchestra's acoustic never sounds really convincing), the performers' choice of music remains a fascinating one. A high level of genuine, as opposed to pseudo-, nobility marks the output of Alexandre Guilmant (1837-1911) and Leon Boëllmann (1862-1897). Best of the pieces here is the Guilmant FANTAISIE, which has an indelible main theme wedded to harmonies of beguiling Brucknerian stateliness; second-best is the Boellmann FANTAISIE DIALOGUEE, rather tougher, more tense and more robust than the SUITE GOTHIQUE, which is as near as this short-lived petit-maitre ever came to a popular hit. (Organists are almost all familiar with that suite, even if no-one else is.) A shame that more compositions by either Guilmant or Boëllmann could not have been found to complete the disc, since the contribution by Belgian lexicographer and part-time composer François-Joseph Fétis (1784-1871) makes by comparison for a rather feeble and protracted 17 minutes, with its idiom inclining all too frequently towards sub-Rossinian rhubarb-rhubarb.

Tonally the organ - in Ingolstadt, Bavaria - is not well suited to 19th-century Francophones' material; glassy and neoclassic in its sound, it lacks the warm voluptuousness of a Cavaillé-Coll instrument, though it would fit Hindemith's output to perfection.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Masterworks for Organ & Orchestra
This item: Masterworks for Organ & Orchestra
Price: $22.61
Ships from and sold by