Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent textbook, but do NOT buy Kindle edition
The textbook is very easy to follow, has great examples, very accessible and actually interesting to read. However buying this book on Kingle was a big mistake. Yes, it's great to read the material, however there are many tables that the text refers to, and Kindle doesn't make it easy to click on tables and then go back to text. It is especially hard to do problems, when...
Published on July 28, 2011 by Alla

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the worst book on a rather dry subject...
This book was fine. It hits the points I needed for class. The black and white internals was a surprise for this level of textbook, but the material was well-covered, though very dry.
Published on July 28, 2011 by brad - UF


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent textbook, but do NOT buy Kindle edition, July 28, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Matching Supply with Demand: An Introduction to Operations Management (Kindle Edition)
The textbook is very easy to follow, has great examples, very accessible and actually interesting to read. However buying this book on Kingle was a big mistake. Yes, it's great to read the material, however there are many tables that the text refers to, and Kindle doesn't make it easy to click on tables and then go back to text. It is especially hard to do problems, when you need to go back to the specific pages or find formulas or a table. It's doable, but would have been much much easier with a physical book. Yes, Kindle has 'bookmark' and 'highlight' functionalities, but they are hard to use and not intuitive. Until Kindle can offer touch-screen and be more intuitive, I'll stick to reading only books with plain text on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, April 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Here is what I like and what I don't like about this book:

Pros:
- Detailed examples to illustrate different operations management (OM) concepts.
- Use of mathematical models to analyze and approach OM problems.
- Sense of humor, which is helpful sometimes, specially after reading a whole chapter.
- Brief explanation of mathematical derivations without going into complexities, and there is a dedicated appendix at the end of the book for people who are interested in understanding the mathematical derivations in details.
- After explaining the concepts, the author uses exhibits which recap the process of evaluating a certain model, or system parameter, in a neat and systematic steps.

Cons:
- Sometimes the book "over explain" the concepts, maybe it is the author's way of making sure that everyone understood the concept. Not a big deal, but a little bit annoying sometimes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful tool in the field., October 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great book and very informative. I was able to fulfilled the required assignments by using this book, the author was able to shared actual operations experience about being in the field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Texct Book, July 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Matching supply and demand is often looked at as an easy task but, in reality, it is much harder and a very important aspect of every successful business. The book will help all business professionals understand the relationship between the two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Helped me a lot, August 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I just finished my MBA Operations core course with high marks and one big reason for scoring well was this book. It's a very easy to read introductory book on Operations with emphasis on problem solving. It is structured around practical issues that kept me interested all along. My favorite chapters were the ones on Lean and Newsvendor model.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the worst book on a rather dry subject..., July 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book was fine. It hits the points I needed for class. The black and white internals was a surprise for this level of textbook, but the material was well-covered, though very dry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The "figure out how to do the problems on your own" book, October 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book is clearly written, but the problems are not easy, and there is little in the way of examples if you get lost in the middle of one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Set for class, December 4, 2012
By 
Robin (Rockville, MD) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book was set for class, so I didn't really have a choice in buying it. Frankly, I should have saved my money - I really didn't get much out of it, and it often left me more confused than I otherwise would have been. I'm guessing most people looking at the book need it as a text book, so won't have the choice to buy it, but for me, it just didn't work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, May 14, 2013
By 
Jason A Mulliner (Leander, TX United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great book that covers all of the basics and complexities of supply chain management. I bought this for some of my team members
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book was difficult to follow, December 4, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book was difficult to follow. The online course was much easier to understand. I did understand more of the book after I began the course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.