Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handy, smart book for biz journalists
It's a pleasure to read a math book written with the journalist in mind. Every section contains something useful for journalists, from how to properly handle numbers in your text to how to figure property taxes. It belongs on every journalist's desk.
Published on April 21, 2004

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Handy Guide for Beginning Journalists
I have gone through the book Math Tools for Journalists and am envigored by
what I have seen.
The book offers a brief, to-the-point, clear explanation of some basic math
points for journalists as well as for the average person. I appreciate the
inclusion of basic math computations, statistics, business concepts, etc. The
summation of useful...
Published on June 25, 2003 by Tania Cantrell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handy, smart book for biz journalists, April 21, 2004
By A Customer
It's a pleasure to read a math book written with the journalist in mind. Every section contains something useful for journalists, from how to properly handle numbers in your text to how to figure property taxes. It belongs on every journalist's desk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars apljacker, June 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this book years ago, and still refer to it today. I am the editor of a weekly newspaper and it always helps each year with budget stories to review the formulas for percentages and whatnot. Everyone in the newsroom likes to use it. Handy little book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Handy Guide for Beginning Journalists, June 25, 2003
By 
I have gone through the book Math Tools for Journalists and am envigored by
what I have seen.
The book offers a brief, to-the-point, clear explanation of some basic math
points for journalists as well as for the average person. I appreciate the
inclusion of basic math computations, statistics, business concepts, etc. The
summation of useful formulas at the end of the text is a nice touch as well.
The Skill Drills at the end of each section is very helpful, and it's great to
have an answer key as well. Also impressive is the inclusion of actual news
articles for each section demonstrating how journalists have used the math
concept covered by the chapter in their reporting.
I have a fairly strong math background (relatively speaking, for a
communications professional) and yet have found the text helpful in reviewing
some basic math principles. In addition, I have learned concepts I feel I have
needed to understand for some time just by going over the text and seeing the
simply stated explanations.

Math Tools for Journalists is definitely a handy-guide for any beginning journalist!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great item, January 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Math Tools for Journalists: Student Version (Paperback)
I bought this book because it was required for one of my courses. To be honest we never used the book in class and I haven't read it, but my professor knows her stuff and was a really big fan of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars math tools, December 22, 2012
it is going to help my class because they are not doing good on their test we have a test today im not a real one but im ten i smart
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good For Class, June 30, 2009
By 
I bought this book for school on Amazon because I needed it for a class and it was cheaper here than it was in my school's bookstore. I got it in a timely order and it was in great condition when it arrived. The writing and examples in the book are very clear and helpful and easy to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculousness., April 27, 2013
This review is from: Math Tools for Journalists: Student Version (Paperback)
While this book is nice for those whose math brains were left cobweb-covered in the 8th grade, I can't get over the elitist attitude in which this book is written. Those who are practicing journalism shouldn't be too far from college to have forgotten this basic knowledge. Waste of $10.40. Try Google and a calculator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9c4af5a0)

This product

Math Tools for Journalists: Student Version
Math Tools for Journalists: Student Version by Kathleen Wickham (Paperback - March 1, 2003)
$16.95 $12.14
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.