Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


74 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Review of "Math for Your 1st and 2nd Grader"
I took a look at this book (Math for Your 1st and 2nd Grader) at the library and now I am going to order it.

I have a 5 year-old that I am presently working with, and although I have a workbook, I am not entirely sure that I am presenting the soundest explanations of various concepts, and so I have come to Mr. Savin.

Pro's: Stephen Savin's writing...
Published on July 20, 2005 by PeaTee

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars My kids hate it.
I followed the steps in this book with my kids, and they hate it.
If teachers are following this, maybe it is why schools aren't doing too well?
Published 14 months ago by Daniel Boudreault


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Review of "Math for Your 1st and 2nd Grader", July 20, 2005
This review is from: Math for Your First- and Second-Grader: All You Need to Know to Be Your Child's Best Teacher (Paperback)
I took a look at this book (Math for Your 1st and 2nd Grader) at the library and now I am going to order it.

I have a 5 year-old that I am presently working with, and although I have a workbook, I am not entirely sure that I am presenting the soundest explanations of various concepts, and so I have come to Mr. Savin.

Pro's: Stephen Savin's writing is very clear and straight forward with plenty of examples in how to teach and verify that your child understands the material.

Possible Con: I do not know if this book is in current compliance with the NCTM standards. This book was written in 1995 and I know that the national standards have changed considerably since then.

That said, I made my decision to purchase based on the table of contents and 'where we are now' rather than some artificial standard: i.e. if this book covers what you are interested in teaching, then buy it.

Having said that, I have to point out that publishers are nuts to not put the entire table of contents on the Amazon "Search inside this book" feature. This book, like so many others, only has page one of the contents listed. Ridiculous.

Without writing out ALL of the 39 mini-lessons, I will write out the major chapters topics (with subsections where meaning is not clear) so that you might have an idea of what you are purchasing.

Chapter Titles:

For FIRST-GRADE MATH

====================

Counting

Adding Single-Digit Numbers

Subtracting Single-Digit Numbers

Building Math Skills

--Translating Words Into Numbers

--Intro Of The Concept Of Zero

--Filling In The Missing Number

Addition and Subtraction Drills

Addition Into Double Digits

Counting Money

Word Problems With Single-and Double-Digit Numbers

Introduction To Telling Time

Double-Digit Addition and Subtraction

Word Problems With and Without Money

Counting Pennies, Nickels, and Dimes

Ordinal Numbers

Introduction To Fractions

Counting To 100

First-Grade Final Exam

First-Grade Final Exam Answers

SECOND-GRADE MATH

Counting and Writing Numbers up to 200

Mathematical Symbols

Grouping Numbers in 10s and 1s

Adding Three Numbers and Double-and Triple-Digit Numbers

Subtracting Single-, Double-, and Triple-Digit Numbers

Word Problems in Addition and Subtraction

Regrouping, Expanded Notation, and Graphing

Addition with Carrying

Subtraction with Borrowing and Review of Carrying and Borrowing

Adding and Subtracting Money

Word Problems in Addition and Subtraction

Telling Time

Advanced Counting

--Counting from 1 to 1000

--Filling in the Missing Numbers

--Counting by 2s, 3s, 4s, 5s, and 10s

Introduction to Multiplication and Division

Shapes and Measurements

Second -Grade Final Exam

Second -Grade Final Exam Answers

Index

Five Stars. Writing is very clear and the lessons are not overly long, which fits the temperament of most young math explorers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good book, November 19, 2005
By 
This review is from: Math for Your First- and Second-Grader: All You Need to Know to Be Your Child's Best Teacher (Paperback)
A very good book on the first grade math topics. It provides sound and clear explanations seldom found in other books. Essential math concepts and skills are introduced with many excellent examples. I enjoyed it very much with my son.

The book is ideal for first graders even with the "2nd grade" part. Second graders may find it too easy. If you want to know what other kids are learning in schools, there is a nice web site at [...] It provides free math practice every week based on school curricula nowadays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for Homeschoolers!, July 26, 2008
This review is from: Math for Your First- and Second-Grader: All You Need to Know to Be Your Child's Best Teacher (Paperback)
This book wasn't actually written for the homeschool market, but every homeschool family should have this book! The author describes all of the basic math concepts so that they are easily understood. First and second grade math skills are built upon step-by-step, in fun but informative lessons that are just the right length for young children. Practical guidelines for parents explain how to verify that a child has learned the material. First- and second- grade final exams are included. It's a great bargain for such a solid foundation in math! If you have your child write the answers in a notebook, you can re-use this book with more than one child. It's also a great preparation for Saxon Math. We have used this book with all three of our boys, and by the time we finished they were easily ready for Saxon 3 and even skipped ahead to Saxon 5/4.

~Teri Ann Berg Olsen, author of Learning for Life: Educational Words of Wisdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Save your money, July 10, 2013
This review is from: Math for Your First- and Second-Grader: All You Need to Know to Be Your Child's Best Teacher (Paperback)
Textbook is not worth buying...basic skills recommendations which are common sense is listed...may be good for "completely clueless in math" people
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good book for kids, May 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Math for Your First- and Second-Grader: All You Need to Know to Be Your Child's Best Teacher (Paperback)
I like this book,and I use it to teach my son step by step,it is easy for us to keep going,it is helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars reminds me of Ray's New Primary Arithmetic, April 10, 2013
This review is from: Math for Your First- and Second-Grader: All You Need to Know to Be Your Child's Best Teacher (Paperback)
My opinion is Ray's New Primary Arithmetic is superior for two reasons: much more orderly and free. Download and print from g o o g l e books. Ruth Beechick has a parent guide for it too on Amazon. If you do the math, Ray and Ruth are better in content and cost!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I and my first grader absolutely loves this book, March 31, 2013
By 
Rochelle Walker (Kansas City, MO, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Math for Your First- and Second-Grader: All You Need to Know to Be Your Child's Best Teacher (Paperback)
I would recommend this to anyone who is wondering what their child should be learning about math in the first and second grade. The lessons are straight forward and walks you through each topic thoroughly and efficiently. We finished first grade in about two months and finishing second grade before he even starts second grade. It really helped me gauge what he really knew and what we needed to work on!!

The only thing I would change is the binding of the book itself to be more like a workbook, maybe even a spiral notebook. Because of the awkward binding, I had to write out most of the lessons on notebook paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars My kids hate it., January 24, 2013
By 
Daniel Boudreault (Lexington, KY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Math for Your First- and Second-Grader: All You Need to Know to Be Your Child's Best Teacher (Paperback)
I followed the steps in this book with my kids, and they hate it.
If teachers are following this, maybe it is why schools aren't doing too well?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars homeschooler, April 10, 2010
By 
Martin Cox (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Math for Your First- and Second-Grader: All You Need to Know to Be Your Child's Best Teacher (Paperback)
I have used this book for my now second grader and will be using it again for my second child beginning next year. Good written directions and lots of practice. I just wish he has written a book for third/fourth grade math.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great concept book, February 10, 2009
This review is from: Math for Your First- and Second-Grader: All You Need to Know to Be Your Child's Best Teacher (Paperback)
great for helping me do supplemental education for my child - plus gave me ideas on what to focus on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9979c39c)

This product

Math for Your First- and Second-Grader: All You Need to Know to Be Your Child's Best Teacher
$19.95 $17.65
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.