Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, Very Helpful for my College Course
I used this book for my local Community College Topics of Finite Mathmatics class. This book is for business type math....we covered Matrices, Sets & Probability, System of Linear Equations , Simplex Method Maximization and so on. I was lucky enough to have the instructor's editon book, which gave all the answers in the back helpful in understand the problems and doing...
Published on December 21, 2010 by Tyler Fricke

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars MyMathlab Access Code Card
The code that came along with the book didn't work because it had already been used by someone else. I had to go spend an extra $80 to get it. Therefore I have wasted $140 on a book I really don't need.
Published on February 8, 2012 by A.Wharton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars MyMathlab Access Code Card, February 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The code that came along with the book didn't work because it had already been used by someone else. I had to go spend an extra $80 to get it. Therefore I have wasted $140 on a book I really don't need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Teachers edition is NOT what the description said., August 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Wasted my money. Students can't use teachers edition books in class. The description didn't say anywhere that it was teachers edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really Terrible, February 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Finite Mathematics with Applications (10th Edition) (Lial/Hungerford/Holcomb) (Hardcover)
It really doesn't explain what it is doing so you are left wondering where the number came from, and occasionally won't even cover something then have questions on how to do it.. Also several of the times it had pulled a number out of nowhere a full chapter or so later it finally explains how to do that.. you can tell they were shuffling chapters around with little attention to what you need to know for later chapters/sections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, Very Helpful for my College Course, December 21, 2010
By 
This review is from: Finite Mathematics with Applications (10th Edition) (Lial/Hungerford/Holcomb) (Hardcover)
I used this book for my local Community College Topics of Finite Mathmatics class. This book is for business type math....we covered Matrices, Sets & Probability, System of Linear Equations , Simplex Method Maximization and so on. I was lucky enough to have the instructor's editon book, which gave all the answers in the back helpful in understand the problems and doing to homework :) Overall it was a very good book, helped me understand the material and I liked the set up of the problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of money, February 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Finite Mathematics with Applications (10th Edition) (Lial/Hungerford/Holcomb) (Hardcover)
Beware, that once an access code has been used it is no longer valid, it can not be used again! So all of those used books, are just that, used books. They may have an access code, but if it has already been used once Pearson will not accept it again. I ended up buying access directly from Pearson's Math Lab for $88. You can print the book pages you need from the web site, plus it actually walks you through the steps of each problem, using 4-5 different methods that you pick from such as: show me an example, help me solve this problem, show me in the textbook, multimedia demonstration. There are more practice problems that I was ever able to do, with the added benefit of knowing immediately if my answer was right or wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Book came fast, March 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Finite Mathematics with Applications (10th Edition) (Lial/Hungerford/Holcomb) (Hardcover)
Inside of the book is in excellent shape, however the cover is dirty with some sticky stuff. I just cleaned it off with some goo gone. It did arrive quickly! I would purchase from them again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Math books are all pretty similar, December 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Finite Mathematics with Applications (10th Edition) (Lial/Hungerford/Holcomb) (Hardcover)
I'll give this book Four stars because this is a good math book, it's pretty detailed and I like they layout and organization. However, I still hate math.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Comes with a disk!, November 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Finite Mathematics with Applications (10th Edition) (Lial/Hungerford/Holcomb) (Hardcover)
This came with the disk too. I didn't need it but if you do it's nice to get without having to pay for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It makes math easy, October 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Finite Mathematics with Applications (10th Edition) (Lial/Hungerford/Holcomb) (Hardcover)
I took a class online with this as my textbook and got an A and it explains algebra on a high level without confusing me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, October 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Finite Mathematics with Applications (10th Edition) (Lial/Hungerford/Holcomb) (Hardcover)
The book is no highlight or handwriting inside the book!!!Really Good!!!Hope more students can buy such these high quality books from you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Finite Mathematics with Applications (10th Edition) (Lial/Hungerford/Holcomb)
Used & New from: $4.17
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.