Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive guide for 3D math
As a word of warning, do not purchase this book expecting it to teach you math fundamentals. If you do not have a background of at least algebra and trigonometry (and preferably a bit of calculus), you owe it to yourself to pick up another book and brush up on these fundamentals. While there are a few appendices covering a handful of topics, they are less about...
Published on January 16, 2012 by Patrick Rouse

versus
37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
The manufacturer commented on the review below
2.0 out of 5 stars Kindle Edition: Careless errors, diagrams too small.
This book is just what I have been looking for: something that presents and cogently explains the math that is most useful for implementing 2d and 3d computer graphics. If the Kindle edition did not have the problems it has, I would give it 5 stars. However, it gets a poor rating for two reasons. One, the diagrams are too small! Other Kindle documents allow the reader...
Published on December 5, 2011 by Karen E. Pittman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive guide for 3D math, January 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mathematics for 3D Game Programming and Computer Graphics, Third Edition (Hardcover)
As a word of warning, do not purchase this book expecting it to teach you math fundamentals. If you do not have a background of at least algebra and trigonometry (and preferably a bit of calculus), you owe it to yourself to pick up another book and brush up on these fundamentals. While there are a few appendices covering a handful of topics, they are less about explaining the topic and more of reference pages.

Mathematics for 3D Game Programming and Computer Graphics is an excellent reference book for anyone doing 3D work. The topics are very to the point and few pages are wasted explaining basic math principles (hence the warning about having a decent math background). The book probably won't teach anyone who doesn't know they underlying principles but will be your go-to reference for any algorithm you implement.

The book starts with the reviews of the requisite vector, matrix, transformation (including rotations by quaternions) and basic geometry for a view frustum, but quickly dives into more advanced topics. Ray tracing is covered for all areas of use, from light maps to reflections. The lighting chapter covers texturing using several map types as well as lighting models with a very enjoyable discussion of specular reflection models.

Solid chapters on culling using bounding volumes and portal systems, shadowing and curve algorithms round out the first half of the book. The second half is devoted to the mathematics of physics, with chapters on basic collision detection, linear and rotational physics. The simulation of fluids and cloth (one of the more difficult physical models to accurately compute in a game) gets it's own chapter and it's a highlight for anyone implementing character clothing animation or a realistic water volume.

Every chapter has exercises (with and appendix of answers) to reinforce the material. The C++ and GLSL shader code is available on the books companion website ([...]) much of which forms the basis for the math classes of the authors own engine.

Anyone who needs a math reference book for 3D would do well to own this book. If you are writing your own engine, you owe it to yourself to pick up what will be the only math book you will need. While many technical books do not age well, this hardcover book will last through many late-night coding sessions both physically and with regard to the material within at a low price point. Never again will you have to scour through your old textbooks or search online for the algorithm you are trying to implement. The author has done the impossible; make a truly terrific math textbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


The manufacturer commented on the review belowSee comments
37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Kindle Edition: Careless errors, diagrams too small., December 5, 2011
By 
Karen E. Pittman (Austin, TX United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is just what I have been looking for: something that presents and cogently explains the math that is most useful for implementing 2d and 3d computer graphics. If the Kindle edition did not have the problems it has, I would give it 5 stars. However, it gets a poor rating for two reasons. One, the diagrams are too small! Other Kindle documents allow the reader to scale images, but not this one. Two, and this is just INEXCUSABLE: The Kindle edition, but not the print edition, has errors that make the equations and proofs worthless. I can't quote examples exactly because special characters don't show up properly, but here's a description of three examples:

1. print p. 13, Theorem 2.2
Kindle uses improper notation in (c), and an ill-formed expression in (d).

2. print p. 14, fig 2.1: "The triangle inequality states that [equation]"
Kindle reverses the inequality in the equation.

3. print p. 15,
"Definition 2.3. The dot product of two n-dimensional vectors P and Q, written as ..."
Kindle leaves out a crucial character in the "written as" formula.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

 
stem
The manufacturer commented on this review(What's this?)
Posted on Apr 23, 2014 8:50:34 AM PDT
Liz P. says:
(MANUFACTURER)
Yes, this is being addressed now. We (the Publisher) will be reloading new files to Amazon's print replica program so the layout, including diagrams, notations and other pedagogy will mirror the print version. This new version should be live within a few days. Our apologies for any inconvenience this has caused.
 
 

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book for collegiate level learning, September 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mathematics for 3D Game Programming and Computer Graphics, Third Edition (Hardcover)
I believe this book is targeted towards a lack of intro level computer graphics texts amongst colleges. I highly recommend this book because it is way cheaper than the texts I bought for my class ($140) AND it has the same contents if not more. It goes over everything I need to learn in my class and Eric is very easy to contact if you need extra explanation which is just unheard of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Book, September 20, 2011
By 
Debbie Rhodes "LOVE TO READ" (Pleasantville, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mathematics for 3D Game Programming and Computer Graphics, Third Edition (Hardcover)
The graphics alone make this a quality book. I use it in conjunction with my University level programming book to be one step ahead of the Professor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Survey of math and physics, April 12, 2012
By 
This review is from: Mathematics for 3D Game Programming and Computer Graphics, Third Edition (Hardcover)
The book expects one to have significant prior knowledge in mathematics and physics. Not a good book for beginners and is not that valuable for experts. The book has 16 chapters and spends on average 20 to 30 pages per each very complex topic - how can you explain fluid dynamics in 20 pages? A reference of formulas? To a degree. It does not hurt owning the book to look up a formula if you forgot one. I found that I could cross-reference some of the problems with material on the Internet where you can find much better explanations.

P.S. there is no programming in the book with the exception of a few OpenGL listings which I did not find interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Kindle edition is rubbish!! So many errors!, July 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There are so many errors in kindle edition of this book, particularly when it comes to maths formulas!!
The content of the book is good though, but the numerous errors are really frustrating.

Do not buy kindle edition of this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Resource, January 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mathematics for 3D Game Programming and Computer Graphics, Third Edition (Hardcover)
Great book. It has plenty of examples and explanation for each concept covered. I've used it as a reference on a number of projects. Some of the topics are geared more for advanced programmers, but intermediate skill level is really all that's necessary to understand them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just two words: really excellent!, September 12, 2011
By 
Wendell Silva "Wendell Silva" (São José dos Campos | São Paulo | BRA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mathematics for 3D Game Programming and Computer Graphics, Third Edition (Hardcover)
From the first to the last page first, this book is very well written and full of examples which really make sense. From the beautiful math to the implementation examples: a masterpiece. If you are want to understand what is inside an 3D graphic engine (for gaming or not), this THE BOOK! Congratulations Eric Lengyel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Reference, October 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mathematics for 3D Game Programming and Computer Graphics, Third Edition (Hardcover)
I was disappointed that this book is more of a reference and not something that used exercises and examples to facilitate learning.

-2 stars for being a hammer when I needed a screwdriver? Perhaps. But then maybe I'm taking off 2 stars because the title and description do not make it clear that this is a reference.

However if you are looking for a reference, this is definitely the book for you! I own a few 3d game engine math books and have done an in depth comparison. This is a very complete reference.

I would also like to add that this book is EXTREMELY TOUGH. I was very impressed with the toughness of the binding, thickness of pages and quality of print. All in all this is probably one of the highest quality books I have owned, from a physical standpoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty neat!, June 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mathematics for 3D Game Programming and Computer Graphics, Third Edition (Hardcover)
I consider this book very complete and its organization is very nice!

It is very helpful and hardly you will get disappointed. Nice add to your personal library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mathematics for 3D Game Programming and Computer Graphics, Third Edition
$69.99 $39.46
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.