Matt Helm - Death of a Citizen and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy New
$7.19
Qty:1
  • List Price: $7.99
  • Save: $0.80 (10%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 11 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Matt Helm - Death of a Citizen Mass Market Paperback – February 12, 2013


See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
$7.19
$3.49 $3.06

Frequently Bought Together

Matt Helm - Death of a Citizen + Matt Helm - The Wrecking Crew + Matt Helm - The Removers (Matt Helm Novels)
Price for all three: $21.57

Buy the selected items together

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Hero Quick Promo
Browse in Books with Buzz and explore more details on the current pick, "Landline" by Rainbow Rowell.

Product Details

  • Series: Matt Helm
  • Mass Market Paperback: 240 pages
  • Publisher: Titan Books; Reprint edition (February 12, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0857683349
  • ISBN-13: 978-0857683342
  • Product Dimensions: 7 x 4.2 x 0.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 4.8 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (77 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #442,416 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Donald Hamilton is the creator of Matt Helm, star of 27 novels that have sold more than 20 million copies worldwide. He was born in Uppsala, Sweden, attended the University of Chicago, and served in the U.S. Naval Reserve. His writing career began in 1946 with short stories for Collier's and The Saturday Evening Post. His first novel was Date With Darkness, published in 1947, and altogether he published 38 novels. The first Matt Helm novel, Death of a Citizen, was originally published in 1960, at the height of the Cold War.

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
50
4 star
25
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 77 customer reviews

Popular Discussion Topics

beta: what do you think?
  • "Characters" 9
  • "Writing" 8
  • "Action" 4
  • "Suspense" 3
  • All Topics

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful By Billy P. Craig on February 14, 2013
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
I was as excited as a schoolboy last week when my packages came in the mail because I know what a literary treat awaited me in each of them. The first two Matt Helm novels, finally back in print after more than a decade, this top of the line set of thillers about counter-assassin Matt Helm as he is forced back into the shadow world he had worked in during the War. A chance meeting with an old collegue and a twenty year old recognition signal mean the death of upstanding citizena and writer Matt Helm and the re-emergence of the deadly agent code-named Eric! Helm finds himself caught up in a drama of murder and intrigue with only his wits to get him out unscathed! For fans of hard-boiled thrillers these books are a must!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
21 of 25 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on March 12, 2000
Format: Mass Market Paperback
This is the first of the Matt Helm novels. It gives a lot of background on Helm, and shows how he was forced out of retirement after 15 years to return to work for the nameless secret organization for whom he killed Nazis in WWII. Although this is in the espionage genre, the writing owes more to the hardboiled school of Dashiell Hammett. If you saw any of the sixties films with Dean Martin, you have no idea what the books are like. There is no spoofing here, and the prose is lean and crisp. This is the place to start if you want to begin a new series from the sixties, or just read one of the Helm books.
Many people believe that one of Ian Fleming's strengths was as a travel writer. Similarly, Hamilton is strong as an outdoors writer. Warning: Hamilton is as sexist as Fleming, but less racist and fascist.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Ujjwal Dey on July 5, 2008
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Matt Helm series

Mission One: Death of a Citizen

Donald Hamilton is celebrated mostly for his long running series on the adventures of secret agent Matt Helm. After reading so much about it I prayed it would be as good as it sounds.

Well it is. I bought the first 18 books in the series from EBay and they look good. I mean for such old out-of-print books, the binding was perfect and they were in best condition with only the pages getting yellowed with time. Of course pulp fiction was printed on pulp so I am very happy with this small collection I was able to grab online.

The first book is what I started my reading with and it is awesome. The agent is retired from the killing "line of business" and happily into a quaint family lifestyle with friends in a quiet township. He writes novels now on cowboys and Indians. He is happy or so he wants to believe. Then the past strolls in, in a pretty black party dress.

From the first chapter to the last 31st chapter, this book is a thrilling page-turner. You go through Matt Helm's emotions and decisions first hand with the book being written in first person perspective of this gritty, determined and skilled protagonist. The man doesn't want to be dragged out of his comfort. He laid the beast inside him to sleep and now some people are creating a racket that will wake him up. Matt's reactions are entirely believable and though the results of his reactions are shocking you will read on to know they were entirely logical. The story flows smoothly as Matt walks in or rather cruises in his Chevy truck towards deep end of the filth during peacetime.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Chester Lim on March 2, 2013
Format: Mass Market Paperback
It is about time that the Matt Helm series is being released again after so many years of being out of print. Now new fans can read and appreciate this fine series with one of the toughest heroes out there. Fans of Jack Reacher and Lee Child will like this series. Do not confuse these books with the campy Dean Martin movies from the sixties. I am a big James Bond fan, but I enjoy the Helm books even more. Donald Hamilton is an excellent, underrated writer.

This is the first book in the series and introduces Matt Helm. The book starts off slowly, but give it a chance and you will enjoy the tough, gritty action. Helm is ruthless, but very likeable. The books that follow are even better, since this book had to introduce you to Helm and his entry back into being a top government assassin for an agency that does not exist.

Hopefully, Hollywood will make a good Matt Helm movie that will follow the books more closely. I like Bradley Cooper, but he is not the right person to play Helm in the rumored movie. Helm should be played by an older actor, like Clint Eastwood in his forties.

Highly recommended!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful By Michael Morrow on August 20, 1999
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Death of a Citizen is the first of a 27 novel series about Matt Helm...and a threatened #28 The Dominators (hopefully he will finish it.) For a full list of the series (each book has its own report) and other books written by Donald Hamilton (Line of Fire is my fav). Drop by htp://members.aol.com/MacBorden/ "Matt Helm: The Unofficial Homepage"... In DOAC, Matt cain't escape from his past, so he does what he does best..tackle it head on! Mild Mannered photographer hasn't forgotten a bit of his skills that saw him through many missions behind enemy lines in WWII...just a little trouble figureing out who his friends are...
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Mike Mitchell on March 4, 2013
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
I'm overjoyed that Titan Books is reprinting this series! I lost my copies of the original books in a flood and can hardly wait to get these and re-read them! I can only envy folks that are reading the Matt Helm series for the first time! Helm is probably the most pragmatic "secret agent" in the genre. Much better than that English guy, in my opinion. Mostly because he isn't a secret agent at all. He's an assassin. He keeps getting tapped to perform intelligence work before he can make his kill, but that just keeps the stories interesting! His real mission is always to kill someone who needs killing. And he's very good at his job.

Death Of A Citizen is the first book in the series. After leaving government service after WW2, Helm tries to live a "normal" life. He is succeeding, until one of his old partners drags him back into the dark world of espionage. How this occurs is how a "citizen" dies, and an "assassin" is reborn!

Highly recommend this book, and all the others that follow! In between reading this series, try to get a copy of any of Donald Hamilton's other thrillers and westerns!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Search

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?