Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best american DVD game to date.
In this age, DVD game shows are being rapidly released with quantity in mind and little concern to quality. So at first seeing this game, I was a bit worried it would be another travesty like the growing list of the poorly designed and executed Imagination DVD "games". However, I was very pleasantly surprised at first play.

The folks at Mattel did a wonderful...
Published on August 13, 2007 by MFan

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Did you know?
Did you know that an odometer measures weight? How about that a leap year has 364 days?
The first flaw we noticed in the game was that you can ask the mob for help infinite times, instead of 3. When you click on a help, it will say you have 2 helps left, even if you have already used that same one 20 times in that round.
The main problem we noticed in this game...
Published on December 30, 2007 by Debra Mcdonald


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best american DVD game to date., August 13, 2007
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mattel 1 Vs. 100 DVD Board Game (Toy)
In this age, DVD game shows are being rapidly released with quantity in mind and little concern to quality. So at first seeing this game, I was a bit worried it would be another travesty like the growing list of the poorly designed and executed Imagination DVD "games". However, I was very pleasantly surprised at first play.

The folks at Mattel did a wonderful job! This is most likely the first DVD game in the US that is not only faithful to the game, but is fun, and for the first time, it's a DVD game with actual interactivity! Something that is not often seen in DVD "games" these days. Plus it's also one of the first DVD games I've seen with a rock solid one player option.

The questions in this game have never repeated in repeated plays. Also, the game is also so well designed, that it played on every DVD player I tried it on with no errors or flaws. This is another terrific plus.

Pick this up! It's quite possibly the best American DVD game to date!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Did you know?, December 30, 2007
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mattel 1 Vs. 100 DVD Board Game (Toy)
Did you know that an odometer measures weight? How about that a leap year has 364 days?
The first flaw we noticed in the game was that you can ask the mob for help infinite times, instead of 3. When you click on a help, it will say you have 2 helps left, even if you have already used that same one 20 times in that round.
The main problem we noticed in this game was the answers to the questions. We never got passed 3rd round of questions, because, the game's answers are simply put, wrong. Need examples?
Ever see the Dukes of Hazzard? For our answer to the question "Who played Daisy Duke?" we put Jessica Simpson. Apparently the answer is Beyonce.
"What is most likely to freshen your breath"? You would think altoids, but no, it's your thyroid.
There were many other wrongs answers, we just named a few.
Although the game has serious problems, it was a fun family game night. We shared more laughs than with any other game ever, but will probably not play the game again anytime soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Well-Developed DVD Game Adaptation, January 1, 2008
By 
tvtv3 "tvtv3" (St. Louis Metro East Area) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mattel 1 Vs. 100 DVD Board Game (Toy)
Over the past several years, DVD games of game shows have become quite popular. When they are well made they can be rather fun to play, but if they haven't been developed well then the fun and excitement of game play is stifled. Even though I really enjoy the show, "1 Vs. 100" has aired rather infrequently on television. Therefore, when I picked up the DVD game at a discounted price, I was concerned about how well the game would play. I did not need to be concerned.

The 1 VS. 100 DVD GAME plays fairly close to the actual game on television. Just like in the show, Bob Saget hosts. In the introduction he says that he will treat the viewer just like a contestant on the show and that's pretty much the case, bad quips, slow interludes, and all. A person can play the game and take on the DVD mob or other people can join in and participate as members of the mob (up to six other players can play). The only major difference between the DVD game and the actual game show is that Saget doesn't read off each of the questions or have any interaction with any of the mob members.

My family and I really enjoyed playing the 1 VS 100 DVD GAME. We played the game eight or nine different times over a series of a few days and none of the questions were repeated nor did the game give incorrect answers. Also, the questions are on the same difficulty level as they are on the show.

As much as we liked the game, however, there are a few minor annoyances. In the interludes between when the contestant selects the correct answer and the correct answer appears on the screen, the same comments are repeated by Saget. I will say that they have given him about five or six different comments instead of the usual two or three that other hosts of DVD games have, e.g. Howie Mandel on the DEAL OR NO DEAL DVD GAME. The other thing that is a little annoying is that game doesn't seem to allow anyone to get above the $6,000 range of questions before one eliminates the mob. For many people this won't be an issue--on the show contestants rarely got above the $7,000 mark either--but for people who would like to see a few more difficult questions, it is a minor annoyance.

Overall the 1 VS. 100 DVD GAME is a well developed DVD game, with only a few minor annoyances, that is fun to play both as an individual and with a group of people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1 vs. greatness, December 27, 2007
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mattel 1 Vs. 100 DVD Board Game (Toy)
1 vs.100 the DVD game is a REALLY fun little question and answer game starring none other than Bob Saget.

The idea of the game is to eliminate the 100 people in the audience so you (number one) remain the only person left standing. Along the way, you can answer questions correctly to make lots of money. The more people in the audience who get a question wrong, the more money you make. It's really a simple game. So for example, if you're playing for $2,000, every person in the audience who gets that question wrong will not only be eliminated, but also help you make $2,000. If five people get it wrong, that adds up to $10,000. Really simple.

This game features rather difficult questions right from the very beginning. The questions are about as hard as they are in real life on the show. They feature a variety of different subjects, ranging from the rock band the Beatles, to all sorts of American lakes, to Presidential questions, and even to current events.

I really like the way the game is presented when you start it up. Right away it looks like you're watching the REAL show because Bob Saget talks to you and treats you like a real contestant. There's also lots of funny lines from Bob that add to the experience.

Overall, totally worth owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!, August 12, 2008
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mattel 1 Vs. 100 DVD Board Game (Toy)
This is the best DVD game out there so far. Very much like the actual show, using the actual show set. Bob talks to you directly and there is a "real" fake mob and studio audience.
Game has been very fun to play. Have been playing quite often and so far have only had about 3 repeat questions (after at least 30 times of play).
The home mob addition is really fun to play along. One player takes the hot seat and up to six home mob members can play along with the cards. There are even options about whether you would like to poll/ask/trust the home or studio mob.
Bob's comments although repetive(and not funny) have not become annoying nor are they condemning to the home player.
All in all this is a very enjoyable, replayable game for the whole family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent duplication of the TV show, October 22, 2009
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mattel 1 Vs. 100 DVD Board Game (Toy)
I was very excited about this game so I got it when it was released. Bob Saget guides you through the questions, and you actually try to eliminate mob members. When I brought it to my friend's house, my friend's brother won a million dollars. I've since won it twice. The game allows for more than one to play with others being mob members and helping the one. The set used is the actual one seen on TV, and the mob and audience are all real people, not computer generated.

The game has repeated a couple of questions with me, and Bob's quips start repeating as well. But overall a well done reproduction of a game show I wish was still in production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1 vs 100... and your tolerance for Bob Saget, December 18, 2007
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mattel 1 Vs. 100 DVD Board Game (Toy)
This is one of the better DVD game show translations. It moves along fairly well. The production itself takes place on the set of the show. They even hired an audience and bad actors to pretend they were "the mob". The producers obviously went to some cost and effort to make this game worthwhile.

The questions are about on line with what you would see on TV. Although the "helps" leave a bit to be desired. Unless you're paying attention to Bob Saget when he introduces the "randomly selected players", you could completely waste a help.

The game play can be a bit slow and redundant at times. Especially if you have a low tolerance for the smug delivery of Bob Saget. I give him credit for trying to inject some personality to the game, but about the fourth or fifth time you here "you're doing great sir... sorry ma'am", you'll want to smack him.

This ahead of the "Deal or No Deal" DVD game. And far ahead of the painfully bad "Password" DVD game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strange, October 4, 2007
By 
N. Todor (Milwaukee, WI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mattel 1 Vs. 100 DVD Board Game (Toy)
This game is prone to the repeating that occurs with all DVD games. Also, this game has ZERO Sneak Peek. If the number of mob members left gets that low, it will just say everybody got it wrong. So, basically, the $7,000 level on up is unreachable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So much fun, July 22, 2007
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mattel 1 Vs. 100 DVD Board Game (Toy)
We just purchased this game, and enjoyed it so much. The game format is very similar to the tv game show. The usage of the game is easy and directions are very clear. The mob and audience are actual people. When you ask the mob questions, someone from the mob is shown at random and gives an answer. The questions cover a variety of topics, and increase in diffuculty as the game progresses. So far the questions have been random and not repetitive. I hope it continues to be this way. Great game, and sure to provide your family with lots of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars UGH ...., January 23, 2008
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mattel 1 Vs. 100 DVD Board Game (Toy)
Ok - so I hate Bon Saget and the way that he talks in a way that always seems to add an exclamation point. But, with this DVD he only has a few sayings - that are recycled and come up waaaay too frequently for my liking. If you play with two people, the process is just painful with him.
We love DVD games and have them all - but this one will probably gather dust in the closet as it is really annoying and not that fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mattel 1 Vs. 100 DVD Board Game
$29.95 $9.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.