Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


230 of 256 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An outsider's view
This book ended up mysteriously on the desk of a colleague of mine, an X-ray astronomer. Knowing that I was a Christian - though scarcely any of the reviewers here would agree with that assessment, since I have no doubt that Darwin was right, a criterion that seems to matter more these days than relying on the blood of Christ for salvation - he passed it along to me...
Published on February 11, 2005 by Royce E. Buehler

versus
64 of 113 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It doesn't let Moses speak for himself to his audience
Unfortunately, this book cannot be recommended as a serious resource for the conscientious seeker into what the Bible on its own terms has to say.
One sure way to tell if a writer acting as commentator on the original work of another is accurate:
What would the original author mean to intend by his plain, in context language to his original audience?
Dr...
Published on July 1, 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book -- Best on the Subject, October 17, 2004
By 
This review is from: A Matter of Days: Resolving a Creation Controversy (Paperback)
I see all the angry reviews but they are not warranted. The book doesn't compromise anything. It gives great scientific information AND great Bible information. Scientists will like this because it gives honest information about science. Bible students who understand interpretation will also like it. This is a book for honest people, not for the people who just want their way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A matter of truth, September 17, 2006
This review is from: A Matter of Days: Resolving a Creation Controversy (Paperback)
It has been noted that the Christian faith has suffered as much at the hands of certain of its adherents as those of its enemies. A strictly literal or concretist interpretation of scripture alienates many ordinary people and of course many scientists, who would otherwise be receptive to the gospel message.

This book addresses the question of the duration of the creation days of Genesis in the light of both scripture and science. Still dividing the Christian community, the matter revolves around the Hebrew word "Yom" in the creation account. Young Earth Creationists ascribe a concrete meaning of 24 hours to these days whilst Old Earth Creationists consider the word to mean a long period of time.

In a spirit of civility, the author weighs up the evidence from the Bible and from nature, that is, God's revelation and God's creation. Sympathetically considering the reasons why Young Earthers are so dogmatic about the duration of these creation days, Ross firmly believes that the controversy ought not to divide the community of believers.

From the earliest times, Jewish and Christian theologians like Philo, Josephus, Justin Martyr, Irenaeus, Augustine and Eusebius have held a tolerant attitude towards differing interpretations of the length of the creation days. It was only in the 17th century that two British scholars, John Lightfoot and James Ussher introduced the dogma of 24-hour days.

Chapter 7: Anchored In Scripture, looks at 21 major scriptural passages that address creation. The meaning of the Hebrew words Yom, Ereb and Boqer are analyzed here in their biblical and linguistic semantic contexts. It is clear as daylight to this reader that the word Yom may signify a long time period; it certainly does so in the Bible itself, for example the end-time Day Of The Lord.

Amongst other fascinating insights, Ross demonstrates how the Biblical account and the Big Bang theory are in complete harmony. He addresses the evidence offered against an old earth and refutes it point by point. Ross deals patiently and respectfully with even the nuttiest of theories for a young earth.

Other topics include the reliability of radiometric dating, scientific signs of old age and the significance of mankind. Occasionally the writing becomes highly scientific but it is still accessible to the general reader. The author also provides information on several Creation Day Church Councils that attempted to resolve the differences in a spirit of reconciliation.

There are three appendices: A - The Meaning Of Faith In The Bible; B - Creation Passages In The Bible; C - The Voice Of Nature. The book concludes with 36 pages of notes, an index, short biography of the author and information on his organization Reasons To Believe. Illustrative figures and tables enhance the text.

A Matter Of Days is a well-written, thoroughly researched work written in an engaging style and a spirit of civility. It proves, inter alia, that belief in an old earth does not equate to belief in evolution. With this book, Ross has made a valuable contribution to the accumulating proof that science and logic support the message of the Bible. I also recommend the book Who Was Adam? by Fazale Rana.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Controversy Needs To End..., June 14, 2004
By 
Travisimo (Quad Cities, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Matter of Days: Resolving a Creation Controversy (Paperback)
Dr. Ross: "Most believe that if they're wrong on the age of Earth, the basis for their Christian faith - the truth of the Bible - is invalidated. Thus, most young-earth creationist leaders remain convinced that the overwhelming scientific evidence for an ancient earth and universe must be false. They can give no ground. To accept the scientific signs of age, might, in their own words, start them 'down a slippery slope' toward apostasy."
Perhaps what the young-earth creationists don't realize, however, is that their obstinacy is a liabilty to the Christian message. It's quite clear - from exegetical study and historical interpretation - that the word "day" in Genesis could refer to 24-hour periods or long (but finite) periods of time. Both are "literal" interpretations, given that the Hebrew language has a much more limited vocabulary than English. Sometimes we just have to admit we are wrong about certain things, even specific interpreations of the Bible. Think of the many passages of the Bible that are difficult to translate properly. That doesn't mean, of course, that any interpreation is valid or that Biblical truth cannot be known. It does mean, however, that our interpretation may need to be adjusted if we are wrong. Also, it certainly isn't true that the young-earth interpretation has been the only one since the dawn of Christianity.
Perhaps one fear of admitting an old earth is is the parallel one might think it has to accepting macroevolution. In one respect, old earth people are saying that scientists are absolutely right about the age of the earth and universe, but then deny that they are right about macroevolution and common decent. There are quite a few differences, however: first of all, one definition of evolution is certainly not disputed - the fact of "change over time" in biological systems and variation and adaption are real. However, one segment of evolutionary theory - mainly that of "macroevolution" and "common decent" is certainly an extrapolation and does not have a proven mechanism. This area of evolution is certainly not universally accepted, nor is it comparable to the empircal observations that astronomers, physicists, geologists, etc have seen regarding the age of the earth and universe. Someone who challenges macroevolution may be standing on solid ground, but those who deny an old earth and universe clearly are not... they must reject nearly all of scientists observations in order to hold to their view.
Also, science (and scientists) cannot be our enemy. It is clear that the Bible and science are NOT mutually exclusive. If we interpret the Genesis account as long periods of time, then many scientific advances clearly support the Bibilical account and the evidence can be used to point unbelievers to God's creation and His Word. Certainly, some questions remain no matter which view you hold. We don't have absolute knowledge of God, the universe, or His Plan.
Dr. Ross outlines many Biblical passages that are clearly in agreement with the findings of science:
- Second Law of Thermodynamics (entropy
- The Big Bang
- Expansion of the universe
I think he offers the best advice when he says we should test both views and make predictions that will allow us to evaluate them over time. If the young-earth believers are right, then evidence should begin to overturn scientists estimates of the age of the universe. However, as we are seeing in recent times, age estimates are getting much more accurate and can be independant verified by many direct and indirect methods. Truly we must admit that holding on the young-earth position not only forces one to discard clear evidence and truth, but it also hinders the spread of the Gospel when unbelievers turn away from us.
Dr. Ross does repeat himself quite a bit in this book, which might be a minor complaint. He seems very anxious to end this controversy, and rightly so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must a Christian reject science?, February 23, 2006
This review is from: A Matter of Days: Resolving a Creation Controversy (Paperback)
This is a very hot topic! Peace to all Christians, and all people who enter the fray here. What we have here is one group of people, including the author Hugh Ross, who believe that science, properly applied, always reveals God, and who understand scripture as being consistent with what science tells us. We have another group who see irreconcilable contradiction between the "plain meaning" of scripture and the laws by which the universe currently operates, leading to the conclusion that God must have created the universe under a very different set of laws. As God is sovereign, either side could be correct, and I certainly don't see (and Ross does not see) any reason for saved Christians to come to blows over this issue. But I come down solidly on Ross's side in this controversy. The greatest strength of this book is his demonstration that the more science teaches us, the closer its lessons come to reveal the essential creation-related content of scripture as true: that the universe had a beginning, that order was made from chaos, and that the creation of man was of central importance. I also find compelling Ross's understanding of scripture as consistent with scientific discovery, and his illustration of some of the logical pitfalls of "young-earth" theories. So I believe he has done us all a great service in writing this excellent, well-reasoned and thorough book. Given the vehemence of many of his opponents - which he fully expected - my hat is off to him also for his boldness, and his Christian love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Scholarship, Insightful Approach, October 28, 2004
By 
This review is from: A Matter of Days: Resolving a Creation Controversy (Paperback)
In an arena so laden with emotion, it's nice to see a scientist come through with clear-headed facts and arguments that make sense. This is a book that presents all sides honestly and let's people make up their own minds. I read this book on the recommendation of a friend. I was impressed with how well it's written, how balanced the views are presented, and how in the end the author gives the reader ways of testing his ideas. Thanks, Dr. Ross, for being intellectually honest and providing insights I couldn't find in books by others. I really appreciate the honesty. That really means a lot to me. I wish the people who criticized this book actually READ it. It's obvious from their comments that they haven't read it. If they had, they wouldn't make so many false claims. I don't know why they are so angry. There's no need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Matter of Days, September 21, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Matter of Days: Resolving a Creation Controversy (Paperback)
The book does a good job of describing the different views held by Christians on the creation. It also presents a strong argument for how the Bible and science agree on the creation. Good science makes an amazingly strong case for the creator of the Bible. Other books by Hugh Ross, such as "Why the Universe Is the Way It Is" present the case even more strongly. Hugh Ross bridges the gap between science and the Bible for serious readers with an open mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 106 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Creation Defending Book Ever, April 19, 2005
This review is from: A Matter of Days: Resolving a Creation Controversy (Paperback)
Best Creation Defending Book Ever

True to science and also true to the Bible!

I am amazed how some of these negative women reviewers can be so illiterate, both biblically and scientifically. They should go and color Pooh coloring books instead. Honestly!

I am a born again believer in Christ, a pastor, a theologian (graduate school in theology) and also a scientist (graduate school in progress in astronomy). I fully agree with Dr. Ross. His science is sound, and his theology is correct. As to the negative reviewers of this book all I can say is: GO and STUDY before you criticize! Get some Bible interpretation (hermeneutics) courses and read some science. Some OT Hebrew language and NT Greek will also help. But before you do this, first discard your biases and religious paradigms. Be open to the facts. Pray as you do this!

The Bible NEVER says that the earth must be young and NEVER says that God created the earth in six literal, 24 hr days. Read again for yourself. A belief in 24-hr. six days creation period is not believing the Bible but, in fact, it is believing a one's faulty interpretation of the Bible.

I praise Dr. Ross not only for his scientific and Biblical accuracy but also for his Christian attitude, civility, kindness, truthfulness and meekness. I have read his books and articles for the past 15 years. I was always impressed how his scientific predictions came to be true and accurate.

Christianity needs more men and women like him. Yes.

More books please Dr. Ross.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Resource on the Creation Day Controversy, August 8, 2004
This review is from: A Matter of Days: Resolving a Creation Controversy (Paperback)
I had been eagerly awaiting the release of this book and am glad to have finally read it. It is a well written book and is a valuable resource for anyone interested in understanding the subject of creation. I greatly appreciate Hugh's humility in approaching this subject as well as his clear and methodical research. I encourage everyone to get and read this book!

I've been studying the Bible on the issue of Creaton for more than a decade. In all of those years, I have few resources that compare to the clarity and comprehensiveness of this work. I really appreciate Dr. Ross' emphasis on integrating all of scripture, rather than focusing exclusively on Genesis 1 and 2.

I also appreciate Dr. Ross' faithfulness to the Bible and his belief in the inerrancy of scripture. I'm saddened by the many attacks that have been made on him and his caracter. Contrary to many Dr. Ross' detractors, the intepretation of Genesis 1 presented here is faithful to the Hebrew text. If anyone doubts that, they should read "Reading Genesis One," by Rodney Whitefield (available on Amazon.com). This book goes through Genesis 1 verse by verse from the original Hebrew but with copious explantions for those unfamilar with Hebrew.

I do encourage everyone to read A Matter of Days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The bar has been raised, June 14, 2004
By 
This review is from: A Matter of Days: Resolving a Creation Controversy (Paperback)
In his new book, Dr. Ross has once again raised the proverbial bar. A Matter of Days is an excellent analysis of the issues surrounding the age of the earth controversy within the church without creating unnecessary division. Further, it defends the old-earth position without compromising with the Darwinian paradigm.
This book is a must read for both those who believe in an old-earth but are uncertain about harmonizing it with their faith as well as their young-earth brethren who desire to better understand alternate interpretations regarding the creation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest and Well-Documented, October 17, 2004
By 
M. Perez (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Matter of Days: Resolving a Creation Controversy (Paperback)
This book is well-written, easy to understand and follow, and carefully documents all of its claims. This book gives a clear, elegant, sophisticated, yet widely-accessible explanation of the nature of the debates among three groups: young-universe creationists, old-universe creationists, and secular old-universe evolutionists. It does so by giving the best arguments of all three views, then setting up a testable model by which to determine which one is true. The logic of Ross's program is excellent, the documentation represents the most reputable and current sources in each domain, and the tone is gracious and inviting.

For those who are really seeking the truth by a careful analysis of the problems and answers in the debates, this is the best book on the market. It is ideal for skeptics, believers, and those with open minds who are eager to get past all the screaming and emotionalism that too often characterizes the debates. Dr. Ross has done a marvelous job of opening the issues to an objective review that everyone from the high school student to the Ph.D. scientist or theologian can learn from and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Matter of Days: Resolving a Creation Controversy
A Matter of Days: Resolving a Creation Controversy by Hugh Ross (Paperback - June 1, 2004)
Used & New from: $7.60
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.