Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raves for Back Soon
I don't normally go for romantic movies but I was intrigued by the premise of this one.

Two straight males one of them recovering from the death of his wife meet and form a friendship when Logan the widower puts his house up for sale.

The first and only person to look at the house is Gill.

He thinks Logan is the real estate agent and asks...
Published on June 23, 2008 by Shawn David Sepulveda

versus
32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Like a gay episode of "Twilight Zone" ...
"Back Soon" (2007) read the note that Logan's (Windham Beacham) wife, Adrianne, left for him when she went out to run an errand. Unfortunately, she was involved in a fatal auto accident and never returned. It looked to the couple's friends that Logan would never recover from that shock, and they weren't surprised when he decided to sell the couple's dream house, since...
Published on June 8, 2008 by Bob Lind


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Like a gay episode of "Twilight Zone" ..., June 8, 2008
By 
Bob Lind "camelwest" (Phoenix, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Back Soon (DVD)
"Back Soon" (2007) read the note that Logan's (Windham Beacham) wife, Adrianne, left for him when she went out to run an errand. Unfortunately, she was involved in a fatal auto accident and never returned. It looked to the couple's friends that Logan would never recover from that shock, and they weren't surprised when he decided to sell the couple's dream house, since it held far too many memories.

The first morning the house is being shown, Gil (Matthew Montgomery) is the first potential buyer, and immediately feels a "connection," not just with the house but also with Logan. That connection develops into a close friendship in a very short time, and takes a step beyond that one night, when a sleepwalking Logan enters Gil's bed and these two "straight" young men have sex. This is a surprise to both of them, since they were never attracted to other men before, but it somehow felt right, as do the feelings they have for each other. In time, the possible cause of those feelings surfaces.

This isn't your typical gay romance, and only some minor characters identify as gay. While done on a tiny budget (and it shows), from a screenplay with more than its share of trite, cheesy lines, and featuring acting (with the exception of the two lead actors named, who made it almost believable) that would be laughed off a high school stage, the story is at least original in its approach to explore the dynamics of attraction and love, with a "Twilight Zone"-ish twist that is both thought-provoking as well as slightly cringe-inducing. Reviews are all over the scales on this, since it isn't everyone's cup of tea. Gay fans of fate and the supernatural may like it more. Good DVD extras include actor and director commentaries, cast interviews and a stills gallery. I give the effort three stars out of five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raves for Back Soon, June 23, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Back Soon (DVD)
I don't normally go for romantic movies but I was intrigued by the premise of this one.

Two straight males one of them recovering from the death of his wife meet and form a friendship when Logan the widower puts his house up for sale.

The first and only person to look at the house is Gill.

He thinks Logan is the real estate agent and asks him for a tour of the house.

After the tour Gill is compelled to buy the house.

It is only after the deal closes that he realizes Logan was the former owner.

The two men are drawn to each other and form a friendship that evolves into much more.

This seems to be aided by Logan's dead wife making ghostly visits to both men, she seems to know this was destined to happen and is encouraging it.

Both are confused by this since neither one of them is gay however they work through their confusion and decide to defy convention and admit their love for each other.

They are wise enough to realize that love is a rare and special gift and when it is offered you take the package with out worrying about how the package is wrapped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well produced, compelling story line, May 24, 2008
By 
Glenn Hargett (Jacksonville NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Back Soon (DVD)
While this film has predictable moments, the story is great. It is very well produced and save but for the section after the death of the wife, is compelling. It was interesting to see how others who were watching this with me thought there were other connections. The ending was not predicted however and leaves the viewer to ponder the possiblities. This movie gets a recommendation from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Triumph of Ambiguity, April 22, 2012
This review is from: Back Soon (DVD)
You just don't find ambiguity is most American films. Period. And, as we see from some other reviews, here and elsewhere, there are lots of folks who really don't like ambiguity. I can't say, of course, what Rob Williams was ultimately up to here, but, for my part, I found the whole development believable, touching, and, in one scene at least, profoundly moving. I've lived too long and seen too many a hitherto straight-identified guy suddenly in a love (or sexual) relationship with another straight dude or (more usually) a gay guy, so THAT didn't bother me. The whole ghost thing (and Maggie Eilertson is wonderful) is handled in a distinctly Jamesian way. Think TURN OF THE SCREW. Or the really unnerving THE INNOCENTS with the great and glorious Deborah Kerr from '61. Is it all real? Is what we're seeing some kind of psychological projection? Is Logan so drove up he's got to find a succubus to urge him on to Gil? As to the unlikely mixture of Gil's character and Logan's, while another reviewer said it's unbelievable, again, I disagree. Gil even addresses that issue.

Matthew Montgomery and Windham Beacham are both, in my opinion, fine actors. Of a distinctly modern sort, to be sure, but both possess the extraordinary gift of being able to span the gulf between the crazy world of making a film, and our seeing a product that captivates, charms, makes us laugh, or cry. And that ain't no shabby gift! I've seen both actors in rather more than a few other films. Montgomery, who I think is extraordinarily good looking, with a peculiarly testosterone-saturated charisma, I find very attractive indeed. He's also got one of the most mobile and expressive faces I've ever seen in recent years, able to convey some seriously subtle emotions and riffs going through his head. Beacham also plays his disparate reactions in such a way that both visibly and audibly you do feel fairly sure you know what's going through his head, too. What's fascinating is that both men are gay and out and proud, and the "straight" characters they create are, as I say, believable and strikingly different: Gil is clearly the more mature, experienced man to the gawky, somewhat spoiled, and bewildered Logan.

I feel more sorry than otherwise for Artie O'Daly, because while I really liked him in LONG TERM RELATIONSHIP, here he's got, well, let's just say an ungrateful part to play. You'll know what I'm talking about when and if you see the film. On the other hand, may God be thanked for having given us Kelly Keaton. One of these days, I'll just betcha, that kid's going to pull a Kathy Bates and surprise the hell out of everyone but me!

Finally, I like Rob Williams' films. I think he's a really fine director. However, I do rather think it wouldn't hurt if he got and shared a bit of credit with a more canny and crafty writer.

No spoilers. But the faults are none of them major, and I heartily recommend this quite original, indeed unique film. . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart Tugging Spin of a Romance, May 31, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Back Soon (DVD)
Whao, this movie was good. I didnt expect it to be, but I was really touched by this film. ((Spoiler Alert)) This woman dies and her spirit merges with that of another man who was in an accident with her. The man survives the accident but the woman does not. So the dude is going about minding his own business, when he sees a house for sale and he feels drawn to the house. He meets the owner of the house who is a man who had just lost his wife and he is immediately attracted to the man. To make a long story short the man's wife merged with the other guy and was just returning to her life. So the men form a sort of relationship and things are looking good, until the dude is in another accident and loses the wife's spirit. The men were sad that she was gone, as was the attraction between the two and they cried because for a moment they had both known a great love. Whew, this was a good movie, had me balling like a baby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Premise, July 23, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Back Soon (DVD)
It seems that nearly all of the independent, low-budget, gay-romance films I've seen have the same problems: technical limitations, some questionable scripting/acting and a general lack of polish. "Back Soon" is no exception... but like the others, it has a big ol' heart that keeps the film pumping and an integrity that I liked.

Unlike the others, however, it also relies on a bit of the supernatural for its main plot premise. The big question the film raises is this: Is true love also blind and never-ending?

"Back Soon" says it most certainly is. I won't give away too much of the story, but there is a big, obvious supernatural reason that straight boys Logan (Windham Beacham) and Gil (Matthew Montgomery) are brought together. And my favorite parts of the film are when they are examining this paradox. There's a sensitivity and rawness that struck me as original, fresh and surprisingly real. Montgomery's gruff, deep performance adds a lot to this dynamic; he carries the film.

The stumbling points of the film are all attributable to the relatively cheap budget and ridiculous supporting characters, from the nosy realtor, to the screaming-queen best pal, to the beyond-stereotyped gang-banga, to the ultra-perfect-but-dead wife, to the unbelievably (as in JUST. NOT. BELIEVABLE.) bigoted brother-in-law. Every time one of these two-dimensional losers graced the screen I couldn't wait for them to get back to the main characters.

At its core, "Back Soon" is a bit talky, and there are way too many moments of Logan staring off pensively into the distance. That said, I did love the goofy auditions-on-tape (Logan is an actor by trade) and "Trixie's Revenge", the incredibly bad movie-within-a-movie... it's a less than subtle reminder of how low a film like this could sink and doesn't.

Overall, the premise of this film saves it for me. I love the big questions it gently tackles enough to forgive it its shortcomings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not just another gay love story...., December 16, 2008
By 
LadyArmand (Brooklyn, New York USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Back Soon (DVD)
Does love end with death?

When we first meet Logan Foster, he is in a hospital anxiously waiting for a doctor to come out and tell him how his life is about to change. The next time we see him he is in his living room packing away all the things that made the house a home. He's selling it, he can no longer live in the house without his beloved wife "too many ghosts" as he explains.

It's been a year since his wife died; everyone is telling him it's time to move on, to get past it. But how do you get past losing the only person you have ever loved, or will ever love? How do you just one day say goodbye and let that be the end. On the first day of the open house Logan is mistaken for the real-estate agent by a potential buyer Guillermo "everybody just calls me Gill" Ramirez. Logan gives him a tour of the house and is compelled to sell him the house. Not because of anything other than a gut feeling he's following. He heart has over ruled his head.

That should be the end of it but something strange happens. Logan and Gill strike up an unlikely friendship. Even though these are two men from vastly different backgrounds; Logan is a struggling actor with a few bad indie movie credits and Gill as we come to find out is an ex-drug dealer. One night they become closer than they ever dared imagine possible. Especially since both men are straight.

No this isn't a film about repressed men figuring out who they really are and finding away to live with it and setting themselves and each other free. We've all seen that story before. As Gill tells his friend Jamie after first sleeping with Logan "this is something new." These are two straight men, who fall deeply in love with one another but who are not attracted to other men only each other.

As the film develops we find out how it can be that these two men can be in love with each other. We find out that love has no limits, not even death. And we find out the nature of loss, and what unconditional love can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anything is Possible, April 22, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Back Soon (DVD)
I have never seen a film with this subject matter before. It must be a first. The actors made this movie come to life. When two straight men meet under circumstances beyond their control and develop a sexual relationship stemming from the death of ones wife. The mystery is revealed. What and find out what happens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Guest House Boys Strike Again, August 28, 2008
By 
AJ McTide (Huntsville, AL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Back Soon (DVD)
A big fan of "Long-Term Relationship", "Back Soon" was a must see for me. Windham Beacham and Matthew Montgomery once again displayed that magic chemistry. And Rob Williams' writing is indeed versatile....combining gay, straight and the supernatural. If you're a sentimental romantic, your eyes will mist on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but a couple of wrong turns, August 4, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Back Soon (DVD)
I hesitated over seeing this film, even though I loved LONG-TERM RELATIONSHIP, by the same filmmaker and leads. The cover art is unattractive and the plot seemed without nuance, as you know already what's going on without having seen the film. In fact, the first scene of the movie gives it away.

Now, having seen the film and liked it enough to want it in my collection, I can say the cover art is still bad. And I would suggest the third lead, the female actor, should be the figure looming over the two lead males.

I like the leads, both good actors, and I'm sure their contrasting physical appeal will have the audience member favoring one or the other - Montgomery is very angular, sharp-featured, while Beacham is lush, and has a more timeless appeal. There are a few kisses, but nothing more overt in any male-to-male physical interaction on-screen.

The plot has to do with how two straight guys find themselves in love with each other, and how they deal with that. The conclusion to the film will be a surprise.

There are a couple of bad missteps from the filmmaker: for one, there was no mystery, hence no surprise, as to the motifications behind the brother-in-law's behavior, and it seemed the performance by the actor should have been reined in, as well. Some of the smaller roles are well-filled, but there are bad dialogue scenes. Overall, the screenplay needed some finetuning, mainly to eliminate so much of the stereotyping of both male and female. The screenplay, at times, is unintentionally laughable, and not in a good way, more in a "this is camp" way. When there is too much of that, fortunately the performances of the two leads - both separately and together - saves the day.

The worst bit, merely because it's so inappropriate, is when one character ends up brandishing a gun. I won't go into details, but for some reason the actor points the weapon like the short-lived Hollywood fantasy of gun-slinging that involved shooting sideways. It was short-lived, because it was laughed at by virtually anyone who's ever handled a gun. If you hold a gun the way the character did in this film, basically you could be three steps from a barn and still miss it. So that was a big unintentional eye-popping laughfest during an otherwise tense scene, so the diector blew the big one, so to speak.

The director has interesting ideas - his LTR was great in exploring an aspect of being in love I can't recall another filmmaker delving into - but doesn't do some of the basic practical work behind the scenes to ensure a great product before he starts pointing his camera and saying "Action." Hopefully he will have evolved by the time his third offering is set in motion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Back Soon
Back Soon by Rob Williams (DVD - 2007)
$19.99 $7.42
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.