Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Max Manus: Man of War (English Subtitled)
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 9, 2009
This movie is based on a true story about a hero who did not want the nazis to take his country Norway. I watched the movie with a person who helped Max Manus escape and who actualy lived this story. He thought this interpretation was very realistic. Even some of the characters looked like the ones he remembers. A fantastic movie about a WWII chapter we rarely hear about.
11 comment|64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2010
I'm a fan of WWII films and always in search of new ones from whatever origin. This is the first Norwegian film I ever watched and it is a real outstanding war film.
"Max Manus" (2008) is a big budget World War II movie making good use of every cent invested in producing it. Directed by Joachim Ronning and Espen Sandberg who had co-directed four films and in a fifth one they were director one and writer the other. In this film they show a steady hand in presenting and solving actions scenes as well as intimate ones.

The story is about Norwegian resistance to German invasion of their country. They start as a small band of youthful friends implementing tiny, yet dangerous, propaganda and sabotage acts.
Then things start to get "warmer" and Max is surprised by the police, he jumps thru a window and afterwards manages to escape from hospital.
The Resistance sends him to Scotland to a special training camp for saboteurs. Back in Norway he leads many daring coup-de-main until the end of the war.
In the way he loses his friends one by one to the hands of the Germans, this erodes his soul and still he never gives up!

Playacting is really very good with Aksel Hennie as Max Manus, Nicolai Cleve Broch as Gregers Gram, Ken Duken as the German Police Chief and Agnes Kittelsen as Tikken. They all perform over par fleshing convincingly their characters.

Photography and musical score are great and period reconstruction is outstanding.

It is a great movie for all those interested in war films and general public too!

Reviewed by Max Yofre.
0Comment|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2010
I saw "Max Manus" at the Minneapolis-St Paul International Film Festival in April. Actually, my cousin from Norway wrote this movie, so I have been looking for a version with English subtitles. The DVD is just like what we saw at the film festival. It's an excellent film that anyone would love...even people like me who don't like war movies. I love that the end is a documentary about writing and filming the whole thing. It was so popular at that film festival that they showed it two more time in two theaters each time . See it!
11 comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2011
If your like me, always searching for some little WWII movie 'gem' you might not have seen yet, you'll be very satisfied with this movie about amazing Norway resistence fighter Max Manus. Manus and a few of his friends volunteer to fight for Finland when they were invaded by Russia then watches his own country do nothing when the Germans invade Norway. He organizes his buddies into getting back at the Germans and the film documents multiple attacks and harrowing escapes he manages to survive all very well done. The story moves along swiftly with Max going to England to become part of a Norwegian company of commandos sent back behind enemy lines to harass the Germans. This is a rich & moving film as we see many of Max's comrades be captured, tortured or killed but he himself always manging to get away. Whatever Max was missing in himself in civilian life, he finds it during the war as he emerges as a tenacious, bold and fearless leader who defeats the Germans over & over. And whatever you do don't miss the special features documentary of the real Max Manus talking about his life and his friends lost to the War. The documentary also features his Wife who he married after the War and she describes Max the kind of Man who only comes along "once in a lifetime", very true.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2014
This movie is a Norwegian production, and it requires reading the subtitles in English. The product is very good, and the actors first class. The combat scenes, which are interspersed thru the movie, are violent and realistic in a way I rarely see, and capture much of the chaos and confusion of combat. While the Nazi's are brutal in this movie, they are not made into the focal point of the movie. Rather the story is about this man, Max Manus, who was extraordinarily brave, regular man who becomes a true patriot. I enjoyed it throughout, largely because the characters were so real and interesting. Their is that 'European' quality to the production which frequently is a bit more thought provoking than many US films.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2013
This is a fantastic account of the situation in Norway during WWII. Even though it is in Norwegian it is engaging and very well done. There are comments at the end by men who actually lived through it.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2010
Good movie. Especially interesting since all the events in the movie is based on real time events from the war. All the characters are real and that makes the movie more moving. Also Norway was one of the countries where the resistance was the fiercest.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2013
I know the American and European Allied version of WW II....Who knew about Max Manus? i was riveted by this movie and have watched it several times with different friends who also really enjoyed it.....Aksel Hennie is not someone America is familiar with, but IMHO he needs to be in some hollywood productions....his acting is outstanding...I've seen another of his productions, but this was my favorite one...Well worth your time
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2011
I have a small tie to the war in Norway as I had read the secret diary a distant relative who lived in Narvik kept during the German occupation. Her stories gave a perspective of war much different from what I get watching Hollywood movies or historic documentaries.

"Max Manus: Man of War" was also a bit like that meaning different from what I'm used to and I liked it for that and for me it is a well done made-for-entertainment movie. Not up to the hi-tech level of current Hollywood productions, but still a very good eye pleasing story.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2013
in the mid 60's i lived in oslo for a couple of years. max manus was known to me only as a business owner until my wife told me he was also a norwegian underground hero. found a book on him and the oslo gang later but somehow it disappeared and never got to read it in full.

when the movie came out gave me a chance to see the exploits of manus and the oslo gang and from what i can tell was pretty accurate. the movie doesn't sugar coat manus. he is a brave, troubled, driven guy who hates nazis in his country and is sworn to rid the country of them as many young norwegians were. aksel hennie plays him that way and you get the feeling that he is a pain to be around often and a semi mean drunk. he is constantly haunted by the actions and the comrades killed during the war. he was a classic ptsd victim to the end of his life.

the movie is interesting if you want to know about a theater of the war rarely covered. the action is so so in spots but i liked it and liked seeing parts of oslo i remebered from my youth. the cast is good and look like what the gang was, a bunch of idealistic teens and 20 somethings who had guts and hate of nazis. made in a typical scandinavian way. it is subtitled in english so not hard to follow. not for everyone but ww2 buffs may find it a new view of underground patriots not often seen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.