Customer Reviews


169 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (43)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Payne is back!
I've been a huge fan of the Payne series all the way back since '01, and now that Max Payne 3 is FINALLY out, newcomers to the series can experience a third person shooter like no other.
Here's my Verdict:

The Good:

Animations- The guys at Rockstar have done an incredible job making this game not just look amazing, but FEEL amazing. Every...
Published on June 1, 2012 by Mike Rua

versus
146 of 183 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More frustrating, less fun than its predecessors
When Remedy originally sold the Max Payne franchise to Rockstar, I was worried. The GTA franchise is a huge seller; let no one accuse Rockstar of not knowing how to make a popular game, but Max Payne had always been an extremely distinct, special experience, the kind of thing generally best left with the creators, I feared. The game is finally out, and my fears have...
Published on June 3, 2012 by AM


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

146 of 183 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More frustrating, less fun than its predecessors, June 3, 2012
By 
AM (Frederick, MD USA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Max Payne 3 - PC (DVD-ROM)
When Remedy originally sold the Max Payne franchise to Rockstar, I was worried. The GTA franchise is a huge seller; let no one accuse Rockstar of not knowing how to make a popular game, but Max Payne had always been an extremely distinct, special experience, the kind of thing generally best left with the creators, I feared. The game is finally out, and my fears have been realized. There's no question Rockstar made a real effort; Max Payne 3 is absolutely not a quick cash in--but it's also not Max Payne.

Gameplay: Max Payne 3's gameplay brings bullet time along from the older titles. It basically has to; Remedy invented the mechanic way back in Max Payne. It defines the series almost as much as the noir atmosphere. It still works, but I find that it's less useful defensively than it was in previous iterations. In Max Payne 2, I could turn on bullet time and clear a room, coming up smelling like roses. In MP3, I'm as likely as not to come up smelling like the blood leaking from multiple holes in Max's body. Whether this is because I die more quickly, or because I kill more slowly (enemies seem to survive body shots more readily in Max Payne 3 than before), I don't know, but the end result is that I almost always have to save my bullet time for shootdodging. It's not a gamebreaker, but it detracts from the experience.

The difficulty on the whole is drastically higher than previous Max Payne games, something I've seen noted in more professional reviews. Getting shot HURTS. As it should, certainly, but the damage accrues far faster than in the past, and painkillers are MUCH less common. A medicine chest on easy in Max Payne 2 could have 4 painkillers. I've never seen more than two next to each other in Max Payne 3, and never had more than three at a time available. In Max Payne 2, sometimes I actually got up to the cap, 8 bottles. Between taking damage faster, and having fewer opportunities for restoring health, the game becomes substantially more difficult than its predecessors. "Easy" isn't.

The direct result of this is that the player is often stuck watching the same cutscene multiple times, and putting up with death after death after death. (Who in the hell thought unskippable cutscenes were a good idea? You can't even quit the game while one plays!). I won't pretend to be a stellar player, but I don't usually have this kind of trouble in anything. Rockstar's apparent solution to the game being awfully hard is to respawn you with full health, and if you keep dying, throw you a painkiller or two to ease you through. This does help, but to get these nudges, you have to put up with quite a lot of dying.

Cover has been added to Max Payne 3, in the Gears of War sense. Press a button, get into cover. Aim, shoot, kill from cover. This is the first situation in which I feel Rockstar misunderstood what a Max Payne game is. You could call this modernization, but for me, the Max Payne games were fun specifically because I could run, dive, shoot, slow time, and generally kill everything in sight, without hiding behind a wall and picking off enemies from relative safety. Cover is realistic, but the Max Payne series was never ABOUT realism; it was a heavily stylized cross between film noir and John Woo.

The last gameplay gripe I have is simply that your weapon carrying in Max Payne is extremely limited. You can carry one or two pistol sized weapons, and one large weapon. Dual wielding pistols means you drop the larger gun, as it had been carried in your off hand. Again, realism where it's not needed. Having a small arsenal at your disposal in the previous games of the series is a dated style, but it's fun.

Graphics: I honestly have not got a single complaint about the game's graphics. Max Payne 3 is stunningly gorgeous; Rockstar's artists, animators, and engine programmers absolutely hit the ball out of the park. It's possible to grind the game to a very low framerate, even on a high end machine, if you turn on both MSAA and FXAA, but both aren't really necessary. Dropping one or the other can help a lot. Light works like it should, people look like they should and move believably, skin is well modeled. If there's anything about which one could complain it's that during cutscenes, the game can approach the "uncanny valley," where something looks so realistic it's offputting, because it's slightly inhuman.

Atmosphere and presentation: This is where Max Payne 3 really falls flat. Max Payne has always been characterized by really heavy "film noir" elements. These are completely absent from Max Payne 3. You do get Max's occasional self-pity, and drug/alcohol problem, but as portrayed here, they feel more like something on a modern crime drama than something out of an old detective story somehow set in the modern day. Previous games carried the deliberately cheesy, over-the-top element of film noir perfectly. Max Payne 3 makes the occasional allusion to it, but it's just not there. You get a tiny, tiny glimpse of it in a flashback about 1/3 through the game, but it doesn't last.

I think the problem here is two fold: First, the setting change is ill-suited to noir. Sunny Sao Paulo, Brazil is full of flashy nightclubs, bikini clad women (boobs in a Rockstar game? WHO'DA THUNK IT?), and a culture so far removed from traditional noir that it just doesn't work. Boobs for the sake of titillation and change for the sake of change just don't really work very well. That the game is PACKED with untranslated Portuguese doesn't help either. I'm all in favor of native language use, but there's so very much dialogue that's lost on most players that opportunities for good writing are missed by players who can't understand the language. Subtitles are just captions in Portuguese.

Second, Rockstar's writers just weren't up to the task. Max Payne and Max Payne 2 were deliberately kitschy, as noir generally is, but Max Payne 3 tends to fall back on crude rather than clever. During the opening cutscene, the player hears a line similar to, "I wouldn't know good from bad if good were feeding the poor and bad was bangin' my sister." Remedy didn't feel the need to resort to bawdiness to make the over-the-top metaphors common to the noir style. There's a time and a place for everything, but when continuing one of the best, if not the best, third person shooting franchises in history, a little more respect for origins is called for. If you can't maintain the style, hire someone who can.

Presentation is a real sticking point. Max Payne 1 and 2 did have cutscenes here and there, but much of the game's narrative was carried out in highly atmospheric visual novel pages on screen, with appropriate narration. It's hard to overstate just what staying in this heavily atmospheric style added to the game. If nothing else, they provided the series with a strong sense of identity. That identity was lost with Max Payne 3's presentation. Cutscenes are how ALL plot exposition is handled, and those cutscenes are absolutely packed with some of the most obnoxious camera filters I've ever seen. For no apparent reason, in a scene where Max is completely sober (and even if he weren't, the scene is third person and not from his perspective anyway), colors are randomly separated into red/blue/yellow, looking almost like a shoddy kids' 3D glasses effect. In other places, color is strongly desaturated, or the view is de-interlaced (think scanlines, like a really old arcade game). Words that Rockstar felt were important get plastered on the screen for an instant, but this provides no real impact--like the other effects, it's jarring, and detracts from cutscenes, rather than creating atmosphere.

Overall: The package, taken as a whole, is a relatively playable game, with real bright spots here and there. Unfortunately, those bright spots serve more to show the player what could've been than to truly improve the game. Rockstar took one of PC gaming's most respected modern franchises, and I honestly believe they tried their best with it. Unfortunately, their best seems to have required a "go with what you know" approach that makes Max Payne 3 feel more like a linear, third person shooter Brazilian GTA side story than a true Max Payne sequel. Max Payne purists, those who loved the game for the narrative and portrayal, and Max Payne as a character, should probably keep your distance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing moments of gameplay buried under mountains of cut scenes, June 15, 2012
By 
A. Whitehead "Werthead" (Colchester, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Max Payne 3 - PC (DVD-ROM)
Max Payne 3 sees the return of the titular hero after a break of nine years. Remedy Entertainment, who made the first two games in the series, have moved on with their Alan Wake series of games, leaving Rockstar (best-known for the Grand Theft Auto series) to carry on their work. Whilst fans of the earlier games were dubious of this move, it was actually reasonably logical. Rockstar games often feature damaged protagonists trying to live better lives but being drawn back into a life of violence by circumstances, which is a perfect fit for Payne.

The game acts as a reboot of the series. References to the events of the first two games are minimal and, aside from a couple of flashback missions set in New York, the game is set in a different city in a different country with a very different culture (not to mention a different and un-translated language). The only constants are Max himself and, of course, his ability to slow down time to engage in combat.

Max Payne 3 is overwhelmingly impressive from a production values standpoint. The graphics are fantastic, with the game employing a vivid visual style. Keywords from conversations flash onto the screen and sometimes the action dissolves into line breaks and the colour desaturates, almost like you're watching the action on an old 1980s TV that is about to expire. The game's colour palette tends towards the bright and colourful, but there is a dark hue to everything. Sections set in crumbling warehouses or an abandoned hotel contrast the light and dark elements of the game's style. Animation is astonishing, with Max storing his weapons on his person and moving them around naturally to swap guns or take painkillers. The game feels like it's had a million dollars spent on every single minute of it (in sharp contrast to the low-budget feel of the first game, with its amateur cut scene actors).

The game's centerpiece is action and gunfights, and the title impresses in these areas. Combat is hard, fast and furious, with effective use of bullet time necessary to proceed. The game also employs a cover system, one of the more tiresome elements of modern action gaming, but the use of bullet time and headshots makes it mostly an optional feature with only a few moments where its use is necessary to proceed. More satisfyingly, the ludicrous modern gaming concept of 'regenerating health' has been thrown out of the window and replaced by Max's more familiar use of painkillers, adding a great deal of tension to the action sequences and requiring the player to plan attacks more intelligently than just charging in, knowing you can hide behind a box to get your health back. Unfortunately, bullet time has been gimped since the second game. There's only one level of bullet time (you don't get additional slowdowns when you shoot more people) and, ridiculously, it doesn't regenerate when you make kills. Given it is fairly slow to regenerate, a fair amount of combat has to take place without the use of the game's central mechanic and main selling-point, which seems strange.

The writing is okay, though Dan Houser's script is notably less funny, knowing or introspective than Sam Lake's work on the first two games. But it's reasonable and House deserves some props for moving Max on in his life, continuing his character arc and trajectory from the first two games. The other characters in the game are somewhat less successful, with no memorable equivalent to say Vladimir Lem or Mona Sax, but they do their job well enough. The change of setting is far more successful, with São Paulo (or, rather, the criminal underworld that is the main setting) presented as a dark, threatening city which is a perfect match for the semi-noir stylings of the series. This is backed up by the soundtrack (by American band Health), which is excellent.

So the game is well-made, with amazing production values, a decent story, some good characterisation and great action (if not quite as well-executed as the first two games). But there is a major problem. You see, the game doesn't actually like you playing it very much. For every minute you spend actually playing the game, it demands that you spend at least another watching it play itself, through intrusive use of lengthy, unskippable (as they hide loading sequences) and non-interactive cut scenes. Cut scenes are not just present at the start and end of each level with maybe a few reserved for major moments mid-level (the sort of structure the first two games employed), but they take place near-continuously. Frequently, opening a door will trigger a cut scene showing Max going through the door and taking cover before letting you resume control. This even happens if you've already flown through the door in shootdodge mode, resulting in frustrating (and continuity-breaking) moments where you could have wiped out a dozen bad guys in five seconds in bullet time but the game demands that you hide behind a counter instead and fire from cover. Cut scenes often kick in after you've dispatched the last bad guy in an area, taking you to a new area with no opportunity to loot the enemies for ammo (which is in fairly short supply throughout most of the game). There are also too many moments when the game has Max doing some really cool things (like diving between moving trains or jumping from an exploding rooftop onto a helicopter) when you don't have control.

Max Payne 3 is, of course, a linear action game and railroading is to be expected. Certainly the first two games had a lot of cut scenes and moments where player choice was taken away, but generally it was in areas where it made sense. They were also infrequent compared to the amount of time the player had control. Max Payne 3 actually seems to resent you doing anything other than what it wants you to, and punishes you if you try. During a shoot-out near a plane taking off, any attempt to jump onto the plane will result in a cut scene where a bad guy kills Max with a grenade, with Max standing there and unable to do anything. During a battle on a river dock, falling in the water will result in Max's instantaneous death, despite him being able to swim in a cut scene a minute later. Despite Max's ability to slow down time in gameplay, in a cut scene he runs into a room where a friend is being held hostage and is powerless to stop them being executed, despite the fact that if you had control you could wipe out everyone there in moments. The game also employs a checkpoint system rather than allowing quicksaves, resulting in the player sometimes having to repeat 10-15-minute long sequences if they are killed, which is simply unacceptable.

When it actually lets you play it, Max Payne 3 (***) features some intense and engrossing action sequences. However, the game makes the classic mistake of placing itself and its story (which is decent but nothing special) ahead of the enjoyment of the player. As a visual experience, Max Payne 3 is impressive and intermittently even brilliant, but as a game it's a frustrating let-down compared to the first two titles in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A pretty good game, but loses some the series' appeal., September 12, 2012
By 
Philip Norsworthy (Topeka, Ks United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Max Payne 3 - PC (DVD-ROM)
I'll be honest. I'm not that great at shooter games, particularly those that require tactics more complex than "shoot them before they shoot you", so I can't really tell you how well each of the new mechanics work, but I'll do my best.

It many ways, Max Payne 3 stands above it's predecessors. The environments are diverse, and downright gorgeous. I was amazed by how many things in the environment individually shatter when hit by bullets. There are also several special situations where you automatically enter bullet time from a unique position and have to try to take as many enemies down as possible before Max lands. He's also much more over the top than he used to be, and some of the stunts he pulls are incredible.

But despite how much more impressive the game is, I can't help but feel it's a bit too different from the preceeding games, and no longer has the same appeal.

I was fine with the addition of cover, but I was hoping that it would supplement the main game play, not replace it. It's true, in the first games you still had to be a darn good shot, and walking into a group of enemies would get you killed, but it was still a run-and-gun style, and I think the focus on cover slows down the gameplay. Speaking of, Max's movements don't feel as fluid as they did in the second game (which in my opinion, controlled like an absolute dream.)

It's common in games nowadays, and it's purly preference, but I didn't like the limited inventory system. I don't think it fits the Max Payne style of play, and it can be frustrating when you feel like you don't have much margin of error when it comes to using your ammo. Sometimes I wonder if there'll ever be a game that gives you the choice to have a limited or unlimited inventory. That way people can play the game the way they'd like, and everyone's happy. As others have pointed out, sometimes the game will arbitraily put a different weapon in your after a cut scene, and other times make you drop your bigger weapons for no good reason. You pick your items from a wheel, but if you stay on a certain option too long, it'll choose automatically, and might make you drop a weapon you were planning on using.

Other miscellanious thoughts. The game can feel a little more tedious than the first two games did, although I'm not sure if that's a problem with the gameplay, or if perhaps there are a tad too many enemies in some sections. Part of my own problem is that I prefer to use the directional keys for movement, but most of the actions are assigned to letters. I switched some things around, but I never quite found a layout that felt natural to me. Not the game's fault, but I think they could've assigned certain actions to the same button to make things feel a little more tidy, like maybe putting the 'examine' command and 'pick up gun' command on the same button. A new feature is that if you shoot enemies in a certain place, they'll drop to the ground, but not necessarily die. Unfortunately, this makes it hard to know when an enemy is truly dead.

They've also taken out the grenades for single player, which seems very unfair for a game with so much emphasis on using cover, especially since the enemies get grenades. One of the most backward changes is taking out quick saves. In a game that requires as much trial-and-error, it's a lot more convenient to be able to save when you want. I know Rockstar doesn't usually allow players to save wherever, but this just seems like one of those decisions that you can only imagine as "This feature works great. Let's take it out!" Finally, I miss having a manual melee button, although that's not so much that it makes the gameplay better, than that it means I can't smash the environment at my leisure. The game has such a gorgeous setting, and I just want to break it! Break it all!

Onto the story. It's not just the story itself I have a few issues with, but the presentation too. The overall story is just fine. I didn't really feel it was exceptional in most ways, and it rarely suprised me, but for the most part there's nothing major I have a problem with. The main exceptions revolve around Max himself.

It's no surprise, but Max is worse than ever. He's more cynical, his addictions have spiraled out of control, and it seems like there's nothing in life that he enjoys. Unfortunately, I think they made Max, and the story, just a bit too gritty. Sometimes it's hard to care about what's going on. Max seems to have completely given up any chance of redemption, or of bettering himself. Max was in bad straits in the first two games, but you still felt like he had a purpose. In this game you just feel like he's waiting for someone to kill him. He seems vaguely happy at the end of the game, but before that he had nothing good to say about himself, so I'm not really sure how Max feels about everything that happened.

SOME SPOILERS. While people who cross Max's path often die, it didn't always happen. Max has become a security guard for a rich family in Brazil, who end up getting involved in some pretty bad stuff. One by one they die. The first part of the game is just failure after failure, and while you don't expect things to go right for Max, I ended up feeling like I was just wasting my time when the level I just spent half an hour playing ends with nothing to show for it. Things turn around a little, but that's coincides with Max making increasingly stupid decisions towards the end. Another problem is that there's less humor in this game then the others, and without moments of levity things feel dark without being fun at the same time.

Presentation. I'm one of those who dislikes how things often blur out and how key words appear on the screen. I'm sure it was supposed to make you feel like a washed-out addict like Max, but I think it was annoying. I got used to their absence, but the comic book cutscenes are completely gone, taking away a significant part of the series' charm. This is made worse by a lot of the cutscenes being overly long. And because they're used to disguise loading times, you can't skip them until they're already almost over. Another minorly annoying addition is the fact that if you tarry too long, Max will chime in with a comment on how he needs to get moving. It's sometimes interesting to hear what Max has to say, but there are several collectables in the game, and so it feels instrusive when you're trying to find things that are supposed to be found. There are also a couple of timed missions where you DO have to hurry, but you won't know which are which until you lose.

I think it was a mistake to have so much of the game's dialogue in Portuguese. I felt disconnected from everything that wasn't Max, and because I can't understand them, the enemies aren't as memorable as they were in the original games. Obviously it makes sense, and it does add to the atmosphere of the game, but that comes at a price.

I apologize for taking so long and rambling so much, but I had a lot of thoughts on the game and wanted to put them down somewhere. You may have noticed that I reviewed this not as a gamer, but as a Max Payne fan. I knew there would be changes. It's been a long time since the second game, and Rockstar has their own way of doing things. I'm not against change itself. I'd recommend trying the game, and despite all the differences it still feels like a Max Payne game. But I still feel like they didn't observe the "If it's not broke, don't fix it" rule.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars frustrating, not fun, August 3, 2012
I bought this game out of nostalgia (good memories from max 1 and 2) but while the visuals in the new game are stunning Rockstar Games have bundled the game with "social network" meaning ANOTHER DRM that you have to install in order to play. And this is where the fun starts to disappear. First my login was not remembered and I had to enter it every time I tried to play the the game . I said tried as many times the login did not work (although my password was correct). Second, none of the DLC codes I got from Steam worked! I entered them many times to no effect. Finally, as mentioned by others you can not save when you want (the game has check points like a console port that it may well be) that brings even more frustration as you have to watch unsinkable trailers over and over again. If I wanted a console I would have bought a console. I have no time, sorry for this crap anymore.

If this is the future of gaming (DRM on top of DRM - Steeam already has its own DRM) thank you but no thank you there are better ways to waste my money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A huge disappointment, June 25, 2012
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Max Payne 3 - PC (DVD-ROM)
The graphics are amazing! Unfortunately, the game itself is a huge disappointment. The first Max Payne was great, and the second was amazing. I've gone back and played them both again and again, but since I finally finished this one, I doubt I'll ever touch it again.

My biggest complaint is that you can no longer save your game. You have to get to a "checkpoint." Having to repeat the same parts countless times gets frustrating pretty quickly, and takes all the fun out of it. Apparently these software companies think that gamers everywhere are saying, "You know what I really hate? Being able to save my game whenever I want to!" Granted, it's not nearly as bad as Far Cry, where I was stuck at the same checkpoint for two weeks, but it's quite frustrating.

The controls are a royal pain. I got used to them after awhile, but that doesn't mean I liked it, especially not being able to jump. And for some reason, Max can only carry a couple guns at a time now.

I loved the cutscenes in Max Payne 1 & 2, and thought there should have been more of them. But this one has way too many. And it's not always obvious when the cutscene ends and you're back in the action. I got killed this way quite a few times. And as several other people mention, after some cutscenes, it insists on switching you to that stupid pistol, regardless of which weapon you were using before the cutscene.

Before you can even play a single player game, you have to sign up for an online account. You read that right. An online account. For a single player game. What is the point of this?

There is a particularly annoying bug in this game, where sometimes it will pause itself for no reason. Last I heard, the company had no plans to fix this, because they "can't recreate the problem."

The storylines in the first two games were interesting, full of plot twists, and memorable characters. I kept playing because I couldn't wait to see what happened next. This one, it got to the point where the only reason I kept playing was to be done with it. The characters are so uninteresting that I kept forgetting who was who as the story progressed. I even lost interest in the story itself after awhile. Max being in South America just seems wrong. The flashback scenes from before he left the USA were a little better, but it still wasn't the same. And it never really explained how Max got to where he "wasn't a cop anymore." At the beginning of the second game, it went into a decent amount of detail about the events the happened between the first and second game, but there was none of that in this one. None of the characters from the first two games were in this one, other than a couple of passing references. I know, most of the characters had been killed off, but there were a few that survived, and a few that sounded like they may have survived.

After the second game, I was hoping for a third one. Sadly, it turned out to be a huge disappointment, and I'm sorry I wasted $60 on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars How to ruin a great game, August 17, 2012
By 
Bill C. (Eastern Virginia) - See all my reviews
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Max Payne 3 - PC (DVD-ROM)
I've been playing PC games since around 1991, well before Windows came out. The first Max Payne was a world changer, and MP2 was even better. With these games, I don't use multiplayer at all, so I can't comment on that part of it.
But for the Single Player, for me the game is ruined. First off, I don't like games that have no Player Saves. This one has way too many and too long graphics movie segment. In some places, all the movement from one scenario to the other is a cinematic set piece, so there is little problem solving necessary, which is part of the fun of these games for me. The player is then thrust into a shootout, without any familiarity with the locale.
If you like only the shooting part of FPS games, you'll likely like this game. If you like a complete game experience, including solving the problems of landscape and strategy, they've removed most of that from the game. It's a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Payne is back!, June 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've been a huge fan of the Payne series all the way back since '01, and now that Max Payne 3 is FINALLY out, newcomers to the series can experience a third person shooter like no other.
Here's my Verdict:

The Good:

Animations- The guys at Rockstar have done an incredible job making this game not just look amazing, but FEEL amazing. Every animation in this game is fluid and realistic, say for example if you shoot dodge towards a wall, you don't have half your body clip through the wall and stop then you magically get up and keep going, no, you instead hit the wall(hard) and Max slowly gets up in pain leaving himself open to getting shot. This is a prime example of how incredible this technology is. The AI in this game put other games to shame, at first you are shooting at low skill thugs but later on you take on paramilitary soldiers who know how to flank you and keep you pinned down, this adds to the excitement to every gunfight you are in.

New school with some old thrown in- Sure you got you're modern cover system and fancy graphics, but MP3 has what we all loved about the first 2, the health system, bullet-time, and incorporated it with the new and it makes this game feel like a classic but without looking dated.

No loading screens- Yes its true, NO loading screens, Rockstar creatively put in cut scenes so that you seamlessly go from cinematic to gameplay without a studder or 5 minute load screen. But i have to say, its very story heavy, so guys who want to just cut to the action are gonna have to sit and wait until the scenes are done.

Graphics- Now since i have a passable rig to play this, i couldn't set every setting to the max, but that didn't stop the game from looking incredible. From 'Noir' York City to Sao Paulo this game shines in this department.

Bang for your buck- Lets see, an over 15 hour story mode(varies with difficulty), with collectables, unlockable Arcade modes, and Multiplayer that brings infinite replayability, with future map packs coming along the way, makes this game worth the moolah.

The MEH/BAD:

No time to look around for gold guns while the bosses wife is being held at gun point- Most of the scenes in this game involve someone being held captive or a gang is shooting up the place which is why its strange that Rockstar added Clues and Golden Gun parts, there's hardly any calm areas that you could explore and find things, that being said its still fun to find the Golden Gun pieces even though your buddy is trying to get you to help him kill guys in the next room.

Overall, Max Payne 3 hits the target, in slow motion while diving of course, this should be enjoyed by everyone and not just fans of the series. I hope to see you in Multiplayer!

EDIT: To all the negative votes, Make sure you have at least 50gb of hard drive space for the download and for the install. Also CRC errors are caused by either lack of space or corrupt files due to connection problems or cut outs during the download. If the game itself has problems, make sure your rig can run it and make sure your drivers are updated. I had absolutely no problems downloading, installing, authenticating or playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Comes up short, June 5, 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Max Payne 3 - PC (DVD-ROM)
There is not much more I can say about Max Payne 3 that has not already been said in previous reviews (too many cut scenes, not being able to skip them etc).

Max Payne 1 was hands-down the best of the series, and this game just cannot compare. Where are the colorful mini bosses and set piece battles cleverly woven into the story like part 1? Remember "I HAVE FEASTED ON THE FLESH OF ANGELS!"? In part 1, many of the set piece battles and bosses really required a planned strategic approach. This is in contrast to the turkey shoot of part 3 where you just need to hang behind cover and use bullet time over and over and over and over again.

The selection of weapons is much less exciting than in previous versions (no M4, NO GRENADES!!! WTF?). All weapons within a given class feel pretty much the same (AK 47 doesn't seem much different from FAL, or G6 etc).

It is also pretty lame that when you do get a cool weapon, you usually only get to use it for about 30 seconds before you are hit with a cut scene and end up losing it. Also, the laser dot weapons in later chapters just plain suck. Why would a weapon with a laser be less accurate than its non-laser counterpart? Dumb.

Also the story is rather incoherent and just plain uninteresting. Max Payne 1 had an amazing story chock full of interesting personalities. I played through Max Payne 1 several times on all difficulties and had a blast. I will not be replaying this one. I really found myself getting bored by the later chapters, which never happened on any of my several play-throughs of Max Payne 1

Overall, Max Payne 3's plot makes no sense whatsoever. I am becoming more and more disappointed with newer games (ie Diablo 3), they tend to be all flash and no substance. The last truly GREAT game was Dragon Age Origins....they just don't make 'em like they used too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating and unworthy, August 20, 2012
By 
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Max Payne 3 - PC (DVD-ROM)
It unfortunately seems that this is the end for our friend Max Payne. Remedy knew that it was primarily an action game; you are Chuck Norris or Bruce Willis fighting hordes of bad guys. It gets tricky, but never downright crazy. This game does. I picked Medium, figuring that'd be challenging enough but still fun. Not the case. There are so many incredibly frustrating details that squander it. When you shootdodge, you tumble into walls, railings, the smallest obstacles, negating the whole purpose of the mechanic. The levels are designed to be either too small and cramped or too wide to make any good use of it. You are constantly surrounded. Always. And the bad guys didn't go to Stormtrooper Academy for weapons training, they will hit you time and time again. Painkillers are sparse, ammo is even sparser. You will run out of ammo over and over. There's a new "Last man standing" mechanic that makes you drop in slow-mo as you're very low on health, giving you the opportunity to take care of your enemy before he does you in, but when you have no ammo all you can do is sit and watch as you very slowly fall and die. The story is not a noir-thriller, it's more of a direct-to-DVD flick about Max babysitting some spoiled rich kids in Brazil. That means that roughly 70% of the dialogue is in Portugese, subtitles as well. It's also packed with flimmering video effects, which I have no idea what point they serve other than giving you a headache.

There are a few good things about the game though, but overall they are not enough to save the experience. James McCaffrey returns to voice Max (luckily), and he's still a gruff, cynical, tough, mean spirited man. That much is true to heart. The environments, technically, are fairly well made and there are certainly a lot of different vistas for you to see, not just hallway after hallway. And finally, the graphics are quite decent. The characters lack the human touch, but they've got grit and texture to them, and the action part is very well choreographed and the motions are smooth and fluid. The enemies always feel like they're actually running and dodging, and when they come running or fall over, it's always in a convincing and glitch-free way. On the whole, that means that this game is probably more fun to look at than to actually play. Pick up the first two instead, not only was the action sharper, but the plots were actually well told and very well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Loaded with incredible frustration. Consolitis. No saves, no mods..., March 7, 2013
By 
EP Thorn (Colorado, USA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Max Payne 3 - PC (DVD-ROM)
Max Payne 3 tries to keep some of the feeling of the first two iterations while changing the style somewhat (e.g. doesn't have the graphic novel cuts, but achieves a similar effect). The graphics are quite good without demanding too much hardware and the audio lives up to the series. It is fairly gory, which makes sense in the game environment. The main problems are with control and interface, and a disappointing about-face from the second game.

This is, unfortunately, a console port, though not a terrible one. It's a real shame though, since the series is traditionally with PCs. Issues include the inability to save, the game having opted instead for a checkpoint system which, while perhaps necessary on the console, is awful and deserves none of the apologetic hand-waving that it gets from some. MP3 and other games could take a cue from Valve: checkpoints are good, but only as part of a system that includes a manual form of save. I can't count the times I had to replay an entire chapter because the stupid system 'saved' for me in the worst possible spot, and you can only start the chapter over when that happens. Irritating to no end. Additionally, I have a pet peeve: no game should stop you from quitting at any time, period. MP3 often does just that, during its many many cutscenes, which you can't skip. The game claims these are entirely for loading- it lies. Unfortunately Rockstar also put together MP3 in such a way as to prevent any real modding. For PC gamers who saw what the mod community did with MP1 and MP2, this is a BIG disappointment. Rockstar also missteps by consolizing the 'cheats' and forcing the player to unlock different modes... a cheap a pathetic way to up the hours spent on a game to play it the way you want.

Max also often acts uncontrollably. Sometimes he decides to shoot in the air instead of on target. Often the camera angle puts you over the wrong shoulder and if you're trying to 'slice the pie' instead of playing a cover-shooter, this is fatal. Sometimes he fails to fire because you're just a little close to a wall. That would be okay, but the game sometimes KEEPS you there because it wants to try some stupid "last man standing" gimmick. I could write a paragraph about that stupid-ass 'mode', especially since you can't interrupt it and so have to go through it no matter what unless you want to quit entirely. There is a gameplay mode with no 'last stand' but the holy developers decided to hide it behind a wall where you have to beat the game on hard to unlock it! We are not worthy, I suppose. Gimmicky is the right description of a lot of annoying parts of the game, especially when you have time limits or are on rails (that's right... you got your COD in my MP). If I hear Max complain about how he has to hurry one more time WHILE the game wants me to look for 'collectables', I think I'm going to pass out.

Aiming is also needlessly difficult, compared to other games. It's a mouse. It shouldn't be harder to get it on target. I'm starting to think they handle the mouse input as if it were a joystick toggle. The game also fails badly by giving us stupid amounts of enemies who, regardless of whether they are wearing kevlar or nothing, are bullet-sponges. YES, you can shoot them in the head but I didn't think this was a zombie game. Any developer who thinks everyone can be shot five times in the chest with an assault rifle and keep on fighting like nothing happened needs to take a course in traumatic medicine. Laziness on the part of the game. Finally: STOP PUTTING QUICK TIME EVENTS IN GAMES in the form of "press X-F-Z not to die."

Perhaps worst of all is the way the game hand-waves away everything that happened in MP2. I always felt that the second iteration was the best of the series (still do!) but MP3 offers a couple of one-liners that indicate that Max didn't -actually care about Mona (the only person in the series he has had a human connection with) and feels bad about saving her by killing a detective... the same detective who was planning to betray him. That's right, in MP3 Max decides that it would have been better to sacrifice a woman who loved him instead of a corrupt cop who was trying to frame\kill him. Good job writers.

At least it doesn't require an always-online connection for DRM.

EDIT: I keep lowering my review for this game. It is one of the most frustrating I've ever played, and there's no excuse for it. I died in MP1 and MP2 on harder difficulties, but it never felt like the game was screwing me over... like in this one, where you have monster closets and constant cutscene incompetence. Even when I survived, the bullet wounds all over max (a really stupid decision to have those, by the way- looks ridiculous when max has two holes over his heart and is just talking like nothing happened) made it clear that I shouldn't have. All of this made so much worse because of the save system. The thing I liked about the first games was they gave you a chance to do a ballet of death that changed every time. In this one Max is almost never the hunter- he's the idiot who keeps getting flanked who has to hide behind a conveniently placed waist-high box because he has nowhere near the bullettime he used to and acts like a moron in cutscenes. So the easiest way to beat it is to memorize where each enemy is... I guess I'm playing Max as a psychic.

Other CONS:
- Enemies throw grenades at you. Max has forgotten how to throw them himself. What.
- The game has a habit of crashing when you're playing Score Attack mode... right at the end of a long annoying level. This happened at the very last battle TWICE IN A ROW. It's a repeatable error when restarting that mission in score attack. Unacceptable!
- In one of the 'boss' fights Max shoots out some fixtures above the big bad's head and then stands up out of cover just in time for two henchmen to come in and shoot him. He stands up for no discernable reason other than to get shot.
- Same lines: Max keeps switching to his pistol, which sometimes HAS NO AMMO, whenever a cutscene approaches. You can tell which doors are going to trigger scenes because Max will slow to a crawl and put aside the bad-ass assault rifle to pull out the .38 because screw you player, that's why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Max Payne 3 - PC
Max Payne 3 - PC by Rockstar Games (Windows 2000 / Vista / XP)
$59.99 $15.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.