Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
27
Format: Electronics|Change
Price:$0.99+ Free shipping (Addon item)
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 3, 2007
As the author of the Jefferson Airplane book "Take Me To A Circus Tent" as well as an avid music collector, and a former radio disc-jockey, I am often asked to write about and or discuss various recording tapes.

Maxell's stellar reputation for cassettes and VHS tapes has been a staple of the industry for decades.

The Maxell UR is not meant for music. You can record your favorite songs but the optimum way to hear the playback is on a cassette that is referred to as Chrome or Position 2. The UR is a normal bias (Position 1). These are used to record voice. It may be advantageous for interviewing somebody, for notes to be transcribed, recording a sporting event and or a talk show from the radio.

For music recordings use Maxell's excellent XL2 or XL2S. They offer tremendous quality and longevity.

Please make sure the tape deck has clean heads or the great recording tape will not make a difference and you will get results that sound muddy.

Please stick with 60, 90, or 100-minute blank tapes. Anything higher the tape is thin and more susceptible to breakage.

Enjoy the music and be well,
Craig Fenton
Author of the Jefferson Airplane book "Take Me To A Circus Tent"
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2013
Saved myself a trip to Walmart or Office Depot or Staples or wherever the heck they carry cassette tapes these days. Bought this for my daughter's audition for Honors Orchestra and it served the purpose. Why look anywhere else if you can this for $0.88 at Amazon?
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2013
I know that it's not every day that someone goes looking for a cassette tape anymore, but by a freak chance, I happened to need some cassettes in a hurry for a church service (they don't have a CD setup). So I first looked at the local stores, which was of no luck, so I naturally went to Amazon, and was once again saved by the massive selection.

Maxell has always been an excellent brand, and I don't think I have every used any cassette other than Maxell. These are quiet tapes and don't produce any noise.

I don't know what else to say about these. If you just happen to need a cassette, these are a great option.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2013
These tapes are becoming difficult to find. The choir members at my church record our rehearsals to practice with. The choir director received this, in its original packaging, and was very happy with it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2014
The Maxell tapes arrived on time and in good condition. These tapes record extremely well and are very reasonably priced here. I recommend this product. I give this a 5 star rating because it is great product and is delivered to your doorstep at no extra cost.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2015
The best normal bias for Maxell is the UDXL I in the blue silver case If one can still find it. UR and UD are ok but Maxell has made better normal bias tapes. Their reel to reel UD are good but Radio shack is good and as good or better than Maxell. Please note in what one is paying for NOS is a bit overpriced and not worth the price. Example, Realistic 900 feet tape was sold for $1.99 and for NOS is only worth $1.99. If it is sold online for more than you are getting a rip off because that is what it is worth and anything higher than that is a rip off.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2013
You did great, my Grandfather is 91 years old and he loves to record Sunday morning service. He's been telling the family that he needed more tapes and radioshack had two for $20! So thank you Amazon!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2013
Good enough for basic recording. Need a studio and all the expensive stuff for the perfect recording of music, but this works for the fun of a beginner.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2013
Good sounding quality, but could be improved in instrumental clarity. However, it is one of my best choices, overall. Thanks!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2013
It's fine. Does what its supposed to do. This product has been around so long there isn't anything to say
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.