Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just like reading the magazine
It's just like reading the magazine. Pages can be viewed one page at a time in portrait view and two pages at a time in landscape view. You can also zoom in to read or look at pictures.

The subscription price is also a great deal. If you read Maxim and got a Kindle Fire, I recommend this highly.
Published on December 28, 2011 by Richard Bautista

versus
26 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Can't read articles and way too many ads
I thought I'd give this a shot, right along with Details and The New Yorker, because of the free trial. Gotta say I'm very disappointed in it. Yes, it's fast and easy to use and the pictures look great but you can't read the articles without constantly zooming and scrolling. Plus, you have to scroll past countless ads just to get to any content. Maxim on the Fire is...
Published on January 11, 2012 by M. Rohde


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just like reading the magazine, December 28, 2011
This review is from: Maxim (Kindle Edition)
It's just like reading the magazine. Pages can be viewed one page at a time in portrait view and two pages at a time in landscape view. You can also zoom in to read or look at pictures.

The subscription price is also a great deal. If you read Maxim and got a Kindle Fire, I recommend this highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Can't read articles and way too many ads, January 11, 2012
This review is from: Maxim (Kindle Edition)
I thought I'd give this a shot, right along with Details and The New Yorker, because of the free trial. Gotta say I'm very disappointed in it. Yes, it's fast and easy to use and the pictures look great but you can't read the articles without constantly zooming and scrolling. Plus, you have to scroll past countless ads just to get to any content. Maxim on the Fire is useless if you want to comfortably read the magazine. But if all you want are the pictures, then it's great. I gave it two stars instead of one because the photos look great. If I was rating it on legibility, then I'd have to go with one star. Compare this to The New Yorker, which is an app, and you'll see the difference between a great layout for the Fire and a horrible one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looks great on Kindle Fire, December 24, 2011
By 
Dmitry Kristal (Brooklyn, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Maxim (Kindle Edition)
Its amazing how you can get Maxim for your Kindle Fire for just $1.25 per month. Not only does this reduces waste(going green here!) but Kindle's version of Maxim does not feel water-down at all. It is the same content you see in print, but delivered wirelessly and automatically to your Kindle each month.

Maxim is a magazine, which has men as the main target audience. Topics usually include a grab bag on latest products, self-maintenance, stories and of course women.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Old Issues, March 19, 2012
This review is from: Maxim (Kindle Edition)
I decided to give maxim a shot because I use to have all the magazines and pretty entertaining. I noticed that not all my issues are there they get deleted once the new arrives. Does any one have this similar issues?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't complain!, January 7, 2012
This review is from: Maxim (Kindle Edition)
I stopped my sub. years ago because I stopped reading and hated collecting stacks of magazines. Now I find myself reading more and love the kindle fire and the $1.25 a month is great. Reading is great for anyone that can't turn their mind off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars maxim for kindle fire!, November 17, 2011
This review is from: Maxim (Kindle Edition)
Just subscribed to maxim from my kindle fire, downloaded the current issue very fast, magazine looks beautiful on the fire's screen! Easy to navigate and read as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Need a magnifying glass..., January 21, 2012
This review is from: Maxim (Kindle Edition)
Impossible to read on a Kindle Fire. No slam against Maxim, might just be the Fire's small screen doesn't translate. well to magazines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull, October 15, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maxim (Kindle Edition)
The magazine is pretty dull. The stories are not interesting and the interviews are even worse. Dont waste your money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works and looks great on the Fire, August 21, 2012
This review is from: Maxim (Kindle Edition)
I have been using the Kindle Fire since it came out. So far most magazines, like Maxum, look great minus the small screen size of the Fire. It still amazes me how many people complain that is hard to read an article on the Fire and don't uses TEXT VIEW when reading. To read an article I switch to TEXT VIEW and switch back to PAGE VIEW to admire the photos. This works great when view other photo heavy magazine like Nat'l Geographic.

As for the Maxum the Magazine. I enjoy it. There is usually one really good feature article about almost anything, from wounded Iraq vets to mountain rescue. An the interviews with the celebrity girl of the moment are always funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Maxim (Kindle Fire), August 5, 2012
This review is from: Maxim (Kindle Edition)
Difficult to navigate (zoom, scroll, etc.) No "maxim motion" for kindle or other content. Lame when compared to Sports Illustrated swim suit issue which was great on the kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Maxim
Maxim by Maxim Inc.
$7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.