Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars maximum conviction
steven segal and steve austin are fantastic. they are both older but they still get the job done. i always enjoy seing good and tough guys get rid of the bad guys. but a movie is never very good unless the bad guys seem to be invinsible. there are a lot of twist and turns the kept me on the edge of my seat. just when i thought there were no more good movies at the the...
Published on November 20, 2012 by kathyjune

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THIS GUY MEANS BUSINESS
Cross (Steven Seagal) is an operational genius. His partner Manning (Steve Austin) is a weapons expert. They are ex-special forces who work as black ops contractors. Their current job is to decommission a black ops prison, one that doesn't officially exist and is located in Oregon (seriously?). For some reason our "operational genius" decides to shut down the prison while...
Published on October 20, 2012 by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars maximum conviction, November 20, 2012
This review is from: Maximum Conviction (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
steven segal and steve austin are fantastic. they are both older but they still get the job done. i always enjoy seing good and tough guys get rid of the bad guys. but a movie is never very good unless the bad guys seem to be invinsible. there are a lot of twist and turns the kept me on the edge of my seat. just when i thought there were no more good movies at the the theatres or on dvd. this one came out along with many others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THIS GUY MEANS BUSINESS, October 20, 2012
This review is from: Maximum Conviction (DVD)
Cross (Steven Seagal) is an operational genius. His partner Manning (Steve Austin) is a weapons expert. They are ex-special forces who work as black ops contractors. Their current job is to decommission a black ops prison, one that doesn't officially exist and is located in Oregon (seriously?). For some reason our "operational genius" decides to shut down the prison while it still has prisoners in it.

During this period there are men dressed as Federal Marshals attempting a "high risk extraction" of two female prisoners to prevent them from going to a civilian prison. The film consists of Seagal/Austin and crew fighting in a prison maze against the bad guys. Seagal doesn't know if the women are in league with the bad guys or if the bad guys want them dead. It isn't hard for us to figure it out from their faces which show expressions. (Take note Steven, it's called acting!)

Early in the film Steven Seagal laughs, something I don't recall him doing in another movie. It made me laugh to watch it.

The plot is simple as most Seagal productions. There is plenty of killing, fighting, and blood. The picture appears to have been written more with Seagal in mind than Austin. I had expected more. Austin has done better films, and with Seagal it is hard to tell. This could have been one of his better productions. They need to write a part for Danny Trejo and make him the perennial bad guy. I smell sequel.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, no sex, no nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Being bored is the secret", November 6, 2012
This review is from: Maximum Conviction (DVD)
I had even expectations for this film. On one hand, this was not only one of the rare filmic team-ups between Steven Seagal and a fellow action hero of similar caliber, but it was also the longest time the former had taken to make a movie in almost ten years - something I hoped was the result of more effort being made in the production. On the other hand, it was directed by Keoni Waxman, the filmmaker who's now officially worked with Steven Seagal more times than any other but whose vehicles are among my least favorite of Seagal's filmography. Then again, I liked Waxman's outing with Steve Austin well enough, so I considered that perhaps "Maximum Conviction" here could achieve some kind of acceptable balance. I was right: the movie is acceptable, but far from great. It doesn't make all it could have of the collaboration between Seagal and Austin, but is still an okay-enough DTV action outing.

The story: two private security contractors (Seagal and Austin) are caught up in a deadly situation when the two prisoners they had delivered to a secret prison are targeted by a lethal team of mercenaries led by an ex-CIA mastermind (Michael Pare, Streets of Fire).

It needs to be said: however good they may look on paper, Steven Seagal and Steve Austin do not make very exciting partners. Of course, one factor is the limited screentime they share, but even when they're both in the same scene, they seem relatively apathetic to eachother and don't display any discernible chemistry. On their own, they do alright, with Austin as definitely the more charismatic of the two but Seagal getting more fight scenes. They have equal amounts of screentime. The co-stars do fine but are sort of wasted: B-movie staple performer Michael Pare clomps his way through a boring role, and even though Steph Song (Dim Sum Funeral) - one of the aforementioned prisoners - has a good deal of award nominations to her name, she's given no strong acting scenes and her role could've been played by most anybody. Yes, the script by True Justice-regular Richard Beattie is pretty passive, highlighted only by a couple particularly mean-spirited deaths and the occasional funny line by Austin ("Which one of you [jerks] killed my future ex-wife?").

The action is predominantly composed of shootouts, but there's nothing special to these. Seagal's stunt doubles are hidden relatively well, but at the expense of the editing, which is once again pretty choppy during his fight scenes - not as much as it has been in the past, but it's still pretty annoying. With that said, Seagal still gets the occasional cool move in, and the final brawl - though painfully one-sided - is fun to watch in a guilty way. Steve Austin only has one real fight, but prior to this he gets entertainingly innovative in the prison kitchen, turning a gas tank into a missile and attacking a mercenary with a pot of boiling water. The best fight in the movie doesn't belong to either of them, though: martial artist Bren Foster (Fight Science), despite being stifled by the same editing present in Seagal's fights, brings an energy to his single brawl that the other encounters were sorely lacking. Overall, I deem the action content on the low side of passable.

That also counts as my synopsis for the movie in general. Amateurish post-production inserts can be found here and there but are otherwise restrained, and Steven Seagal is doing his own voiceovers again, but these plus points are deflated a bit by the lackluster story and ho-hum pacing of the film. While it's a good deal better than the previous Born to Raise Hell and therefore a general step up for Seagal (I'm not as well-versed in Austin's output, so I can't speak for him), it's not nearly all I was hoping for during the year-and-a-half spent waiting for it. Consider it a rental.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where's the Love? This is a decent low budget action flick, December 12, 2012
This review is from: Maximum Conviction (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
I am surprised at some of the low ratings on this flick. Sure it is a direct to DVD movie, but the bottom line is that is a pretty decent flick (for the budget). I would love to see a big screen version of this movie, but with better writers and a bigger budget. The basic plot is cool, with special forces and CIA teams duking it out. Austin & Segal work great together. Is Segal overweight? Who cares? He can still kick your a@@! This movie lived up to my expectations and actually exceeded them a bit. I would liked to have seen a little more competition for Segal. His fights were pretty one-sided. Like in the old Walker, Texas Ranger - The First Season series. Chuck almost never had a decent two way fight. A good action hero needs a good villian who can go one on one with our hero (Hans Gruber anyone?). I am looking forward to watching a Maximum Conviction II. Heck, next time throw in a few more known fighting stars (John Cena & the Rock) and we'll end up with a low budger version of The Expendables.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smackdown!, April 6, 2013
By 
Myas "M" (Columbia, MO. USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
With Steven Seagal and Steve Austin you can't go wrong. Bad guys break into a secret government maximum-security prison but they're going to be sorry they did. Even the female prisoners who aren't supposed to be there are tough, one more so than the other and take down a burly prisoner who wants a piece. Steven Seagal is so practiced at beating up bad guys I don't think he bleeds at all. It's action with special ops backup who are a step ahead and don't make a habit of making wrong moves. Of course for the bad guys it's all about money, which they lose out on, Steven winds up with, shares with his partner and the good-guy female prisoner after all she's been through. Now where can I find a guy like that?

It's entertainment. If you've had a bad day at the office plug Maximum Conviction in and let Steven Seagal and Steve Austin beat up the bad guys for you. You'll feel better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars awesome action movie, December 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Way cool to see Austin and Seagal do an action movie together it'd be awesome to see them do a more high budget film where the characters can have more dimensionality and the stakes could be something a bit more grounded and high pitched!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Go Steven !!!, December 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maximum Conviction (DVD)
I am a die hard Seagal fan so I purchased this one. The action of the support cast carried off this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..TOP SEAGAL..", March 25, 2013
This review is from: Maximum Conviction (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
Its great to see action master Steven Seagal is still knocking out films for his fans at his age, yeah, yeah he's old and bit overweight now big deal, he's still one cool guy and a legendary action star, this is a very cool movie which he stars along Steve Austin who is also a cool tough guy hero, the story is simple but delivers the goods with plenty of violence on both parts, I would say they have kind of equal share of the screen. No features unfortunately but the bluray looks good defiantly check it out if you're a big fan of either actor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, December 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great movie loved the action scenes and the actors are the best ever, big fan of Steven Austin and Decalogue movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it was a great movie, November 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
i loved it i would rent it again and watch in the few weeks hope this was helpfull. have a good day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Maximum Conviction (Blu-ray + DVD)
Maximum Conviction (Blu-ray + DVD) by Keoni Waxman (Blu-ray - 2012)
$24.99 $12.70
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.