Customer Reviews


413 Reviews
5 star:
 (192)
4 star:
 (83)
3 star:
 (59)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (58)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than you would think
I have been watching this movie since I was about 7 years old and still never get tired of it. I have probably seen it about 150 times and continue to find enjoyment. There is a review posted that completly bashes this movie and basically tells readers not to waste their time. Well, I have to disagree. While the mvie is not nearly as good as the book(are they...
Published on November 26, 2004 by Nicholas Rog

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice Parody
"Maximum Overdrive" (1986) is what you would get if you crossed "Duel" with "Night of the Living Dead" and significantly amped up the parody component of each film (there is a little "Temors" here as well). Not exactly highbrow, it is considerably more entertaining than its rating score would indicate; especially if you can connect with the parody element...
Published on January 15, 2007 by Only-A-Child


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than you would think, November 26, 2004
This review is from: Maximum Overdrive (DVD)
I have been watching this movie since I was about 7 years old and still never get tired of it. I have probably seen it about 150 times and continue to find enjoyment. There is a review posted that completly bashes this movie and basically tells readers not to waste their time. Well, I have to disagree. While the mvie is not nearly as good as the book(are they ever???), it still has strong entertainment value.

First, it humorous and not because it's cheesy, but because it is funny! The dialgoue between characters, the situations they are put in and the reactions some have to the machines taking over; are all reasons to watch this movie.

The acting might not be the best, but by no means, is it bad. Emilio Estevez is our main character, and does a fine job as Bubba, an ex-convict, short-order diner cook. His boss(who's name I can't remember), plays your typical Texan in charge of his business, who amazingly has a secret stash of bazookas and guns below the diner(perfect for antagonizing the trucks outside). I also love the newlyweds in this movie. I believe their names are Curtis and Connie and they are a ball of laughs.

Honestly folks, this movie is very entertaining and suitable for younger kids to watch. There really aren't many scares(I was never afraid to watch this movie as a child), but there is mild gore and a few thrilling moments.

Great job Mr. King!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MAXIMUM OVERDRIVE, March 30, 2001
This review is from: Maximum Overdrive (DVD)
MAXIMUM OVERDRIVE is a funny, gory, end of the world thriller from Stephen King (who directs for the first time from one of his published short stories). The story is about a comet that flies across the Earth, and after that, machines all over the world begin to come to life and take on a life force of there own (cars and trucks run down innocent people, electric knives cut there victims, soda pop machines shoot soda cans out like grenades, etc.). The main part of the story takes place at a gas station where the machines have people trapped inside, fighting for there lives, and figuring out a way to escape. The music to this movie is nothing but memorable songs from the great rock band AC/DC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masculine Overdrive!!! AC/DC ROCKS!!!, September 26, 2002
By 
Robb (Hell Centro , USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Maximum Overdrive (DVD)
How could anyone in their right mind give this a review of anything less than 5 stars???Ok, ok...Maybe I'm a little biased being that I'm one of the biggest AC/DC fans in the whole world. But besides that, How could you have not loved this flick? First off... The box itself warns you on the cover A: Steven King flick and B: AC/DC does the entire soundtrack. So there, you've been warned... if you don't like either one of those, you had no business renting/buying/viewing the movie. The film itself differs from your typical King story(Not to mention it was written for the screen)... It was a simple concept yet, a fun concept: Virtually anything with a motor or electronic circuitry with the potential to maim and/or kill life on earth is brought to animation by a mysterious green glow sent out by alien life forms awaiting to take over the soon to be vacant planet!!! And so the story goes, 10-15 people are trapped in the Dixie Boy truck stop in either North or South Carolina (I forget which)with nothing but brains, beer and a small yet sufficient cache of weapons, including but not limited to: Machine guns, bazookas/rocket launchers and grenades!!! If they can hold out long enough against the army of diesel trucks that surrounds them, they just might make it out alive!!! Oh, and did I mention that AC/DC does the entire soundtrack?!?! Which,might I add, if you were to only own one AC/DC album, it should be "Who made who?" the Official soundtrack to this monster of a movie!! Personally, I can watch this movie anytime and it makes my day a whole lot better...of course, to each is own. Not to mention that I am kind of a redneck. Bottom line though,whether your a King fan,an AC/DC fan, or just a fan of Big trucks, rednecks, guns and beer with a whole lotta explosions... Buy this movie, you won't be dissapointed!!! Until then...Adios Amigos!..............thebluetape...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice Parody, January 15, 2007
This review is from: Maximum Overdrive (DVD)
"Maximum Overdrive" (1986) is what you would get if you crossed "Duel" with "Night of the Living Dead" and significantly amped up the parody component of each film (there is a little "Temors" here as well). Not exactly highbrow, it is considerably more entertaining than its rating score would indicate; especially if you can connect with the parody element.

Written and directed by Stephen King on a very modest special effects budget, the story shifts between idyllic small-town and redneck truck stop somewhere in North Carolina. A UFO has somehow gained control over most machines (insert "Metropolis" here) which proceed to slaughter a considerable number of people.

Neither the film nor King's original story seem to have anything profound to say about aliens, humans, or machines. That is probably for the best as deep philosophy would only get in the way of the entertainment value of this thing.

Like the farm house in "Night of the Living Dead", those who remain alive take refuge in a nearby truck stop. Pat Hingle gives an over-the-top performance as the greedy owner who just happens to have a small arsenal of weapons concealed on the premises. Yeardley Smith as a stressed-out newlywed provides additional comic relief. Emilio Estavez and Laura Harrington provide the story's romantic element. Music is by King's favorite band AC/DC. Although everything from lawnmowers to blow dryers get into the act, most of the focus is on the eighteen-wheelers which besiege the truck stop around the clock.

Then again, what do I know? I'm only a child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Jesus is coming and he is @#$$#@!", May 16, 2003
By 
Mary A. Palkowski "marskee" (Milwaukee, WI United States, Satellite of Love) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Maximum Overdrive (DVD)
In 1987, a comet will pass close to the Earth, and the planet will be enveloped in its tail. During the next seven or eight days, all machines go wacky, and rebel against their human masters. The patrons and workers of a truck stop must band together to fight off the killer trucks, electric knives, arcade games, vending machines, etc. to stay alive and find out what is causing this mess.
Finally, a not so rare version of the cult classic! Anchor Bay has done a splendid job with this box-office bomb (yet one of my favorite films), from the disc (that looks like the front of the toy company truck),The chapter card/poster replica, the menus(the main menu and extras menu include the two main AC/DC songs from the film, but the main menu is the only place on the disc where you will hear the entire "Shook Me All Night Long" instead of just music snippets like on other discs from big-name companies), video, sound, and extras, which is my only gripe: NOT ENOUGH! Sure, a trailer and King bio are good, but what about commentary (I'm sure that Emilio Estevez, Yeardley Smith, and Stephen King would have been up to it, don't you?), still galleries, TV spots, behind the scenes,interviews, the whole nine yards? Anchor Bay should consider doing a special edition of this title(along with My Science Project, Condorman, and any title that doesn't have extras. Sure, I'd like a DVD of my favorite movie as much as the next guy, but I'd like my movies with at least a trailer and commentary, or just a trailer would be fine). Anyway, they did a good job on a (critically) ... movie.
MAXIMUM OVERDRIVE
(1986, R)
Bill: Emilio Estevez
Hendershot: Pat Hingle
Brett: Laura Harrington
Connie: Yeardley Smith
Curtis: John Short
Wanda June: Ellen McElduff
Director: Stephen King
Writer: Stephen King
Disc Review (1 the lowest, 5 the highest)
Movie: 4
Sound: 5
Video: 5
Extras: 2
Menus: 4.5
Overall: 4
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stephen King, the director, May 27, 2003
By 
BC (Out there in La La Land) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Maximum Overdrive (DVD)
This was King's one and only stab at being at hollywood director (so far), and the trailer has him saying he will "scare the hell out of you, and that's a promise." That promise wasn't exactly "kept", but that didn't hurt the movie too much. It involves a comet that will be real close to the earth for the next eight days. In fact, too close. It causes machines all over the planet to function on their own, and they appear to be fed up with be the slaves of mankind. Next thing you know, we've got everything from drawbridges to vending machines going berserk and attacking humans. At the Dixie Boy truck stop, about a 12 big trucks come to life and encircle the resturant full of people inside, like Emilio Estevez, Pat Hingle, one VERY dumb waitress, who takes every chance she get's to shout at the trucks, "We made you!", and alot of others who meet quite gruesome ends. There's something here for everyone; there's horror, comedy, action, suspense, romance, etc. Even the soundtrack is cool, since it was done entirely by AC DC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maximum Overdrive: A cult classic!, September 3, 2005
This review is from: Maximum Overdrive (DVD)
Ah, this movie is such a classic. From the hilarious scene to where a character named Connie asks her boyfriend: "Curtis....are you DAY-YED!!!!", to a little league baseball team getting hit by flying soda cans (the coach takes one of 'em in the crotch - HAHA!). Also, the soundtrack is by AC/DC (which, by the way, you can buy the soundtrack on CD. It's titled "Who Made Who?"). King's only directorial film is an underrated gem. The film's plot: For a week in 1987, a mysterious comet was floating over Earth. During this week, we have truck stop customers and employees, led by Emilio Estevez (who plays a cook in this movie), trying to stay alive when automobiles and appliances come "alive" and start killing people.

Stephen King was forced to make some cuts to this film in order to avoid an X rating for violence. The scenes cut, to this day have not been reinstated in any release, thus the only version in circulation is the original theatrical cut. The scenes are reported to total around 13 seconds and include:
- Six Seconds of the Dixie Boy shoot out.
- Three seconds of the steam roller running over the boy.
- Three seconds of the salesman's face falling into his lap.

Based on Stephen King's novel "Trucks", this film will satisfy any King or horror movie fan. Check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars totally awesome in all the wrong ways., September 10, 2004
This review is from: Maximum Overdrive (DVD)
people say that this movie is stupid and a pittiful attempt at making a good story a movie. to tell you the truth, i find it awesome, but for all the wrong reasons. this movie is completely hilarious! the special effects are so bad that you can't help but laugh. a truck backs into a guy at 2 miles an hour, and blood splatters everywhere. a steam roller mows down a field of little leaguers, who cant seem to run fast enough to escape the "mighty" speed of such a slow machine. somehow, there is convienently a little go-kart looking thing that has an automatic weapon on it. if you are looking for a SERIOUS film, this is definately not for you. but if you enjoy berating and laughing at awful movies, this one is sure to provide an evening of disgustingly hilarious entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maximum Over drive, May 29, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maximum Overdrive (DVD)
If you like Cheesey movies this fits the bill. We bought this movie to go along with our Popcorn and Cheesy "supposed to be scary" movie night at home. We have added this one to "Night of the comet". If you are into that kind of thing, take the time to enjoy these two movies. It Seems that there are only two actors in Maximum OverDrive though that can be considered actors. One is Emlio Estevez and the other is the kid. It's wonderfully campy, while trucks take over the world you begin to wonder who would ever put that weird scary face on the front of a toy delivery truck. The newlyweds are a gas (a young Yardely Smith is wonderfully funny in this film). Enjoy making fun of this movie with a special appearance by Steven King in the beginning and the music of AC/DC to jazz it up a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a classic, May 9, 2014
I was actually thinking about this movie 3-4 days before it popped up on here. Love this movie. B rate acting, terrible special effects, and typical horror movie soundtrack. But that is what makes this movie so good. A must watch if you're over 30 and have never seen it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Maximum Overdrive
Maximum Overdrive by Stephen King (DVD - 2006)
$41.10
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.