Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun read, An interesting twist on a familiar genre that will leave you wanting to read more from this author
Maxwell's closet is a really fun, easy read and perfect for the young fantasy reader. Its Alice in Wonderland meets Lord of the Rings, for a bit younger audience of course. Maxwell goes "down the rabbit hole" so to speak when the orcs pull him into his bedroom closet and finds a world of myth and fantasy that will be the setting for his heroic quest. I loved the way the...
Published 17 months ago by Hank Mardukis

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars just ok
The story line was easy to follow, but it was hard to determine what age this book is best for. At times it seemed to be written for a child and at times the implications were for an older audience. I don't think the plot was particularly interesting and would not recommend this book.
Published on April 18, 2012 by Eve


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun read, An interesting twist on a familiar genre that will leave you wanting to read more from this author, March 19, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maxwell's Closet (Kindle Edition)
Maxwell's closet is a really fun, easy read and perfect for the young fantasy reader. Its Alice in Wonderland meets Lord of the Rings, for a bit younger audience of course. Maxwell goes "down the rabbit hole" so to speak when the orcs pull him into his bedroom closet and finds a world of myth and fantasy that will be the setting for his heroic quest. I loved the way the characters speak and I was always on the edge of my seat. I enjoyed the way to author allowed the "dominoes" to topple in quick succession. It made for a thrilling journey with the characters and I just really enjoyed the style, I don't need long gasps of air in between events, I like the momentum to keep rolling. I look forward to many more works of this caliber and beyond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book!, March 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maxwell's Closet (Kindle Edition)
This is a great book for anyone who likes fantasy. It is very well written and the story line keeps you hanging on until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must read!!!!, February 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maxwell's Closet (Kindle Edition)
i am not done with this book yet but so far i love it. it is one of those books that you just cannot put down. i found myself sucked in and i couldnt hear anything but the characters voices in my head. i felt like i was really there. very well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars just ok, April 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maxwell's Closet (Kindle Edition)
The story line was easy to follow, but it was hard to determine what age this book is best for. At times it seemed to be written for a child and at times the implications were for an older audience. I don't think the plot was particularly interesting and would not recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, January 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maxwell's Closet (Kindle Edition)
Maxwell's Closet was a delight! The author's imagination shines through and the vivid descriptions draw the reader in. I look forward to more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Childrens fantasy tale of epic proportions, March 5, 2012
By 
Cheryl M-M (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Maxwell's Closet (Kindle Edition)
This book is for children, but will interest adults who enjoy the genre. It is so full of ideas and creativity that I think less would have been more. There are so many new characters brought around every bend that it is hard to get to know all but a few. Not many stick around for the ride to the very end. Everything you can imagine is fitted into the story. One of the more interesting ideads was the whole find the letters storyline and how the letters interacted with and without one another. I think that would be a great concept for children of a younger age. The book starts out with a really funny scene with orcs appearing from a closet door to kidnap Maxwell. Their routine and exchange of words is quite funny. I am not sure how old Maxwell is supposed to be. He is introduced as a child in the beginning. Bearing that in mind I was more than a little confused at his reaction and inner thoughts when it came to Ava. I thought the book could with trimming down and having a better focus on a certain amount of subplots. It was like a brainrush of ideas on the senses. I received a free copy of this book for my review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I really wanted to like this book, February 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maxwell's Closet (Kindle Edition)
The description of this story was enticing, but I'm afraid it lost its appeal in the first chapter. I found Maxwell's reaction to being surprised in the middle of the night by orcs coming out of his closet to be unrealistic for a child. He seemed more curious than frightened. I read on for a while, hoping that the writing would improve -- beginnings are hard -- but couldn't get past the uneven pacing and other writing flaws

Still, I think that the author should keep at it. Try again. Work with a skilled editor. I'll look forward to the fruits of such labor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars teach, July 2, 2012
By 
Helene (OLDSMAR, FL, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maxwell's Closet (Kindle Edition)
I agree that I found it hard to determine who was the targeted audience for this story was. I found it delightful at times and then take a plunge into deep philosophical conversations that just seemed out of place. The key elements of the story are intriguing but often presented in an awkward manner. The kindle edition is full of grammatical errors that also interrupted the flow of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Maxwell is not ready for prime time., January 25, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maxwell's Closet (Kindle Edition)
Although I don't usually review on Amazon, I feel compelled to balance the previous three glowing reviews, not in a hostile way but just to be realistic.

Maxwell is kidnapped from his bedroom by orcs coming through his closet after two paragraphs of introduction to him. The last sentence in the second paragraph: "Yet still the gray adult world plodded on with no change from one day to the next, just the slow ticking of life's clock."

The orcs talk like gangsters. They take him to the orc king who send him to be executed. Max has just finished bonding with the orc executioner when he is rescued and taken to the human king where he meets two of the princes and is sent off with one of them, the oldest, on a quest. They encounter a cyclops, who Max treats with compassion, and who then later helps them. Humor is carelessly tossed in with violence, simplistic language mixed with high-falutin' vocabulary. "They were like one giant black wave ready to crash upon their quarry and take them into the undertow."

The author throws together elements from many different types of fantasy into a quest story. Scarcely a page goes by without another new factor being thrown in. It makes the story seem choppy, and the too formal language structures with the overuse of metaphors and similes ("The council members leaned out of their seats and watched with a vicious look, like hungry buzzards waiting for an injured animal to take its last breath.") contribute to the lack of cohesion. There is too much telling instead of showing.

If the author worked with this manuscript, worked hard to prune the language to show the core shape of the tale, gave us a context to identify with Max at the outset, either expanded the tale so that events don't pile up on each other so abruptly or take out some of the less essential elements, this could work up into a decent story.

At the end, Maxwell ruminates, "Yet, like the branding of a cattle iron it had in seconds seared into him a lasting mark he would bear forever."

You be the judge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Maxwell's Closet
Maxwell's Closet by Steven Belskie
$2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.