Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for scaredy cats
This is young adult fantasy with a difference. May Ellen Bird is the school weirdo who lives near the woods of Briery Swamp, West Virginia, a place that has lost seventeen people to mysterious causes. Her only friend is her bald, ugly cat; a hairless Rex named Somber Kitty. You can see right away that this is no cute kid and kitty story, and if you get bad dreams if you...
Published on September 2, 2006 by Amanda Richards

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strong start, but then a frantic Wizard of Oz clone
The first part of this book, (not unsurprisingly titled "Into the Woods"), is very appealing. Our heroine, a lonely, spunky, sensitive young girl, is introduced, and the atmosphere of Briery Swamp is nicely set. May Bird looks like she will develop into a fine quest companion.

But then she enters the realm of EverAfter, and the balance of the work becomes a...
Published on October 7, 2011 by Pop Bop


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for scaredy cats, September 2, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: May Bird and the Ever After, Book #1 (Paperback)
This is young adult fantasy with a difference. May Ellen Bird is the school weirdo who lives near the woods of Briery Swamp, West Virginia, a place that has lost seventeen people to mysterious causes. Her only friend is her bald, ugly cat; a hairless Rex named Somber Kitty. You can see right away that this is no cute kid and kitty story, and if you get bad dreams if you even read the word "Boogeyman", look no further.

May likes to go snooping around in old buildings looking for treasure, and one day she finds a hidden letter dating back to 1951, which somehow has her name on it. The envelope contains a letter and a map, and soon May is setting off across the Endless Briers towards a supposedly non-existent lake. Naturally she finds the lake, and falls in, and when she gets out she can see dead people, supposedly with her new-found sixth sense. For some reason she returns to the lake, and enters the Ever After, filled with ghosts, specters and other nasty things that go bump in the night.

Assisted by her ghostly guardian, Pumpkin, she embarks on a quest to find the Book of the Dead, which is supposed to tell her how to get home again, as well as the meaning of life and everything else, but to get it she must escape the clutches of the evil Bo Cleevil, his pal the Boogeyman and his dogs, and the gross ghouls who guard the book.

Confusing in places, gross in others, but highly imaginative, this one is for kids with slightly morbid tendencies.

Amanda Richards, September 2, 2006
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Ghoulishly Good Read, September 27, 2005
May Bird is a skinny, knobby kneed girl with no friends and a hairless cat. Her mother wants to take her from her beloved woods in the hills of West Virginia to a boarding school in New York City. One day May finds a letter, a call for help that changes her life. As May is drawn into the Ever After she discovers many things, not the least of which is friends.

This book is dark, and, perhaps for small children, a bit frightening; it is also touching, and at times, funny. The pace is lively, the dangers are immense, and the ending is wonderful. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The land of Ever After is ever exciting!!, November 10, 2005
By 
S. E. Johnson (Washington, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I knew when I bought this book I'd love it! I actually just finished it today and hated it was over. I was kind of surprised about the ending. I thought it would of ended differently. I knew it was a series but I thought she'd make it home and then travel back to Ever After like the Dorothy in the original Oz book series. But this is good to because it makes you eager for the next book. This book is a complete mix of Tim Burton's Beetlejuice and the original Oz book series. She meets all sorts of crazy characters that you'll love. Mary Bird is a skinny shy loner who is literally dragged into the portal to the Ever After world of the dead. She has to be very careful because if she's discovered Bogeyman will come with his great black dogs. "Live ones" are forbidden to enter you see. She goes on a crazy adventure in order to get home before evil Bo Cleevil get's ahold of her. This book is stuffed with creativity and excitement. I was anxious, surprised and grossed out while reading, it was great fun! :) I think it would make a great movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, August 30, 2005
This book is like Alice in Wonderland + Coraline + Beetlejuice... but so much more. When I wasn't freaked out, I was laughing. There's a little bit of everything here. I'm so glad it's the first in a trilogy-- I can't wait to read the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Books of 2006, September 24, 2006
This review is from: May Bird and the Ever After, Book #1 (Paperback)
What happens when you fall into another world? Alice could tell you all about Wonderland. Likewise, May Bird could tell you all about the Ever After.

May Bird is a bright, independent and imaginative young girl whose best friend is her hairless cat, the aptly-named Somber Kitty. One day, she receives a mysterious letter which prompts her to visit the nearby woods. Little does she know that she's about to go on the trip of her life -- among the no-longer-living!

With the help of Pumpkin - a timid ghost who has, without her knowledge, been her long-time guardian - she navigates the strange land. The Ever After is part Beetlejuice, part Oz, and sometimes a little scary for May, but her bravery sees her through.

Somber Kitty also fell into the Ever After, but he was separated from his owner. While May Bird tries to find a way home, Somber Kitty attempts to find her by following her scent. Somber Kitty is absolutely adorable and simply meowvelous. His determination and loyalty make his part of the story just as important as hers.

May Bird and the Ever After by Jodi Lynn Anderson is the first in a trilogy. The second is May Bird Among the Stars. The third title has yet to be released or announced.

I can't wait to find out what happens next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series for anyone!, November 14, 2011
This review is from: May Bird and the Ever After, Book #1 (Paperback)
I bought this book for my daughter who was 10 at the time. She loved the book so we bought the 2nd and third as they came out... Then she insisted that I read the series as well. I thoroughly enjoyed the books. The books are interesting and thoughtful. Some parts of the series are spooky and there are some defeats for the main character to overcome. Overall I think it is a great read for anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strong start, but then a frantic Wizard of Oz clone, October 7, 2011
By 
Pop Bop "Pause and Reflect" (Denver, Colorado, United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: May Bird and the Ever After, Book #1 (Paperback)
The first part of this book, (not unsurprisingly titled "Into the Woods"), is very appealing. Our heroine, a lonely, spunky, sensitive young girl, is introduced, and the atmosphere of Briery Swamp is nicely set. May Bird looks like she will develop into a fine quest companion.

But then she enters the realm of EverAfter, and the balance of the work becomes a very imaginative, but very crowded and sketchy, clone of Oz. The plot develops into a quest with strange companions to avoid the bad guy and get home again.

Any particular chapter is interesting. Almost every sentence introduces a new imaginative element. But, it's like the reading version of a sugar high after a while. And at some point you just stop caring, because you know the plot arc, you tire of the unrelenting "creativeness", and , most importantly, you don't really care that much about what happens, because May Bird is just like a game piece being moved around the board in a complicated fantasy game, the rules of which you don't quite understand.

Now, all of that said, this is still a book that you might want to try. We know the Oz tales, but your young reader probably doesn't. And the book is certainly readable. I just wouldn't get too invested in the whole trilogy until I tried out this book one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book., June 3, 2009
By 
This review is from: May Bird and the Ever After, Book #1 (Paperback)
The characters come alive and are likable and that makes this adventure worthwhile and a joy to read, even if a little weird, and not much progress is made on the final goal until the end of book 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars easy read, wonderful story, April 22, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: May Bird and the Ever After, Book #1 (Paperback)
This story is a great read for us big kids (I'm in my mid 30's) as well!!! The character development is so rich that you feel as if you truly know the individuals in this story personally. Somber Kitty is personified in such a way that he was my personal favorite. Ms. Anderson is truly a talented author and I am sure this series will not be her last successful work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars by Christine, April 11, 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: May Bird and the Ever After, Book #1 (Paperback)
May Bird is a ten year old girl who lives in Briery Swamp. May Bird doesn't know that about fifteen people disappeared in the lakes of Briery Swamp many years ago. Then one day May falls into the lake and lands in the ever after. May Bird must get out fast!
This book is really good. My favorite part is when May Bird meets the undertaker!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac4c7048)

This product

May Bird and the Ever After, Book #1
May Bird and the Ever After, Book #1 by Jodi Lynn Anderson (Paperback - June 1, 2006)
$6.99 $6.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.