Customer Reviews


206 Reviews
5 star:
 (168)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


94 of 96 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid children's version of this board game classic.
Unlike like other "kid's" versions of popular adult games, Catan Junior remains very true to the game play of the original, while removing and modifying many of the more complex rules of the original. The rules book is very well laid out and easy to walk through with a child, and there are enough chips and resources that need to be put out at setup to keep their hands...
Published on June 2, 2012 by Andrew L

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars not as fun as it says
not as fun as it says. We were disappointed with it. The pieces were cool and board looked cool though.
Published 2 days ago by Lee Rainwater


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

94 of 96 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid children's version of this board game classic., June 2, 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Catan: Junior (Toy)
Unlike like other "kid's" versions of popular adult games, Catan Junior remains very true to the game play of the original, while removing and modifying many of the more complex rules of the original. The rules book is very well laid out and easy to walk through with a child, and there are enough chips and resources that need to be put out at setup to keep their hands busy while you read the rules. Game play goes smoothly due to the limited decisions you can make but rarely feels like you don't have options.

The largest differences are found in resource gathering, trading, and road/city (in this case ship/lair) placement. Resources have a fixed die value on the card instead of being determined by a separate chip being placed on the island, trading is done with a marketplace instead of other players, and you only need one ship/road segment between your city/lair. These small changes make the game much easier for kids to grasp.

It plays well as a 2 player game due to the separate board format for 2 player games vs. 3 or 4 players. The board layout is fixed instead of being tiles you place.

The reason I gave this game 4 instead of five stars is because the rules are simple enough for a 6 year old to understand, but you really need to pack your patience because most kids will get overwhelmed with all the pieces and new rules compared to other games they may have played. It's worth it when they grasp everything, but don't expect them to get it right away.

TL;DR - simplifies game play of the original without dumbing it down or putting it on rails. Children will be able to learn how to play the game, but be patient while you're teaching them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully done young player's version of a classic game., July 15, 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Catan: Junior (Toy)
Catan Junior is a version of the classic "eurogame" Settlers of Catan aimed for younger players. It does a superb job of simplifying the game while retaining the important elements and correct feel and avoiding "dumbing down" the gameplay.

In general the Catan family of games are resources management games. A die roll at the beginning of each player's turn will randomly generate resources for all based on their positions on the board. Building new things require certain combinations of resources. Trading, blocking opponents and optimization are important elements to playing and winning. Catan Junior has all of these things, but in less complicated forms than the normal versions and with modifications that make the game less cutthroat.

For Settlers veterans, here are some key differences:
1) A single six sided die is used instead of two. Numbers on the board range from 1 to 5, and a roll of 6 moves the pirate ghost (robber).
2) There are three things to build - pirate lair, ship or parrot card (development cards that either move the robber, give resources or allow a free build)
3) No victory points to keep track of - first person to build all of his/her lairs wins.
4) Trading is with the board or the bank instead of other players.
5) Placing the robber on a space gives you resources from the bank, not other players.

Overall Catan Junior is a great adaptation of a phenomenal game that is a lot of fun and help introduce younger players to the world of Catan without overwhelming them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction for young players, September 10, 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Catan: Junior (Toy)
Purchased Catan Junior for my children, ages 6 & 9. Both caught on quickly and enjoy the game. Unlike some games, this junior version really is just a watered down version of the adult game. It's not ruled totally by chance, which makes it more fun. Games last about 20 minutes or so. Overall, a great buy and we've enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even a 4-year old can play, September 7, 2012
By 
Paul Otto (Centennial, CO) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Catan: Junior (Toy)
We bought this as a great family game. We have 3 kids ages 9,6,4 and all 3 of them enjoy this game. Even our 4 year old figured out the goal and beat everyone. Great game for kids!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to learn, fun to play, February 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Catan: Junior (Toy)
We bought this game a few weeks ago and have played it several times. It is similar to Settlers of Catan, but simplified. The board is permanently set-up, so you don't have to figure out placing the hexagons like in Settlers. My 5-year-old caught on quickly and actually won a few times. Reading isn't necessary, as cards are explaned using pictures. It is a game that adults can enjoy playing with the kids, as there is some strategy involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable for kids and adults, September 3, 2012
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Catan: Junior (Toy)
My wife and I played this with our six year old last night for the first time. We had a great time, and I think this is probably the first game where we all three played it together and actually enjoyed it. The rules are easy for kids to pick-up, and the strategy is deep enough to keep adults engaged. Overall a very fun game that I am glad to have purchased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Family Fun, March 14, 2013
By 
dave caron (DANBURY, NH, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Catan: Junior (Toy)
We have had this game for about three weeks and have played it almost every day. My 3 kids ages 7-11 love it. They always want me to play, but enjoy it with just two or three of them as well. My kids are sensitive to the idea of ghosts and we are not into pirates, so we just call the ghost island "skull" Island and the ghost captain we call just plain old captain. Also, the pirate liars we just call settlements. I wish there was an expansion kit for 5 or 6 players as they have for the adult catan version so my husband and I and the three older kids could play together. We get a new family board game every valentines day and this one is the biggest family favorite so far. Earthquake is our next favorite and we also love game wright card games like moose in the house and rat-a-tat-cat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for kids but consider some house rules if it's too easy!, August 29, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Catan: Junior (Toy)
This is a fantastic introduction of the classic Settlers of Catan mechanics, and helps teach kids about the importance of trading resources, either with "the bank" or the other opponents. The components are really nice: thick chunky cardboard pieces and highly detailed plastic molded pirate ships and pirate lairs. One of the best aspects is that the playing board is two-sided. One side is for 4 players, the other side is for 2 players. This awesome for child vs. parent games. However, the rules for the American version of this game were slightly changed form its German counterpart, and I think the changes make the game too easy.

For example, a player can trade resources 2:1 with the Stockpile or 1:1 with the Marketplace. If the players are trading between themselves (these are the "advanced rules"), then you take away the Marketplace. However, if your children are a bit older, e.g., 7 - 9, may I suggest you play by the original German rules, which had trading with he stockpile cost 3:1. Otherwise it's just too easy to get the gold resource, and lets the kids buy tons of "Poly" cards, i.e., the Development Cards from regular Catan. The Poly cards are WAY overpowered in this game compared to their German counterparts, and can lead to a quick win that may be frustrating for other young players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Catan on a simpler scale, but enjoyable by adults, December 15, 2013
This review is from: Catan: Junior (Toy)
I bought this for my 6 year old daughter. She always was asking to play Catan with me and her uncles, but she wasn't ready for the full-blown version. The game is easy to understand, quick, and playable with even only 2 players. I wish there were more games like this. The pieces are fun, colorful, and durable. Gotta run, she's asking for a rematch of Catan Junior!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought this for my 8 year old son... he loves it!, February 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Catan: Junior (Toy)
Our children get tickets or vouchers for doing chores that they then get to spend on things like TV time or other fun things. My 8 year old will save his tickets so that he can play Catan Junior with his mother and me. I wonder what he would do if he found out that I would totally play this game with him for free!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Catan: Junior
Catan: Junior by MayFair Games
$34.99 $29.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.