Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game
I have played this game several times and enjoyed each game.

To put the game in context:
- Each player is a master builder working on the cathedral at Kingsbridge England in the 1100s.
- Each turn represents about 10 years and their are 6 turns.
- Your goal is to make the greatest contribution to the construction of the cathedral. VPs represent...
Published on January 28, 2008 by James McCarty

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun game but not much depth.
I'm a serious gamer. This game, while fun, doesn't seem to have a lot of depth nor re-playabilty, Nice board, good components.
Published 13 months ago by Dan F. Steele


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game, January 28, 2008
By 
James McCarty (Hilliard, Ohio USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pillars of the Earth (Toy)
I have played this game several times and enjoyed each game.

To put the game in context:
- Each player is a master builder working on the cathedral at Kingsbridge England in the 1100s.
- Each turn represents about 10 years and their are 6 turns.
- Your goal is to make the greatest contribution to the construction of the cathedral. VPs represent that contribution.

Each turn has three major phases:
- In the first phase, you allocate your workers to producing various resources. You may also hire craftsmen during the phase.
- In the second phase, you allocate your master builder tokens to various tasks and functions. You are limited to three tokens so you must choose wisely. Also the other players are competing for the same tasks and functions.
- The third phase is mechanical and represents the actual actions you planned in the first and second phase. Once you learn the game, the third phase resolves very quickly.

I really like the way the game captures the feel of the book. Also, for an economic and production game, it plays very quickly once you become familiar with the turn flow. The component are of a very good quality.

The only thing I don't care for the randomness in allocating master builder tokens. It makes strategic planning difficult, but that might be an accurate reflection of the medieval world...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little difficult to start to play, May 14, 2007
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pillars of the Earth (Toy)
This game is a lot of fun and very quick to play (1 hour when you know how to play it).

The only thing I found troublesome was to get the hang of it at the beginning. The mechanics of the game concentrate the strategy in a few moments at the begining of 6 rounds and the rest of the round is an automatic outcome of your decisions as a player. This makes it diffcult to understand where your actions are getting you... So BE PATIENT... The second time you play it, you'll enjoy it a lot more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, February 21, 2009
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pillars of the Earth (Toy)
Me and my wife have had a great time playing this game. It wasn't to hard to learn how to play. After a few rounds you get the hang of it. There are a lot of different stratgies you can take, which makes the game really interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 6 rounds at 14 steps each, January 14, 2008
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pillars of the Earth (Toy)
If you are a fan of the book and like strategy games then you will enjoy this one. It is made up of 6 rounds of 14 steps each. At the beginning of the round you choose resources and craftsmen to use at the end of the round. A lot of the strategy is determining where to place your master builders so that you get the best resources and therefore receive the most kudos for contributing to the cathedral. The first time we played it took us about 3 hours to go through the instructions and firgure out all of the possibilities. It was fun and challenging but further play will determine if this game is a long running entertainer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece, February 24, 2008
By 
Christine Biancheria (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pillars of the Earth (Toy)
This is an outstanding game that plays well with just 2 or up to 4. The rules aren't terribly long, though you'll need a learning game to get a feel for how it plays out. Games take 2 hours or less (certainly less than Monopoly and Risk!). It's fun and a great way to challenge your mind. Great for older kids and definitely great just for adults. I highlyl recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the classics of worker placement, November 5, 2014
This review is from: Pillars of the Earth (Toy)
Playing this game for the first time 8 years after it was released is probably a bit unfair to it since every other game that comes out nowadays is worker placement and everyone's trying to come up with something different to make their worker placement game the diamond in the rough. And as a HUGE worker placement game fan AND critic I've played a lot of them and have seen some diamonds but also a lot of rough.

This is a fine game, it's well designed, has interesting decisions, and also teaches and plays easily and quickly. But it is just kind of bland next to all the worker placement stuff available nowadays.

Each turn players start by either buying craftsman or supplies of resources. Then when that phase is finished the starting player draws the players pawns randomly from a bag one at a time. When a player's piece is drawn he can decide to pay the current amount to place his pawn or place it for free after all other pawns have been placed. This is my favorite part of the game because it is a somewhat interesting and well designed approach to worker placement. The first seven pawns placed in a turn (each player has 3) cost 7-1 gold to place. This puts a cost on selecting highly sought after spaces while also giving you the option to take the "leftovers" for free. The starting player also still gets an advantage since he is able to once that round put a piece back and reselect.

However aside from a very small selection of special ability cards that's all that gives this game any kind of personality. The rest of the game is very standard worker placement actions leading up to having your craftsman just turn resources into points to represent building a cathedral (there's even 6 wooden pieces of the cathedral...which I guess is a nice aesthetic touch except they are just plain wood and I don't have the time or skill to paint them).

Very blah despite being well designed. Perhaps in 2006 it was good but it certainly doesn't hold up in 2014.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic game, February 7, 2009
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pillars of the Earth (Toy)
This game is a blast - it plays just as well with 2 people as it does with 4. So many elements that keep each game fresh. It's a must-have for those who love resource based board games (ie. Settlers of Catan).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good fun and strategy with some luck, September 12, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pillars of the Earth (Toy)
I bought this because I liked the book, but it's not necessary to have read the book to enjoy the game. Readers will recognize familiar characters and places. Game plays well with two - even better with more. You never have enough resources to do everything you want to do, but neither do your opponents - so you must make the best choices you can with limited resources. The game goes six rounds and you keep track with the unique method of building a six piece cathedral. When the cathedral is complete the game is over. This game is very enjoyable - I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great game, April 15, 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pillars of the Earth (Toy)
I don't think I have enjoyed any other game more that this one. It presents a new challenge every time as conditions change, it is complex, definitely a strategy game, and very original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic worker placement game. I actually prefer this to Lords of Waterdeep!, December 10, 2013
By 
G. Morgan (Leesburg, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pillars of the Earth (Toy)
Love just about everything about this game: Turn mechanics (and jockeying/paying for position), quality of the components, the board artwork, the theme (yes it is more evident than other euros), the cards, and the mechanics of the game. Speaking of mechanics, I love how for the resolution of activities on the board, you go in order in a clockwise fashion. After the first two rounds of the game, you will have the mechanics down and can focus on the nitty gritty details of looking for the best ways to accumulate victory points. And yes, I like this better than Lords of Waterdeep (even though I have many years of D&D under my belt).

In all, a wonderful addition to my library and a definite recommendation to anyone who enjoys medium weight worker placement games. Since getting the game, I am now enjoying the book as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Pillars of the Earth
Pillars of the Earth by MayFair Games
Used & New from: $102.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.