Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A joyful heart is good medicine!
Well, all I can say is don't read this on the bus on your way to work because people will think you're nuts when you begin guffawing and holding your sides. Are you sick and tired of self-help books which earn a lot of money for the author and do very little for you? Have you noticed the ludicrousness of life, including yourself? Do you find that in spite of all your...
Published on March 19, 2007 by Christian Book Previews

versus
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Premise, Lousy Implementation
Remember all those times Carson would bomb a joke on the Tonight show? Notice how Leno tries to make a joke out of something by a statement 180 degrees from reality?

Then you already know how this book works out. Since the two authors were Tonight show writers, the whole book is very formulaic.

Too bad, the world of self-help books really deserves a...
Published on August 16, 2007 by J. C. Luce


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A joyful heart is good medicine!, March 19, 2007
This review is from: Maybe Life's Just Not That Into You: When You feel Like the World's Voted You Off (Paperback)
Well, all I can say is don't read this on the bus on your way to work because people will think you're nuts when you begin guffawing and holding your sides. Are you sick and tired of self-help books which earn a lot of money for the author and do very little for you? Have you noticed the ludicrousness of life, including yourself? Do you find that in spite of all your imperfections (which everyone and their brother are happy to point out to you) you have fun? Or, on the other hand, are none of these how you feel but you'd like them to be? Then Maybe Life's Just Not That Into You is definitely for you.

Name it, it's in here - farce, slap-stick, drollery, jocosity, comedy, ridiculousness, wittiness, zaniness. Maybe Life's Just Not That Into You combines humor, cheerfulness, color, a biting brilliance, and a lot of laughter-engendered wisdom. And it is all drawn from self-help books, providing a festival of burlesque. Here is a sample from "10 Affirmations for the Procrastinator": (1) Just do it! Whenever; (5) I never put off until tomorrow what I can do four weeks from now; I no longer procrastinate on voting; (8) First thing in the morning, I'm going to mail in that absentee ballot to elect Gore/Lieberman (p. 96).

Okay, I have to admit it, this is a secular book. No Scripture in here. But, once in a while something sneaks in that sounds familiar. Besides being a noted media comedy writer, Martha Bolton writes for Focus on the Family's Brio magazine. Brad Dickson writes for Jay Leno, and other media comedy areas, as well as the Jewish World Review Web site.

[...]. Remember Proverbs 17.22, "A joyful heart is good medicine," and buy this book. - Donna Eggett, Christian Book [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Premise, Lousy Implementation, August 16, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maybe Life's Just Not That Into You: When You feel Like the World's Voted You Off (Paperback)
Remember all those times Carson would bomb a joke on the Tonight show? Notice how Leno tries to make a joke out of something by a statement 180 degrees from reality?

Then you already know how this book works out. Since the two authors were Tonight show writers, the whole book is very formulaic.

Too bad, the world of self-help books really deserves a bright sarcastic view... this isn't it.

I gave it two stars because there were a few bits that made me smile. Nothing out loud though and too much shaking of my head... I applaud the attempt but someone should have sent this back to re-write.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better Than Other Books, August 30, 2007
By 
This review is from: Maybe Life's Just Not That Into You: When You feel Like the World's Voted You Off (Paperback)
As someone with slight though persistent mental problems who alternates between wanting to mock and embrace the self-help genre, I found this book hit just the right note. And it made me laugh. But, before taking my word, remember, I have mental problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A much-needed satire delivers from p. 1, July 4, 2007
This review is from: Maybe Life's Just Not That Into You: When You feel Like the World's Voted You Off (Paperback)
Upon reading Bolton and Dickson's biting, but good-natured mockery of the self-help industry, the first thought that springs to mind is, "I can't believe this hasn't been done before." The self-help genre is surely ripe for satire, but the authors don't content themselves with grabbing low-hanging fruit; they constantly make their ribbing feel fresh. Their approach-- effectively, How to Live a Dysfunctional Life-- is wonderfully goofy, serving to keep their parody lively while never mean-spirited. Don't be surprised if you find yourself chuckling and shaking your head with delight as you make your way through this page turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Maybe Life's Just Not That Into You: When You feel Like the World's Voted You Off, September 2, 2007
By 
This review is from: Maybe Life's Just Not That Into You: When You feel Like the World's Voted You Off (Paperback)
Read lots of reviews before buying this. Cannot believe anyone would think this is a self help book or even a spoof on a self help book. The best thing about this book is the title. If you like real inane humor then this book is for you. Comparing it to the humor of Woody Allen or Gary Larsen is like comparing the Ritz Carlton to Days Inn. The humor is so corny that it brought back memories of the Three Stooges. If anyone wants this book I'd be glad to send it to them free just to get rid of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars highly recommended, December 13, 2006
By 
G. McKay (pittsburgh, pa United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Maybe Life's Just Not That Into You: When You feel Like the World's Voted You Off (Paperback)
this book was a great answer to all those self help books out there. It's very funny, poking fun at the various gurus, but it also offers something on its own.

I'd recommend it, something I don't do very often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, December 23, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maybe Life's Just Not That Into You: When You feel Like the World's Voted You Off (Paperback)
This is written more in the style of wise cracks than funny anecdotes or stories. A bit disappointed in this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, September 24, 2007
By 
This review is from: Maybe Life's Just Not That Into You: When You feel Like the World's Voted You Off (Paperback)
Admit it... you read all those popular so-called self-help books and put their advices, exercises, recommendations, suggestions, plans, ideas, mantras, meditations, visualizations, affirmations, prayers to work only to find that none of that silliness works, and then you turned to this book and had a NECESSARY GOOD OL' LAUGH!... I admit it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It changed my life!! It is soOooOOOoo wickedly funny!!, August 16, 2007
This review is from: Maybe Life's Just Not That Into You: When You feel Like the World's Voted You Off (Paperback)
Whenever I'm bored or sad I read this book. It changes my whole frame of mind. You can read it for a quick laugh or for long stretches. I bought 10 new books and I am giving them out as gifts!!! My favorite page is page 104...the power of not thinking at all. Ha ha ha ha. Every page is great, but that's my favorite!!

I recommend this book for anyone who needs a good laugh!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutley Awful!, September 12, 2007
By 
This review is from: Maybe Life's Just Not That Into You: When You feel Like the World's Voted You Off (Paperback)
I really give this book NO stars.
This was the dumbest book I have ever read. By reading the reviews of this book before I bought it-it sounded like it would be really funny. It is soooo disappointing, I couldn't finish reading it. Wish I could return it! It's going right into the charity box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Maybe Life's Just Not That Into You: When You feel Like the World's Voted You Off
$15.95 $14.36
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.