Customer Reviews


3,127 Reviews
5 star:
 (2,423)
4 star:
 (463)
3 star:
 (103)
2 star:
 (47)
1 star:
 (91)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


111 of 117 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy install, great performance.
This filter was a snap to install, and once I did my water pressure from the dispenser was back to normal. If you've
got a refrigerator that uses one of these filters and the water's been coming out slow then it's probably time for a new filter. One word of advice: use a big water pitcher for the first use of the dispenser after the filter change - the pressure has...
Published on February 14, 2010 by KH

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Filter With Poor Usage Life - No Quality Alternative.
I bought many Maytag UKF8001 over the past 5 years for the same refrigerator. I only had one that lasted 6 months. I bought a 3 pack recently and the water flow decreased to almost a trickle after 6 weeks of use for the first two filters placed into service. The alternative filters have poorer filtration quality so I don't have a good alternative that meets NSF/ANSI...
Published 3 months ago by George5727


‹ Previous | 1 2313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

111 of 117 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy install, great performance., February 14, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maytag UKF8001 Pur Refrigerator Water Filter 1-Pack (Tools & Home Improvement)
This filter was a snap to install, and once I did my water pressure from the dispenser was back to normal. If you've
got a refrigerator that uses one of these filters and the water's been coming out slow then it's probably time for a new filter. One word of advice: use a big water pitcher for the first use of the dispenser after the filter change - the pressure has to readjust and it will spit out a few huge blasts of water that will overwhelm your normal water glass. After the couple of big blasts though, you get constant good pressure, better than you remembered was even possible after the gradual slow down with your old filter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


304 of 334 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NO NEED TO CHANGE FILTER YEARLY FOR MOST USERS, October 30, 2009
This review is from: Maytag UKF8001 Pur Refrigerator Water Filter 1-Pack (Tools & Home Improvement)
This filter is rated at 750 gallons capacity. If the consumer uses one gallon of water per day in the form of water from the refrigerator dispenser and ice from the ice dispenser, the filter will last 750 days; i.e., just over TWO years. In general, there is no reason to replace the filter yearly, unless you have a really yuccky water source.

In a small household of two adults, the filter should last considerably longer than two years. Furthermore, with the addition of a filtered water dispenser at the sink (such as a GE undercounter unit), the refrigerator filter would be functional for a few years. The undercounter units have a quite large capacity and some use two filter cartridges.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A theory about determining which filter you got, July 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maytag UKF8001 Pur Refrigerator Water Filter 1-Pack (Tools & Home Improvement)
Lots of reviews on this site refer to the confusion regarding this replacement filter (UKF8001), so here are my observations on two matters:
1.) Which filter are we getting (750 Gallons vs 200 Gallons, etc) when we buy UKF8001?
2.) How frequently should we change it?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Gallon Capacity Rating ~~~~~~~~~~~~~
* Like everyone else, my box lists two different capacities (750 Gallon Rating & 200 Gallon Rating)
* Underneath each gallon rating it says the number of contaminents reduced (12 & 17 respectively)
* As others have shown in their photos, immediately below that, it lists a number of contaminents, with a checkmark as to whether the filter for that gallon rating filters each of the contaminents.

Note that for the 750 Gallon rating, contaminents reduced is 12 and chlorobenzene is not checked.
Note that for the 200 Gallon rating, contaminents reduced is 17 and cholorbenzene IS checked.

Now, here's the key observation. On the front of my box it says in a bright pink callout "Reduces 12 contaminents..."

Note that it does not say 17 contaminents, but 12. Also it does not mention chlorobenzene.

From this I take it that UKF8001 filter that I received is rated 750 gallons, and does not filter chlorobenzene.

I assume that if the filter were rated for 200 gallons and filtering chlorobenzene, then the box would be labeled on the front as filtering 17 contaminents, but I cannot prove this. I would be interested in hearing if anyone else has a box that has such a designation on the front to see how their box differs.

~~~~~~~~~~~~ Change at 6 months or 12 months ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Regarding changing the filter at 1 yr vs 6 months, here's what my refrigerator manual said about that:
"The filter monitor system measures the amount of water that passes through the filter and alerts you to replace the filter. When 90% of the filter's rated life is used, the yellow (Order) light comes on. When 100% of the filter's rated life is used, the red (Replace) light comes on, and it is recommended that you replace the filter. For models without filter status lights, replace the filter every 6 months. Use replacement filter model 67003523; order Part Number 4396395."

From this I take it that some refrigerators are advanced enough to measure the amount of water that has passed through the system and to make recommendations as to when to change the filter. To determine this, you would need to check your fridge manual.

If your refrigerator has such a feature, then you can probably go by the fridge's recommendation. Also, I suspect some fridges just go by the date and alert you after 6 months or a year. Or for those fridges that have a usage monitoring system, perhaps they alert you after six months or a year even if you haven't reached your maximum capacity rating.

For example, I have an advanced fridge with the capacity monitor. I installed UKF8001 the last two times, and each time the fridge has indicated a need to change the filter at just about 1 yr, even though there is no way we used 750 gallons in that time frame. Probably this is to ensure the filter gets changed regularly whether you have met the usage profile or not.

Regarding the fact that the box is stamped at 6 months even though it can be used for a full year and is rated at 750 Gallons, here's my theory. The filter manufacturer says that without a usage monitoring feature, their recommendation is 6 months. Probably the manufacturer stamps 6 months on the outside of the box since that is the shortest and most generic case (and also so they can sell more filters. Lol.)

But the frequency you should change the filter will depend on your particular fridge, your usage, and your water quality.

Finally, although the filter works just fine, I deducted one point from the rating because the packaging causes so much needless confusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


85 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whirlpool Water Filters, August 7, 2009
This review is from: Maytag UKF8001 Pur Refrigerator Water Filter 1-Pack (Tools & Home Improvement)
The Maytag UKF8001 Purclean11 works for my Whirlpool Refrigerator. The price was the lowest I found.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Tasting Water!, September 28, 2010
By 
AmazonAddict (Sacramento, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maytag UKF8001 Pur Refrigerator Water Filter 1-Pack (Tools & Home Improvement)
This water filter produces great tasting water! I have always been a fan of Pur water filtration systems, so with this filter you get the great taste of Pur filtered water right out of your refrigerator. It lasts about 1 year and then a red light on the refrigerator comes on indicating that it is time to swap out the water filter. To be honest, the water didn't really taste bad at the year marker, so you might be able to get the filter to last longer than that. Can't say for sure, though, since we have always gone ahead and swapped it out anyways.

It is super easy to install. It depends on your refrigerator, but on our Maytag the filter is on the inside of the refrigerator in the top back right corner. You open the filter door by pushing in the tab. Then turn the filter counter-clockwise to unscrew it. The filter will have some remaining water in it, so make sure that you keep it tilted up or you will have some water to wipe up. The new filter comes in shrink wrap plastic, so you take that off and then peal off the seal that covers the top of the filter. Insert the new filter where the old one was and turn clockwise to tighten. Don't over tighten it. Just get it snug. You will hear water rush into the filter as you are screwing it in. Then close the filter door. Last thing is to let some water run through the lines to remove all the air. I took a 1 gallon jug and just let the water fill it up. The instructions recommend running 4 gallons through to make sure you removed all the air. I only did 1 gallon and it seemed to be more than enough. That's it! Now you can just sit back and enjoy some clean filtered water.

If you figure the price of buying bottled water vs. a new filter once a year, this is definitely a good deal at an average cost of about $2.50 a month.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maytag Kitchenaid UKF8001 Water Filter, April 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maytag UKF8001 Pur Refrigerator Water Filter 1-Pack (Tools & Home Improvement)
This is the correct filter for my Kitchen-aid Refrigerator. Popped the old one out and placed this new filter in the slot and gave it a turn and it was in and the water came on! Easy efficient order and I would do it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intallation, October 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maytag UKF8001 Pur Refrigerator Water Filter 1-Pack (Tools & Home Improvement)
Intallation was much easier when the pressure on the water line was reduced by shutting the house valve and opening a faucet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased and easy to replace., December 7, 2012
By 
mrsprim "mrsprim" (houston, tx United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
We really waited too long to replace our fridge water filter. I actually thought it was going to be a harder process so I kept putting it off. It was done in probably 5 minutes and the water taste crystal clear again. Much better price than buying direct from appliance company. Fast delivery also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Alternative for Viking RWFFR, November 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Maytag UKF8001 Pur Refrigerator Water Filter 1-Pack (Tools & Home Improvement)
I have a Viking Fridge which "officially" uses the RWFFR filter. While the Viking filter sells for $60+, I was very happy to find a cheaper alternative. This filter is a perfect replacement for much less money. I can't tell any difference in taste, and in comparing the performance data sheets they appear exactly the same. They're probably made in the same factory with just a different sticker slapped on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the price is right, April 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's a filter. It fits the refigerator I have. What else can it do?
The amazon.com price is very good. Locally, I could buy less than two filters for what I paid for this 3pack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Maytag UKF8001 Pur Refrigerator Water Filter 1-Pack
$44.99 $27.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.