Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IN PRAISE OF MAZURKA
Mazurka promises a bumpy ride from the first sentence, and the turbulance abates only briefly throughout the novel. The first chapters kept me reading until the wee hours of the morning, and awake even longer. Interspersed among the many suspenseful scenes are intervals of beautifully described vistas of the European landscape. In spite of all the goings-on in this story,...
Published on November 11, 2009 by Marie Pinschmidt

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad book.
I first read Lazar's Cry of the Loon for free, so I thought I'd buy one to read. It's an interesting story, but most of all I enjoy Lazar's word pictures; he'a great descriptive writer. Though, sometimes the reader (and I fear Lazar, as well) get lost in the descriptive prose. The plot of this book was interesting, and had a couple of decent plot twists, and a...
Published on June 1, 2011 by G. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IN PRAISE OF MAZURKA, November 11, 2009
Mazurka promises a bumpy ride from the first sentence, and the turbulance abates only briefly throughout the novel. The first chapters kept me reading until the wee hours of the morning, and awake even longer. Interspersed among the many suspenseful scenes are intervals of beautifully described vistas of the European landscape. In spite of all the goings-on in this story, the author was able to incorporate a beautiful love story, an endearing heart-felt friendship, and finally unraveled a fascinating family secret.
Mazurka, the book, is fast-paced and exciting, much like its musical title. If you like intrigue, believable characterization, as well as a good love story, MAZURKA will fill the bill.

I also read his book, TREMELO, and enjoyed it very much; however, I believe Aaron has outdone himself with this release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MAZURKA is a lively piece, October 25, 2009
An enjoyable mystery/thriller, MAZURKA takes place in Paris, in a small town in Germany, in Vienna, and the Austrian countryside. Idyllic? Far from it. A honeymooning couple and their friend are targeted and pursued by a relentless band of skinhead Neo-Nazis through a harrowing series of life-threatening encounters. Their only hope of escape is an ambiguous protective arrangement with agents of Interpol. Author Lazar is skillful at creating suspense and a sense of foreboding that terrible things are going to happen. His novel is an exciting read and contains many startling surprises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unexpected relative, March 27, 2014
This review is from: Mazurka (LeGarde Mysteries Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
This book is darker than Aaron Lazar's others. It starts out pleasantly enough, with Siegfried sleeping all the way to Paris (and oh, how I envy anyone who can do that!) But once there, things quickly spiral out of control, and we are taken on a challenging journey into the depths of prejudice, fanaticism and the violence that is the almost inevitable end of these two together.
Aaron pulls it off, because he and Gus (!) are decent human beings and somehow decency and kindness triumph over all the ugliness. Any maybe that is really the only way to deal with the darkness that plagues us in our "real lives" anyway...
Along the way we are treated to various beautiful European cities and special places. When you read about them here, you know the author has actually been there!
I loved the idea of the unexpected relative they found... and I rejoiced with Gus and his family when everyone was finally safely home again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forever changed, March 18, 2014
This review is from: Mazurka (LeGarde Mysteries Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Mazurka by Aaron Paul Lazar is an amazing addition to the Gus LeGarde mysteries. I am so infatuated with these characters and the story lines developed by Lazar, that I am able to place myself comfortably within the situations. This particular addition to the series deals with the difficult subject of prejudice and unmitigated hatred, while still surrounding the characters in unconditional love. Lazar addresses this subject with the expertise of all of his books. The scenes are descriptive and beautiful. Chapter 40 nearly destroyed me, emotionally ripping a hole in my heart. But Lazar continued and painstakenly rebuilt it for me. This book transported me, and I am forever changed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Travel to Europe with Gus and Camille, February 16, 2014
By 
Joan H. Young "sharkbytes" (Scottville, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mazurka (LeGarde Mysteries Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Gus and Camille are on their honeymoon, taking Sigfried with them, and get involved in more than they bargained for. You will need to stretch your imagination a bit to believe what they learn about a favorite composer's past, but it provides an intriguing sub-plot to the all-too-believable encounter with some young neo-Nazis. I always find it interesting when an author takes a character out of his or her home setting. How will that person act? How much is the hero's personality tied into the normal surroundings? Perhaps the biggest surprise in this book is delivered by Sigfried!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action Packed Mystery!!, August 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mazurka (LeGarde Mysteries Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Filled with drama and suspense this book is a little different from the other Gus LeGarde writings in that the majority takes place in Europe. I feel as though I've had a mini vacation to a place I'll probably never get to visit. I've seen a glimpse of paintings by Monet, Degas and heard interludes of Chopin and other Masters. I visited museums and the Eiffel Tower and saw the road on which Princess Diana died. And woven throughout are scenes that are literally nail-biting, heartbreaking and heartwarming!! Take a trip and get away with this one!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wild trip to Europe with Gustave, Camille and Siegfried, March 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mazurka (LeGarde Mysteries Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
The thrills start from the first page. Love Lazar's ability to show and not just tell. This author's gift places the reader right in the midst of the plot and not just a eavesdropper. I have read previous books from this series but other than insight into the characters, it is not absolutely necessary. I will say that when you read just one, you will want to return to read all the others in his LeGarde series as well as Sam Moore mysteries and the Tall Pines Mysteries.

The descriptions of the sites, sounds, smells and flavors of their trip is magnificent as well as history and the secrets it keeps.

I did miss the hometown feel of this book but just like when you take a vacation, you miss those that did not come with you and you look forward to coming home.

This is an author that those who have not read his writings are truly missing out on wonderful stories. This book is just as good and many times better than ones that I have paid 4 times as much.

Thank you again Mr. Lazar. I hope you are blessed in turn from the blessings you have shared with us readers of your magical writings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mazurka, June 23, 2010
A treat in store for the reader! Gus LeGarde returns in an adventure that will have you biting your nails as you read.

A honeymoon trip begins with their plane caught in a horrific storm. Was this a preview of things to come? How could Seigfried end up in a hospital, the victim of a street attack? How do Gus and Camille end up lost under the streets of Paris? Is someone after them? Who?

This tale combines loads of action, romance, description that takes you there, and suspense. Danger seems to dog the trio from the minute they step off the plane. As innocent tourists how did they draw down the wrath of a group of discontented demonstrators?

You'll love all the characters in this tale, so well are they drawn. The villains are the kind you'll love to hate as they are so completely opposite the world Gus and family normally inhabit. This is a tale that gives the reader food for thought. The menace feels real.

I'm happy to recommend this tale by talented author Aaron Paul Lazar as one that will keep you reading and leave you satisfied that it was time well spent. The complex plot is a skillful combination of subplots driven by the motives and actions of well-drawn characters. You'll be looking for other books by this imaginative author and enjoy every one of them. Enjoy. I certainly did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars kept me rivetted, June 20, 2014
This review is from: Mazurka (LeGarde Mysteries Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
MAZURKA AARON PAUL LAZAR
Finally Gus and Camille have married and are on vacation in Paris with their friend Sigfreid when caught up in a Neo-Nazi demonstration. They make some enemies after a tragic event occurs and are on the run from some very determined and violent people. While hiding in Germany the trio discovers a family secret involving an ancestor.
This book takes the reader through a mini tour of Europe and the plot is spell binding as they run for their lives. This is a page turner and once again I had a hard time putting it down. Mr. Lazar has done a top-notch job of making the reader really hate the villains and root for our heroes as they get themselves out of continual danger.
One more example of a 5 star piece of writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent, fast-paced thriller, May 29, 2014
This review is from: Mazurka (LeGarde Mysteries Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Readers should fasten their seatbelts, because they’re in for a page turning, midnight oil burning thrill ride! This story is an action packed adventure that just keeps turning and twisting. It is the story of the most exciting honeymoon trip ever.

Gus LeGarde has married his lovely fiancée, Camille and they’re off on a dream trip to Europe. Gus’ brother-in-law Siegfried is to accompany the couple to Paris, then travel to Germany to visit his elderly great-aunt who has something important to give him. Although a third person on a honeymoon may be unusual, it is Siegfried who inadvertently initiates the action that kicks off a series of breathtaking chases and dangerous events.

Readers will encounter neo-Nazis, Interpol agents and other mysterious characters as they race from one narrow escape to another with Gus and Camille. This story is more of a thriller than a mystery, but it includes tours to beautifully described historic locations, heart-warming family connections and a substantial variety of surprises. LeGarde fans will especially enjoy this intriguing adventure. Those who are new to LeGarde will become fans, and it’s a sure bet that no reader of mystery-suspense will be disappointed in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mazurka (LeGarde Mysteries Book 4)
$3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.