Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


88 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Read for Tweens/Teens and Their Parents
"Please don't let anyone get in your way!" So starts Erika V. Shearin Karres' book MEAN CHICKS, CLIQUES, AND DIRTY TRICKS. This is some of the best advice you will find, but doesn't even compare to the rest of the advice that Ms. Karres gives throughout this book.
Part of being a girl is getting used to the "in" crowd, snobs, bullies, teasing,...
Published on May 25, 2004 by Erika Sorocco

versus
24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for opening a conversation, some good advice, but... barely deeper than a "very special episode" of your favorite sitcom
I have a daughter on the cusp of middle school, when the girls are just starting to get into the familiar patterns of female-to-female relational aggression so common at that stage. I ordered this book figuring perhaps it would be a good resource for her for dealing with some of these issues. I have read several books for adults that deal with these issues ("Reviving...
Published on June 23, 2008 by HRW - Massachusetts


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

88 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Read for Tweens/Teens and Their Parents, May 25, 2004
By 
Erika Sorocco (Southern California, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mean Chicks, Cliques, And Dirty Tricks: A Real Girl's Guide to Getting Through the Day with Smarts and Style (Paperback)
"Please don't let anyone get in your way!" So starts Erika V. Shearin Karres' book MEAN CHICKS, CLIQUES, AND DIRTY TRICKS. This is some of the best advice you will find, but doesn't even compare to the rest of the advice that Ms. Karres gives throughout this book.
Part of being a girl is getting used to the "in" crowd, snobs, bullies, teasing, cliques, gossip, backstabbing, and more, whether during school hours, or on your own time. It is the one thing that makes being a female extremely tough, and easily compares girls to wild animals fighting over the tiniest thing.
Split up into 10 Chapters, MEAN CHICKS breaks female predators down into various groups, and writes about each separately. Chapters on The Bully, The Snob, The Gossip, The Traitor, The Teaser, and so on, feature quotes from young girls who have been bullied in the past (this feature alone will have tweens and teens interested in this book, as they feel as if they are being spoken to by their peers, as opposed to a parent/teacher/guardian), stories about girls who have overcome bullies, quizzes, resources, and an all around survival guide to help tweens, teens, and their parents deal with the problem civilly.
As someone who has been bullied non-stop in the past, I found this book to be extremely empowering, yet uplifting at the same time. I even starting crying a few times when reading the true stories from girls who have been bullied, as I could relate to them so well. Ms. Karres' breakdown of each type of girl is entirely accurate, and will have readers nodding their head in agreement with her comments about The Bully, Traitor, and so on. Parents with a tween/teen girl who is being bullied should definitely purchase this book, as it will be a helpful guide for both YOU and your child. Don't miss MEAN CHICKS, as it is a necessity.
Erika Sorocco
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for opening a conversation, some good advice, but... barely deeper than a "very special episode" of your favorite sitcom, June 23, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mean Chicks, Cliques, And Dirty Tricks: A Real Girl's Guide to Getting Through the Day with Smarts and Style (Paperback)
I have a daughter on the cusp of middle school, when the girls are just starting to get into the familiar patterns of female-to-female relational aggression so common at that stage. I ordered this book figuring perhaps it would be a good resource for her for dealing with some of these issues. I have read several books for adults that deal with these issues ("Reviving Ophelia," "Odd Girl Out," "Queen Bees and Wannabes" and such), but they tend to lack practical advice for the girls in the midst of these things.

This book is geared, instead, toward the girl facing this world on a daily basis. Overall, I think it's a decent resource, with a description of the behaviors a girl is likely to encounter, advice for how to deal with them, quizzes, examples of how other girl dealt with things...

There were, though, some things that keep me from giving this book a better rating. I think the suggestions were pretty simplistic, and while not as bad as simply saying "ignore them and eventually they'll leave them alone," they didn't really go into the REAL consequences of taking some of the recommended stands from the book. The author makes it sound as if once a girl rattles off a speech from the book, the "mean chicks" will leave her alone... which isn't quite the reality most of us have encountered. I'm not saying any of it is bad advice, I just think it paints a rosy picture of how quickly and easily these things work.

Another thing that bothered me was how much time was spent on excusing the offending girls' behaviors. The gossip should be embraced for her exceptional story telling skills, the bully should be pitied because she's probably being bullied at home, and so on. These may be true in some cases, but it's such a simple after school special way of looking at the world - get to the root of this other girl's issue and she'll suddenly be miss congeniality. Everything seems neatly wrapped up in a bow far too frequently in the book.

(The other annoyance was the pop culture references and attempts at slang which rapidly date an otherwise still contemporary book. It's hard enough for adult editors at magazines to keep up with this without sounding ridiculous to teens and adults... the shelf life of a book makes it all the more pronounced.)

All in all, I would recommend this as a conversation starter and to give some guidance to a girl who occasionally encounters rough behavior, but if you have - or are - a child who is truly bullied on a day-to-day basis, don't expect a life changing experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!, January 17, 2005
This review is from: Mean Chicks, Cliques, And Dirty Tricks: A Real Girl's Guide to Getting Through the Day with Smarts and Style (Paperback)
This book was awesome!! It put everything that happens at school into perspective for other people. I even did a book report for English on this book. So I decided to include part of it in this review, on this book in which I highly recommend:

One of her most inspiring books is Mean Chicks, Cliques, and Dirty Tricks. In this book, Dr. Erika explains how cruel young women are to each other. Her audience is mainly geared for middle or high school girls. She describes the stereotypes of most "mean chicks" of every school and ways to handle their behavior. She also uses several forms of sarcasm such as when she is mentioning how to deal with a "teaser." After someone has been teasing you, Dr. Erika's advises you to "record on paper what's being said, word for word, and by whom, when, and where. When someone asks `What're you doing?' you reply, `I'm documenting what's going on. Just in case this ends up in court. My dad says, `You always have to have the facts first.'" Her sense of humor continues as she writes about stereotyping people in which "Labels are for soup cans and sunscreens, not for people." Dr. Erika also includes references from other fields such as science. She labels different cliques as "alpha," "beta," and "gamma." Her friendly tone creates a more personal relationship between the reader and the author. The novel is full of motivating quotes and stories made by young girls who are spreading kindness to our society. Dr. Erika also includes fun filled quizzes so readers can find where they stand with the "mean chicks" and how to make situations better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Book- I Use It With My Students!!!, January 25, 2004
By 
Marjorie (Northern New Jersey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mean Chicks, Cliques, And Dirty Tricks: A Real Girl's Guide to Getting Through the Day with Smarts and Style (Paperback)
I teach in a middle school and was lucky to read Mean Chicks, Cliques, and Dirty Tricks -- I am using the many terrific tips to help guide students who are often very upset about the difficult and upsetting social episodes they encounter -- and Dr. Karres' explanations, approaches, and advice in this book are exceptional!! The book includes writings from girls in need of real-life down-to-earth objective and educated help for tough situations in dealings with peers ( who can be nasty and hurtful)
and they are answered so beautifully, with both logic and sensitivity. I've covered some of the excellent empowerment tips with my students and they love them!! This book is an esteem-builder and empowerment bible for girls from elementary through high school (probably even adults!!) and parents, too, can learn alot here for assisting their children through the social rocky roads of the girls' world. Tips on dealing with all personality types, behaviors, and issues --from bullies and teasers to groupies and newcomers on the block -- being in good moods and bad moods -- are included PLUS the book has a section called "Cool Tools" listing additional resources. This is great for teaching girls they can own their power and do have choices to attain further support; they are not alone and can learn how to cope with and overcome tough people and relationships! I invite my students to look at my copy of the book ( I keep it on my desk) and they rush up to grab it! This book is a double winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Book is Helping Me Alot, February 10, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Mean Chicks, Cliques, And Dirty Tricks: A Real Girl's Guide to Getting Through the Day with Smarts and Style (Paperback)
My Mom gave me this book to read because I have had alot of problems as a teenager just dealing with all the social drama and fighting that goes on. Every week there are fights and disagreements and I find so many girls can be cruel and get jealous and hurt each other. I really like this book and it is helping me. I feel like I'm reading about my own friends and the kids in my school with different names. Dr. Karres also explains why girls act the way they do and gives good ideas for how to act and what to say when kids act out and get really mean or think they are better than anyone else. I tried a few ideas in this book and they really work! I am also learning more about why I act they way I do sometimes and get in sad or down moods because of all the things that go on with kids around me. I think this is a very good book and everyone should read it. I wish they would teach kids this stuff in school so there wouldn't be so many problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Gift for any Girl, January 21, 2004
By 
Laura O'Brien (Raleigh, North Carolina) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mean Chicks, Cliques, And Dirty Tricks: A Real Girl's Guide to Getting Through the Day with Smarts and Style (Paperback)
Mean Chicks, Cliques, and Dirty Tricks is the perfect gift for any girl and is exactly what all girls (whether in elementary, middle, or high school) need to read. In today's schools there is so much competition and jealousy between females. Dr. Karres's book outlines the different types of "tough chicks," whether it be the snob, the gossip, the bully, the traitor, etc. and offers an insightful look at the reasons behind why some girls act the way they do. Not only will this book help girls understand each other, but also it provides practical advice on how to problem solve and develop strategies for dealing with difficult relationships. This book empowers girls by teaching them how to be proactive peacemakers and form friendships that will last. The wisdom offered in this book will save girls from a lot of frustration and unnecessary disputes by simply applying the advice and strategies provided. I wish I had read it back when I was in school and am sending a copy to my young cousin as an early birthday present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best, March 21, 2004
This review is from: Mean Chicks, Cliques, And Dirty Tricks: A Real Girl's Guide to Getting Through the Day with Smarts and Style (Paperback)
This book is really good I'm a middle-schooler and this book helps me understand why theese girls do the things they do. now i know that i can beat their tricks knowing that their doing it to be popular and i understand that theese girls are not at all perfect, in fact they have more problems then we think. now i know that i am stronger then the bully and that i can outsmart them and shrug off what they say. i love this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mean chicks, cliques, and dirty tricks, January 11, 2007
This review is from: Mean Chicks, Cliques, And Dirty Tricks: A Real Girl's Guide to Getting Through the Day with Smarts and Style (Paperback)
Wonderful help for a 13 year old daughter. She read it with great interest and I feel it helped her understand some of the problems she is experiencing as a 13 year old
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for Girls!, November 9, 2006
This review is from: Mean Chicks, Cliques, And Dirty Tricks: A Real Girl's Guide to Getting Through the Day with Smarts and Style (Paperback)
This book is a must for all young girls. This book is "real" and is a great foundation for developing character for young girls who must deal with the rough tough meaness of the female world. It validates the sad reality and garbage stuff that's really going on among young girls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 78 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A load of crock., March 15, 2005
This review is from: Mean Chicks, Cliques, And Dirty Tricks: A Real Girl's Guide to Getting Through the Day with Smarts and Style (Paperback)
This book takes heartfelt letters written by girls trusting their most private experiences to a complete stranger (the author) -- and dissects them like a dead frog, telling the girls what they did "wrong" and how they "should" be acting, feeling, behaving if they want to a get a good grade, because this book GRADES every girl in their "First Person" segments.

The book's so-called solutions to complex friendship problems are condescending, written in wittle gurl speak, as if all of the challenges that a teenager faces can be cured by reading one saccharine-sweet paragraph.

This is a great book to give a teenager if you want her to come out acting like a little eye-batting robot who likes to give her friends lectures or follow lemmings over a cliff. Otherwise, I'd recommend books that don't gloss over problems or treat teen's issues like a pre-packaged slab of meat. I just read "Odd Girl Speaks Out" which quotes girls' full experiences without giving too much of a dumbed down response.

It too, however, may not have the answers to life's toughest questions -- but few (if any) books do. For the hardest or most dangerous issues, the best thing you can do is turn to a live person -- and keep turning until you find someone who actually listens to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mean Chicks, Cliques, And Dirty Tricks: A Real Girl's Guide to Getting Through the Day with Smarts and Style
$12.50 $10.70
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.