Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Information, But Bad Format
This book has taken content from Mark Rippetoe's forum and organized it around various subjects (injury, sports-specific training, etc.) If you have not read Rippetoe before, don't start with this book as it doesn't do him justice. Starting Strength and Practical Programming are excellent books if you are looking for specific training advice and information, and Strong...
Published on January 2, 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good casual read
Coach Rip says in the beginning of this book..stick this book next to you toilet or when you have free time. It's a good read and you will pick up useful information. I'm halfway finished with it and I've had it for 3 months. Just taking my time and laughing at people who come up with ridiculous questions. You learn fast that common sense isn't so common. It's just a...
Published 16 months ago by Jesse Lindenstein


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Information, But Bad Format, January 2, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mean Ol' Mr. Gravity (Paperback)
This book has taken content from Mark Rippetoe's forum and organized it around various subjects (injury, sports-specific training, etc.) If you have not read Rippetoe before, don't start with this book as it doesn't do him justice. Starting Strength and Practical Programming are excellent books if you are looking for specific training advice and information, and Strong Enough? is a wonderful collection of his essays on the topic of strength training. He is smart and articulate and funny - a combination rarely found in any author, much less one who writes on the subject of weight training.

The problem with this book is that it is difficult to read for the same reasons it is difficult to read Internet forums - the writing is often poor (by those asking the questions) and the content is frequently redundant. This book could have been much, much better had it been written solely by Mr. Rippetoe. Still, if you are a fan (as I am) you will want to buy this book. It is frequently funny and very informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny stuff, January 12, 2010
This review is from: Mean Ol' Mr. Gravity (Paperback)
This book has all kinds of useful tidbits and builds upon the information currently in Mr. Rippetoe's other books. However, this book has had me laughing hard every time I read it. If you don't learn anything from it, you'll at least find something to give you a good belly laugh.

If you are a fan of Mr. Rippetoe's humor, this book won't let you down. If you are a fan of his brand of knowledge, this book won't let you down. If you are craving a drier, more information-based text like in SS:BBT, this is probably not your book, but you'd still learn something anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for little tips on strength training, February 18, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mean Ol' Mr. Gravity (Paperback)
This book is good to have if you have rip's other 3 books. It povides a lot of small little tips here and there, and some humour too.

However, if you do not have his 3 other books, ''starting strength'', ''practical programming'' and ''Strong enough?''. I recommend you buy, read and understand those books first, in that order. Those are the very basic and most important stuff about strength training you need to know before you try to absorb little tips in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great companion piece to Starting Strength, January 15, 2010
By 
Christopher M. Hickman (Kenosha, WI, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mean Ol' Mr. Gravity (Paperback)
First and foremost, if you have not read and are not trying to implement at LEAST Starting Strength if not Practical Programming as well, you're pretty much wasting your time. This book serves as both a FAQ and a philosophical expansion of those two books.

If you are implementing Starting Strength, this is a fantastic and extremely necessary companion for you. While the forum on the website is helpful, your question has probably already been asked and answered and it's probably in this book. There's no need to find it and bookmark it, or print it out, it's all right here.

As for the writing style....Mark is not one of those fluffy "motivational" personal trainers. He has a strong, biting, sarcastic wit about him and it translates into his writing, even more clearly than in "Strong Enough?" I imagine some people will be turned off by that, but it's their loss. Speaking of that book, with the existence of Mean 'Ol Mr. Gravity, Strong Enough is now pretty much unnecessary beyond being a fan of Mark, if your goal is to gain strength training knowledge.

This book has a very specific purpose and it does very well at that. If you need it, get it. If you're looking for a more generalized text, get Starting Strength or The Strongest Shall Survive (or both).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant, February 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mean Ol' Mr. Gravity (Paperback)
A must for anybody interested in strength training, funny, informative, brill...the Q&A is priceless ,most questions on strength training are answered here.......to get the full gist of it it would be benificial to buy "Starting Strength""...rippetoe a flagship and utterly brilliant and essential for anyone interested in proper technique and learning the lifts...I personally have all his books and DVD...p.s, the
starting strength DVD is "the holy grail" of lifting technique....don't know him, but love his work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another GREAT Rippetoe book, December 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mean Ol' Mr. Gravity (Kindle Edition)
Mark Rippetoe is an excellent writer and a true expert in his field. I just love his books. They are all well-written and informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting format, good content, October 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mean Ol' Mr. Gravity (Kindle Edition)
I've never read a book that was a compilation of forum posts. The contents can all be found un-edited on the Starting Strength forums. The content is some of the best written Q&A about barbell training available in print, and there is a lot of humor.

I bought the kindle version and some of the formatting isn't perfect, but it doesn't detract from the insightful and entertaining (if you're into lifting) content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good casual read, August 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mean Ol' Mr. Gravity (Paperback)
Coach Rip says in the beginning of this book..stick this book next to you toilet or when you have free time. It's a good read and you will pick up useful information. I'm halfway finished with it and I've had it for 3 months. Just taking my time and laughing at people who come up with ridiculous questions. You learn fast that common sense isn't so common. It's just a collecting of post from his website. If you want his better stuff purchase SS or Practical Programing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for short reads and a lot of wisdom shared!, October 7, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mean Ol' Mr. Gravity (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book few months ago when a kindle only discount was offered. I have read both Starting Strength and Practical Programming, and frequently visit his forum online. When I first got into strength training, after reading his book, I started reading his old forum posts and learned a lot in the process. In fact when I got injured once, I read older forum posts where him and others like Dr. Sullivan had made great suggestions. I rehabbed my injury almost entirely based on what I learned from those forum posts, and came back stronger 3 months later. The book is essentially a collection of a lot these great forum conversations where a lot of training, nutrition, and rehab wisdom was shared. The book is great for short reads.

I like his style of writing and brand of humor. A little more organization of the topics themselves into some meaningful categories like Training, Nutrition, Rehab, Programming, etc., would have been little more helpful, but that's just my perspective. All that being said, it's a great read and worth the price I paid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff, January 29, 2010
By 
Matthew H. Lentzner (Fremont, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mean Ol' Mr. Gravity (Paperback)
While Mean Ol' Mr. Gravity (MOMG) is not essential like Starting Strength (SS) and Practical Programming (PP), it is still really good. It fills in the little gaps and cracks that the other books might have missed. If you read those books and have a question then chances are that it has been answered in MOMG.

If you already have SS and PP and want more of Rip's wisdom then this is the next book to buy. You'll also get a good dose of Rip's "earthy" sense of humor, which is often laugh out loud funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mean Ol' Mr. Gravity
Mean Ol' Mr. Gravity by Mark Rippetoe
$7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.