Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Mean What You Say
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Mean What You Say

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, June 27, 1990
"Please retry"
$6.99 $4.49

Amazon Artist Stores

All the music, full streaming songs, photos, videos, biographies, discussions, and more.

Product Details

  • Audio CD (June 27, 1990)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Concord Records
  • ASIN: B0000006IM
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #308,579 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. I've Never Been In Love Before
2. Blues On The East Side
3. Stairway To The Stars
4. Like Someone In Love
5. Hicks Time
6. In A Sentimental Mood
7. Mean What You Say
8. This Is New
9. Virgo

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By jazz lover since 1960 on January 9, 2013
Format: Audio CD
Peter Leitch is a Canadian born guitar virtuoso who has been working in the US since 1983, and has established himself as one of the best.
This 1990 recording includes some of his best bandmates. This was the third time he recorded with Ray Drummond, bass and Marvin "Smitty" Smith, drummer. He had worked with piano giant, the late, great, John Hicks for several years. You can sense the togetherness of the group by the beautiful interaction and flow of the tunes.
Peter wanted to record standard tunes, and they really dig into a swinging version of album opener "I've Never Been In Love Before," and continue to deliver with "Stairway to The Stars," "Like Someone In Love" and "In A Sentimental Mood." Peter and John Hicks are superb at this sort of thing. (See my reviews of John Hicks recordings on Amazon. I consider John to be one of the premier pianists of the modern era, and Ray Drummond rightfully points out that John "has a very strong romantic streak.") I agree with Ray, and I add that John can swing! Hear the romping versions of Hick's original "Hick's Time."
For more excitement, hear them tear throgh the changes on Kurt Weill-Ira Gershwin's "This Is New."
Here you have it all:excitement, romance, swing. Doesn't get any better than that. These guys Mean What They Say.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category