Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An existence proof that math is art.
Lockhart's enthusiasm and humor shows through on every page of this book, as he makes cheerful battle with fundamental ideas. Too often we teach dead & dry facts, and leave creativity as an exercise for the reader, if we mention it at all. Measurement's primary subject is that intuition and creativity, spelling out tricks and tools that creative mathematicians use to...
Published on September 14, 2012 by Carlos Bueno

versus
34 of 45 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This book is not meant for beginners.
Paul Lockhart uses a different approach to teaching mathematics. He introduces axioms, then asks questions about possible extrapolations, but does not guide, and does not provide answers which would allow the reader/student to verify their ideas.

E.g., page 29 shows two star-like figures. He asks if I can work out the angles of a regular n-sided polygon. I had...
Published 20 months ago by Wilhelm Ruff


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An existence proof that math is art., September 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Measurement (Hardcover)
Lockhart's enthusiasm and humor shows through on every page of this book, as he makes cheerful battle with fundamental ideas. Too often we teach dead & dry facts, and leave creativity as an exercise for the reader, if we mention it at all. Measurement's primary subject is that intuition and creativity, spelling out tricks and tools that creative mathematicians use to cope, and the joy in it that keeps them going:

Keep asking questions! They are more important than answers.

Prove something more than one way. Can you generalize?

Pay attention to symmetry, wherever you find it.

Guess. Then guess again. Get used to being stuck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Measurement and Then Some, October 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Measurement (Hardcover)
I am now half way through this book and it is one of the best books explaining the process of mathematical thinking that I have ever read. It explains in plain English lots of interesting and basic mathematical theorems, many of them geometrical, without obscuring them in a blizzard of algebra. Even though the author decries depending on diagrams as proofs, there are lots of very clear and helpful hand drawn diagrams which make various concepts clear. Yes, there are algebraic formulas but they are germane to the subjects being discussed and are not inserted just to make the author look good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great math book even for people who don't think they are good at math, November 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Measurement (Hardcover)
This is a great math book even for people who don't think they are good at math. When I watched the video of this guy talking about the subject I thought I would give it a try. The book is great because the author breaks down the subject into simple concepts that even I could understand. So far I have only read the first chapter. The book discusses the deep philosophical thoughts in math, for example what is a proof?. The first chapter discusses geometry. I recommend this book to any one who want to develop an love for the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best math book you will ever read!, November 28, 2012
By 
Lhianna (Philadelphia, PA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Measurement (Hardcover)
If you only ever read one book on mathematics in your life, read this. Paul Lockhart writes so clearly and passionately. (Yes, I used "passion" and "math" together!) He is a brilliant mathematician AND a great writer! This is a very rare combination. He presents math in an intuitive and conceptual way that shows you the beauty of discovery and patterns and symmetry but requires very little calculation or knowledge of the mathematical language. For non-math people this presentation is very accessible and easy to read. He is talking about concepts that are universal. For math-people to presentation style is a reinforcement of why you love math, do math, and a demonstration of how you really think when you are solving a problem. I highly, highly recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 45 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This book is not meant for beginners., January 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Measurement (Hardcover)
Paul Lockhart uses a different approach to teaching mathematics. He introduces axioms, then asks questions about possible extrapolations, but does not guide, and does not provide answers which would allow the reader/student to verify their ideas.

E.g., page 29 shows two star-like figures. He asks if I can work out the angles of a regular n-sided polygon. I had some ideas but could not balance them against a solution provided, and thus work out where I went right/wrong. This happened in an even more discouraging manner on page 31, where he asks, again without guidance, What are all symmetrical polyhedra? That's when I stopped reading because I felt inadequate.

Without having been able to remember some of the terms from school, I would not even have been able to know what the latter part of the first topic was about.

This is not meant as a criticism. Students of mathematics may very well appreciate his teaching methodology. I just would like to say that this book was not meant for the likes of me: a person who would like to learn about mathematics from the beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look no further for an excellent replacement of the current math-ed up to calculus., February 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Measurement (Hardcover)
I will only say this: if I had this book and this teacher in my High School curriculum, I would have majored in math.

I cried tears of awe reading this book. The man is writing poetry with mathematics. Don't think it can be done? Read this book and lament on the fact that you were deprived of this art-form.

If you are a parent, consider providing inspiration for all the hard work in your kids math classes with this book as a guide.

Start reading and enjoy the journey into the jungle where odd creatures behave in all kind of interesting patterns for us to explore!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pencil and paper, January 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Measurement (Hardcover)
Read this with a pencil and paper beside you so you can do the problems and draw diagrams for yourself. The book isnt easy. It gives a non-mathematican an insight into how the math guy thinks and its fascinating. How many degrees are there in a pentagon? I loved the book, I'm reading it for the second time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read. Interesting for everyone!, April 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Measurement (Kindle Edition)
A wonderful book! It shows clearly the beauty of mathematics at a quite elementary level. The author goes to great lengths to show what is interesting about Mathematics. It is not the complicated formulae, or the algebra, but great, simple, utterly convincing ideas. If the reader is willing to think hard while reading, he/she will be rewarded by many stunning results presented in a completely straightforward manner. The first part, probably the one that best achieves its stated purpose, deals only with geometry. Since the basics objects of geometry (straight lines, circles, angles...) are familiar to anybody, it is really possible to prove beautiful results without using any of the apparatus, such as algebra and calculus, which many people find difficult. The second part is an attempt to introduce algebra and calculus in a very simple and well motivated way. Since I already know the material quite well, I cannot really say whether the attempt actually succeeds, but I certainly found the presentation very striking and quite engrossing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want to know why some of us belive mathematics is beautiful?, July 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Measurement (Kindle Edition)
Mr. Lockhart has previously written (A Mathematician's Lament) about the joyless methods that were used to teach most of us mathematics. Fortunately I was one who found the joy behind both the practical significance of arithmetic (yes the bank needs to know the exact balance of your account even if you don't care to figure it out) and the memorization of tables; now called math facts (yes, even musicians need to practice scales and train their fingers if they wish to make music, not just appreciate it).

If you already know how joyful and remarkable mathematics can be, Mr. Lockhart writes in a way that is easy to read and offers many examples of familiar problems and solves them in a way that emphasizes the elegance and beauty of both the problem and its solution.

If you wonder WHY some of us KNOW that mathematics is elegant and beautiful and wish to share that joy, give the book a whirl. You don't need to know more about mathematics than basic arithmetic. As long as you know that algebra and geometry exist; expertise is not required, you will do fine. However as easy as it is to read, be warned that sometimes the mathematics and logic will appear so clearly as if by magic and other times your brain will be challenged and you may struggle mentally as mightily as a women struggles physically (and mentally) to give birth. Whether the struggle is worth it is entirely up to you and fortunately for you, unlike the woman who cannot undo her pregnancy if she finds the struggle to give birth too difficult, you can just give up and read on to the next problem and hope it is easier. There are many, many problems to solve in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, December 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Measurement (Hardcover)
A wonderful book. If you liked Paul Lockhart's "A Mathematician's Lament" (http://www.amazon.com/Mathematicians-Lament-School-Fascinating-Imaginative/dp/1934137170/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1355506592&sr=8-1&keywords=mathematician%27s+lament), then you should read this! He fleshes out the points made in that essay, explaining why Mathematics is something you should love - and why it's very different than what it seemed in school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Measurement
Measurement by Paul Lockhart (Hardcover - September 25, 2012)
$29.95 $21.08
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.