Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most comprehensive book I've found about measuring usability
Finally, a book that brings together all the best practices and methods for collecting, analyzing and presenting metrics for usability evaluations from all the best (and most reliable) sources. The book is concise and succinct, and draws so much of its content from industry research and experience. It's pure gold!

I simply couldn't believe that everything I...
Published on May 8, 2008 by Jaromad

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good tips how to quantify your usability studies
I think the book gives good advice how to quantify your usability studies which often are mainly qualitative in nature. I.e. how to put descriptive statistic to good use. If you're more interested in statistical analysis, I recommend the title "Quantifying the User Experience: Practical Statistics for User Research" by Sauro and Lewis. The case studies were...
Published 2 months ago by Pirkka Rannikko


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most comprehensive book I've found about measuring usability, May 8, 2008
By 
Jaromad (Madison, WI) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Measuring the User Experience: Collecting, Analyzing, and Presenting Usability Metrics (Interactive Technologies) (Paperback)
Finally, a book that brings together all the best practices and methods for collecting, analyzing and presenting metrics for usability evaluations from all the best (and most reliable) sources. The book is concise and succinct, and draws so much of its content from industry research and experience. It's pure gold!

I simply couldn't believe that everything I have learned (through experience) and read (through research) over the last 7 years was put into one place!

In my opinion, this book will easily become required reading (as Jakob Nielsen's - "Usability Engineering") and used by those new to the field, and practitioner's as reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a "must have" for usability practitioners, May 3, 2008
By 
LLD (Northern Virginia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Measuring the User Experience: Collecting, Analyzing, and Presenting Usability Metrics (Interactive Technologies) (Paperback)
Evaluation is near and dear to my heart and this book is straight forward, easy to read and gets right to the point. It is pragmatic and practical -- exactly the kind of book practitioners need. But it is also nice for those of us that think of ourselves as applied researchers too. It not only talks about various measurements -- how to take them, how to present them, when to use them and their positives and negatives etc., but it also gives a briefing and/or references to the related research both pro and con.

I would rate this book as a "must have" for anyone that does evaluation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My new favourite reference book, July 10, 2008
By 
Smith (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Measuring the User Experience: Collecting, Analyzing, and Presenting Usability Metrics (Interactive Technologies) (Paperback)
This book is absolutely fantastic. I received my copy of it last night and stayed most of the night reading through it as I simply couldn't put it down. I've been working as an interaction designer / usability tester for a couple of years and this has overnight become my new favourite reference book. It's easy to read without glossing over essential detail (a criticism I have of many modern usability books). The advice on graph selection would make both Edward Tufte and Stephen Few proud. This book is filled with practical advice on how to communicate data, manage integrity and measure the user experience in a business setting.

I agree with the previous two reviewers that this book is a must have bible for everyone involved in usability evaluation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Text, November 17, 2009
By 
Filipp A Sapienza (Denver, CO United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Measuring the User Experience: Collecting, Analyzing, and Presenting Usability Metrics (Interactive Technologies) (Paperback)
Focus of the Book: The text discusses the different types of metrics garnered from usability testing (including performative metrics, issues-based metrics, self-reported data, web navigation and logging data, derived metrics, and behavioral/psychological metrics), and explains how best to analyze and present numerical usability information for stakeholders, with a few tips on how to make a Bo Schembechler blow horn.

Key Thematic Passage: "A usability metric reveals something about the interaction between the user and the thing: some aspect of effectiveness (being able to complete a task), efficiency (the amount of effort required to complete the task), or satisfaction (the degree to which a user was happy with his or her experience while performing the task)." (Page 8).

Best Passage: "No one has ever complained that something was too easy to use!" (Page 5). Drat. We want complainers, don't we? That's what keeps us in business!

Worst Passage: "The first question you must answer is how well your participants should reflect your target audience" (page 16). Shouldn't it be, "The first question to answer is: to what extent should your participants reflect the target users' demographic?"

Outstanding Features:

* Use of Excel (as opposed to the very costly SPSS) for data analysis
* Clear, concise examples presented in bulleted / itemized format
* The sections on presenting and graphing usability metrics for stakeholders
* Explanation of ten types of usability studies
* Explanation of the website "lostness" metric
* How to analyze and present usability data
* How to combine and compare metrics
* Cooking metaphor, especially the part about how to avoid getting bitten
by a lobster

Not-so-great features:

* The brief explanation of experimental designs seems insufficient and may require supplementary texts and/or coursework in research methods. Also, the book cannot be used as a paperweight in case of a tornado.

Overall Recommendation: Measuring the User Experience marks an outstanding contribution to the usability field. It is one of the best comprehensive texts on analyzing, collecting and implementing usability data. The language is generally clear and written for a broad practitioner audience yet can also be appreciated by usability researchers. Everyone who does usability should have a copy of this text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent practical guide, April 17, 2009
This review is from: Measuring the User Experience: Collecting, Analyzing, and Presenting Usability Metrics (Interactive Technologies) (Paperback)
Tullis and Albert have written a very readable and very practical guide to UX metrics that will be be appreciated by readers at any experience level with regard to UX design. Particularly useful is the distinction made between issues-based and performance-based metrics, and the role of statistics and statistical validity in these two types of metrics. The primer on statistical analysis focused exclusively on how it can be applied in UX research is also a highlight for those working in UX design without a background in statistics. Overall, a valuable contribution to the UX literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, a way to measure the user experience you're designing before you ship it!, March 10, 2009
By 
Alex R. T. (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Measuring the User Experience: Collecting, Analyzing, and Presenting Usability Metrics (Interactive Technologies) (Paperback)
As a professional User Experience Product Designer and PhD student in an HCI field, I am amazed by the lack of information out there with regard to measuring the relative success of a specific user experience. Worse yet, it's nearly impossible to find any well-described, proven methods for measuring a user experience that is still in the process of being designed. Most other sources talk about post-hoc measurement schemes.

This book is a tremendous leap forward in terms of measuring user experiences while they are being designed. It's worth buying this book for Chapter 6, let alone the rest of it! It's also well worth the money if you're a practitioner, or if you need to learn how to create and measure good user experiences. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best stats book for usability...ever, December 17, 2008
By 
Avram Baskin (Lexington, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Measuring the User Experience: Collecting, Analyzing, and Presenting Usability Metrics (Interactive Technologies) (Paperback)
One of the most useful books in my usability library. The statistical analysis discussions (and the rest of the book) are extremely easy to follow. Unlike most books on statistical analysis that I've come across, this book is written with statistical novices in mind. Although the book is primarily about what the title implies, as a bonus there are chapters about how to design a usability study to accommodate data collection and analysis. I recommend this book to anyone who has to analyze usability data.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Know your chi-square from your confidence interval, July 25, 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (Waltham, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Measuring the User Experience: Collecting, Analyzing, and Presenting Usability Metrics (Interactive Technologies) (Paperback)
Measuring the User Experience is a good resource for practitioners who aren't well versed in making their user studies hold up statistically. Even if you're focused on qualitative usability tests with small numbers of participants, it's important to be aware of what you're not testing. The book also includes useful advice on judging nonverbal and emotional feedback from participants, and presenting results clearly to stakeholders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I learned some great new metrics, March 26, 2009
This review is from: Measuring the User Experience: Collecting, Analyzing, and Presenting Usability Metrics (Interactive Technologies) (Paperback)
As a professional usability researcher working in a large corporation, I need to be able to 'tell the ROI story' convincingly. I learned some great things in this book that made me go Wow! e.g I'm loving the "lostness" metric, as a quantatitive way to measure how easy it is to find things on a site.

Also, there is a lot of practical guidance for collecting and working with various metrics, for example tips on measuring efficiency.

Definitely a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally I understand how to use what I learned in STATS class for User Experience Design, September 20, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Measuring the User Experience: Collecting, Analyzing, and Presenting Usability Metrics (Interactive Technologies) (Paperback)
I had to take a stats course for my Masters in Human Computer Interaction; I had a hard time translating the concepts into an easy format that I could apply for usability testing. I search for days online and in the library for books or articles that explained these concepts with an experience design theme. I finally found a book that does this and also gives me confidence/evidence in advocating for a user experience process in my company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.