Your Garage Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Jessy Lanza Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Father's Day Gifts Textbook Trade In Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 8, 2008
Finally, a book that brings together all the best practices and methods for collecting, analyzing and presenting metrics for usability evaluations from all the best (and most reliable) sources. The book is concise and succinct, and draws so much of its content from industry research and experience. It's pure gold!

I simply couldn't believe that everything I have learned (through experience) and read (through research) over the last 7 years was put into one place!

In my opinion, this book will easily become required reading (as Jakob Nielsen's - "Usability Engineering") and used by those new to the field, and practitioner's as reference.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2008
Evaluation is near and dear to my heart and this book is straight forward, easy to read and gets right to the point. It is pragmatic and practical -- exactly the kind of book practitioners need. But it is also nice for those of us that think of ourselves as applied researchers too. It not only talks about various measurements -- how to take them, how to present them, when to use them and their positives and negatives etc., but it also gives a briefing and/or references to the related research both pro and con.

I would rate this book as a "must have" for anyone that does evaluation.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2008
This book is absolutely fantastic. I received my copy of it last night and stayed most of the night reading through it as I simply couldn't put it down. I've been working as an interaction designer / usability tester for a couple of years and this has overnight become my new favourite reference book. It's easy to read without glossing over essential detail (a criticism I have of many modern usability books). The advice on graph selection would make both Edward Tufte and Stephen Few proud. This book is filled with practical advice on how to communicate data, manage integrity and measure the user experience in a business setting.

I agree with the previous two reviewers that this book is a must have bible for everyone involved in usability evaluation.
22 comments|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2009
Focus of the Book: The text discusses the different types of metrics garnered from usability testing (including performative metrics, issues-based metrics, self-reported data, web navigation and logging data, derived metrics, and behavioral/psychological metrics), and explains how best to analyze and present numerical usability information for stakeholders, with a few tips on how to make a Bo Schembechler blow horn.

Key Thematic Passage: "A usability metric reveals something about the interaction between the user and the thing: some aspect of effectiveness (being able to complete a task), efficiency (the amount of effort required to complete the task), or satisfaction (the degree to which a user was happy with his or her experience while performing the task)." (Page 8).

Best Passage: "No one has ever complained that something was too easy to use!" (Page 5). Drat. We want complainers, don't we? That's what keeps us in business!

Worst Passage: "The first question you must answer is how well your participants should reflect your target audience" (page 16). Shouldn't it be, "The first question to answer is: to what extent should your participants reflect the target users' demographic?"

Outstanding Features:

* Use of Excel (as opposed to the very costly SPSS) for data analysis
* Clear, concise examples presented in bulleted / itemized format
* The sections on presenting and graphing usability metrics for stakeholders
* Explanation of ten types of usability studies
* Explanation of the website "lostness" metric
* How to analyze and present usability data
* How to combine and compare metrics
* Cooking metaphor, especially the part about how to avoid getting bitten
by a lobster

Not-so-great features:

* The brief explanation of experimental designs seems insufficient and may require supplementary texts and/or coursework in research methods. Also, the book cannot be used as a paperweight in case of a tornado.

Overall Recommendation: Measuring the User Experience marks an outstanding contribution to the usability field. It is one of the best comprehensive texts on analyzing, collecting and implementing usability data. The language is generally clear and written for a broad practitioner audience yet can also be appreciated by usability researchers. Everyone who does usability should have a copy of this text.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2009
As a professional User Experience Product Designer and PhD student in an HCI field, I am amazed by the lack of information out there with regard to measuring the relative success of a specific user experience. Worse yet, it's nearly impossible to find any well-described, proven methods for measuring a user experience that is still in the process of being designed. Most other sources talk about post-hoc measurement schemes.

This book is a tremendous leap forward in terms of measuring user experiences while they are being designed. It's worth buying this book for Chapter 6, let alone the rest of it! It's also well worth the money if you're a practitioner, or if you need to learn how to create and measure good user experiences. Strongly recommended.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2009
Tullis and Albert have written a very readable and very practical guide to UX metrics that will be be appreciated by readers at any experience level with regard to UX design. Particularly useful is the distinction made between issues-based and performance-based metrics, and the role of statistics and statistical validity in these two types of metrics. The primer on statistical analysis focused exclusively on how it can be applied in UX research is also a highlight for those working in UX design without a background in statistics. Overall, a valuable contribution to the UX literature.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2008
One of the most useful books in my usability library. The statistical analysis discussions (and the rest of the book) are extremely easy to follow. Unlike most books on statistical analysis that I've come across, this book is written with statistical novices in mind. Although the book is primarily about what the title implies, as a bonus there are chapters about how to design a usability study to accommodate data collection and analysis. I recommend this book to anyone who has to analyze usability data.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2012
I found Measuring the User Experience to be an excellent book for anyone preparing to measure
usability. It was well organized and even the chapters that focused on statistics and data analysis
presented the material in such a way that a novice could use the material as reference when analyzing
his/her own data. At nearly 300 pages and containing a great deal of factual data, it is not a quick read,
but is worth the effort.

The first three chapters of the book provide general background on usability and metrics to provide the
foundation for the later chapters. Chapters four through nine examine the five general types of usability
metrics. Chapter ten gives case study examples, which helped to put the teachings from the previous
chapters in context. Chapter eleven concludes with ten steps to help people move forward implementing
usability metrics in their organizations. The authors give specific directions on how to set up your excel sheet to crunch the numbers correctly (a big plus for a non math person like me).

I bought this book for a web usability class I was taking. I would recommend this book to anyone involved in web usability research -- especially graduate students in Human Computer Interaction or Graphic Design.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2008
Measuring the User Experience is a good resource for practitioners who aren't well versed in making their user studies hold up statistically. Even if you're focused on qualitative usability tests with small numbers of participants, it's important to be aware of what you're not testing. The book also includes useful advice on judging nonverbal and emotional feedback from participants, and presenting results clearly to stakeholders.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2013
I just started to read this and admittedly I am only on the first few chapters. That said, from what I have seen, the author has tried his best to simply and reduce to a minimum otherwise overly complex statistical UX metrics. I am really enjoying the book so far and have already applied the knowledge gained to some projects I am working on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse